(2013/07) July 2013

saphhire,

not experience lah. we learn from each other.

ytd attended wedding dinner. this morning so tired and after my bf, dun feel well again.
i just hope to pass this phase fast.

ladies, jia you jia you...
feeling nausea and vomitting = bb is doing well in you. so console yourself and you will feel better that way.

Hi Mummies, I am about 6 weeks old too. My boy is 3 years old now and I put on 20kg when I had him. Its Ok to do your normal exercises if you have been regularly performing that exercises. I teach kickboxing and was teaching 5 days a week on top of my 9 to 5 job in my first trimester. However if you do not feel well, just cut down on the intensity. Listen to your body as you know it best. I went on to take part in 10km Shape Run in 2009 after two months from delivery and eventually doing my full marathon. I ate normally and eat whatever I want. I put on 20kg when I went into labour. I have managed to shed off the 20kg and a large part of success comes from breast feeding my boy. Today, I have a very healthy and active 3 year old. Remember, if you can eat, just eat. You can always lose the weight through exercise after delivery. But if you diet during your pregnancy, then you are risking to have a weak baby to take care when the baby is delivered. I do have friends who are suffering the consequences now.

Hi Roysukee122.. welcome welcome.. you are also 6 weeks..
A number of us are at our 6 weeks currently.

You have friends who diet during pregnancy and had a weak baby?

Hi Ling.... are you not going back to your previous gynae who delivered your first child?

Hi LingLing .... hope that everything will be ok for you. I had the jab too.

ya, cuz they fear for their figure la, no female wants to be fat ma. But have to weigh the pros and cons ah. They see me put on 20kg, they also scared ah hahaha, but I am ok la, cuz I know I will exercise my heart out to lose the extras! I literally looksed like santa claus when I was at 39 weeks!

Anyway, if you can eat, just eat. Because I have a relative who couldn't. She practically puke everything out whenever she eats. She was worried cuz that means, no food for the baby. And I have a friend who can eat but the placenta stop sending food to the baby at the 20 something week. So in the end, doctor had to pump the baby's organs mature and 'take out' the baby. Very poor thing.

Saphhire,
Diet I guess means they deliberately not eat or eat vvv little. My Gynae said that for 1st trimester, our babies feed more on our body reserves because placenta is newly formed. When we get into 2nd trimester, we need to ensure we get proper nutrients so that baby can grow in size
My son was putting on weight till when I reached 3rd trimester, he seems to be on the small size. What my MIL did was she cooked up scallops and cod fish for every meal, guess what? My boy put on 1kg in a week haha.. I guess protein really works for pregnancy so please top up on protein esp eggs during 1st trimester. I forgotten to boil the eggs this morning so sigh, later I'll order something with egg haha..

saphhire,

its a blessing if you dun vomit but nausea sure have a little bah. if dun have, you are a lucky mummy.

for my no 1, my vomiting is very minimum. only puke if my bb dun lik the food. other than that i only feel nausea.

my gynae keep telling me, the more nausea you feel means the bb is growing well in you.

my gynae told me, carbo put wt on yourself and protein put wt on the bb.
he ask me to take more protein so that i wont put on as much wt as my no 1.
i am trying to. hee..

after my 1st tri, i hope i can have the green light from my gyane to go for slow swimming.

hello Mummies,

how are u schedule to see gynes?
6weeks, 8 or 9weeks, 12 weeks?

Coz i just seen my gynea and was schedule to see him in 7jan which is ard 12weeks (going for blood and OSCAR test).. Okay to follow up so late? or actually shld push forward earlier? or see any gynea to check if my bb druing (7-11weeks) is healthy? Cox my gynea will be away till back in end Dec.

for #1, i went for check up 5th, 6th, 8th, 10th, 12th week. 1 time more than the doc asked for cos I was having cramps, but it turned up to be normal...
for #2, it was 6th, 9th, 12th week.

this pregnancy, i crave for lots of meat... i hope i won't gain too much... I gained 20kg for #1 and 18kg for #2 (plus 4kg more from #1 pregnancy).

Hi Linda... really no puking at all. Just hope that everything is growing well ... **dont want to scare myself with negative thoughts**. Hahaa..

Hi Caryl.. I saw my gynae at week 4, 6 and the next one is on week 8. She said thereafter would be week 12 with the OSCAR test.

sapphire,
dun scare yourself.
you are very lucky.
so long as no staining and sereve cramping.
everything is fine. dun worry... you and bb are doing well.

me seen my gynae at 5 weeks (to cfm preg), the 6 weeks (cos staining), next follow up is at week 8. thereafter i suppose will be at week 12.

hi Sapphire05,
now left hubby working, so budget super tight ... somemore TMC increase their price ...
so thinking of going for govt hospital as subsidies ...

lucki for me, so far no puking or nausea ...

tis one i realised i'm pregnant very fast while my #1 was like week 10 ...

good nite everyone ...
rest well, sleep tight, sweet dreams

hello, found out pregnant week ago, and already 7 weeks now. I am careless. Not much feeling and pregnancy feeling comes and go. Liked today totally feel nothing and wonder if anything to worry. hohoo.. though not the first pregnancy but still quite wonder as it's so different.

Say hi to all july mummies!

Which hospital is cheaper?

I went to private gynae for my past pregnancy, it is expensive. package starts at week 20+ only and visit if got scan , then the bill is close to $200.

last week went scanning it costs close to 200. what it does is only confirming the pregnancy and do a vagical ultrasound scan.

how much it costs in other clinics?

shall i go for private patient in KKH? my current gynae is with MA.

Antenal Checkup as a private patient in KKH is almost as close to private clinic outside. If I'm not wrong. some private clinics offers antenatal package at $600-800 till delivery so it is a lot cheaper than KKH cause KKH has no packages at all.

The only good thing about KKH is that ward size is alot bigger and cheaper. Gynae charges are accordingly to rank. Medication is cheap and you dont have to keep your receipts to claim for antenatal thru CPF. My #1 I took single bedded and stayed for 3D4N, total bill for delivery is about $1.8K while my friend who gave birth in TMC, her bill was about 2.5K and she only stayed 3D2N. If not wrong, she was in a dual bedded ward, but but.. her antenatal was only $600 so plus minus about the same. Another friend also gave birth in TMC, bill size was $3.3K dual bedded FOC upgrade from 4 bedded though. Her gynae was a famous female gynae and so the bill size mainly came from the gynae charges etc.

My edd changed to 19jul lo..and my Oscar will be on 4th jan! Excited! Tmc fully booked le so my dr booked me at nuh

Hi Orangey.. can you tell me more about the "receipts to claim for antenatal through CPF"?

Can we claim our antenatal packages with the gynae from medisave???? Really???

morning ladies,

my gynae package starts at 20 weeks also.
and he also increase his price. my per visit is at least $150. scan and consultant is $70 each (exclude GST).

Sapphire,
the claim is for delivery claim only.
at the time of admission or discharged, just have to produce one of the receipt from your gynae and you are entitled $450 deduction from medisave.
hope the amt still the same. cos that's my understanding 5 years back.

Hi MTBs..

I'm 2nd time mummy and 8 weeks 4 days pregnant.

My #2 EDD is on 11 Jul. My #1 is 15.5mths. I'm really excited as I wanted my gal to have a companion to accompany her through her growing up years.

I missed my menses in Oct and thought that it was due to work stress. My menses was irregular as well. I sensed I might be pregnant when I was feeling breathless and uncomfortable after a heated argument with one of my co-workers. That weekend, I tested positive.

I went for scan on my 6th week and managed to see the heartbeat. On my 8th week last Sat, I saw the bb formation. I'm feeling nausea but no vomitting.

Hope that all of us will have a smooth 7-8 months ahead of us.

Sapphire,
Yes, apart from claiming medisave for delivery, you can claim $450 max for antenatal so if I'm not wrong, they will deduct the $450 directly from your bill instead of cash reimbursing. For govt hospitals, no need to collect your receipts. They will submit for us. As for private hospitals, you will need to collect and keep your receipts, if not you may ask the hospital to do so but they may charge you for administrative charges.

For info here:
http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/have-child/HC2.htm

For those interested in Hospital bill sizes:
http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/HospitalBillSize/delivery_normal.html - Normal Delivery
http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/HospitalBillSize/delivery_caesareansection.html - C-Sect Delivery

Sapphire,

Look here for more detailed claim breakdown:

http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/schemes_subsidies/Marriage_and_Parenthood_Schemes.html

For normal Delivery:
$450 x 3 days of staying at hospital = $1350
$750 for delivery procedures (e.g. Gynae charge etc)
$450 (Additional claim for antenatal)
Total Claimable - Up to $2550

Note that $2550 claim is for staying for 3D2N. If you are staying for 2D1N, the claimable cost will be pro-rated as well.

Wow Orangey... thanks for this! I dont know about this at all.

So the medisave claim is for inpatient maternity charges & antenatal charges. To be submitted to the hospital.

For you mummies who have given birth before, who helped you with the paperwork submission? Your gynae's clinic assistants or the hospital missy?

Sapphire,
If your gynae has his/her own clinic, it is best that you collect the receipts yourself. I'm not sure if the clinic assistants will help though. My friend giving birth in TMC all collected their receipts themselves and submitted to the hospital on the day of admission.

For Delivery claim, it is only up to $2100 (normal delivery). The additional $450 is for pre-delivery (antenatal) which they will use and deduct in your final delivery claim. You can take a look at the hospital bill size as a rough guide.

I took Single bedded in KKH and my gynae was the head of the Obstetric so his consultation is the highest range in KKH. Total cash involved for 4D3N was $1.8K. I paid $2000 as deposit so got back $200 refund. For Neonatal, most of it claimable by medisave.

hi Orangey... So do we still have to come up with cash first when we admit to the hospital, since we will submit the receipts to the hospital on the day of admission?

My company sponsors 2K for maternity charges.. guess I can use this 2K for my package fee with the gynae, given that there are so many items that can be paid via medisave for inpatient expenses.

Sapphire,
Yes, you need to pay deposit for your room package on day of admission or booking. For KKH, it is based on the day of booking - Usually 36 weeks onwards.

Wah, so nice! I know of a friend's company paying $2.5K for 3 pregnancies. If only my company is generous enough
Really hard to find companies who are good enough to include pregnancy related claims under benefits. The ones I know are mainly Oil/Gas companies.

Remembered I mentioned about my new job and realized about my pregnancy on my 3rd week into my job? I told my boss right after doctor's confirmation via scan. She congratulated me and said that when I have my EDD, let her know so that she can help to arrange for backup when I'm off for delivery and maternity leave. I'm glad that she is a understanding boss and I have to travel to Aberdeen for 2 weeks, cannot reject cause am scared of losing the job and she told me not to worry and checked with my gynae if it is okay. Gynae given green light and I told her and she said she will look after me during the trip.

My problem now is, I don't really like my new job. Felt like an extra person in the company. Sigh.. My prev office is asking me if I wanna go back and they can offer me similar salary. I'm in a dilemma cause... benefits at new company is definitely better but.. working area is very ulu though they provides to-fro transport. My colleagues are working OT till 2am almost everyday and I'm so worried that I have to commit to OT as well, though during my interview I have highlighted that I'm not keen into OT as I have to look after my 2yo son. If I need to OT, I would want to work from home. They agreed and said they are quite flexible. However, if you were my colleagues, how would you feel? I have another colleague who is like me, a mother to a toddler and she is also rather new in the company. She too is having complaints that her boss is demanding her to OT even though she has highlighted that she has to go home to look after her girl. Sigh... how? I really don't know what to do? If I leave the job now, I have to pay a penalty to my recruiter too. Aiyah...

Hi Orangey, will your previous company offer you maternity benefits should you go back to them?

Your colleagues OT till 2am everyday???!!! But your new boss is fine with you not doing OT right?

Sapphire,
Ex company hasnt known of my pregnancy yet Haha.. I guess if I tell them I'm pregnant they may not offer me hor? Haha.. IF they are willing to accept me back, they have to adhere to MOM laws - As long as employee works in the company for 6 months till the date of delivery, she is entitled to full maternity benefits.

Yah, very ridiculous right? She's from the finance billing side whereas I'm in the Sales Ops side processing the orders. We work hand in hand, if my contracts are setup wrongly, she cannot bill and I have to help correct the contract. The earliest she left the office is 8pm!!! I haven't got the full load yet cause my manager is based in USA and she has exams deadline in Nov, thus my trainings will only start when I travel to Aberdeen this Sat. After which I will officially take over the load in Jan.

Maybe due to culture, my boss has the USA culture. She said that she prefers quality than quantity. She don't feel that OT can help to improve quality. She rather that we do our work steadily and accurately rather than working so much OT to rush the orders but end up all are wrong. Nice boss hor?

I just had my scan & heard bb's heartbeat on Saturday. Gynea asked me to KIV an visit to the Chest Specialist as I've developed cough 1 week after recovering from mycoplasma (3 weeks ago). *worried*

Will take up the package on the next visit (wk12) for $800. For hospital bills, I paid $2.2k cash (after medisave) for #1, mummy 4d3n and baby 5d4n due to jaundice, natural no epi, single room at Mt A. For #2, I paid $1.8k cash (after medisave), mummy 3d2n and baby 6d5n due to jaundice, natural no epi, delxue single room. The officer managed to help me save alot for #2, by splitting the bill so I can pay more via medisave.

orangey,

is there a time frame for the contract with the recruiter. or upon confirmation you can leave without any penalty?

personally, i think you must decide which is more impt for you? family time or $$. although both are equally impt. but we cannot have the best of both world.

$$ i think we can earn, but family time, once gone cannot be earn.

take me for example, because of my commitment, i have to knock off on 5.30pm sharp everyday to fetch my gal and to cook for her. so for the past 11 years, i did not change my job and not that i am very satisfied with the company and my pay. my pay is way below market rate for what i am doing. but i have good sup who is very understanding and i can leave on the dot. that's what i want. so i forgo the chance of gg out and have higher salary pay. just spent wisely within my means and be happy in life is very impt.
hope my 2 cents of words helps.

orangey, i heard alot of staff from various finance departments working late, even in universities... perhaps its the working habits? stay awhile longer and observe the place first, the minimum contract is 2 months? I just started a new job too, mine is 2 months minimum with recuitment agency.

E'leen,
Wow, how long have you been in your new job? Your boss knows about your pregnancy as well? I'm only a month + 3 days haha.. Mine was via RE agency so minimum is 90days

Yeah, hub was telling me, after the Aberdeen trip, take a look and see if everything is ok. Shall see then.. Hopefully me no need OT haha..

Orangey,
I started 22 Oct, about 6 weeks. Take a look first ba, you don't know your boss, your boss don't know you too. See if she is really like what she said she is. I'm observing too, cos I feel that it's not fair for my old company to take me back and I go on ML again during their peak (happened for #1 & #2 already!)again... Haha

I'm not unhappy here so I'll sit and watch first, meanwhile I'm sorting out the ML with tha company cause its not stated in the contract.

Thanks Eleen for sharing the costs... I shall put aside 2K plus for the hard cash portion for next July.

You didnt take epidural for your 2 childbirths? You are one very strong woman! heehe...

Hi Linda.. I agree with you. Family time is very important. I support your action and I would do the same as you, if Im you. To be able to knock off on time is very important now that we have a family.

Im feeling very tired and sleepy now. Wish I can be in bed. hahaha..

I feel sleepy in the afternoon everyday. I need to take a nap and will feel better after a nap.

Linda,
Yes, money and family time, need to choose between one. The problem is we sold off our current 4-rm and upgraded to EA, thus mortgage will be a big issue.

The reason why I would prefer to go back to ex company is that, no OT required and pay is similar so that means more family time but like what E'leen suggested, I should just sit and observe first. Who knows it may not seems as busy as I thought? Hopefully!

E'leen,
Yeah lor, guess I'll sit and observe first. Hopefully #2 brings me good luck in career and home

sapphire,

i deliver in Mt e, stay in 2 bedder, 3d2n.
without epi, natural birth. my out cash is abt 1K.

orangey,

since its 90 days term, i would agree that you wait and see how it goes before decide what you want.

Thanks Linda for sharing.

Hi Orangey, I also think that you should stay till 90 days to see how first. Not worth it to pay the recruitment company a penalty fee.

Linda/Saphhire,
Yah, will stay till 90days and see how

Hope things are on the good side for me :D

Do you all want to tabulate our EDD/Gynae/Hospital/No. of Preg in a table?
If ok, please PM me your details and I will tabulate into a table and upload here.

orangey,
hope luck is with you.

thanks for suggesting.
i shall start the ball rolling.
edd: 17 July 2013
gynae: Dr Kowa
Hospital: Mt E
No of preg:#2

thank you