(2013/05) May 2013

pinktulip: wah...both yr hubby earning power good...lol
i never like nipple shield. cos the nipple be like so big then so plastic, the baby wouldnt like to suck.

xuan: i shared before...i heart boots or nanny brand.

Yea 2ks, the playtex one need rubber bands/wires to tie, or can use those clips. My freezer quite empty now. Seems quite convenient, just pump into the drop-ins, pop into the bottle to feed. Time saver! And seems affordable comparatively to those spree milk bags.

2Ks,
my boy is at star learners, opp sembawang shopping centre. $40 is cheap liao? then i should invest in one for him. just scare he will outgrow it very soon...haiz, then have to give his future didi liao. i think for his cc, they prepare a big inflatable pool, then the kids play wif the water inside lor

2Ks
It's average I guess, I'm just grateful with what I have. $12K & above then very comfortable lah, coz gahmen said cannot buy HDB flat, must buy EC. Haha. I still can buy HDB flat mah.

Over the years, the definition of a sandwiched class has really changed yah? But the more you earn, somehow the more you spend. Sigh, that's life.

Xuan
Think you don't need to worry about milk bags for now. It's more useful if you need a lot for storage maybe say a month before going back to work?

chiro: this web hor...must buy dunno 4000baht. then hor the milkbags got limit one. think 1 time can buy 10 boxes only. and always OOS.
not easy to buy although price cheaper.
u can go wts...some selling $9/10

worried: or u want rashguards? old navy/gap spree can be very cheap. can be around $20+ per set

pinktulip: ya lor...my hub works part time...otherwise hard to survive also.
but then extra subsidy the cc centres will increase fee or not..another headache

Hi, how does baby bonus work? the top up cash into baby's account 1 for 1 dollar that govt tops up, up to 6k, does anyone know how it works?

jill: I think the 1 for 1 dollar that govt top up is for CDA - up to 6k. Baby bonus works another way round after the revised policy from govt. 6k given in 3 installment...

2Ks,
i think its rashguards, dun know the proper name for this until i went to do a search. i saw at cheri kids and kiddy, all around $40 bucks one. will check again and no choice have to buy liao

jill: this is the explanation 2Ks has provided me with and I think it should help

upon birth
open CDA account (either OCBC or stand chart): dollar to dollar match till max 6k (1st & 2nd child). means u put $100 govt will match $100 till max $6K

baby bonus account - upon filled up form and credit to specified account. 6k divided into 1 year,
upon birth 50%
subsquent 25%, 25%

Childcare leave (calculate from youngest child) -total 6 days (prorated if new staff)

paternity leave - 1 week for papa, but also can use 1 week leave from mother 16 weeks leave
means mummy can take 15 weeks whereas papa can take 2 weeks.

besides that can take unpaid ccl of a week if have infants less than 2 years old.

childcare subsidy: $300 for above 18 months, $600 for below 18 months

worried79: sometimes disney/oldnavy/gap online store (spree) got offers, can be quite cheap $20-30 per set.

those 1 pc hor..i personally find when they bigger, very difficult to get them to wear...

2ks,
do u have the link for the online spree?
but i would prefer those one piece one, coz i suspect he caught a cold from playing the water. normally when he comes back after water play, he will have a cold one. so i thot try the one piece type, maybe will keep him warmer? cannot dun let him play also, teacher says he enjoys playing in the water.....headache for me

2k, remember to count me in if there's a spree related on breastfeeding! I'm also pro breastfeeding! Wana stock up on nursing tea, milk bags, storage bottles etc etc... Hehe..

2Ks,
thanks, will take a look first. Very new to all these. Want to get something good for him, but dun want too ex also, so "ma fan"

hi gals, is the nursing tea better or have u gals heard of this brand called fernugreek sold at pharmacy? to stimulate milk grands?

wah, so many posts this morning!

wt81: I think both work differently, I tried fenugreek for my #1, but did not help me much, in fact, I smelled of fenugreek! It is actually a type of herb, there are different brands in the pharmacy. For nursing tea, I 've not tried that, but for #2, may try.

Can ask 2nd time mummies who are near to 25-26 weeks, do you feel like you are in 3rd tri that feeling? I start to feel aching again, stomach heavy, pelvic getting sng sng again...these 2 days also feeling bloated again, and tired..

Wt81, for fenugreek, perhaps u can try greenlife brand as quite a no of mummies commented that gnc ones don't work for them.
Other than fenugreek, u can try on Malunggay tea. Mums&fairy sells them in tea bags/capsules. Malunggay is also a type of plant that is gd in stimulating milk as well as for overall health benefits. It's widely common in Philippines as they're all grown wild everywhere. Some sheng siong or teka/little India markets sells the fresh ones, with it's fruits but u got to know how to cook it..

For nursing tea, there's a varieties of brands around and it's kind of a mixtures of different herbs. Traditional medicine nursing tea/Malunggay tea works well for me. Yogi/angel mama nursing tea is also not bad. I'm stocking up bit by bit of nursing tea from iherb whenever I'm doing purchases as I took it daily at work during my breastfeeding period for #1.. It does helps in my supply but got to take it consistently like 2-3 cups daily. Other than these, u can also load more on milo, milk, avocado, soya products as proteins builds up more supply..

so many types of nursing tea to choose from. Anyway, it's okay to drink during confinement right? during confinement I heard cannot take plain water...?only can take those red dates logan water or smtg like that?

alrightly thanks reddish for the well detailed info! ya i thk can't drink plain water. hv to drink longan tea throughout

i take raw fenugreek only...buy at indian stalls only $1 for 1 big packet. i never take what mother tea or gnc fenugreek.

actually milo, oats and BUBBLE TEA increase milk too! kekeke

xuan: i just swallow it with water, 3x a day, 1 teaspoon

this is how raw fenugreek looks like. its the size of like po chai pills.

8052016.jpg

Decided on baby English name liao. ^^ Hubby thought of Chinese name this morning which sounds good to me. Might have to decide whether want to go to some name master for advice.

By the way I received the poncho liao, thanks 2ks for the recommendation and order! It looks great and comfortable.

mmm. How about Keline, Karlyn...? haha. my colleague's name :p Oh!! anyway, if we go for the tea type we can drink during confinement right?

Anyway how to differentiate baby's hip-cups and baby's kicking, punching??

Sometimes, my baby like keep kicking like that - constant tummy movement... is that hip ups??

my colleague say must keep your mood happy to have more milk. The more stress, the lesser the milk.

charliebrown : duno leh...i haven't feel the kick yet even though i week 22 liao. think my fats really very thick.

2K : can consider C and change to K.

i more worried about chinese name..really clueless

oh chiro u received already ah...that was fast...
soft and nice rite.. can cover a big area.
can even use to cover stroller when bb zzz

xuan: i actually tot of keiko or kiko...hub thinks kirby..
i tot it was some cartoon frog name..

LOL! calling Wendy again!! is your email full or something? HAHA! I can't send email to you again =( they send me undelivered mail! =(

2Ks: Haha! I totally no idea even for English name. For chinese name probably just wait till baby born, take ba zhi give people count. LOL!

2k, $1 for one big packet of raw fenugreek is cheap! I shall try for #2..

Nursing tea can be taken during confinement or even 2-3weeks before u delivered. Like 1-2 sachets of tea bags a week. But not v necessary la as after my delivery, my hormones changed rapidly and caused engorgement and lumps for me. I had a v hard time clearing it!

Woah, the poncho has been sent out? Can't wait to receive it and try it on.. Hopefully can cover my width well! Hehe

reddish: ya...i only spent $1 for the whole pregnancy.
i never like other teas...i scared buy already wont drink.
so i prefer to swallow the fenugreek.

yes...i posted out the ponchos...i already informed earlier.