(2012/08) Aug 2012

RE: numbness/aches
my gynae suggest during my last appt abt 3 wks ago that sitting or standing shld not be more than 30 mins...coz if more than tt, blood flow to certain areas will be restricted...so maybe all of us can try tt? i noe it's hard coz i dun think i have been practising it very well...but sometimes stand up to stretch also good...

RE: Menses
my mum says tt her mid-wife last time was gd coz helped her to press out the blood in the uterus so in the end her menses was not very heavy...so she keeps reminding mi n my sis to rem to press out as much blood as possible during delivery...

Hazel,
=) i've used no Origins for my #1 for the jamu massage... so no worries! but hor... sad to say i'm allergic to the jamu as i was itching badly! and my SM were fiery red! Could only ask the ML to massage and not put anything on my tummy... it was good cos my legs water retention problem resolved a lot after the first massage... i took only 5 sessions... i'm still thinking whether to go back to Origins (is still quite costly compared to other ML!)

JA,
no trouble but do u still need the Mt E charges from me?

numbness/ aches,
i got numbness n pain in inner groin area due to bb pressing on my nerves but will talk to bbn nudge bb a bit to relieve the pressure.

baby kicks,
over the wkend, bb is doing big time kungfu inside. whenever i wake up my tummy will look weird, either pointy to left or pointy to right.
n most times loop-sided *lol*
think i have a active girl like my #1

CL:
i got my aunty to buy some herbs for standby and the ingredients for the red dates tea.
CL tends to like going to market for fresh food. so on arrival, she did a simple grocery shopping at supermart and next morning to the wet market with hb.
subsequent, she goes to wet market abt twice a wk.

Jen,
Yes, pls send me. Thanks.

Any mommies went to Mt A hospital tour already ? Called this morning and wkend slots all fully booked til end May, didnt know so popular. Found out that only level 1 and car park under renovation. The wards were renovated 1 or 2 yr back I think but surprised to know not all wards are renovated, still got non renovated wards. Any idea if there is a difference in package price for renovated and non renovated wards ?

I'll be due in mid Aug, due to some changes in plan, I will need to get a maid before i gave birth. Anyone got any recommendations on any maid agency or even maid to recommend? Or any advice?

May i know what is the reasonable agent fee in the market now?
Anyone here ever got a maid without going through the maid agency?

I'm a Aug MTB too. Have been following the thread very closely everyday. Just wanna to raise my thoughts on the hospital tour that some girls are posting here.

Hi J~A and starfantasy, I went three hospital (GlenE, Mt A and TMC) tour last month. I could say that GlenE one is impressive follow by Mt A. GlenE is quite ex and some of the gyane who practicing outside GlenE might not go to GlenE for delivery. Thought Mt A is under reno, i could say that their delivery suite and ward is not very affected. Hardly any noise can be heard. I have frds who delivered in Mt A say that their meals are very nice. Even they are discharge, they still miss there meal. Mt A have 2 different ward, one is renovated with the ZEN look, the other is not renovated but there is a balcony in the room. So it depends on individual what kinds of room is appealing to you.

TMC is the worse, there is only one single room and show us, no tour to their delivery suite and I heard that for my frds who gave birth there, they are kept behind curtains while waiting to dilation unlike the previous 2, whereby you are observe in the delivery suit and you can bring along CDs, gym ball, therapy oil to help you to relax.

Just quote my thoughts here. And there isn't any harm just to drop by to visit. Since being pregnant and going delivery is a wonderful thing, we want comfort and good rest.

Hope mummies here have a safe and smooth delivery!

starfantasy,
U decided on the hospital already ? For my #1, I also went hospital tours before I decided on the hospital. Hope I am not flooding the forum with the hospital tour topic :p

Hokkaidolavender,
Hi hi

Which hospital u decided on after the tours ? I want to take a look at Mt A although I have been to their tour 2 yrs back, to see the extent of the renovation. Understand level 1 is under renovation, is the drop off and pick up point affected as we have to pass by there entering and leaving hospital, concerned on the dust, cleanliness level. Parking is a big problem too, seems so troublesome to park at the reservoir and take the shutter bus. Also want to check if there is price difference for the renovated and non renovated wards, I feel non renovated wards very hospital feel which I dont like.

Aixin: The previous archive have a lot of posts talking about maids. To keep it short, getting a good maid is based on luck, even if you can go to the best maid agency, it does not guarantee you a good maid. One mummy posted a blog site with good information on maids at http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/. You can read up on the various topics inside for some guidelines. At the end of the day it up to you how you want things to be done. Last but not least the only way you can get maid without going through the agency is that someone you know is not needing their maid anymore and willing to transfer the maid to you. But you still need to go to one agency to get the paper work done (like getting the permit etc)

Hokkaidolavender: Thanks for the info. I have already decided on mt A because I was previously born there (so some feelings) and based on the reviews I have read online so far. I do heard that their food is really nice. As for the room, I think we only can get to choose if both are available at the time of our labour. =P

JA: Yup, decided on mt A as I've replied to hokkaidolavender... Also cos initially I was thinking of doing water birth and only mt A or SGH provides (my gynae don't deliver at SGH so I'm also only left with 1 choice). TMC does have a tub but strictly no delivery inside. But at the end of the day, I have to give up that birthing plan because the fees involved are just too much.

Starfantasy,

Thanks so much for your reply. I'll try to check the blog.

I'm first time on getting a maid, feeling very scared also if get someone not good. As I'm second time mum, also need to handle my elder gal of 2 yo really feel like so much things to arrange. For first time only need to arrange for myself and newborn, now with one more toddler to cope. So tired.

Hi J~A and starfantasy,

Dust is not an issue to mummy, maybe to the visitor visting you ba. But I could see that they kept they renovation works as minimum as possible and not very dusty. They cafe is better than TMC. TMC only got the Delifrance that is good.

I personally , together with my hubby, we decide to choose Mt A. Although my gyane is able to delivered in TMC and Mt A, but his clinic is stationed at TMC. I was quite unwilling to choose out of TMC as I feel that it will be very convenient for my gyane to check on me when I stay in TMC. How often will the gyane visit the mummy after deliver? Are you gyane stationed in Mt A or TMC? Sometimes, I still quite shaken to choose btw Mt A and TMC..caught in btw! TMC hor, everything also charged. If you want the lactation consultant to advise you on bf, they charged!

The rate for renovated and non-renovated room are the same. As for carpark, I think TMC carpark is non better than Mt A too. The Q to the carpark is always long. And TMC only give you 3 parking coupon, which you have to pay $3 for each coupon. If you used up all the 3 coupon, you have to pay the normal parking rate. As for Mt A, they charge $5 per day with unlimited entry and exit.

Starfantasy, why did you preferred water birth? any reason behind?

Oh yeah, can i check with the girls here who used pigeon breastpump before? Is it good? Or Meleda is still the preferred brand?

hello mummies...been busy at work no time to logon. for me, my gynae only deliver at GlenE so i dont have to choose. last time I took 1 bedded but this round, I am getting 2 bedded. now thinking back, i wonder if 2 bedded are renovated or not, cos last time 1 bedded was renovated and its very nice. maybe I should go for the tour too. anyone been to the GlenE tour or 2 bedded ward?

I also chose Mount A, but took 4 bedder instead, since hubby confirm cant stay overnight with me and after no.1 experience, if breastfeed confirm cant rest properly also, so 2 or 4 bedded doesnt make any diff, save some money by going 4 bedded.. hehehe..

Hokkaidolavender,
Initially want to bring my #1 with me to hospital tour but decided not too after knowing they are renovating. If the entrance is affected, is an issue for me, so I want to see for myself with hb. Same like you, will have to make a joint decision with hb. My gynae is at Mt E and he delivers in Mt E and Mt A.

Breastpump,
I used Medela Freestyle. Heard that PISA is better in terms of suction. The motor is heavier so if u plan to continue bf after ML and u need to bring the pump to office, the weight is something to consider esp if u take public transport.

AG,
If you can, spare some time to go for hospital tour maybe can let u decide better on 1 or 2 bedded. Personally I mind if the rooms are renovated or not...

Hokkaidolavender: Gyane visit if everything goes normally would be once per day ba. My gynae clinic is at camdern medical center so no diff for me. I wanted water birth because it's natural and will help to allevaite some pain. Mummy will have more freedom to move around in the tub rather than being confined to the bed and lying down. The gravity will also help during delivery of baby as you squat and squating actually helps to open the pelvis bigger than lying down. What I also like is that hubby can also go in the tub and better support mummy. But water birth is not so common in SG so all the fees added up to quite a huge sum. Haiz. Breast pump wise, i think medela is still the best but pricy, I also heard philips avent also not bad.

i am using philip avent pump
i find it nice..suction is based on how fast or slow u wan it to be..not so noisy..but the motor is abit heavy..

My hb actually wanted me to try out water birth but all my friends ask me to reconsider as they said it will be messy and Singapore not very common.

Hazel: ya, but my gynae don deliver there and sgh is very far frm my home. Water birth i don think is messy la but sure is not so common. Good doc who specialise in water birth only a few. Then water birth need to specially hire doula (aka mid wife) cos u need someone professional trained to be with u throughout the labour. The fees for a doula can easily cost 1.2k n above. Also in the end if cannot take the pain opt for epidural then cannot do water birth so like all the money down the drain. I have a low pain threshold so after thinking thru, don want to risk wasting the money. Maybe 2nd child then try water birth when really have experience labour before ba.

Hazel: based on my doc fees for water birth ($4.3k) and other misc charges related to water birth, i would need to shell out 6-7k in cash just for water birth alone. If i do the normal way, it's only half or less than that amt

Thanks for the advices for breast pump. Kinda prefer pigeon due to it silent feature. Medela pump generate noise and the motor for the dual pump seems kinda of bulky n heavy. But it has the feature of massaging before expressing out the milk, which is a plus point. Appreciate other mummies can help to contribute the pros and cons btw pigeon and medela pump.

Starfantasy, since water birth is so ex, might as well forget about going for it.

J~A, might as well book a tour in June and check out Mt A facilities. They will give a goody bag which consist of a booklet of voucher and some diaper sample.

Hi clim, ive double confirmed with the underwriters again. Like mentioned before, coverage will continue without conditions as long as premiums are paid for. Once a person is covered, foc or not, it will not lapse as long as premiums are paid for.

Went to mt A today. The reno works kinda noisy, wonder when it will ends. My 1st 2 kids are delivered there... Hope #3 will be delivered there too... But the noise is putting me off. Parking as well cos half the carpark's under reno... But they have free velet till 6pm.
But... The cafe is good! Laksa especially good! Heh... Not like we can eat there during our stay la.... But our guest can!
For mt a, if u leave after 10pm, the barrier's open..... ;p
Food for mummies is really good too! I usually eat everything up!

Breastpump: im a medela supporter... Frm PISA to freestyle.... Have not tried other pumps.

Hokkaidolavender: That's what hubby say and he say I sure cannot tahan the pain sure go for epidural one. -_-||| I think the freestyle motor is pretty portable. unless u are talking abt the PISA

Gloomybear: Laska can ask hubby ta bao!

Hi gloomy
Since u try both freestyle n pisa before.. Which one is good u feel? Pisa suction stronger than freestyle? Or no diff??

Hi star
Confinement after delivery better dun take prawn stuff as worry infection so laksa is a no no after delivery...;)

Joanne: Infection happens when there is wound right (as in gg for c-section)? If everything natural should be alright ba? If I have strong cravings then I'll skip the prawn..hehe

Happy: The cot is pretty. Like the white color but unable to get for mine cos it's a giveaway from hubby's colleague. It's wood color (which I don't like) but to save money. IMO the steriliser package at the taka baby fair is still better. For $188, it includes the steriliser, 3 pacifier, 3 X 9 oz bottle with teat, 3 X 5 oz bottles with teat, bottle milk warmer, a play mat, 3 X huggies wet wipes (80 pcs in each pkt)

Just to check, where can I buy good and not very expensive bath towel for baby? I saw those neighbourhood stores and market, all the material like very thin. Any suggestions?

Hokkaidolavender,
I also looking for towels, think Wong BB sells towels during her class, not sure if now still sell. Any mummies gg for her class ?

wah starfantasy urs really good deal! maybe i stay put till expo baby sale.

But i want to also ask is - that 3in1 Avent steriliser good?

Hello J~A i am going to her class in June every sat late PM
Urself?

Star,
natural birth we have have stitches/ wound.
Best is still avoid esp if gonna breastfeed, bb will take in also.

hokkaido,
i got mine from the shop opp the temple at waterloo. gd quality cos i still using for my #1 now n material i consider it thick but not very thick.

Happy,
I want to go but cant cos no one to help take care of #1 during class.

Jen,
Didnt know the Bugis shop also sells towels, will go check out, thanks. I buy home clothes and pyjamas from them too.

Jen: That's would be because if there is bigger tear or when the doc perform episiotomy? If there's stitches then I'll avoid the prawns..hehe

Hokkaidolavender: My mum say thinner towels (but big ones) are better because they dry faster. Just don't use softener when washing the towels so it will not affect the asorbency of the towel?

Star,
tats the term "episiotomy", from wat i know most have to do tat cos its better then natural tearing.

JA,
that bugis shop sells almost everything.
i brought clothes/ towels/ handkies/ mittens & booties/ recieving blankets/ cloth diapers from tat shop.
i still go back there now to buy hm wear n panties for my girl

Joanne, when i used PISA, it was on a hard shield, and my freestyle using the soft one. PISA suction seems stronger, but i don't know if it's because of the shield.
but, both equally did their job well, with freestyle having more mobility

Happy,
The Capella carseat and stroller is a gd buy..hehe..I looking for a cheap carseat, gd if they can sell the carseat individually cheap..

Re: Towels
How about Aussino towels? I also bought the towel from Mrs Wong! =)

Re: Prawn intake after birth
=P i had prawn dumpling soup when i brought my #1 for the first week checkup! I had csect! Thank God nothing happen!!! hahaa...

J~A

I recently called up Cheong Choon, the famous baby store at Chinatown. The person recommended 2 brands for cheap infant car seat: babyone and mummylove. Costs $89 to 99 only. The person say all car seats approved by LTA so it's safe. I haven't had time to go down to take a look though.

Thanks J~A, Jen and Starfantasy for the great help on the towel.

Jen, I shall check out the waterloo store you mention. Is is the store that sell lots of baby stuff and the girls in the forum recommended?

Is Mrs Wong towel good? My class is starting end April, maybe I shall hold on to the towel till i see what Mrs Wong got.

Jijz,how much did you buy for the Aussino towels? Is it for kids too? So compare to Mrs Wong one, which is better?

Hokkaidolavender,
to my own opinion, i think so long the towel is of certain thickness and long enuff to wrap the bb up is okie with me le... i'm using both... =)

by the way the towels were bought by my dad last year! hahaa.. i dunno the price!

Re: Hospital Tours
for those who went for Mt A hospital tour did you all make a booking before going? what are time slots available?

Tiggeroo,
Thanks, will go Cheong Choon to see see, I bought stuff fr them before, forgot about them haha. U also getting ? Maxi Cosi is so ex, $300+. Now got regulation so no choice must buy, if not get caught will fine and demerit points.

jljz,
Mt A tour weekend slots are fully booked til 26 May as of yesterday I called, if u can make it on wkdays will be earlier.

JA,
thanks!!! =) asking on behalf of my friend cos she always can't get thru the hotline! hahaha...

Hokkaidolavender,
thank you for the link!!! =)