(2012/12) Dec 2012

re: pump
if you all have frens who have bought the pump, maybe u all can consider borrowing from them.. just need to buy the accessories for hygiene purpose..

Hi Sasasyeo,

I took Cordlife too...and i pay more to get some machine(forget wat it called) to collect more blood than normal for storage, but when i ask my gyne abt it, he told me its not true,actually it dun make much diff. Heart pain after hearing him cos i have already paid!

If dun intend to give birth liao...then i think is gd to borrow from frens if not u still need to use all tis stuff again rite?

Buying accessories for hygiene purpose oso depend the brand and model of pumps, some accessories u buy is enough for u to get new pumps.

Can buy second hand too, at least its still yours but do the calaculation first for accessories if u are buying second hand pumps.

Hi hoping4hopes,
U are due in Dec rite? i think taka fair is the only fair liao...other fair we might not be in time for it. Try First Age, price shld be better than Taka fair.
u can chk if u going Taka fair, since paragon is just opp.

Hoping for hopes,
yup, as long as smooth delivery + healthy bb - that's all we hope for

re: pump
i used my medela twin electric (think it's $200+) and it served me well through my 1yr+ bf journey; the motor is a bit noisy though...

agree with Mummy Koh to get twin pumps cos it's less time consuming.

gael,
buy from US but the socket can fit?
i was contemplating but dropped the idea 'cos tot need to use converter...

*juz merlion-ed my lunch* sighzzz

Thanks p1nk1e for the tip! Have changed my privacy settings so that I can be found! You're right, it's do-able on the phone but only via browser and not the app.

Sun_tan, p1nk1e, anyone...can try add me to
FB now please?? My email is [email protected]

Hi Gael
yes due in early December, but i guess it wont exactly be at december,as u know usually will be early rather on date

First age? is it a retail store? sorry a bit mountain totorise..

Hi p1nk1e
yap... that all we hope for

Re: Pump
if buy from US (online) wont there be warranty? and touch wood if break down.. can the servicing done in singapore?

Hi Pinkie,
My set is US set, if i'm not wrong First age provide converter too...not very mah fan too. No choice i need to save money cos i have 2 pumps on hand tat y buy US set.
Finger cross, my set still working after 2 yrs.

Hi Hoping4hopes,
yes, its a retail store located at KKH and Paragon level 4.
First Age have in house warrantly for 1yr if im not wrong.

US set the warrantly is not validate in singapore, if break down can service in singapore but abit more ex if i'm not wrong, but better call service centre in singapore to double confirm.

Hi gael
properly will ask when i return the fetal heart doppler as it at the same shop...

am thinking if i will to buy in July will it be too kai su haaa please give me suggestion

Hey Jasfoo,
Thanks...i manage to get a CL liao...she is in singapore so i went to her work place to interview her, look ok and very soft spoken type, heard she is working for the current employer for 4 mths, shld be gd bah.

Hi Hoping4hopes,
I think that for Taka Fair the price will still be the same expect tat maybe there's more freebies. For myself i will prefer to buy in end Oct or early Nov if my Edd is early Dec. If i cant get the same promo or freebies maybe i might consider buying second hand.

Really depends on urself...some mummies duno if they will have engorgement, milk supply enough and how determined to BF, so they dun wan to spend too much on pumps, they get second hand de, like my gf.

gael,
haaa... u know what a lot ladies told me dont buy at all saying it is not confirm i can BF
i was very piss, as in my mind i am so determine to bf my bb
and was aiming to bf at least 1 year if possible..

hmmm i think about it i still got a month haaaaaa

rgd bfing. Its said that all mommies will have bm. There is no no bm mommies, only lazy mommies. But of cos for some mommies, due to circumstances, might not have the time to pump or latch, thus supply will be little. I had seen friends who start off with very miserable supply but she is extremely hardworking and managed to pump at very frequent interval and up her supply. Let us encourage each other and do our best for our bfing journey!

Hoping for hopes, so ignore your frens. if you think u can do it, for sure you can do it
I also managed to bf my #1 for about 14 mths but i had a lot of encouragement from the mommies in my previous motherhood thread. We will Whatapps and pump together lol.

Rgd pump, I am using freestyle. Back in 2010, i bought it via spree, US set for about $450. Shopping centers were selling at $900+. Even thought no warranty, but even if spoiled, i can get it repair or even buy a brand new set with that price. Recently I bought a 2nd hand PISA. Heard alot of good reviews about it. By far, the suction is the best among all Medala models. But its bulky and heavy. Intend to put PISA at home to pump and freestyle in office so that I do not need to carry my pump to and fro office everyday.

Btw, anyone gg use babyplus? I am gg to reach my 18th weeks soon. Needa start using.

Hi Hoping4hopes,
Hahaa...i get wat u mean, if u r very determine tats very gd!
Even if milk supply is low still can BF, i have a gf whom milk supply is low yet she still BF for 8mths.

BF is not as easy as we tot, so is gd to have frens whom will encourage u all the way.
At first My hubby see me engorge till so pain n so tired to BF, he will say so tired then dun BF lor...we oso drink formual milk etc...But i have my gf to enourage me and her positive tot telling me i can do it and i survive.
Let ppl with negative tot ard u noe,u r determine so stop tell me tis n tat.
I always tell myself if others can BF so long so can I.

gael and sun_tan
good encouragement! hope i be like u!
shall stay close contact with u haaa to get all the encouragment

babyplus is what?

I never used babyplus b4 but heard frm my gf b4, she have it. Its to put on ur tummy and educate ur bb in ur tummy.
google it!

Maybe will borrow frm my gf, need to save money too many kids too feed. Hahaa...

ya cos very bored when pumping mah. And i was using freestyle so my hands are free to surf net or Whatapps.

Oh, bbplus is a prenatal educational system. Previously we did talk abt this topic and a few mommies here would be using bbplus too. This time round, i am thinking to use it while in office. hope its not too noisy!

gael, your mindset is very positive! I also have same thinking as u, and I always tell myself "if ppl can bf, I can bf too!" Must believe u have milk and u will sure have milk. If you think u have no milk, u sure no milk. I also agree to talk more to ppl who have strong belief in bf and then it will help you. Don't be discourage by mothers who don't/can't bf their bb long.

Jia you, everyone on our upcoming moo moo career!

Hi Sun_tan & Pinkie,
Tks!
Is ur name Sun tan is facebook?
Duno who is who...sry.

Hi Nikiko,
yeah...we must jia you and be more hardworking!

Hi Hoping4hopes,
its true...imagine if u didnt get those handfree pump, u need to keep holding the pump, cant even on TV. Once i ever spill my milk when i wan to on TV, so heartache, u will rather drop ur money than spill ur milk.

haha hoping for hopes, no worries. You wont be laughing if u r using the normal pumps wo no hands free kit and bb crying away. This freestyle really makes things easier for me. at least i can still pacify him when i am pumping.

gael
heee... cant wait for my days to come
wanna see how i can handle it

sun_tan
sorry it just some dirty thoughts haaaaaa preggie become naughty haaaa

kidomum, my mum sells mattress, she can make to size for you. let me know if you want her contact. alot of my friends get custom made mattress from her..

haha hoping for hopes, no worries.

but i realised that when we are determine to do something, it surely can be done. When i first started out using freestyle, i didnt use the hands free kit. I mastered the art of using 1 hand to hold two pumps and leaving my other hand free for me to msn. but thats only easy if i am sitting down. I cant walk ard like that. But with the hands free kit and a tshirt over, i can over ard my room at least.

done my detail scan just now. sonographer say looks like a girl. but will double confirm next appt which is 21weeks.
den gynae told me it's a girl. the way she say it like very confirm.
when making payment i ask the receptionist any scan for next appt? she said no. den who is goin to double confirm?

Didn't know a pump is so expensive. Me also not sure what to get during baby fair.

What are the things you guys will get during baby fair??

Haven't log in here for a long time. Hello to all new mummies!

I have medela freestyle. Same as sun tan. I bought mine under a spree for $450, us set. I also have avent manual n later on, my colleague loaned me her avent electric motor. So I left my medela at work n used avent to Pump at home. I'm looking for 2nd handed avent single electric nOw.

For sterilizer. Avent is faster but my set broke down after 6 months of usage. Had a new set replaced which is sitting in storeroom now. Now using pigeon. Takes longer to sterilize.

For 1 st time mummies, think will be Gd tO attend antenatal class. I did mine at mt a though I delivered at ge.

Btw, is anyone same as me? I'm week 14 now n still losing weight.

Hihi pinkie,
acan help to add me to FB too? [email protected]

Oh, when I went to Motherhood fair in beginning June, the lady selling Medela pump was telling me can wait till Parenthood fair in Nov to buy. Don't need to buy pump too early. But I am also considering whether should buy during Taka fair.

good morning ladies

Hi sun_tan
i properly will compare price, as there will be 2 baby fair in July...
i just worry about the warranty only...
else just buy import set while at baby fair buy those accessories

Hi mi_baby
21 weeks will be detail scan, from there properly can see it clearly..
dont be dishearted most important is baby is fine and healthy

Hi Pommes
For sterilizer, which brand is better then?
got come with warranty also?

Hi Mrs Cheah
is there a fair in Nov??? better still
where and when is it?

H4H - Pigeon is more long lasting but takes longer to complete the sterilizing process. And it has a lot of water condensation. Avents... short process and less water condense. But don't last. Even with warranty, it takes them a week before they replaced with a new set.

Actually I find that many baby products don't really need to wait for big fair. Sometimes those small small fairs at OG / Robinson can have quite good deals too. And if you compare around, you realize that the pricing is quite standard even with promotion.

Hi Mrs Cheah,
Added you in fb, pls approve before I can add you to the group.

Juz wondering the settings on the FB group - only the gorup members can see the posts/activities?

RE: Pump
Agree you dun have to buy so early - juz have to more or less decide which brand/model you want and wait for sales

is there a flyer on the Taka baby fair? wanna see if there're any good deals

Hi Pommes
thanks for the advise... just get some preparation as now it still kinda early to buy those electronic stuff due to the warranty...

properly will get the cot and stroller... those without warranty first

Hi kidomum
will go shop around at the 3rd trim, just worry i cant shop as due to me is a high risk preggie.. not allow for long hour walking and standing at 3rd trim

Hi p1nk1e
RE: PUMP

I am thinking to buy when BB out, properly is too late right haaaa....

No flyer.. till the closer date
cant wait as it fall on my birthday can happily shop!

hoping for hopes,i think shop slowly now and then will be better if you can't walk too long..
like clothes and mattress and stuff, still need to wash and dry and pack...better space out so that you won't get too tired out..

for the pump, i think it's too late to buy after BB is out.. u need to use it to stimulate the breastmilk to kick in if baby doesn't latch on well.. i brought mine to the hospital .. some hospitals rent pumps too but i remembered not very cheap too..

unless your hubby knows specically what to buy and then help you to sterilize it for use while you're in hospital..

H4h,
Hahaha, agree with kidomum - U shud start to latch/pump after you give birth so too late.
plus you dun even know when bb wanna come to this world (could be earlier than EDD) so better buy first