(2012/12) Dec 2012

How many days of massages are y'all going for? the originsjamu seems to have better reviews... but they have 2 packages; the classic and the royal?

thanks Fluffy.. wasnt very sure, my sis in law took for 14 days before... that's super ex! wasnt very sure what was the norm...

I am in my week 16 but am not very sure when the baby is moving... i do feel slight discomforts at times... do you like see your stomach moving?

Hahaha.. no no, they are too small to see the tummy move.
Initially its like butterfly fluttering inside. Now that baby is slight bigger.. I feel small thuds (a bit like tapping) and wriggles.

Hi Radhika

stomach didnt move... but can feel my intestines inside all stir up HAAAA..... and a lot pressure
so wondering do you all have the same feeling?

no leh... no tapping and intestine strring up all... sometimes, i just feel cramps that last less than 5seconds... aiyah, envy you all can feel your baby liaoo... i on classical music everynight to feel my baby's increase heart beat... can see her tomorrow! hopefully, i'll be able to see the gender..

hoping for hopes - my appt also every month also leh... all my appts got scanning... dont worry, time will pass on fast and you can see your baby soon..

Hi Radhika

ya just wanna see my bb more.. and see his or her progess

u know what, i am so worry i went to rent the fetal heart doppler as the appt is once a month it freaking me up haaa.....

Thanks, Fluffy - rec'd your PM!

sun_tan,
I can't even consume the iron tablets, once i swallow next min merlion

wen1982,
my gynae asks me to stop temporarily leh... stopped for a week, haven't got the courage to resume yet.

btw, what's a "detailed scan"?
i always do ultrasound scanning every visit, didn't know that'll be a "detailed".
how diff is it from the norm?

I also agree once a month is too long the wait...

Mine will be next sat... still got 1 more week to wait... haiz....

Still no chance to know the gender yet... me 16 weeks le...

Hi Hoping for hopes,

i also kan cheong like you.. i dint know you can rent the fetal heart doppler.. i thought you had to buy one.. since it's ex, i dropped that idea and started with the classical music instead.. never knew there were soo many worries in a pregnancy man!

p1nk1e,

detailed scan is when all the mesaurements are taken for the baby. it is to look for any structural problems or birth defects in the baby.

They would also check the position of the placenta.

Mrs Heng,
next week u must tell baby to open legs wide wide... heeee

Risbaby
Mind me ask how many weeks are u now?
I hate waiting also, wanna shop also cant shop

do you ladies start shopping already? A lot of my friedns told me dont need to buy till baby is out? wont that be too late?

Radhika
yes can rent, per month is 49 bucks and gel is 12 bucks...go to http://www.thebabyspecialist.com.sg/ to check it out
i cannot take it that i cant monitor my bb as my gynae seem like dont care much

people tells to relax, but it is so hard for me... i just kept worry none stop haaa i guess it normal..

Hoping for hopes,

I'm in my 16th week already , 4months
my detailed scan will be on 21st week. You shld be around same week as me right ?

Fluffy,
Hahaha, it's my #2 and i'm still so blur >_<
actually i still can't recall if i had one during my #1. maybe he calls it differently.

I also started feeling my bb moving ard 12 weeks. Maybe this is my #2 thus managed to feel it earier. I went for amnio test on wednesday (cos my oscar blood test result isnt very good) but thank god everything is ok. I am now waiting for the full report (suppose to be out within 12 days) by which I would know the gender. So another 2 more weeks for me!

Sun_tan
Congrats.
BTW Do u mind if I ask the ratio of ur Oscar result?
Mine 1:3710 DS
But it seems like many ppl above 1:10000.
Gynae say ok,low risk but I'm thinking to test amino anot to confirm.

#2 mummies...
Can remember when we suppose to go for the blood
test for diabetes?
I hate that water we r asked to drink...yucks
It's like 100x sweeten F&amp;N orange.
I wonder if can skip that test
((((

Wen1982,
I'm being kaypoh and answer your qn to sun_tan.. My ratio came back 1:630. But it's classed low risk so no further tests offered to me. I went to dig up my #2 test results, it didn't even give ratio just said low risk. Seems less you know the better.. Anyway I haven't any option so just accept it as it is and not thinking too much about it.

Radhika &amp; Hopes,
I'm also super paranoid as I can't feel anything, haven't gained weight etc. But I put myself in a 3rd person's shoes, if I'm not preggie and know a preggie telling me what I'm thinking, I will also say don't worry too much... If something is wrong you will know. But it's good to be able to hear baby's heartbeat, very reassuring!

Thanks Karen.
Personally I don't feel anything about the result as long as it's low risk...it's the ppl around me who make me lose confident.
Many ppl was asking why my ratio so low,their's 10k+ blar blar...will it affect the IQ blar blar....This pregnancy is a 3yrs long wait....am very paranoid too...always having nightmare of losing my baby...sign...

anyone here have problem getting a confinement lady?
i'm headache over CL now, all contacts my fren give me is fully book! Sad...

Hi Gael,

I went searching on forums for a CL sometime back and there was one that many were highly recommending. I called her but she was fully booked. However, she did recommend her friend/cousin (can't rem which)who was available. I don't know if you want to give her a try.

There's also one more, also recommended over forums. She was overseas helping someone with confinement, so I spoke to her daughter who said her mother was available in dec. You can give this one try as well if you like? PM me if you would like their contacts?

May I know if there is a FB group for 2012 dec mums? Saw some posts about that but not much response about it. If there is, how do we join please?

Wen_1982,
gosh I know the feeling when people I dunno out of concern or talk without thinking say things that cause us to worry and they're happily oblivious to the distress they cause us.. My worst experience has to be after my first child was born, mum say this, dad say that, mil say something else and auntie chip in too.. Omg as if having a baby wasn't enough still have to listen to confusing conflicting advice.

Anyway good that you're not too concerned just one ear in and one ear out consider it as training when the baby comes along and you get unsolicited advice on everything.

Hi Hoping for Hopes and Karen,

I went for my scan today. Got my Oscar result; the ratio is 1:15,697. Initially when my gynae Dr Ang called me i thought she said the ratio was 1:1,500. It was a relieve to learn that my risk is much lower to what i thought i heard.

My baby refused to show us the gender. My baby had bended knees throughout the scanning today. Now i gotta wait till my next appointment on the 28th of July for detailed scan.

Hi risbaby

Yes i believe out detail scan fall almost the same week

Hi wen1982
i went for the diabetes test at 12 weeks, due to family history.
it is GTT - Glucose Tolerance Test
I kinda fail it slightly haaaaa have to control sugar in take

Hi gael
I just booked my, who is a new CL.. as all the recommended ones are all booked. so very much depend my luck whether is she good or not
if u need CL better confinement one asap

mention of Oscar test, is it also called as NT (Nuchal Transluceny) scan?
my does not show me the ratio
hence may i know 1.4mm is it normal?
I start to detest my clinic….

think they are not detail enough

Any ladies from NUH? As i really start to doubt them

Hi Hoping for Hopes,
1.4mm is fine. Above 2.5mm then not so good. The NT scan is part of OSCAR. Others include some blood tests I think.

I'm also at NUH. Yah I don't really like the sonographers at the NUH fetal clinic. They don't tell you much unless you ask. So unless you're thinking of changing a hospital altogether, you may want to read up beforehand so that you know at least a bit of what's going on, then can ask questions. They'll answer if you ask, and mostly keep quiet if you don't. Prob cos they're not actually doctors. I usually arrange my appointments at Fetal Care Clinic the same day as my appointment with my gynae, so immediately after I do any tests or scans I can ask my gynae if I have any queries.

Hi Hoping4hopes,

After calling like 10 CL i have,I just manage to get 2 CL (thru recommend by CL) whom is available during Dec, plus Jascfoo just pass me 2 more contact, will call tmr.

Yours is new CL then u better question her more and get more contacts in case u need it, i ever tried during my first confinement the CL is not very gd n lazy tat i have to ask her leave after 7 days.

Hi Jascfoo
I can't change hospital so guess I have to endure
Who is ur gynae?My is prof yc Wong

Hi Gael,
I don't have any contact, I met her and she seem okay to me.
Worst case will be calling agent, shall depend on my luck

hi hoping for hopes. mine also nuh, i went for checkup on Mon. my 4th checkup with this nuh and surprise they skip the scan! i was shock cos my previous pregnancy check up i had scan for every check up.
i wonder how many scan will they skip. it is really no point seeing doc without scan.
but my scan and appt with doc always on same. if really not same day, really waste time man!

Hi mi baby
I think from week 12 onward they stop the scanning.
If you see their package, they only give us 2 ultra scans which is very little from week 22 onward.
And they only see us once a month

I am quite piss as they classify me as high risk but the check is So short and little and they said base on heart beat can determine baby's progress...

Feel se cheated

from 22weeks onwards only 2 scan! tat's so little! r u at clinic g ? the receptionst told me last trimester will be more frequent, 2 weeks to 1week. not once a month. sigh. but nvm la.. once baby come out , we can see until sometimes we even wish to put them back to tummy. lol

hi mi_baby, hopeing for hopes, my #1 is sgh n i also hardly have scan. most the visits my gynae use heartbeat doppler n i have to request my gynae to let me have the scan like every 8 weeks, otherwise i might not even have.. i dun like it. that's why #2 i choose private gynae n i can see bb every visit n its so easy to check with the nurse if i have anything to ask

I am from NUH also.. my 16 week appt does not have scan too.. but if u want u can always request your gynae to scan for you, its optional, just have to pay lor.

I opt for it and paid $60+ for the scan to reveal my bb gender hehe... just communicate well with your gynae will be fine.

For NUH package, i think if u want more than 2 scans, just let ur gynae know and pay lor... now then we know NUH is expensive! But no choice, i dunwan to travel so far to other hospitals...

ya! nuh is so expensive! consultation plus normal scan is 80 bucks aft subsidize! my previous gynae at tmc only 38 for scan and consultation!

morning ladies!

Mi baby,

i dont know is it clinic g, it is the women clinic at 3rd floor...
hopefully the recep is telling the true as what i observe, i see a lot thirs trim still go through heart beat scan only...

Shermum,

i regret never change to private.. now is all my record with NUH plus i got complication so my hubby wants me to stay so that doc can montior throughout
but i feel government gynae has no sense of emergency...

Xta,
it just funny that NUH is a government hospital, practice like governent way but charge is like private....

Now...i am sick, got flu (block nose) and cough... see GP, GP just give me one medicine and one day mc... but i seem to be sick for a week.. recovery very slow haiz.....
dont know should i see gynae or not.

wen1982, everybody's risk is different. You have to look at the background risk (calculated based on your age, weight etc). If the calculated risk is lower than your background risk, then it means you have high risk. My DS ratio is 1: 10947 (background risk at 1: 547), thus the ratio was ok. But for ES, my ratio was 1:284 (background 1:1406) and PS was 1:1021 (background 1:4390), thus for ES and PS, my risk is high as my calculated ratio was much lower than my supposed background risk. So if your gynae says your result is ok, it means ok. Dun worry ya.

Hoping for hope, i did my oscar at NUH too. I like the nurses and sonogrpahers there. Very friendly. 1.4mm is good. Anything below 2.5mm is healthy. So dun worry. so far I did my oscar and amnio at the fetal care center. In fact, both sonographers are very good. They tell me what they are scanning, hands, head etc and what measurements they are taking. In fact for my oscar, i was given 3 very clear pics of my bb. I am only doing my oscar and detail scan at NUH. My gynae is from else where so I get to scan with every gynae visit. How much is the gynae package at NUH? Seems stingy that still have to pay to scan. Unless the package is very cheap. My package starts from week 16 and cost $550 (before gst). My assigned gynae at NUH for Oscar and detail scan is Prof Biswas. Heard that he is a very good and famous gynae there. Heard of him?

Morning sun_tan
i never brought my package price out.. but i know it start from week 20 / 22
my next visit is week 22 soi guess from there i will start questioning them
as was comparing with my friends' package, their are so much worth as it scan every visit.. and include vitamins except fro DHA
but NUH dont include... and i remember my NUH package is like more expensive than one of my friend some more..

anyway cant be bother now since i stuck with them, shall question the gynae and the nurses more on my 22 weeks visit...

My gynae is Prof YC Wong, he is very experience but just feel he is very qing cai...Prof Biswas is good as i saw him twice.. and he is very nice.. very steady!

It's Monday... *yawnz*

Oh, I didn't know public hospitals dun do ultrascan every visit...
I'd feel uneasy too if I dun get to see BB, although I dunno what to do with the scan prints :p

Hope everyone had a good weekend. I had quite an ok one. But was suffering from backaches the past two days... So irritating. But realized that i should not squat. It triggers the backache. haiz...

i'm 14 weeks now and i wish i can feel my baby too. My next checkup on the 10th and it feels like taking forever to come. Cant wait to see my baby. My #1 keeps asking when we going to see the doc again? I want to see baby... Very hard to pacify him... Wish can see the gender next week.

Hi Selvi,

i also suffer backache, so even i am 17 weeks i went to buy the tummy belt which support the tummy and back... since it help a bit
maybe u can try

better dont squat! no no squat.. this is advice from my eldery

Shi Jia Xin, yup. Liked Prof Biswas. He was my assigned gynae when i did my oscar and detailed scan when i had #1 too. Very nice guy.

Pinkie, i paste the scan pics into my maternity journal
So that i can track my bb's growth.