(2012/12) Dec 2012

i am under Prof YC wong also... i feel he is very fatherly lah... and talk a lot haaa.
he is very experience...
but i like prof Biswas also but sorry i cant understand his language haaaa oops.....

sun_tan,
wow that's a good idea.
too bad i'm not too good with handicrafts so only kept them all in a folder...

btw, i think some mommies been asking too - is there a fb group or something? i'd like to join in too!

Hi Shi Jia Xin,

On saturday I tried to use Counterpain cool rub. Y'day I bought the hot water bottle. Read in the internet that it will help easy the pain. and it did.

Ok I will not squat from now on.

pinkie, i bought ready made book. So all i need to do is to paste the pics into it and update my data etc.

Ya there is a FB page. PM me your email so that i can add you into my fb. Once you are my fren, i can invite you into the FB group. Once you are inside the fb group, you can add the rest by this way too. There is no administrator. So everybody can add everybody.

Hoping for hopes,

Yup. I used to use this when i had my menses which led to stomach and back aches. And was surprised to find it useful during pregnancy as well...

QQ: Mine is showing already at 16 weeks. like got growth spurt after 16th week! My friends all tell me they see my tummy they will give up seats liao! I told them if they don't, i will STOMP them! hahahha...

Oh haha so it's normal la.. Anyone have red n swollen nose? I heard if your nose is red n swollen u r having a boy? Is that true?

Haha! I don't think mine is swollen, but then again I don't know gender yet. But I did hear my colleague saying the same thing! She said her nose grew bigger during pregnancy and she had a boy! Haa... So interesting such observations!

Hi Hoping for Hopes,
My gynae at NUH is Prof Yong EL. Went to him on friend's recommendation. He was her gynae for both her children. He's also quite nice and fatherly, though he doesn't talk much. So if I want to know anything, must ask a lot of questions!

So far most of my appointments at NUH they will do scan for me leh. In the beginning was vaginal scan, then later the usual ultrasound. Could be because mine is considered high risk? I don't know if NUH is considered ex cos I didn't really compare prices with other hospitals. Only get the idea that it's more economical for civil servants cos we can claim for certain expenses? But only up to a certain cap lah.

For me, everyone keeps saying different things. Some say is girl some say is boy, and all got their own reasons. Hehe. I just take with pinch of salt. But it's interesting that I keep dreaming I have a girl, but whenever my hubby and I talk about the bb, we always accidentally refer to bb as 'he'. Maybe cos we call bb 'Junior'...

Btw, is anyone doing exercise like swimming? Find that swimming helps with aches and pains... Shi Jia Xin and Selvi, maybe can try swimming? Although must say sometimes I feel a bit unglam showing my bump in a swimming costume. Heh. And my tummy is the kind that started showing at 8 weeks, so you can imagine how big I am *grin*

Hi Jas,

i am consider high risk also i was bleeding throughout my whole first trim... they stop doing scan on me from 14 weeks onward.. and start to have the appt once a month now..
initial in my first trim is one a month too but i have too many emergency till become every 2 weeks but it was gate crash...hence i dont understand is they classify me as high risk yet not seeing my frequently?

it nice that u can claim, as i am consider private patient hence my cost is almost the same as private hospital
i remember my previous gynae is cheaper than NUH and he is located in GlenE some more

nevertheless.... now i only hoping my bb is healthy strong and normal and i am able to have him or her in Late Nov / Dec. The rest i just have to close one eye and live on

Hi Sun_tan,
Oh dear, I don't think so leh, but then again I'm really blur at these things. Erm, i dunno, what should i do? should I search for you instead? I'm out now so can't get to the comp. I can't change settings via the phone right?

Sorry to trouble you!

Hi Hoping for Hopes,
It must be a really stressful and frustrating time for you. It's not a nice feeling to be termed 'high risk' and to be spotting during first trimester. I experienced that too. Also doc put me on bedrest for 1.5 months, really felt like i was rotting at home! Cannot walk too much or too fast, cannot exercise etc. had to take hormone pills everyday and injections on the butt twice a week for 2 mths. Some more my first pregnancy and it wasn't easy for us to conceive in the first place. So I kinda understand what you're going through. But I'm very glad that all that is over and am just giving thanks for the good parts of the pregnancy now.

Are things better for you now? No more spotting/bleeding? Are you allowed to move around/exercise etc?

hey Jas
we seem to have the same fate

me now better but not allow to exercise, walk too much or even carry heavy stuff.. so sad, cannot shoppping..
i am allow to come back to work as i dont have to walk.
it will be throughout my whole pregnancy... so this make me even more frustrated.

Jas, ahha i am hopeless at such things too! Not sure if u can change via phone anot. ok i pm u my email addy.

i see lots of mummies are from NUH...anyone from other hospital?

I'm in my 15weeks but my tummy seems to be even bigger than the 15 weeks when i'm having my twins...i wonder y?
But i do burp alot for tis pregnancy...wonder if i have alot of wind in my tummy tat cos it to be so big, i look as if i'm 6mth preg.

sun_ta,
pm u le - tks!

Jas,
U can update Privacy Settings via phone is u use the browser

Not sure if it works on the app...

gael,
wow this is your #4. think you set the record?

do u have preference for either meat or vege?
i'm always wanting to eat vege, and least meat... maybe that's why i'm not putting on weight yet

Hello mummies! Have you all start shopping for your baby?? Any experience mummies can advise me which sterilizer brand is a better options? I got no idea which one to invest on! Also milk bottles! I'm considering tommee tippee bottles but there are so many brand like Philip avent trollyjoy pigeon nuk dr brown mam So many brands and I have no idea which one is a better choice. I do a lot of reading a lot of mummy prefer avent.

gael,
dunno yet leh, gynae say next visit (next week) if lucky should be able to see

i'm only 13W+...
anyway gender will b confirmed when i do my amnio in aug

Hi p1nk1e
for me, big chances in my diet...
i use to love beef and pork now.. i cannot take in the taste...so i seldom take meat
and for vegetable.. i cannot stand stir fry as usually chinese stir fry is with garlic..once i ate will puke out
i havent gain much weight actually, even i am coming 18 weeks

Hi Jellow
i am asking around also as i dont know how to start and what to buy haaa...

i think for sterilzer i will choose philip as it is a recommend brand :p

milk bottle as what i learn, it depend on baby.. so is try and error kind...

jellow,
i like pigeon and medela...
never used avent before, but heard that philips always has warehouse sale (at toa payoh i think) so good deal to wait for their sale

Hoping for hopes,
ooooh, i'm a vege eater all the way and now quite intolerant to meat/fish.
did they say like vege = a certain gender? :p

Hi Hoping4hopes,
i still duno yet,waiting for my next visit for scan...still another 3 weeks, so gan chiong...if boy again i will cry! Frens ard me mostly boys,so diffcult to get gal.

I heard ppl saying eating more veggie and seafood will get gal easiler and meat eater will get boy easiler...i wonder how true.

Hi Jellow,
Personally i prefer avent sterilizer and milk bottles... i used avent, pigeon and nuk b4.

Hey p1nk1e
i heard is gal haaaaaa
too many people telling me i am getting gal which make me think i am getting gal now

Hi gael
my side here all gal want boys badly haaaaa

Just advise frm me....if u intend to BF, its very impt to get a gd breast pump! Better to get dual pump as it save alot of time and the pump is better oso.

Highly recommended pump is Medela n Avent but i used medala cos most hospital used Medela too and i feel its gd to nice too.

At first i wan to save money and bot a cheaper Medela Swing pump(which is a single pump), so tiring and time consume too long...in the end i switch to Medela Freestyle dual pump which is very gd, fast and save alot more time so i can sleep more.

if i buy freestyle earlier i will not waste another $300 on swing.

jellow,

it depends on what bottles u wanna use too..
i heard that if u wanna use fat bottles like tommee tippee, u can't use avent philips steriliser.. it's ok for other bottles such as avent, pigeon, nuk etc..

gael,
hahahaha, i tot it's the TTC time eat meat get gal and eat vege get boy.
i dunno, was an accident so didn't notice :p

hoping for hopes,
issit? i'm ok with boy or gal lah... hahahaha
any pref for u?

sun_tan,
erm "add the rest" meaning?

Hi p1nk1e

no prefer as long normal and healthy i am happy...

Hi gael

i am think Medela, but it like very expensive... is Medela Freestyle dual pump the so call latest model?

sasasyeo, my #1 is on cordlife..
can pay using CDA account.. govt matching dollar to dollar..

i can't find the measurement for my #1's cot! alamak..how to buy mattress like that..

Thanks kidomum and gael! Hmm then gonna persuade hubby not to buy tommee tippee bottles cos its cant fit to other brand sterilizer!

Went to kiddy palace last wkend the Medela freestyle pump cost abt 790++ or 800++.

Hi Hoping4hopes,

im not sure if its the latest model now...when i buy tat time its the latest model during tat time.
When i does my research, i realise tat buying in US is cheaper but no warrantly la...First Age(the shop at paragon) is selling US set with their in house warrantly for 1 yr and is much cheaper than robinson,taka and isetan.

2yrs back, First Age is selling freestyle at $500 plus and others places is selling like $700-$800 for local set.
Now u need to chk on the price, shld have changes.

Hi sasayeo
me confirm Cordlife... dont ask me why haaaaaa
but i support cordlife :p

Hi Jellow
SO ex?? faint.. i wait for taka fair bah but like too early to buy

hi gael
i google... quite convicing.. beside July Taka fair... when else will have this kind of fair?

For those mummies who wanna breastfeed, best is to get twin pumps. Dun ever get one pump just to save $$ cos while pumping, the other side will be dripping...Alot of my friends did that, in the end, they buay tahan also have to buy another pump. Not only u are wasting milk, it's also very messy cos breast milk gets a bit sticky after dried up..

I used Medela mini twin plus cos its smaller and easy for me to bring to work (That time I am still working). It serves me well through my breastfeeding journey of 1 year. So this time round, I will get the same as I gave my old one away liao..

hmm... ok thanks for the advise

then one more question... do u ladies think it a need to go antenatal course?
As i got a lot review which i am very confuse now