(2013/05) May 2013

2Ks,
what is considered as never do properly? i have cl with me, i eat all those food, but i secretly went to bath with normal water for first 2 days coz really feel very sticky, drank some plain water on top of dates drink, could it be the cause?
tui na is not cheap too, and have to make the effort to bring him there once a week. so i m still considering lor. but if in the long run, his lungs can be stronger, his health will improve, i think its worth the investment

Hi ladies, so sad I caught the ful bug and went to see gp just now. Tahan for a few days anfd after all can't escape the eating of medicine.

My lips are all red~ doc say I heaty but I have been drinking water.anyone know wgat other cooling drinks we can take. I want to recover asap so that no need to eat medicine le though gp says its safe for bb. But I am still so worry...

dian tang: when about 1 year old u send to IFC, the baby already recognized the surrounding and people. so u might have abit of problem.
and also send 1 year old doesnt mean get sick recover faster.
they will still get sick. and will take longer to recover.

worried79: u got take tonics? bathing with normal water i think will "jin feng"
drink water actually is ok la..if u drink warm ones. it just result in bloated stomach only.

how long he been with the cc? some kids if fast, 6 months can settle, but some take a year to be sort of immune to it.

worried 79: nope. did not go for the massage and the herbs. if i recall correctly, it was the 2Ks was the one who advised that i can get better quality stuff outside for that amount.

For the massage lady, i got a recommendation from colleagues, so didnt go with theirs...

Taking care of baby:
the current plan is for my in law to take care of the baby. but hubbs did say that if there are any conflicts, we shall send the baby to IFC => which i agree.

I guess the way of wanting to bring up the kid could be quite different. Hubbs is the more chin chye one... then i'm the more 'niao' one... So i guess there might be potential conflict. But hopefully things will be okay

Actually I oso facing a similar situation with JC, where I hv registered for my bb in the IFC - Cherie Hearts below my office, they at 4th floor and i at 7th floor.

A only difference is only my we dun hv family members here who can help to look aft my bb. Besides, am oso cant found nanny near to my hse and IFC nearby is full hse. Thus, when I know the IFC below my office hv ONLY ONE vacancy in coming August, I quickly paid the deposit the second day aft discussed with my hubby. I dun wish to lost the chance as I oledy put a lot of effort (since I pregnant) to find nanny or oth IFC but stil unavailable.

At the same time, I oso quite satisfy when I visit the IFC, the environment is clean and comfortable, and the teachers is friendly and nice. Somemore, one of the teacher who in-charged of infant care is my hubby church's group member, so I will b more rest assured put my bb there.

Min, pls take care and hv more rest. I been sick for a week from last Wed but nw stil nt recover yet. I oso went to see gp but i didnt eat the medicine prescribed by him eventhough doctor said is safe to my bb. I think tat is the reason i took long time to recover.

2Ks,wat is hou zao san in chinese name?

worried 79,
think 2k means like nvm bu enough.
cause having a cl doesnt mean the confinement is done properly. it will depends on how well the cofinement lady take care of you during the one one month, like cooking of the tonic soup and food for you on your confinement, ensuring you have enough rest during your confinement.
cause i understand some cl do not really know how to cook,so end up the mummy did not bu enough and body nvm really recover.

2ks,
my boy has been in cc for only 4mths, coming to 5. hopefully he will settle down soon, and dun bring the virus home again. so heart pain when i see him cough and cough, esp in the nite, then he can sleep well.
i do take tonics, i secretly went to shower, drink water, have fan blowing at me....
can't imagine this coming may how...the weather is going to be very very hot. if dun shower, really feel very uncomfortable. and i dun feel clean after the herbal bath leh, really have to tahan for that one month

Jc, one other most important thing to consider is the transportation to IFC.. Are u driving to work? If yes, u got to consider the part whereby bb cries inside the car.. Normally, bb won't fuss in a moving vehicle. But if touchwood during jam, bb will be pek chek with the stoppings and u too will be stress and pek chek.. Or if bb pacifier drop and no one is there to pick it up for bb, bb would also fuss for it. It's not recommended to have bb being placed in the front passenger seat, thus bb got to be placed at the back seat and it's not always easy to reach to them during driving.
And if ur not driving, u have to consider the days where u have to bring bb to/fro if ur hb is not fetching/picking u all. Peak hour taxi fares are not cheap. Both trains and buses are also packed like sardine.. Thus, got to think wisely about all these when ur choosing an IFC/cc. It has to be convenient and accessible easily in the long run.

Worried, for phlegmy cough, other than hou zao sang, u can try giving hou Ning.. Hou Ning is v gd for phlegm but v costly too. Get them from eu yan sang as the grade is better. All my girls Chinese herbs(crysanthemum, china barley, Ji bing, cordyceps, pao sheng, ling yang etc) are all from eu yan sang. Yes it's costly but least I can be assured that their stuffs are of better quality.

Min, actually if u don't have any complications like early contractions, bleedings etc(touchwood**), u can take normal herbal tea regularly. Like crysanthemum, Luo han GUo, china barley etc. it's no harm as Singapore weather is really a killer and we could easily get heaty ESP when we're not sleeping well. Whenever I feel that I'm heaty, I'll load myself with herbal tea. Trying brewing ur own without sugar as its more healthy. Most importantly, drink more water.

Thanks tsm. I took one dosage hopefully that's oki and all that I need to recover. Haiz try so hard to stay healthy but still down. Drinking a lot of water now...

Xuan, basically a gd confinement is to rest well. Really lie on bed and rest. When drinking water, don't stand to drink, got to sit down for fear that womb may drop down.
For food, take more gd food like better quality eggs, fish, pork.. Take more ginger to get rid of wind as we'll be bloated with wind. During this one month/40days, it's the only time to eat heaty food(not fried food) and food full of tonics. Can take Dom, bu Yao jing, double boiled liquor, pig trotters ginger etc

Thanks reddish.. I must start drinking the herbal tea u mentioned. I have been avoiding liang stuff cos I thought cant drink. So heaty and my kips like sausage now so red.

Haiz..i think got pros and cons lah..

Saw the diabetics doc today. Still worried that the reading is high coz xmas and new yr feasting but end up, dropped lower than doc's target..heng ah

Waiting to see bb for my detail scan later

tsm: 猴枣散 or
八保散
ba bao san is more mild. and it should be given at the start of the cough. if the cough already one week, this doesnt works.

but then i only give chinese medicine upon bb reaches 6 months...

worried79: its a good choice that u put in now then later. cos by then his body should be okay already. otherwise he will bring virus back to the nb.
must make sure he washes his hands and feet upon reaching home. it had been my boys habit until now.

then bo bian already if u really bath. i understand some mummies buay tahan. but for me, i rather tolerate for the 28 days then to regret for life.
宁可信其有 for me...

maybe cos during #1 time, few days without CL, i can see difference, thus i been very guai after that. i do the minimal, those that i believe one i will do.

example:
1. wash/brush teeth/face with warm boiled water
2. dont bath within the 1st 10 days (only wipe down)
3. eat ginger/drink tonic/drink dom
4. no chicken/no eggs for 1st 10 days
5. wear slippers at home
6. covered up during the 28 months (like no sleeveless etc)
7. wear socks to sleep
8. no squatting
9. sit on proper chair to eat. no sit on floor or cushion on floor
10. sit and drink/eat tonics/food, no standing to drink/eat
11. drinks lotsa longan drink

and i also believe in these few during the 1st month
1. no patting of bb for more than 5 mins
2. no rocking of bb.
3. swaddle wrap for at least 6 weeks.

reddish: some items can get from EYS some cannot...
some really overpriced.

like this shen hua tang...EYS one cost i think $60 or something...u can get at $20 or something outside

We stock up on Dom on our last 2 trip haha
Abit kiasu ..i never even tasted dom before
Dont know can accept anot

I think dont bath very xin ku..below will bleed after delivery rite
Must bath to keep it clean mah

JC: 2 bottles of DOM is enough.
my CL will hand squeeze ginger juice then double boil with dom and black chix/pork loin.
its very nice...
i like it. my hub also drink at times. then we both sweat like shit.

of cos must clean up la...clean up but not bathing the whole body.

reddish: Ahh. okay. How about pork liver? They said must eat to recover the blood we lost...? is it necessary? Sian. I'm not a fan of Ginger eh.

YOU SERIOUS ABOUT THE WOMB DROPPING THING!? okok! I better listen to you. Confinement sure fat like hell uh (@_@)! It's Okay to consume those nursing tea or Fenugreek during confinement or even before giving birth?

morning mummies!!

just finished reading the posts.. so funny on the names! my hubby surname Ng.. he was saying can name our kid huang jin lai so that gold will always come.. or huang gua, huang li.. almost faint.. still thinking of english name too.. kinda like Sarah but he doesn't like.. bleah...

2Ks: received the poncho with many thanks!! my hubby was like, somebody online shopping again.. lol..

min: have lots of rest ya.. do nothing but sleep sleep sleep... i caught the bug last monday.. took me 3 days mc to recover.. i slept and slept and drank lots of water.. we gotta recover on our own so will take longer..

2ks,
i think tat time first time mah, everything also dun know. i just feel so sticky, need an instant shower. if this time can tahan, will follow what u did. hopefully can improve my health condition. that time i kept forgeting, drink water while standing, then my cl kept reminding me to sit down then drink water. and my mum kept telling me to lie down and rest if nothing to do. i think proper rest is really impt lor.
yr bb allow u to swaddle for 6 weeks? i think mine by 2-3rd week already kick off the swaddle wrap liao. is it ok if we just leave nb to sleep and not pat them, since they dun know yet? my previous cl will always carry him and walk walk till he sleep, which i dun really like lor. older ppl always say if u keep carrying the bb, next time he/she grow up, will always want u to carry them.

rach: u are welcome. hope u like it.

xuan: if your CL is good, she can cook many patterns of food then u will like ginger.
i simply cant forget the chicken that my cl cook. she will steam the kampong chix drumstick, then debone it. then she will make her own ginger sauce for me to dip..
damn yummy...

worried79: u try to follow the minimal this confinement and see la...no harm trying. just remember the risk is only 28 days. better than whole life suffer rite? its a gamble which i think i can afford to take.

i used tmc swaddle wrap. its very big pc and tight. bb move it wont drop off. i make sure they are swaddled for at least 6 weeks. i find they sleep better after that.
i dont use nappy to wrap cos not tight enough.
yes, actually its good to let bb soothe themselves to sleep.
and then also, sometimes i will let them sleep on their side, then i stuff things behind their back, then change sides.

i always instruct my CL not to carry always.

2Ks,
ok, will take your advice and try out for this confinement. will try to do a proper one this time round. guess i have to be more firm this time and tell cl not to carry bb once he cries. that was wat my last cl did, and my mil also like tat. i also have the tmc swaddle, but i only used it for first week, subsequently, cl just use the nappy cloth, which i think is the reason why bb managed to kick off, its too small liao

worried79: the tmc swaddle is good cos its wide enough and tight enough so bb cant get out of it.
u might notice, baby sleeps better when swaddled.
this is something that i believe.
light patting is fine...but not to do it beyond 5 mins.
u wouldnt wanna pat until hands aching rite.

sobs... i haven't receive my poncho... i damn pissed with singpost... this dumb vpost... i order stuff from drugstore and carters... then 2 shipments... last week and this week... last week haven't deliver to my house... they can deliver this week's shipment.... arghhh.... screaming at them over the phone now....

2ks,
i have 2 pieces of TMC swaddle, will make good use of it this time round. yah, last time i used to pat my boy to sleep till i have to take turns with my hb. but this 2 weeks, i noticed he starts to sleep on his own liao. he will adjust himself in bed, and tell me he no need patting. guess its becoz his teacher never pat him liao. good also

tsm: her class was enriching and good! learnt alot from her.. she talked about nutrition, communications with baby, confinement a little and food to eat/not to eat.. i went with my sis cause my hub not free.. we went in on the dot so we sat in front which is good cause can see her demonstrate more clearly.. but my sis was amused by some stuff she said and giggled lah.. haha.. so funny..

she also taught us simple exercises we can do on our own to help relief our aches from top to toe.. haha..

hope you will like the class as much as i did!

Rach, tks a lot! keke, sound like interesting, hopefully i will enjoy her class too!
Oh ya, how many hours for the class? mine will b start at 4.30pm. Anything tat i need to bring? Did she provide any notes?

Rach : i think it more of germs / bacteria to avoid goin to hospital...my sis was warded to hospital but my mum say small matter only ask me dont go in case i catch anything..

Saw bb face during scan..i think he inherit hubby big nose..can see the 2 big nostril..alamak..470g at week 22

But not very cooperative..doc ask me take a break and scan again..always is the heart scan that they cannot take photos of

My mother was taking care of my 2 yr old niece . My mom still holding milk bottle for her. Still many things she hadnt learnt how to do . My hubby scared our child will be like that too.

babymaine: u know hor...i got 3 parcels i only received it after ONE MONTH!
u said singpost idiot or not???

diantang: its up to u...go or dont go the sickness part is unavoidable.
just take note that hor, the later the kid go cc, the longer recovery period they will take.
even teachers told me that also.

2ks - one month??? if i'm u i scream at them until dunno where le... i'm giving them till 3pm to tell me the status of my package... if not i'm calling them again and this time it's going to be nastier than the previous call...

2ks, I think I'll also be gd and swaddle bb this time round. For #1, we only used nappy cloth and swaddle lightly. My CL also keeps saying weather hot bla bla bla... I don't wish to use Yao LAN for #2.. I used it for #1 after my CL left cos I dont know how to tc of bb and I'll be alone at hm. V scared I'll lose my sanity and do foolish stuffs. But I only used it during day. My #1 could sleep through the night I think from 5 weeks onwards so I'm thankful that I don't have to do night feeds weeks later as I believed that so long she's drinking well in the day, it's fine to drop night feed if she doesn't cries for it.

My #1 was hospitalized with fever and jaundice at 5days old for 4 nights.. Me and my mom swaddled her using a thicker swaddle and my mom over protective, on fan v small and blow at wall. I also didn't realized bb was having fever until hb reached hm and saw that bb face was v red after latching. I thought that it's normal as I didn't on Aircon and no direct fan. But I was wrong. Bb jaundice shot up with fever thus has to be warded isolated. My hb had a big fight with me over this and he sis helped us to engage a CL that is available immediately. My mom was doing confinement for me, but she is not those that can help me jaga bb 24/7.. Once evening comes, she needs to go hm cook dinner, do laundry and household chores. In the morning, she needs to go central buy coffee, breakfast, marketing. Weekend she needs to go church and meals with my dad and brother. I'm a first time mummy and total clueless on how to tc of a bb... my hb needed his rest after work and hopes that my mom could tend bb but my mom hopes that my hb could tend bb. So ended up lots of conflicts and I kept crying cos too stessed up with everything.
Haha v long story and I've learnt my lessons through all these and knows better in handling #2 when she comes along..

I'm thinking of getting combi rashule. Should I? With #1 running and jumping about, I don't feel safe leaving bb on floor rocker or on sofa(when bb can't flip yet)..

Aside to these, does any mummies drink brown rice water with ginger/black bean? Said to relieve water retention. For #1, I drank lots of plain water for fear that I can't produce enough milk during confinement, thus I didn't managed to lose much weight and my tummy was flabby. I'm v determined not to drink any plain water but Longan red date ginger tea or brown rice ginger black bean water.

hello mummies!

xuan, last time many mummies told me eating pork liver will inhibit/lessen breastmilk supply. I had a lot of breastmilk and didn't take liver. And my grandma told me eat liver during confinement will cause the veins in legs to swell and pop out. So scary but dunno true or not. Anyway cannot eat liver now also, vitamin A too high not good for baby.

dian tang, i sent my #1 to CC at 18 months, he learnt a lot from there. I like IFC but what i need most is the evening care, so i had no choice but to settle with helper and MIL instead. But thru CC, the child learns a lot. 2 years old still don't know how to hold bottle is very late worh. My #1 held his own bottle at like 4 months. It's the reinforcement at home that's impt

2ks, i love TMC swaddle blanket. So big!

Re: 6 Months maternity
it's really my dream to have 6 months! But i think the govt is still thinking about it.. haha.. Looks impossible

reddish: i totally feel u. just like when my mum said she do confinement for me when #1 time, but she already lost touch on how to handle bb.
and she need to run home to do her own chores also. thus i was crying so badly until my MIL asked me to get a CL. my life came back after the CL came.
cos tot everything my mum should know, end up she everything dunno...
only heard "my friend said this, my friend said that"
and then only said "why u let my grandchild cry? why u no milk one"
omg...cant forget those time.

tmc swaddle is not hot, i on fan blow them la. i think its fine de. the material i think its not bad. maybe u can try using that? i love it lor.
i find it even better than those kiddopotamus swaddle. those cant swaddle tightly.

u go KP see, got cheaper type korean brands that works the same as rashule. or even this puku brand. last round i saw promo at fair only 128
rashule the cushion will "qi mao" easily.
i am using the korean brand one and i bought extra cover only $200+ abit. to alternate washing. let me load on fb group for u see if i can find the pic

I was reading all the CC comments, i think what 2Ks said is true, i just placed my boy 18mth into toddler care and he fell sick within the first week of school and ever since then he is still sick, runny nose, cough, phlegm, nose stuck and fever. We will send him to sch now on and off depending on how sick is he n if theres a care giver at home. so maybe sending slighly earlier is better. Like b4 1 years old. Now the school has an outbreak of stomach flu, 10 pple got it already, so i'm keeping him at home for the moment.

But one thing the teachers there said, my boy is smarter than his same age friend in class and is also smarter than the whole 2 year old class. Maybe it's all the stimuation and teaching he had at home. Compared to the 2 year old class (most of them from infant care)

One other thing bad is that my boy is super active, and absolutely no discipline, running ard and when teacher scold him, he actually took his bag (trolley) and said bye to the teacher. haha, compared to the other kids form IFC, they are very good and trained, sit down eat till finish, 12noon lie down drink milk sleep, can sit and wait for bath.

So there are pros and cons of IFC and CC, depends on what you place emphasis on.

debbie: my #2 also hold his own bottle around 4-5 months.
yes! tmc swaddle is my favourite...die die must prepare for me.

reddish: i uploaded the imitation rashule chair...LOL
u go kp jurong point see. i saw alot of models. much cheaper and the cushion nicer one

fruitloops: to me hor..if the kid not active means not a kid already...lol
my elder although in ifc since young but he also cannot sit still.
everytime teacher complain to me lor..
but then he does know what is going on in class.

i get really happy when he come back and show me what he learnt in school la..
so in a way better than he stay at home everyday.

xuan: i give u a stool...u sit there and wait long long hor...
joking huh...dont angry..

must buy one la...that day i was telling u guys rite...2pc think $14 or something???

2Ks: wahaha. no worries. ohh. buy from TMC? haha. so far for me to go leh. Thinking whether I should get the SwaddleMe swaddle instead. like convenient eh. just fold fold fold...then stick. hahaha

xuan: u went for mrs wong class rite? she will be selling in the class at a later part. just remember to get those.

swaddle me by kidopotamus rite? easy but not tight enough, then if bb legs long, defeat the purpose