(2013/11) November 2013

LOL. I'm so sleepy too.

Febie, during #1's time, I was supposed to do confinement at my mil's place, but then they don't like strangers in their house so i cant hire a confinement lady. In the end, my mom did confinement for me so both hb and me stayed at my parents place loh. After confinement, we continued to stay with my parents until my new house was ready (about 1.5yrs later), cos i was feeling very emotional (post-natal blues) either real or just an excuse, and insisted that I wanted to stay with my parents, so hb bo bian. In fact, if mil didnt say that they didnt like strangers in their house, we would have stayed with in laws until our new house was ready and #1 would have been under mil's care. PHEW! all works out to my advantage. now she complains that #1 not close to them.

maybe i can consider just staying at my parents' place without hb hahaha. but i think hb wont want to be left out of taking care of #1 and #2. He's quite hands-on.

someone posted the rise and shine promotion on FB...
pet pet diapers ok... merries only $2 off no much different
pigeon special trade in price for exchange of old bottles...

Fuzzybear I rem you have 2 boys but at least with a princess coming along you know you still have a shopping companion as you age...

SN if your mum's pl have enough space for your whole family, I suggest go over...
If upbringing on MIL side is ok, I'm fine if hb wants to bring him over...
but I dun find my hb upbringing is good lor...
the way my MIL talk sucks too... so no way I will allow hb to bring #1 over himself...
Overall I dun mind #1 overly attached to me lor...

Febie, about 2.5 weeks more cos my scheduled C-sect is 37.5 weeks.

I was telling fuzzybear that the FB and Forum group of mommies quite different. I havent self-intro at FB yet. hahaha. when baby pop also dunno whether to post picture on FB or not. lol.

hahaha... ya guess I still prefer to talk on Forum too although sometimes I will check the FB...
guess we old time mummies before we are so into FB...
FB more for me to find recipes hahhaha...
so far I can only link Kayliz since I just meet her a few days ago

Mil is always a very touchy issue... Mine always claimed that she is very modern and easy going but... The fact is she is very overbearing and wanna force things her ways. But gotta give it to her that she is very hardworking and worked and only retired thes recent years.. But even when I am preg, all she cares is what my hubb craves to eat and nv asked if I wanna eat anything when I am the one suffering from the terrible morning sickness with lotsa aversions against many food.hate it when she kept asking me to eat her 'infamous' salted chicken when the sight of it makes me wanna vomit immediately! and she repeatedly did it despite my gentle reminder that i cant stand the chicken... not once, not twice but upteen times.. and i ended up eating fried egg with rice when i was there for dinner... she is the typical kind who loves her children but DILs are just DILs... Chin chai lah, think so much oso won't change her thinking one...

Hey, mommies who are gg for c section, are u bringing your own pjs to wear during the stay in the hospital? I rem during my previous c section I brought them but nv get to change into them at all cos the hospital robe was still the most convenient for the nurses and doctor to attend to us. But, not nice lor...

Freak out! Went to see gynae today , found out I've put on 1.1kg in ten days! And bb only put on 100+g! Aiyo aiyo. I must stop eating nonsense. Er, my weight gain has not been much for this pregnancy, so that's why freaked out over the very unequal weight gain between bb and I. I've officially gone past my previous full term pregnancy weight!! Wah biang..........

Hikaru, my mum about 1.59/1.60m tall, gave birth naturally to 4.2kg bb. She's small when slim, medium to large when plump ;p.

Talk about emo, been scolding my #1. Sigh, I want to switch off by 9pm, she's still dragging her feet going to bed. Ytd teared a little cos felt so frustrated with her. Tiring more easily now. I remember when my mum was heavily pregnant w my bro, she was also quite bad tempered. To think less than 2 months ago I was still happily walking round taka baby fair for one hour.

Xu4n, your bb at good weight leh. Mine only 2.34kg at nearly week 35. Gynae will only say bb is growing well. Luckily she never commented on my weight gain since my pre preg BMI was on the high side. Size immediately after birth is about what u looked like at 6 mths pregnancy. It's ok, don't worry, size will go down, faster especially if u breastfeed.

Think for mil, true la, must have mutual respect, maybe luck too? My MIL's mil was supposedly very nice to her, ie. offering to help look after the grand kids so that my PIL could have time off for couple time, taught my mil how to cook. Maybe because of this my mil has been able to pay it forward. Of course Mil having decent EQ helps too.

SN, no need self intro in the FB group la. Just join in the comments can already. Recently so many comments about mil here and FB. Hm, topics overlapping more hee.

I've decided, after meeting with most of my friends next week, my 35th week, I'm just going to sprout roots at home. Just a few hour trip out of the home tires me out now, especially if #1 is with me.

Took only 30min to finish shopping at Rise and Shine, nothing to buy for me leh. I feel there are more educational booths than booths for infant products?

toto, share share what had you packed? I'm half way packed!

New born wear
bootie/mitten
blanket
hospital wear for myself
nursing bra
disposable panties
socks
slipper

Have not pack in
maternity pad - have not buy
gadget
charger

Can't think of others liao... :rolleyes:

Took only 30min to finish shopping at Rise and Shine, nothing to buy for me leh. I feel there are more educational booths than booths for infant products?

Thanks for sharing. That's what I thought so... educational booths for this weekend. I think we all get ready to cheong next week fair.

Fuzzybear is here.. waiting for ppl to come and chat with her.. so bloody tired that i went to the toilet to zzzz.. i thought u went to the Rise and Shine Expo?

hahaha... thats what i did during my very first pregnancy. Always sit on the toilet bowl to nap :D... keep it up ya. we're almost there!

Can I also ask, has any mommy got their newborn boy circumcised soon after birth? Can share?

My friend delivered via C-sec in NUH. Her both son (2 deliveries) were circumcised real soon after C-sec, meaning 1st or 2nd day of birth. She mentioned she didn't even notice what's the diff before & after :D........ I always call her blur mum.

My both son are circumcised at KKH. Younger done at age 3+ and eldest done it at P2. According to the Prof who did their ops, the perfect age of circumcision is 3+ to 4. The reason is because by this age, the Doc is able to do a good judgement of the foreskin to be cut off and they're too young to feel the pain. I regretted not doing this for my elder one earlier as I can see he felt more painful than my younger during the recovery stage.

Good morning ladies:D,

Hee all of you going for the fair? I decided to skip it this time, it was so crowded and parking was horrid the last time I was there. Scared scared man.. :eek:
Had a false scared yesterday. Bb all along has been moving and active but yesterday he was rather quiet the whole day except for mild movements once a while. Got myself worried silly until he started to move vigorously after 10pm. Heaved a sigh of relief. :p

Hmmm now that you girls are talking about it, maybe I should consider getting bb circumcised too. :rolleyes:

Fuzzybear> Haha I do it sometimes too!

Ferbie> That's early! I have not even gotten any toiletries for bb yet.

Mumagain, r u in FB group? Got one mummy posted super comprehensive list on wat to bring to hospital. Way better than what I did for #1 lol!

toto, share share what had you packed? I'm half way packed!

New born wear
bootie/mitten
blanket
hospital wear for myself
nursing bra
disposable panties
socks
slipper

Have not pack in
maternity pad - have not buy
gadget
charger

Can't think of others liao... :rolleyes:
- Going home clothes for yourself?
- Toiletries, I know Mt A will give a pouch of toiletries, but need to confirm with them again, not sure about other hospital. Tooth brush/tooth paste, facial foam, shampoo, shower gel, moisturizer, make-up, contact lens
- Breast Pads
- Receiving Blanket Mt A also will give
- Nipple Cream just in case

Documents:
  • ICs
  • Documents or receipts(from Gynae) for medisave claim of $450
  • A clear folder to keep all receipts and documents
  • Marriage certificate
  • Last time I use pc to print out the Chinese character for my #1, as I was worried I cannot write the Chinese character nice enough for the BC, then #2 time, I think the hospital pc can print Chinese words
For Foreigner, the following documents may be required if relevant:
  • Passports of Both parents
  • Entry Permits of parents
  • Disembarkation/Embarkation Cards of Parents

- Going home clothes for yourself?
- Toiletries, I know Mt A will give a pouch of toiletries, but need to confirm with them again, not sure about other hospital. Tooth brush/tooth paste, facial foam, shampoo, shower gel, moisturizer, make-up, contact lens
- Breast Pads
- Receiving Blanket Mt A also will give
- Nipple Cream just in case

Documents:
  • ICs
  • Documents or receipts(from Gynae) for medisave claim of $450
  • A clear folder to keep all receipts and documents
  • Marriage certificate
  • Last time I use pc to print out the Chinese character for my #1, as I was worried I cannot write the Chinese character nice enough for the BC, then #2 time, I think the hospital pc can print Chinese words

Yo! thannks 3xmum for reminding.
Added in facial form, moisturizer & coming home clothes. hahaha..... I'm one that don't like visitors during hospital stay so I go no intention to inform friends :rolleyes:...thus, no need make-up :D
I remembered i was given a toiletries pouch both in KKH and TMC. They should provide right?

As for docs, my gynea haven't prepare me for admission ley. so slow right? so nothing to pack yet.
Are you saying these days Birth register counter able to computer print chinese character? That's great! Just like you, I did that to my both son too. Printed the chinese character on a sticker & paste it onto their birth cert last time.... so mafan.

Mumagain, r u in FB group? Got one mummy posted super comprehensive list on wat to bring to hospital. Way better than what I did for #1 lol!
ankh, im not active in FB or I should say I'm not a FB user till lately heard about you ladies exchanging info in FB and decided to registered for 1. Just downloaded her list, DAMN comprehensive!! :D ease my packing liao......... Thanks for her hard work manz! She stated inflatable float.... I remembered I used one last time not sure if really need one.

Also, had anyone heard of belly bandit tummy wrap? My colleague recommended and say many of young mummies swear by it. Anyone getting it? Can share how much?

Morning mummies! Is wet Monday! What a good day to sleep in.

Littleprince, what time is ur appt? I oso having my appt today at 4pm later. Not sure we can see each other? keke..

I realised once u sprained the ankle, it became so fragile man. Now no much pain at my ankle aldy so i stopped wearing tt bandage. Yst was walking on the street, and i twisted my ankle! Lucky my hubby was holding me. Thank god. My ankle seems to twist easily :confused:

Later i goin to prenatal massage before gg to my gyne appt. Hope it helps to relieve my backache/shoulder ache...

re: Lump at underarm
I realised my little lump has increased its size at my underarm. Anyone experience it? It started to b a small one so i ignore it. It only happens during preg and is growing! I googled tt it said it might relate to breast tissue... kinda worried...

SN, woo.. ur delivery bag packed! Get ready to ur D day!!

U all so funny, talking abt MIL, ourselves in the future. I will b MIL oso! I think i will b a picky MIL since im like so fussy/picky now. I cant imagine myself if i see my DIL doing stuff tt i disagree. I tink i better stay far far away from my DIL to avoid conflict. I seen my frens MIL so modern. They can even go do hair tgt and coffee talk. I aiming to be that if i "can"... haha..

The comprehensive hospital bag packing list in FB (I just copied and paste hor.)

Things To Pack For Hospital Bag

Documents/Tick/Item/Remarks

Appointment Book
Hospital Admission Letter
NRIC of husband and wife
Receipts of your outpatient visits to gynae for Medisave claim
Marriage Certificate
FBI card Optional
Bank acc book/statement for baby bonus admin
Baby’s file (with gynae bill, hospital, admission letter, reports etc)

For Newborn

Baby receiving/swaddle blanket to wrap baby OTW home
Clothing - top / bottom / cap
Mittens & booties
2 face towels

For Daddy

Small Change for vending machines
Slippers
Daddy's Change of Clothes (3 days)
Underwear
Toiletries such as shampoo, soap, facial foam, toothbrush, toothpaste, face towel, hair comb
Towel
Jacket
Video Camera or Digital Camera and its charger or spare batteries
Extra SD cards
Spectacles
Magazines or books to read while waiting
Contact lens case & solution
Handphone, charger and portable charger
Sandwiches n Snacks (especially for long labour)
Ipad and other gadgets

For Mummy

Disposable breast pads for absorbing colostrum
Bath towel
Small towel
Plastic bag for soiled clothes
Jacket
Wet wipes
Tissue papers
Maternity sanitary napkins (Bring extras)
Toiletries such as shampoo, soap, facial foam, toothbrush, toothpaste, hair comb, moisturiser
Button down gowns for 3 days (5 days for c-sec delivery)
Disposable cotton panties (more than 4)
slippers for bathing / shoes for going home
Hair band/hair clip
Watch with a second hand to time contractions
Relaxation materials: magazines, music, games
Fave soft toy / pillow

Optional

Any Medications
Snacks
Socks for use during labour
Set of clothes for going home to wear on day of discharge; to fit 5-6 mths pregnant
Nursing Bra (x 3)
Make-up
Mobile phone and its charger
Ipad or other gadgets
Breast pump & bottles

Optional

Inflatable Float

good morning mummies!

i realized tt during most of my check up days, its always raining. hehe!

pinky, my appt is at 10am. initially, i did try to change to this pm but when i called, nurse said all full so cannot change. i give up on attempting to arrange pre-natal massage le coz need to arrange before 33 wks and i am forever so busy, end of this week will hit 33 wks.

am looking forward for this week coz am on leave today and Friday! :)

Gd morning! how was ur wkend? i finally caught up on slp! really really tired.. plus i puked out all my breakfast on sat morning.. whole day only had 1 meal. sigh..

Ankh, why u freak out leh? hahaha is it too much curry veg rice? :p

Fleefly, i find the hospital gown very hard to wear when u wanna latch baby. plus the gown is like so short. when i latch, my thighs are exposed. first day i will wear the gown cos hard to move after c-sec but after that i try to change into my front button pjs because it is so much easier to button/ unbutton.

Blessmum, strange leh. my gd fren just delivered in NUH last June and because of her customs, she asked to have her son circumcised immed. NUH rejected it.. told her to wait until bb turns 2. How was ur chat with the CEO? did anything come out of it?

1 more day to Oct.. then we will start hearing people popping! so fun!

morning mommies.

Blessmum, haha the list on FB so comprehensive, sounds like you need a big luggage for that. I only packed necessities. I didn't even bother to pack pjs. Will just wear hospital gown like previously. I think the inflatable float is not necessary if your gynae's stitching skill is good as I didnt need it at all previously.

Ankh, haha, cos i find it funny to suddenly pop out of nowhere and comment on something in FB, people wont even know you have joined the group! hahaha.

febie, oh i read some of the posts on MIL in FB. haha. there are so many comments, it's hard to catch up. haha.

Yes, nowadays, birth cert can print the chinese characters from PC already. But i am still gg to print the English and Chinese name and put in my file cos my HB's chinese is CMI, I'm so afraid he will select the wrong chinese character cos he will be the one registering the birth! haha.

Yo! thannks 3xmum for reminding.
Added in facial form, moisturizer & coming home clothes. hahaha..... I'm one that don't like visitors during hospital stay so I go no intention to inform friends :rolleyes:...thus, no need make-up :D
I remembered i was given a toiletries pouch both in KKH and TMC. They should provide right?

As for docs, my gynea haven't prepare me for admission ley. so slow right? so nothing to pack yet.
Are you saying these days Birth register counter able to computer print chinese character? That's great! Just like you, I did that to my both son too. Printed the chinese character on a sticker & paste it onto their birth cert last time.... so mafan.
you are welcome. I also wish no one visits me, so at least can rest.
those who have given birth at Mt A in the last 2 years, do they still provide the toiletries clear pouch?and receiving blanket?
5 years ago, Mt A already could print out my son's Chinese name, so I think now no need to prepare it myself, but better to call your hospital to check.

ankh, im not active in FB or I should say I'm not a FB user till lately heard about you ladies exchanging info in FB and decided to registered for 1. Just downloaded her list, DAMN comprehensive!! :D ease my packing liao......... Thanks for her hard work manz! She stated inflatable float.... I remembered I used one last time not sure if really need one.

Also, had anyone heard of belly bandit tummy wrap? My colleague recommended and say many of young mummies swear by it. Anyone getting it? Can share how much?
For #1, I did prepare a float, as advised by other mummies who gave birth, but don't need it, like SN said , my gynae's stitching is good, for #2, also don't need the float, so I think this time I did not prepare.

Someone was sharing that we could bring our own Newborn bb diapers, and inform the hospital, so they will not give us and charge us, any mummies done that before?I was thinking out our sanitary pads & disposable panties as well, we could bring the type we like, and inform the nurse, before delivery.

So long since I chat here.. So so so busy at work with a not understanding boss!

Went for my checkup on Sat, at 31w2d my bb is weighing at 1737g and gynae say going on par.. but mummy have put on 11kg frm pre-preg weight.. Hopefully i can get it off aft delivery!

Mt A still providing the toiletries pouch but not clear pouch, it's white in color with their logo!

Went to Rise & Shine on sat, nothing much for first time mummy, more of enrichment classes for toddlers!

Someone was sharing that we could bring our own Newborn bb diapers, and inform the hospital, so they will not give us and charge us, any mummies done that before?I was thinking out our sanitary pads & disposable panties as well, we could bring the type we like, and inform the nurse, before delivery.

3xmum, i went for the Parentcraft lesson on sat at Mt A, the trainer say the sanitary pad, 1 pack given at delivery suite n 1 pack given in ward is foc.. thereafter, then they start charging.. not sure how true it is though!

btw, where u all get the disposable undies? can wear normal undies?

3xmum, i went for the Parentcraft lesson on sat at Mt A, the trainer say the sanitary pad, 1 pack given at delivery suite n 1 pack given in ward is foc.. thereafter, then they start charging.. not sure how true it is though!

Oh really, sanitary pads free? I thought they will charge.

I think I bought disposable undies from Giant Tampines before, as they have the maternity sizes, or XL/XXL etc, normally its free size, will be too small for me.

I am just afraid the lochia is too much, too messy, so disposable, at least can throw away, no need to worry about washing the stains on normal underwear, the ones hospital provided is quite tight, and very stretchable, unlike normal paper type of disposable underwear, not sure if they still have that now, its netted type.

i got my disposable undies from metro, compasspoint. one pack (5 pieces) for $5.50 (with 20% discount).
its cotton disposable undies. feel v soft and comfy

Not sure whether to get the disposable undies or not.. Used to get rashes when i wore them in my teenage years so i try to avoid whenever possible..

Ninilicious, 5 pcs t $5.50 sounds like a decent price..

Btw, any idea how many should we standby? Coz disposable undies means everytime we change pad, we also have to change undies rite? Sorry a little noob here :p

i also read that it's very good.. will be getting it...
it's quite exp. i think about $70

Not sure whether to get the disposable undies or not.. Used to get rashes when i wore them in my teenage years so i try to avoid whenever possible..

Btw, any idea how many should we standby? Coz disposable undies means everytime we change pad, we also have to change undies rite? Sorry a little noob here :p

xian, i got 2 packs, the promoter aunty ask me buy 5 packs la. say can use for whole confinement. but for my previous births, i dont bleed full month, i bleed 2 weeks only. and one week, full blast, second week spotting already, so 2 packs is more than enough for me. have to see individual flow one.

ya i have one packet from my sil cos she just gave birth early this year.. but i wonder if its enough for me to last anot... looking at this prob will get one more pack just in case...

mummies is it common to feel intense pain at the vaginal area? these few days the pain is coming more often and i understand that its because the pressure.. but the pain is coming even as i walk.. now at wk35 every time i feel pain down under or tummy area i get abit paranoid..

gd morning mummies...
Just back from Gynae visit for my week32 detail scan.
everything is fine and Baby's head is down already. Really have to try to minimize the carrying of #1.
I dun wan early labour....

mummies is it common to feel intense pain at the vaginal area? these few days the pain is coming more often and i understand that its because the pressure.. but the pain is coming even as i walk.. now at wk35 every time i feel pain down under or tummy area i get abit paranoid..
Xiaober, that's normal lah.. ur pelvic bones are separating and this can lead to intense pain when u walk, slp, turn, squat or even lifting ur legs.. don't worry. talk to ur gynae abt it if u are worried. i have been having that pain since abt 25 wks..

Re: disposable undies
I find them too loose so i wear my sanitary panties from Triumph. it is meant for the times when ur period comes. :) anyway my lochia is nv heavy leh.. always like day 3-4 flow so i nv leaked.

Febie, why would carrying ur son be linked to early labour? all the same u shdn't be carrying him already!!! did u have to repeat ur GD test?

Gynae appt over! I gained 1.8kg and baby is 1.78kg now. Gynae said within his expected wt (1.4 to 1.8kg and baby is not small coz very close to 1.8kg. Hehe. Gynae also issued admission letter for me to keep on standby and nurse advised to start packing all the receipts to put together just in case need to admit under emergency. No preferred list of pds for TMC, we can choose any pd so long as pd will go to TMC. Next checkup in 3 wks time followed by 2 wks and then wkly.

Yes, I felt painful also down under, and under my tummy when I walk, also after seated for too long a time, will feel pain when I start to walk. I don't remember feeling it for my past 2 pregnancies, thinking must be age catching up, so more xinku this #3 time.

Little prince, I saw ur post!!!! Need to do blood test?!!! For wat purpose? Shit.. I gonna b mentally prepared man.. thx for informing me. Else I confirm freak out for sure. Seriously I dunno how am I gg giv birth when I hav zero tolerance of pain n injection. Haiz

We r nt supposed to go pre natal massage after week 33? I dunno abt it. This week is my 32 weeks.

Fuzzybear, Gynae worries that constant carrying of #1 will push bb down further.
I'm not so sure myself... #1 super sticky and I have to carry him almost everyday....

littleprince, your baby got good weight... hahaha mine only at 1.7Kg...
8 more weeks for me to go.... Hopefully baby arrived a few days later....

pinky, i didn't ask why need to do blood test leh, but nurse said only do this round, not like every checkup till delivery. its a finger prick la, so not so bad though i prefer to be prepared too. Mdm Inda was the one who told me she only do pre-natal from i think 28 weeks till 33 weeks.

febie, 1.7kg is a good weight too. gynae also briefed me regarding epidural and i told him about my previous delivery when i fell sick for 2 weeks due to a very painful spinal cord. gynae suggested that if i am concerned, then maybe want to consider inducing slightly earlier than edd to avoid same issue again. anyway, we agreed that we will review in the next few checkups to see baby's size before deciding.

eh, someone's car rammed into my car last Sat after i dropped #1 for tuition. gave me a shock and the other party was even more shocked when he saw me getting down the car, kept apologizing profusely. luckily i was ok and my car had very slight scratches only so decided to forget about repairing. The "bang" was quite loud though, so i am thankful my car didnt have dents.

Yes, I felt painful also down under, and under my tummy when I walk, also after seated for too long a time, will feel pain when I start to walk. I don't remember feeling it for my past 2 pregnancies, thinking must be age catching up, so more xinku this #3 time.
oh okok.. i went to google.. i realise its part and parcel of last trim.. so i m trying to get used to it..

pinky, i didn't ask why need to do blood test leh, but nurse said only do this round, not like every checkup till delivery. its a finger prick la, so not so bad though i prefer to be prepared too. Mdm Inda was the one who told me she only do pre-natal from i think 28 weeks till 33 weeks.

febie, 1.7kg is a good weight too. gynae also briefed me regarding epidural and i told him about my previous delivery when i fell sick for 2 weeks due to a very painful spinal cord. gynae suggested that if i am concerned, then maybe want to consider inducing slightly earlier than edd to avoid same issue again. anyway, we agreed that we will review in the next few checkups to see baby's size before deciding.

eh, someone's car rammed into my car last Sat after i dropped #1 for tuition. gave me a shock and the other party was even more shocked when he saw me getting down the car, kept apologizing profusely. luckily i was ok and my car had very slight scratches only so decided to forget about repairing. The "bang" was quite loud though, so i am thankful my car didnt have dents.

oh my! i hope you are okay!! why that car didnt see or stop on time.. its dangerous!!! maybe these few days try not to exert yourself too much.. relax yourself more..

!!!! are u ok Little Prince?! my goodness.. did u talk to ur gynae abt the crash? when i had an accident carrying #1 at 34 wks, my gynae made me come in for a scan. u are so forgiving! i would have sent my car for repairs!

What happened to ur spine aft ur last delivery? was the epidural?

Febie, poor u leh.. don't carry ur #1 liao.. praise him if he agrees not to be carried. i used to lay on the guilt trip with my #1.. always telling him my spine hurts and cannot move if i carry him.. will need to go hospital if he insists i carry him.. by and by he will stop asking me to carry him.

Thirdtimemum, i agree lor.. with each passing preg, i feel more and more tired. zzzzz... no more kids for me!