(2012/08) Aug 2012

J~A

Yes considering. Will go see first then decide. Coz infant car seat normally use up to 1 yr old only. Then before that think will hardly bring baby out also. Abit wasteful to buy branded for 300+.

*happy* - oh ok thanks!
I wanna look for a dark brown 4-in-1 baby cot lor..
saw at OG $300+ but doesn't come w free bedding or else don't Hv e dark brown.. Spring maternity no sales currently so quite ex abt $500+!!

Car seat - I bought a britax first class which can sit frm infant till much older for my #1.. will pass to #2 to use it after tt.. Will get another car seat maybe a highback booster fr my #1 then. He's quite petite so I can't let him sit booster yet so no choice have to get the High back ones.. After tt can remove e back n leave as booster.. Have not decided which brand to get yet lor as all seemed to be quite ex too..

hokkaido,
i think is the same shop.

for Mrs wong towel i love the thickness n the size but for reg use i find it too much of a hassle cos very big.
but i doubles up as a recieving blanket n now sometimes a blanket n esp gd when bringing my girl for swimming

Hokkaidolavender,
mrs wong's class sells only the swaddle cloth..the type they use in TMC to swaddle the baby...no towel

but its really good...most swaddle cloth are too small to swaddle baby well...i bought a dozen for #1 then and swear by it!

re: TMC swaddle
it is actually sold at the baby shop in TMC, not necessarily need get at mrs wong's class

re: towels
i recommend to get thinner towels
cos i wash the towel everyday and change new one
so its easier to dry
most impt its has to be absorbent
got mine from the waterloo stall...but its the same type that you can get at any neighbourhood market area

Jen: but the seminar i went not long ago say episitomy is not as required as one thinks. So if possible, i will not want it. Then i check it out online. There are 4 degree of tear, where only the 3rd and 4th are more serious. Slight tearing will not require stitches. Also i plan to do some massage on that area to min the chances of tearing.

Dear gals,
Just finished reading archives the past few days. Have a great week ahead!

Also, anyone having breathlessness huh? Mine is quite bad, probably due to my swollen uterus

Dear Aixin,
I used Homekeeper and my maid is coming in June. I chose them cos their agency fee is low $349 (current promotion), and if I change maid i don't need to pay the daily food and lodging costs (some request $10-$15 per day for a month max), and i don't need to pay insurance again (some ask you to buy again at pro-rated rate). Most importantly, the maid that fits what i was looking for, is there. I visited 5 other agencies but couldn't find who i wanted. My agent is Vivian from the Hougang Green branch.

And getting a good/acceptable maid still depends on LUCK!

Here are some with online search database that i found, you can do a search online first.
http://www.homekeeper.sg/web/maidsearch.asp
http://www.netmaid.com.sg/search
http://www.maidlibrary.com.sg/
http://www.signature.com.sg/maids/search.php
http://www.nation.com.sg/maidSearch.asp
http://sinarmas.netmaid.com.sg/search
http://www.jpbgroup.com/jpb_web/jpb_maidSearch.asp
http://www.cncmaid.com/applicants1.html
http://apple.netmaid.com.sg/search
http://www.maidcity.com/maidsearch.htm
http://www.ecomfort.com.sg/publicsite/
http://www.singaporemaid.com/sgmp/Agency_Search_Criteria.asp?sAgID=sgmp

Hi mummyR
I bought the swaddle cloth fr wong bb class yesterday... It comes in a set with towel n few small cloth like handkerchief plus two swaddle cloth selling at $31.50.
Wonder is it the same swaddle cloth u gals tok abt? All white.. No color...

Hey mommies, if we buy the swaddle from Wong BB class, then when we deliver, the hospital will also provide the swaddle cloth too right?

Do we need that many? cos a few of my friends said they stopped using after 1.5 mth cos baby keep sweating.

good morning ladies! it's mid week already!

Happy,
depends on whether you want to swaddle your baby or not... haha.. =) some swaddle cos it provides a sense of security for the baby! warmly enclosed!

Yes hospital will give the swaddle cloth that the baby has been using upon discharge.

Hi Jljz, Thanks
Yes definitely will swaddle

Just that i dunno how many to buy. That day pass by AMK baby shop (the one beside raffles clinic) saw alot of cheap baby stuffs!

oh yeah i want a high back booster seat also for my #1 .. currently im using safety first also a brand under britax .. *delux* ..

<font color="red"><font size="+0">sashamama</font></font>: ur maid agency located at Hougang Green Shopping Mall Branch
21 Hougang Street 51 #02-04/05
Hougang Green Shopping Mall
Singapore 538719
Email: [email protected] ?? i shall drop by nxt monday. i considering in getting a maid. but should be June than get her in. i should start preparing now? mind teaching me how to go about doing it? heard we have to take a test is it? or course?

i tired the portal from homekeeper i din get to c any maids! HAHAHA.. the maid u getting is phi or indo? is it compulsory for them to have an off day now?

OH n the links u gave all v useful ..~ =)

<font color="red"><font size="+0">ayukie</font></font>: congrats! u can start shopping for sweet stuffs liaosh! WOoHoo!

swaddle cloth is it those type with a hood to 'wrap' bb up that type?

<font color="red"><font size="-1"> Rykiel's Maternity Barangs BP#3</font></font>

Ayukie: congrats!!

Rg swaddling, i'm still thinking if i want to do it cos bb will be sleeping in non aircon so might be too hot le. Maybe i'll use the traditional method to get a long bean bag to put over bb instead...

<font color="red"><font size="+0">starfantasy</font></font>: for me bb first mth sure no aircon cos i doing confinement, but after that will on aircon to zZ. i saw sleeping bags for infant. looks v comfy ... snuggling inside. haha

Even after confinement I'll not on aircon regularly (unless that particular night is super hot) cos don't want bb to be spolit. Hehe.

Ayukie: Yup, my mum say can use cloth nappy to swaddle the lower half of bb if worry too hot.

<font color="red"><font size="+0">starfantasy</font></font>: serious? headache.. nvr thought of this point at tis time. my #1 n #2 diff 6Yr so no tink back. hmm youve got a point there. what if go outside dun wan oror cos no aircon. OMG. i cant imagine! *ROAR*

Hmmm, actually no worries on aircon leh, my boy sleep with aircon every night (cos i cannot do without aircon), his infant/childcare is non-aircon, he doesnt have problem with napping in the afternoon. Sometimes, at night, he will fall asleep in the living room (no aircon) then we bring him into the room (with aircon)..

<font color="red"><font size="+0">ET</font></font>: feel more assured to hear that. the infant care im gg to enroll if i nt getting maid will be a/c.. =x n i slp in a/c everynite. pregnant liao v hot easily. i cannot imagine when confinement time what will happen to me! =OOOO

Rykiel: i have been sleeping in non aircon since young so i got used to it le.. In fact i feel more uncomfortable sleeping in aircon cos i feel it's very dry and i always get sniffes in the morning due to the big diff in temp in the room and outside. Plus not sleeping in aircon saves hundreds on electricity bills! Some kids are more flexible but some r not, like my niece when she's a baby previously.. She will not sleep at night unless it's airconditioned

Happy,
Tmc will give a receiving blanket upon discharge not the tmc swaddle cloth...most ppl will use their own swaddle or receiving blanket for discharge ;)

Joanne,
Yup it's plain white...only have small green logo/label at the corner

Re: aircon
Baby and me sleep in aircon since confinement...hehee but on 25-26 degrees kind :p
Anyway hospital is fully aircon too

Re: swaddling
Mummies who are interested can go read up on the 5S, one of the S is swaddling and I feel it's v useful for my #1
Do check out "the happiest baby on the block" too

Thanks MummyR

Yeah hopefully my confinement lady agree to let me sleep aircon hahaha. Scully my husband is the one who doesnt want me to zzzz :S

Next month will meet up the confinement lady to discuss what to buy before she come.

Beside the upcoming baby fair at expo end of the month or May... any more upcoming ones?

Re: weight
What's ur baby at 20weeks detailed scan?

Happy,
Welcome

I just saw a brouchure at gynea clinic
27-29th April 2912
11am-9pm
Singapore expo hall 5a

I think OG may have baby fair in Apr or May. Last year was in Apr.

I'll sleep with bb in aircond room during confinement. Think so. Yupp, 25C above. Havent check how is the weather in Aug/ Sept will be.. Hopefully it is raining season?

MummyR, I have gotten the Happiest Baby on the Block in DVD, haven't look at it yet. Look at the content, seems very useful. Yup, will do the swaddling for a month. Think baby will feel more secure n sleep better.

Star,
i think u might need to let ur gynae know u don want cos my gynae advise me he will do it cos it is easier to stitch and heal then natural tearing n for my case will need to do it anyway cos bb on the bigger side

i sleep in aircon room thru out confinement.
for bb only nite when sleeping with me is aircon but i place a container of water inside so not so dry. afternoon nap with fan, till now also ok

Jen: yes yes, will let my doc know when he discuss birthing plan with me. Of cos i'll leave it to doc to decide if i need that procedure esp when he feels that i'm risking bad tearing. Else i would try to avoid.

Rykiel: my bedroom is fitted with ceiling fan cos no plans to on aircon often

Nahnah: my mum said it's fine provided it's not immed aft bathing with hair still wet, then when sleeping need to wear clothes with sleeves and long pants (typical pyjamas but no need thick material) can le. Of cos the wind cannot be too big.

Dear Rykiel,
Yes that is the agency I went to. You can look for Vivian, say recommended by Marilyn staying at Tampines lo. hehe... I got a Filipino. the course need to take at singapore poly website. You'd need about one hour to read through the many slides (cannot dont read one), and then answer 10 questions and print out ur own cert. very long webpage:
http://www.sp.edu.sg/wps/portal/vp-spws/!ut/p/c0/04_SB8K8xLLM9MSSzPy8xBz9CP0os_hQD1NXIzdTEwP3YHMLA09_H48w0zCXAG8nQ_2CbEdFACjjrxQ!/?WCM_GLOBAL_CONTEXT=/wps/wcm/connect/Lib-SPWS/site-spwebsite/lifelong+learners/short+courses/fdw-eop+foreign+domestic+worker+employers+orientation+programme(+short+courses+-+foreign+domestic+worker+employers+orientation+programme)

Hehe... I need mine to come in June too, so this is the best time if you want someone new. They need 6 - 8 weeks to arrive in Singapore. And scarly fail health check or something, need to re-choose and re-wait! :p

Below are what i posted on my maid search stuff previously. And the homekeeper link i tried can le. hope these help!!!

Below is my criteria for getting maid and my reasons:
1) Filipino (Cos most are better than indon and myanmar in English, more hygienic, not afraid of dogs and ok with touching and consuming pork)
2) Prior experience in taking care of baby and housekeeping (But NOT in Singapore cos wld hv friends etc already, I don't mind training, thus need maid to come earlier)
3) Prior experience should be a sustained one, eg for 2 years (To show consistency)
4) With at least 1 child (Single/Married etc doesn't matter cos some are separated from hubby; they wld hv more motherly instinct, THO they may miss their children la) (And this wld mean they have greater commitment to work harder for child(ren), compared to those young and single ones who come here may look for boyfriend. Those with parents alive and not many siblings MIGHT hv greater commitment to work too)
5) In the 30s age range (Probably more mature and stable)
6) English proficiency (better be good, cos fair or little will mean very bad I think, hard to communicate)
7) Does NOT fear dogs (Some filipinos fear dogs!)
8) Preference of job scope should have baby as 1st or 2nd choice (the 4 choices are usually: care of baby, care of elderly, housekeeping, cooking)
9) NOT too pretty nor too plump nor too frowny nor too vain (Too pretty sure attract unnecessary attention, too plump might not hv enough energy and might eat alot, too frowny see already also not happy, too vain will wanna doll up and go out during weekends)
10) And on the biodata form should have more gradings of ""good"" lo

NOTE: This is NOT foolproof la, like there're Indons better than Filipinos in English, and there are 20+ year olds that are mature enough till they don't even want day-off etc, but I just try to narrow my scope for ease of search lo.

In the end, it is ALL ABOUT LUCK!!! NO such thing as which nationality or which criteria WILL give you NO problems. I have friends with both Indons/ Filipinos and New/Transfer etc and they did come across bad and good ones. Really by luck!!!

As for maid duty roster and a 55-guidelines (with bahasa Indonesia translation), do visit this blog! ALOT to read on this blog: http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/

One more thing I wanna share is to find an agency with good after-sales lo. When they help u find maid, service can be very good, but must note their terms when things go wrong, eg
1) Insurance need to pay again when change maid? Is there partial refund?
2) When i change maid, what do i need to pay for? Just the entrance test $95 or everything again?
3) When i return the maid for another, do i need to pay for food and lodging ($10/$15) a day til next employer is found (max 2 weeks/ 4 weeks)?
4) How many free replacements do i get and within what period?
5) Do i need to use the maid for at least 30 days before changing?
6) What abt the loan i paid if i return the maid during the loan period? Do i get full refund and how fast do i get the refund?
7) is there instalment payment or do i pay the $3000+ (approximately) upfront?
8) Do you interview the candidates yourselves going over to their country then place them in your training center or do you share database with other agencies?

Lastly, try using their online search database to try out different criteria and see what u get before going down lo. Note that the turnover rates for maids are VERY HIGH and if u don't do enough research, can't make up your mind when u see a good one, very fast she will be taken up. So do your research so that u know a good one when u see one.

I shortlisted two and let my mum see also, listen to her input. I also send whatsapp to my good friends who have maids to help me see and give me advice. The agency will usually print the biodata for you in hard copy (a few that u are keen to consider), but online has everything too.

Oh yes, abt the off day, as of next year starts, u get a maid or renew contract, it seems to be compulsory but dependent on maid also lo. Right now the mandatory is once a month. First 6 months NO OFF but u need to pay additional $20 for that day's work.

sorry what i meant was how do i know if the class is taught by her? i am sure they have other instructors too right?

they have lessons available daily, is there a specific day by her, and when i book, do i need to tell them i will come eg. every tues and sat. or i can book as i go?

thanks for the help in advance!

Dear Ling,
Yes, that is the class taught by the famous Wong BB at TMC. You need to book in advance and it is by a set of 6 sessions at one go. If you wanna start this month, I'm afraid there might not be anymore vacancies under her.

You need to go to TMC, a small counter outside the baby stuff shop near the hospital check-in counters, request to sign up for Wong BB's classes and ask for earliest available set of sessions. If u wait too long, u might be too heavy by then. But of course if u go too early, u might forget what u learnt. I am going for the Tuesday classes starting 24th April. You will then pay the fees on the spot to make the reservation. Weekday slots are easier to get than weekends. I booked mine in February, kiasu! :p It costs $211.85 with GST after 10% off if u r a TMC's FBI card member. Or else it costs $220+GST for weekday lessons.

Do call and enquire first before u go down!

Congrats, ayukie.

Rykiel, which infant care u plan to put ur bb in? And how old the bb must be to be able to put into infant care?

Kelly, which 2 warehouse sale are u referring to?

thanks everyone! i managed to book the early June slot till 10 July. my due is late Aug so hopefully i can still move ard with ease :)

is BB Wong the lady who appeared in the chinese baby and daddy documentary? she helped one of the guy who is a new dad!

another question i have (in case i get to go to the warehouse sale) - which was the breast pump which is better : Mandela PISA or freestyle? ( i presume they are different?)

i need a auto pump, and cause i will need to bring to the office ( after my 6months mat leave), i need one reasonably portable. do they run on batteries or power?

Ling: if u plan to bring the pump ard, then freestyle is better cos more portable. But it's more exp and some mummies prefer pisa cos the suction stronger.

Re: Rich Food Confinement Catering
anyone else interested? PM me the package you're interested and the area that you are staying...

<font color="red"><font size="+0">starfantasy:</font></font> total agree on the electricity part, esp whn i still got dryer at hm, killer! hehehe. my #1 aircon or fan all ok. but i on ac cos i kept feeling too hot these few nights. cant slp n ill b scratching my lil bump!

<font color="red"><font size="+0">Sashamama</font></font>: the SP link i got it online also! so must read first huh, so sure pass one har? LOL!!! 6-8weeks is 2mths liao lehs.. fwah. so i latest by may must gaodim liao.. else ill have a big headache ltr on dio boh. my criteria wld be better dun b too vain. i go hm everytime i see maid with strollers than they hog onto the public phone! wahpeh. i feel like fainting. than the kid sitting inside eat until whole body gooey n sticky. =( youve been a great help in contributing. THANKS!

<font color="red"><font size="+0">Hazel Nutty</font></font>: im residing in yishun. im planning for this two centres; PCF SPARKLETOTS (NEE SOON EAST) 357, YISHUN RING ROAD, #01 - 1850, SINGAPORE 760357 Infant Full Day: $1177 / MY FIRST SKOOL 622, Yishun Ring Road, #01 - 3182, SINGAPORE 760622 Infant Full Day: $1310.75. both will be able to enroll bb in from 2mths. but if i nt getting maid enrolling bb in ill enroll during the 3rd mth, at least i got one mth to pull out and see if i nita make other necessary arrangements. how abt u? what are ur plans thou? #1 or #2 child? =)

<font color="red"><font size="+0">jljz</font></font>: yishun / more ppl ordering ish cheaper?