(2013/05) May 2013

xuan: which hop are you planning to give birth? then maybe those mothers that give birth there before can advice you better.

Xuan, deposit amount think depends on which ward you want to be admitted to, and also whether you need c-section or natural delivery. Different hospitals will have different charges/deposit amount so better to check with them. Anyway all these can be settled during admission time, so no need to worry about it. Can ask your hubby to help you settle when the time comes.

Wah 2ks, you got a lot of lobangs even for confinement.

I am now thinking whether should get another thermal pot for confinement. Like 1 for longan red date tea and 1 for vinegar totters or whatever that needs to be stewed for hours. Save electricity.

xuan: its a group.

worried79: think 1 year back they did top up $300 to CDA already. but then hor...$300 is not even enough to pay one month fees lor! sickening.
i think sparkletots under pcf is not any much cheaper. think less $50-100?
if u talking about PAP those 3 hours one, think its lesser than $150

chiro: eh...why dont u ask around and see who got just borrow for one month?
thermal pot not cheap leh. the amount that i spend on the new pot i can pay for the whole month PUB bill lor.
why u using electricity?
stew used gas will be cheaper mah...

2ks - ohh cos i saw from previous comments electricity can shoot up to 500+ cos of slow cooker etc mah. I got 1 thermal pot already which I bought at $99 previously, quite useful.

Recently in the mood for shopping. Bought 7 front-button pajamas dresses for home maternity and hospital wear. Waiting for my Carter baby clothing + cloth diapers delivery hehe.

chiro: must see how big your house and are u going to on your aircon whole day?
to me i wont cos i will wanna sweat..
sweat more than will slim down la!
so i only on my aircon at night.

oh...i am using tiger brand thermal cooker...it cost $200+ so not logic to get another one.

2Ks: my sister in law told me cannot blow air con?! and must close windows ah during confinement...aaa. I told her I will heat stroke eh.

hi 2Ks- wendy tan is me

Xuan, I'm also going for Mount A. You can go to their hospital tour to learn more.

2ks - my house small small nia haha. Hmmm usually we seldom on aircon, depends on the weather then bah. Ooh Tiger is the japanese brand more atas de.

Any mummies got eat durians during this period? My mom has been buying for me, I usually take 2 small seeds for each day. Cos I still haven't put on weight. My arms are getting thinner... @_@

haha yes 2K got a lot of lobangs. she's very resourceful one! Multi-tasker :p

Sigh, my dream is 6 months maternity leave lor. How wonderful.

bewildered
I think you'll succeed in Breastfeeding this round coz you sound so motivated! All you need to do is drink fluids, latch and latch and latch. It may be as easy as that. My neighbour failed at breastfeeding #1. But she continued to latch and latch for #2, and she has been breastfeeding fully for 6 months now already. No need any magic formula

Chiro
wow, seems that you're having fun shopping!
I need to get new PJs too. I think i wore the same PJs in hospital for both #1 & #2! I find that it's OK to use non-button also. Just have to pull up the top to nurse. Just get a nursing cover. For me i'll just use my scarf.

pinktulip - oh yea hor, can use the poncho that 2ks helped to order for us hahaha. But I love the pajamas dresses, very comfortable, been wearing everyday at home since I bought them. It's actually quite hard to find front-button pajamas dresses suitable for pregnant ladies, only saw in Sorella and Young Hearts.

Breastfeeding - Very motivated to BF too. Been researching on milk bags and breastfeeding tips. The part about bleeding is scary though, thinking of getting nipple shields for protection already.

Heng we got some very experienced mummies here for encouragement and advice! :D

chiro: then your PUB bill shouldnt shoot to $500 la. mine was $300+ during confinement month. maybe just set aside $400?

eh...i do not suggest u to take durians now leh...cos its not durian season and the durian all "injection" ones..
i think may then is the season...take in may?
if u want to put on weight, more healthier is kampong eggs and beef..

pinktulip: no la...am not. just more independent abit cos i have no help mah...everything got to do myself.
how nice if really 6 months maternity...come back time is take bonus, then take bonus already can tender resignation...lol
now work more difficult, the young boss very problematic.

wow!!2Ks really alot of lobang! *salute*

scarly we all bulk purchase all the herbs we need and get cheaper prices sia..

utility bills: really afraid that month will shoot so high man.. later my blood pressure also high.. haha.. my hubbie see the bill he might faint.. tsktsk..

how i wish they can implement 6 months maternity! but my boss sure go mad cause now he trying to psycho me take half now and another half take later.. but will be wonnnnn-derrrrrr-ful!!!

maternity PJs: what type should we get? the normal dressy PJs or got specific one? i know must prepare for hospital wear and i shy to lift up the dress to breastfeed in front of nurse.. ahhaahah.. already feeling violated that we will be so exposed during the whole process..

going for my first pre-natal class later with Wong BB! Heard she will show us some video.. hope i won't faint man..

i usually only order herbs for my close friends la..cos hard to coordinate leh.
different ppl want different amount/types

my air con is blowing at my leg 1 leh.
i cannot imagine if no air con to sleep.

sure die ah..somemore May is hot weather right?

cordlfe
i sign up coz i m worried when the bb needs it, it is available. money cannot buy the health. so i guess it is better to b safe thsn sorry. plus the medical advances, wat is impossible now might b possible by then
personal thoughts

debbie, still got the 6 mths maternity? thoughtthe govt not implementing

2ks
my mil shld know how to mix bah
i hope

For the maternity pjs, i forgot the brand i bought but its a long dress with button front. I use it even after i delivered and for bfd.. Remove the button when bfd lo.. I go back check the brand...

Rach.. A fren shared with me that her boobs used to be provate property until after giving birth her boobs become public property... Even during confinement, with cl and mil an eeryone walking in and out of the room while u are pumping.. Haiz... Its become so normal already... :-/

junebunny: wahahahha! sounds so funny!! we got a nursing poncho. I think it can helps to cover up ba. so no need be 'public property'. lols!

xuan - nursing poncho no use when it comes to blocked ducts... massage lady will see and touch... then that time the lactation consultant also came to my house also see touch and squeeze.. mil super don't respect privacy just open door when I'm pumping even though I tell her I'm pumping... sickening like mad... then my friends also see me bf also like that... come to a point I'm immune to their viewing..

Oh yea... V true! Before delivering, my boobs are private property. After delivering, my mom, my CL, my female friends all viewed until like free show case!

I'll be getting more buttoned pyjamus.. Any idea where I can get them? My yewtee is a ulu place with limited shops!

morning ladies...

wow... you all are early... i just got into office....

Maternity leave:
Have not decided whether i want to take one-shot or 3 months and have 4-days work week for the rest of the year... that was what my colleague did. Not sure whether it's feasible though...

Poncho:
2ks: so sorry about the delay. hubbs is working at marina square area. misread it to thought that the convenient meeting place is raffles city. Would it be more convenient for you to post the poncho to me instead? I can trf you the additional postage cost. If not, will ask hubbs to head down to raffles place during lunch...

Things to buy:
Just bought an electric kettle yesterday. Didnt know that a kettle can cost more than S$100. No wonder my colleague told me that the additional baby bonus will be gone before you know it...

Milk bottles:
I have bought the avent starter pack. how many bottles will it be enough?

worried79: i used to buy those rashguards cute designs for my boys.
but i realised that is for short swimming sessions like 10mins. if intend to let them swim longer cannot, cos they be shivering like mad. even though sun shining also shivering...
thus i bought konfidence thermal for them.
i bought from overseas spree. but i saw mothercare selling almost $80/pc

electric kettle so exp ah?..i bought like $20-30 only leh...haha i very cheapo 1 lah..

how to tell hubby that breast milk is better?. My hubby very funny 1 leh. He saw his sister in law's sis baby very big size (4 months already 9kg)and find him so cute.

than he become so pro formula and say want our bb to be like this. i told him, people now is pro-breast milk and he is pro formula milk.

2Ks: LOL! yup! =x Pardon me. But you really MOO MOO eh!! *thumbs up* got secret to share a not!! LOL!

Milk bottles: yah. anyone can advise how many bottles will be sufficient? And I know Avent has quite a few types of bottles now. so confusing...dono which one to buy.

should we thanks this michael palmer huh....PAP giving new benefits again.

those earning a monthly incoming of $7500 or less will enjoy an additional cc subsidy of $100 to $540 on top of the basic subsidy, depending on income

fool4love
did you buy a stainless steel kettle? probably a good brand lah that's why expensive. It's worth it i think. I stay away from plastic kettles. So scary, boiling plastic. I bought over-the-stove stainless steel kettle coz I realised that it can be expensive using electricity to boil (if too regularly). Worse is using a hotpot (the one that keeps reboiling itself & you can just press it anytime you need hot water). Electricity guzzler!

JC
Haha, you're quite funny in your posts :p Then you must educate your hubby! If you eat good food, your BM will be good & i've seen really chubby babies on Full BM. Why don't you tell him the amount of $ he can save if you BF vs buying FM. He sure agree with you one. One can of infant formula can be up to $40! Imagine how much to spend monthly.

Re: Bottles
Yes Avent has some and the ones that come with an extra insert leaks quite badly. I buy the normal Avent ones. If you're expressing BM, you'll need more than 3 bottles. But there are also bottles meant for BM storage only, you could get those (without teats). Maybe 5-8 bottles can be used for standby?

Chiro
Yes! You should standby all that you need for breastfeeding coz on confinement later it'll be hard to go out to get it.
You can buy breastpads, nipple cream (heard the medela one is good) & nipple shields. I never used nipple shields. I just gritted my teeth when it was painful. But as baby learns to latch, the pain will be lesser. Usually, pain is due to improper latching. But I think over time, our nipps also become "tougher" lah, so won't bleed so much.

xuan: hahaha...ya my gf call me a cow. but its not eng eng sit there have milk one lor...i got put in effort one hor.

personally i think for a start 3 bottles is enough. why? cos dont want to sterilize just 1 bottle each time. at least accumulate 2 then sterilize with pumps parts.
but dont too many also in case bb prefer other brands of bottles.

but then so far...i do not give my babies a choice. i used this brand this teat means they got to take..i choose for them

2Ks,
Oh, ok thanks. Actually I m taking of those one piece type, Kiddy palace selling from almost $40 onwards. Coz my boy's cc every month end will have one morning of Water play. he dun have a proper suit, so will wear his uniform and play in the water. i scare he will catch a cold, coz normally after that, he will have flu one. so thot of investing in one for him

worried79: your boy is in which cc in sbw? my son also have water/sand play every thurs. but they wont dip into the pool leh...just use bucket and play water outside.

$40+ is cheap already. konfidence is $80

Massage lady: I just call a malay massage lady. She told me she doesn't help to relieve the engorgemant of breast , only massage the body, binding and slimming.

pinktulip: What's the purpose of the nipple shields? Hehe. Mmm. Indeed gotta stock up for BF, but skali don't have that amount of milk milk like waste money eh. LOL!!

2Ks: Haha! you pump very regularly?? I saw u even able to store extra milk!! =X so good eh~~

xuan: those necessary still have to buy la...
eg. nipple cream (i used lasinoh brand, medela also ok)
milkbags not necessary yet, if want can standby 1 packet.
some storage bottles for bm lor

ya i pump very regularly...those extra milk can last for an additional month when i stop bf. i also fed my #1 when i have extra milk during #2 time.

2Ks: okay!! yah. gonna slowly start to buy things to stock up already. Just waiting to confirm gender =( wow! govt so good now ah. LOL!

Pinktulip:

ya. i bought those electric kettle which use electricity to boil one.. Those that can keep warm throughout the day one. was thinking that during night feed, the CL will just 'heat' up the breast milk while i continue to sleep. haha! I think i just bought an electrical guzzler..

Not sure how much 'warm' water i need. I was told that i have to boil the water together with the herbs to bathe also.. A colleague of mine was so strict with herself that she didnt even use normal water to wash her hands. I think she used vinegar water or something...

LOL 2ks I can't help laughing at your comment. Additional subsidy will be nice! *grins*

Now researching on using Playtex drop-ins/bottle liners as breast milk storage.

pinktulip: i never used those electric boiler that keep warm one lor! that one SUCKS electricity! i used thermal pot. just boil water twice a day during confinement month.

fool4love: i used warm boiled water to brush my teeth and wash my hands during confinement month.
believe or not. during #1 time i didnt for a few days and my fingers went numb.

chiro: if i am not wrong playtex one must use rubber bands or something rite? then hor...it will occupy space hor. cos cannot be lay flat.
yr freezer big and empty or not.

Xuan
Nipple shield is like a rubber thing you place over your nips I think, so it won't hurt your nips when baby is latching on. But i don't think it's necessary actually. some pple just buy to standby.

2ks
Aiyah, below $7.5k I don't qualify :/
It's like I'm no longer a sandwiched class. I'm below sandwiched class now but I still don't get these subsidies.

The article mentioned it's ALL parents. I guess it's working parents?