(2013/05) May 2013

2ks, the raw fenugreek is it can bite or boil it to drink?

Ok shall add one column for bb names.
I also chose K. My first was K. I search for c too then convert to k

bbkk: i heard boil water than drink also can.
but i am too lazy...i just swallow it with longan drink.

what names u have in mind?? girls like not much with K leh

2ks - just don't name her nina or karina... she will hate you for life... lol... just joking...

Babymaine, lol... Totally understand.... Hahaha...

JC,
If bb hicupps, u will feel bb hiccup for 10 mins or so de non stop. Otherwise, is bb movement or kicking Liao.

My first, bb everyday hiccups de. Last for 10 mins. It is like heartbeat like tat.

my hubby surname is common, lin, so no issue on the name. is my surname that is funnier... my surname is liao, so any name also finish....

my hubby surname is sim... his friends say name our son Milan... Sim MiLan... lol... then chinese is shen... shen dian shen qian shen li shen you... haha...

my hubby surname chew...In Chinese is Jiang.
his friends said call our baby jiang fei hua...jiang si mi...jiang niao hua...anything that can jiang 'talk' -__-!

jill - my surname is also Kwek... since young... quack quack here quack quack there...

xuan - lol... that's funny... Jiang You, Jiang Qing...

BabyMaine: -__-! all the surname sure got things people will say like mine. Surname choo. go school people keep 'zhu zhu zhu' Pig pig pig =(

LOL.... to think i use to be one of those who made fun of my fellow quek classmates... now married a quek.. :p

Haha lets think carefully and hope our children dont get the laughs and teasing. haha. :D

worried79 - I'm going to name my bb Jayden too. Seems like a popular name for the past few years. But it's meaningful for us and sounds nice.

eh..also must consider the initial for chinese names ah...especially for boys!

i so happy. My office below has a infant care and just now i check, they have vacancies from July onwards. It's $600 per month after subsidy (if i pick up baby at 5pm, it will be $500..but i think it's quite hard)

Going to convince my hubby to go with infant care instead of putting at his parents place.

2ks, I m thinking of Brayden too, but I think Zoe tay's son also tis name?
Chiro, last time seldom hear ppl wif tis name. Until I named my boy Jayden....go clinic a lot of babies called Jayden. I think it's popular for these few years, according to bb center

JC, y don't u consider nanny care that stays near u.. Is ur workplace near ur hm? Cos touchwood if u fall sick and unable to tend bb, it'll be troublesome to send to IFC which is far from ur residential place.. I personally don't trust IFC.. My girl was with IFC for a month plus before she's off with a nanny for a yr plus, until I tio pok few months back during pregnancy and is a sahm now.. As a bb, my girl has sensitive skin at her neck area and when milk is Stucked there and not cleaned, her neck fold will peel and blistered. As a bb, they needs more personal attention and my girl always ended up with peeling neck skin fold, nappy rash and unknown scratches.. There's also other incidents which I've witnessed from the teachers. To be frank, these teachers are not paid a lot and it really boils down to their passionate for bbs and toddlers. There's two Chinese teachers at my girl IFC which I finds them not bad, but the Malays and Indians teachers are really cmi(pardon my sayings, not trying to be racist). Thus, I took a gamble and placed my girl under the care of a nanny that is of total stranger to us. Luckily, this nanny is gd and took gd care of my girl. I'll monitor for behavior changes, any bruises marks at the initial stage. Not to mention on the high spreading of viruses at IFC.. True that it'll build their immunity but as a bb, any minor persisted flu/cough could leads to bronchitis etc and it's too heartpain to keep seeing them falls sick..

Nanny is a bit hard coz i don't know anybody.

our parents take care is good but i have my concern.

My in law don't stay near me. I work flexi hr, can knock off at 5pm but still have to wait for hubby to end at 6pm+. Usually if we go back for dinner, by the time we reach hm is ard 9 liao.

if my hubby work late, than i have to wait for him at my in law place as compared to pick up my bb at IFC at 5pm and reach home before 6pm.

Furthermore, i don't want to be a weekend mum. What for having a baby when i going to see him for 2 days only right. If everyday i go my in law place and cannot bring home, i will she bu de.

my friend also tell me that it will take a long time build back the trust and relationship with the bb if we only see him during weekend.

i prepare for the falling sick part le. If put at IFC, i can go and see bb during lunch time or in any emergencies, i am just like 3 storey away.

Jc, haf u considered asking ur mil or mum stay with u on weekdays? My frens r doing that.
They will drive the mil or mum back to their place on Friday nights.
Then they dun haf to worry abt doing ot or not able to see the bb on weekdays

actually IFC is not really a bad thing. both my boys goes to IFC.
#1 does fall sick during the initial 6 months, those normal illness like cough/flu. but he really got better after 1 year old.
i find that he is quite independent and more 'outgoing' when he was there.

#2 doesnt go to the same school as korkor. that ifc i really like it. there are chinese and indian teacher. but i find that they have passion. i had never seen my boy with dried mucus when i fetched him. at #1 school. he always come home with dried mucus. foodwise also alot of variety. they teaches him sing song, reading etc. he can sing twinkle star at 14 months. of cos not the whole song, but u know what he is singing. at 17 months he can already self feed himself...

the falling sick part is unavoidable. even u send to cc at a later stage they will also fall sick. and i had observed, they tend to take a long long time to recover compared to those in cc at a younger stage.

nanny---u never know what they do at home with them. leave them in playpen? do they sing song to them? or just let them roam about themselves. to me, even we take care of them ourselves, we cannot be guiding singing song to them everyday. but at ifc, its different. they have a set of rules and time table.
older kids can go outdoor play ball, can do reading, painting, reading books, climbing...
even bath they also have a set of rules to follow de.

of cos, if got PIL or own parents to take care, its really the best. but then be prepared to have some conflicts, cos they have their own way of handling the child. and they will use those old ways. and the kid might be spoilt cos which grandparents dont dote on their grandkids.

to me, the best is i send to cc, yet i have standby help...which i think will be perfect. but too bad, i dont have...so me & hub usually take turns to take leave.
but then luckily..its not often.

JC: my only concern about putting near your office is...like what reddish said.
if u mc(touch wood), or on leave then wanna rest, u still have to drag to send bb to your work place there before go hm.
trust me, sometimes u rather have some free time for yourself and will send bb to caregiver instead.
then this arrangement, can hub be the one sending instead?
if that is not an issue then okay la.
btw, $600 is ok...cheaper than MFS
just check out the area, see u satisfied or not

oh...one thing i also noticed. PD always asked parents to withdraw their kids from cc whenever the kids fall sick. my own sis and sil withdraw their kids from cc when they suffered from a cough.
but end up...even at home their kids also fall sick.

not implying to anything la...just my tots...

JC,
u have to really start planning liao. I agree with the ladies, pros and cons. I sent my boy to cc around 2years old, and he had been falling sick very very often. and mostly, when child falls sick, mum will get it too. but hearing wat 2ks mentioned, i think bb will learn more things in ifc rather than at home. my boy was at home wif my mil, so he learn all those funny languages and things, until now he goes to school, start learning proper talking and singing. maybe you should continue to source for ifc near your home?

worried79: not say MIL take care no good. in my opinion, they will not do ANYTHING to the child, cos they love them too...and then they take care, u can have your own personal time too...then no need to take urgent leave all that.
but then if my mum can help, i would rather send them to cc too, then she as standby mode. as like, send them school late (8.30pm kind before breakfast instead of 7.15am for me now), fetch them after class end at 5.30pm instead of letting them stay there till almost 7pm.
i think that would be perfect.

#2 is coming to 23 months soon...and i am glad that the teachers will take over the task of toilet training him...they going to start next month.

yes, once they are immune to the virus, they wont fall sick so often. i noticed its about roughly 1 year old.
not counting those cough la..cough is quite common. we adults also get cough every now and then.

just try to bf as long as u can...its not short term benefits...its long term.
me & my hub also noticed that...
my son got viral fever just 2 weeks back, he took 1.5 days to recover compared to 3-5 days for my other friends kids...
well...i cannot dont believe it leh.

2Ks,
yes, i know. but like i mentioned earlier, i dun agree with the way they do certain things. but i actually prefer my boy to go to school then to stay at home if i m not around. i m glad that he enjoys school too. i do agree. he gets flu and cough very very often. and pd always say his cough is bronchitis, coz its alot alot of phlegm. i think i bf him for around 8months only, though i took one year no-pay leave to be at home wif him. i will work very hard for this second one, hopefully he will be stronger.

worried79: i dunno u believe in chinese medicine or not. if u do, next time try this hou zao san.
its target on phlegm and cough.

my boy can finished the whole bottle of western medicine also no use. neub him also no use.
but 1-2 boxes of hou zao san do the trick.

for younger kids above 6 months, i give ba bao san.
its more mild compared to english medicine.
but most important it works.

actually if the flu & cough doesnt really disturb him,i think its perfectly fine...as long u hear its not those wheezing type of cough. they will recover by themselves

morning ladies...

i agree with worried 79 actually. I have witness two separate sets of kids, one being looked after by the granny and the other in IFC. No doubt that the one in IFC does fall sick more often and is probably slimmer than the one at home, but the IFC child learns much more and much faster compared to the one at home...

the vocab that the IFC child has is definitely better/more even though the other kid is one year older... I guess it's the stuff that the kids is exposed to as well

many asked me, your #3 how? who take care.
i told them go ifc lor...ppl will be like "huh, u sure or not, can managed meh. then ifc so exp"

i explained until i dunno what to say.
of cos who dont want a maid at hm can take care of house chores right.

but then if maid or ifc (i can only choose one), i would rather send my #3 to ifc. i know i have peace of mind.
its just the falling sick part which i expected when bb turns 6 months old, they will sure fall sick once.
but i know, she be happy there, got other kids as company, got different teachers teach her different things

talking about teachers...
not all teachers are bad...
i really meet some really got passion in teaching kids one...
starting, i was thinking, hey the teacher so young (25 years old only), can meh...can handle my kids meh, they are not even mothers yet..
but they prove me wrong...they are really very passionate..and really get to understand the kids..
that change my perception..
but then everything all really depends on teachers and the school management. heng suay just like a maid.

2Ks,
i do believe in chinese medicine, i was seeing chinese physician b4 i had my #1 to tiao my body. because of taking chinese medicine and accupunture, i never fall sick for my ist pregnancy, except once for cough only. but for this pregnancy, i keep falling sick, but it could be becoz i got it from my son too...but i do feel stronger in my last pregnancy compared to this. I saw my physician when i went for my detailed scan, and she also recommended that i can bring my son for "tui na". she say they will enjoy it one, its like massage for them, will make his lungs stronger?
normally if his cough is normal, not wheezing type, i will let him recover on his own. i m not so into letting him take western medicine all the time. to me, western medicine will cure your current prob, but the prob might still exist in your body. if the chinese medicine is suitable for my boy, i m willing to let him try. the hou zao san is in powder form?

fool4love
yah lor. unless the granny is very educated, can teach the kids lah. but normally, the grandparents will just give in to the child, everything also can, turn out, they are very spoiled kids, very demanding. everytime my boy do naughty things, he wont get scolding from my in-laws. in that way, he wont know that what he has done is wrong. son in the end, my hub and me got to be the bad person to beat and scold him lor, no choice....
out of this topic, did u sign up for the herbal and massage package with PE_?

worried79: i shared before...try not to get the herbs from PE_ la..
their herbs are low grade ones. $300 u go outside can get much better ones.

yes, hou zao san is in powdered form. i mix in water and give my child. but then it must strictly follow the dosage on the box. cos different brands different dosage. but then its not very cheap.
u fall sick more often could be due to 1st confinement too...never do properly.
but then still can cure one. just do a proper confinement this round.
i heard about tui na...no harm trying. to me, as long not western medicine which is not good in the long run, i dont mind trying.
but i never brought my kids before though.

My hubby too want to put the baby to infant care instead of taking care by my mother cos he want him to be independent . But I told him maybe we shd wait til he is one yr old then put in infant care .