ivy,
welcome....im taking the pink long tablet, its my multivit

yanlin,
mummy's cooking is the best!

Louise,
congrats!!

tigeroo,
its good to have flexible hours! after u deliver, u still working flexi hrs?

re: breastfeeding
i aim bf 2 yrs this time round...FM prices are increasing at a crazy rate

morning mummies.

Clim> how come finger will become numb? Mine is whole hand numb when sleep too long on 1 side.

MummyR> what is FM?

QQ n ivy: try asking ur gynae if they got the brand of fish oil i'm taking.. Totally no fish smell when eating and when burp also no fishy taste! It's very good but then it might be a bit exp. my gynae sold my $30 for 30 softgels. But since i have a strong aversion to anything fishy since my pregnancy, the softgel ensures i have the correct intake for my bb girl.

I think the long pink tab is pramilet which is a multivit frm abbott ba..

Jc: i think FM that mummyR is referring to is formula milk. Agreed with mummyR, a good FM is very exp!

ah.. thanks starfantasy.. i was still thinking what it is.. haha

I got to wait till 19th Mar and hopefully can see if boy or girl by then

how do u all break the pregnancy new to yr boss..
me at 16 weeks still haven tell my boss leh...dont know how to say..

BBL, applied maternity leave, then he'll know.

Sigh.. I'm struggling to buy bb clothes size.. experienced mama, do we buy bigger size for bb? Can assist?

@BBL: mine more epic...coz happened to have work chat then after that stil got a team building...so shun bian say cant go for the team building coz need to run abt... hur hur

wah wah..all so direct ah..think maybe i should too...so damn sian...

QQ buy bigger clothes..
cos bb outgrow super fast..especially 1st 6 mth.they grow non stop..after 6mth will slow down

Louise,
Cngrats !!

QQ,
BB clothes size, you can buy 3mth and above size if you have those new born pass down clothings. BB grow very fast and also depend on the birth size. Like my son born a giant so can only wear new born for a mth after that have to wear 3 mth up clothings. Better to buy bigger size, anyway can fold up the sleeves. Save money also.

BBL> You haven tell your boss ? Better tell now, my #1 boss felt guilty that she ask me run around hotel doing fixed assest and say I shld have told her so that she can have arrangement for me. Anyway is my director that notice my body change. My #1 boss is very meticulous in figures but nt PR skill. My current one, i tell her once i can see the sag and with gynea approvement to announce pregnancy. She go tell my collegue that i inform her becuase i have to claim medical expense.(Typical mid 50s who loves to create their own story and say it out like real).

hmmmm my tummy still can hide ma...hahahha

but having cramps on n off..scanning n blood test all normal..cramp like contraction..damn sian!!

Hi mummies, i already look pretty pregnant now @ 15 weeks! it feels strange sometimes cos i am a first time mum, and lately i have been feeling slight ache on my lower abdominal ( i got stairs at home) so i really hope its just the uterus stretching and not too much stair climbing.

i am also trying to get hand me down baby clothes, they say its better for babies - can someone share how long the baby needs to wear old clothes? i have 2 shirts from my frd - i plan to let the baby wear home from hospital ( cousin taught me this haha). so then after that always wear old clothes for a whole month?

i really am not sure, anyone can share experience?

starfantasy:
wow your softgels are cheap lor! i got mine for $75 for 30 softgels from my gynae (Dr. Esther Ng at Mt A). Brand: Dhaxtra Softgel from Pharmatech Resources Pte Ltd

Ling> No rule for the duration of wearing old clothings. Old wives saying wear old clothing that belong to BB that is healthy and 乖; your bb will also follow. You still can buy some new old for your BB and alternate change.

Re: ache on lower abdominal
My gynea say uterus expanding. I have that pain when I stand up from my seat so maybe nothing to worry about.

BBL, I break the news in batches.

1st is my immediate boss, so that she cld understand but apprarently she is single, not married, dun understand.

After 1st Tri, told our families only. Then few days later tell my close friends and then my colleagues. Tell my colleague around week 13- week 14 that I am going on Maternity Leave.

I think you can just tell your boss u going on maternity leave around when......? Sure can get the hint right?

I tell my boss cos they have upcomming project for me. Have to let them know I'll be unavailable from aug onwards. XD

ling: I think it's uterus expanding. No need to worry too much. Stair climbing is good exercise for mummies just do it slowly and not too much at one go!

Ivy: Okie, maybe can ask your gynae if got the cheaper alternative? Or would it be possible that your gynae sell you more exp than outside?

QQ, yes buy bigger size cos u dunno how heavy your baby will be until the day you deliver.

Bigger size can wait and wear. Small size, cant.

They say my tummy look big. I am a bit scare now, realise my tummy look like 6-7,mths preg but I no feel leh....:p

JC,
Mine is only the finger suddenly cannot move. Have to shake to activate it. Very irritating when I tried to take things using left hand, suddenly can't move.

MJ,
Its ok. Normally will be bigger for 2nd times mommy. Tried lie on either side and feel the bb inside. Is ur appetite good?

Emm.. we should have at least how many sets on hands for the first 6 mths? Bigger size should be 6-12 mths rite? Seldom carry bb, unfamiliar with bb, so hard to imagine how big bb is in 3 mths, 6 mths, n 12 mths. Based on Hb's nieces n nephews, they are under small bbs category, think, I wouldnt have a giant bb.

Starfantassy, the DHA med u r taking, can get from guardian or watson? Dont think my Gynae clinic has tat brand since I told him i still puke but he still recommended the ProLacta.

My tummy still small, 32".

QQ> buy bigger size cause my girl was born quite big and she cant fit into newborn clothings at all hahaha.. she did not wear hands down cause my BB is the first in the family..

RE: Omega/DHA
I taking those from life compact..

Ling,
from what i heard is that during discharge is get the waipo to buy new clothes for baby to wear
but nowadays hospital will provide baby with new clothes and a swaddle cloth to discharge if you dont have ur own clothes

re: hand me downs
old folks always say when baby wear hand me downs, they will be easier to take care, not necessarily whole mth or for how long

JC,
yup FM is formula milk
my boy drinking gainIQ stage 3
newborn formula is the most ex, then as they grow older, its gets cheaper
900g now $36.60 and last 1 week plus....newborn drink alot of milk everyday so if pure FM, will easily costs a few hundreds every mth...think newborn FM costs above $40 for similac and enfa

QQ,
maybe can get some nice 3-6mths clothes then majority 6-9mths n above...cos our babies born in aug...by CNY they shld be ard 6mths old, then will go gai gai more...1st 6mths actually seldom go out
for 0-3mths can buy those cheap homewear as baby seldom go out
how many sets actually depends on urself, how often u wash baby's clothes? cos need to wash separetely, some wash every few days then need alot of sets
NB need lotsa mittens and hankies

My tummy also quite big even though I only 17 wks.. Got ppl commented i look more like 5, 6 months preggy. Love to eat, but must control, cos cannot let bb get too big.

QQ: The DHA med I'm taking only sold to clinics and not over the counter. If you are really interested to try, I can buy a extra box on my next visit and mail to you. ^_^

Regarding clothes wise, I think i buy later when I more or less confirm bb size. Also get on demand. Haha, I'm more worried about the big items though cos they are going to cost $$$ for a first time mum.

Fish oil soft gel - I got the Natal Care Tri Plus from gyane. $32 for 30 capsule. The box is glossy gold in color. So far no fishy smell when i burp (i dont burp as much now). Perhaps those interested can check w pharmacy.

BBL, i told my boss by showing him a picture of the positve sign test kit .. I told him seriously "I got something to show you" n he was like Ohh! when he saw it. hahaha... he knows i'm trying for a bb, so excited to share the news w him. think i m the only one who show the boss the +ve sign. hahahaa...

numb hands - me too! and i tot something is wrong w me... mostly at night when i sleep, sometimes my whole hand got numb when pressed on it for sometime.

hello ladies

baby clothes :
for my #1 i only buy 6 pairs of home clothes (buttoned tops & pants) 3-6 month. some mittens & socks. the rest is given from friends n family. don't stock up too much maybe few nice clothes for going out. babies outgrow their newborn clothes v fast!

the things you could buy now : hankies, towels & cloth blanket. but u may receive this as presents too.

Also for numb hands, see can do some hands massaging or stretching to let the blood flow smoother cos numb may be cos the blood flow not too good?

Dear QQ,
$500 sounds like a very good deal wor!!!

Dear Ivy,
Welcome!!! I only take DHA, PreNatal Vitamins and Folic Acid

Dear Yanlin,
All the very best for your amnio this Wed. Rest well and talk to baby more.

Dear BBL,
I think good to tell boss asap cos your company would need to handle manpower issues etc and can offload you maybe? hehe.

Anyone went Taka fair or mothercare fair? What is there to buy huh?

Actually after the discounts at these fairs the prices comparable to baby hypermart? Cos me n hb don have car so it's inconvenient to travel all the way out to the hypermart to compare the prices.

Kitty> You must have build a close relationship with your boss that is why he can accept the way you inform him ( showing test kit)

Sashamama> I am going this friday after my routine check up. Hopefully can see gender then can buy abit of new clothings especially for 1st mth celebration.

Re: BB clothings
I wish mine is a girl cos my family got alot of girls so i can get alot of hand down clothings. Can save alot of $$. Hehe

i saw at toys r us, avent got promo going on, 20% and a promo for spending above $200.
went to to BHG and got a avent set at $44 inclu. 2 small bottles, 2 med bottles, 1 brush, 1 teat and 1 pacifier.
seems quite a gd deal so itchy hands jus buy it.

starfantasty,
we taking the same fish oil, still got lemon flavour, got at same price as u too.

sashamama
a friend of mine bought shoes on very good disc at mothercare fair, only 18 per pair n it's SkR brand. also the body suits r relatively cheap if on disc. can be abt 4sgd each.
i didnt go coz no time.

starfantasy
actually i think price is the same if hypermart/any stores like robinson etc are having disc. but during those fairs u can get better deal if buy in packages. like if u buy stroller+car seat. n also during fairs there r usually freebies.

BBL, i told boss i preggy when i need take time off for gynae.

Baby clothes, for my case, my no.1 was born at 36 weeks so he is very small, those newborn clothes fit him very loosely, i only prepared 1 set of new born clothes at tat time for him to come back from hospital. After tat, he wore loose clothes (0-3 mths) till he boom up after 1 month.. hahaha..

Connie, I now not much craving, most food dun feel like eating leh.

Sashamama, I went and nothing much to buy leh. Maybe cos I 2nd time mummy.

Mahjong, u not much craving ar? Me too. I thought I have problem when I heard people craving coz I dun feel like eating most of the time.

QQ, I got problem on eating, dunno wat to eat. Nothing fancy me. Me fancy nothing. Yar Happy I feel more of hungry only la. :p

And I have craving for Sting Ray, cannot eat. Sian. And been thinking of sashimi but I try to endure also.

Even chicken use to be my fav, now no more also.

QQ> Seem like Medela got the same promotion as Mediacorp fair but $779. Really need to think hard. Thank you for the link.

Re:Craving
None too. Only thirsty most of the time.

hehe... sandy, i show the picture. dont dare to lurk the test kit ard for the smell of urine might piss pple n myself off.. whaahaha.. my boss ang moh n quite humerous one. otherwise dont dare to show him ;p

i seldom have cravings.. unless i see pple eat n it smells very good. then i feel like eating it for the next meal. otherwise, i m easy with food. but cant eat much of meat.

Me too.. don't have craving at all, also don't feel like eating anything even when I'm hungry. So every time end up just find something to eat when I start to feel the fainting spell... Come to think of it, I also never have craving during my past two pregnancies..hhmm.. strange hor..

Went to the Taka babyfair yesterday. The queues were SUPER LONG! I didn't shop a lot coz already have all the things I need. Just went to stock up on my pigeon breast pads..

I am currently taking NeuroGains DHA pill (don't feel that it has any fishy smell), New Obimin Multivitamin tablet and Bonacal Calcium pill. All given by my gynae. My lastest addition is the Ironyl Iron pill coz my blood test shows that I have not enough blood (as usual).. sigh.. sick of all these pills already..

Kitty... I was thinking whether you actually brought the test kit (with urine) to show your boss!!! Hahaha...

sashamama and starfantasy: i went takafair on sat and saw cots and prams! my hb and i still deciding which brand best and prolly will return during weekday where the crowd not so hectic! my fren's fren bought a prediego pram for $875 (stroller plus car seat) and taka fair just sold it for $575 for the stroller. think fairs can be quite a good deal for us. my fren also agreed

there's a mothercare fair at harbourfront til 11/3. can go check out

Sandy, I think, if u have DBS Taka card, can get additional 10% disc? and as you buy >S$600, can have free gift Fisher Price Walker to Wagon. Seems not bad wor. Sigh.. I want the gift la (bcoz it is free.. haha)but I've nothing to buy to achive S$600. My friends are giving me big items and I have bought the pump.

<font color="aa00aa">cravings</font>
<font color="aa00aa">i have been thinking of rosti even though i have just ate that on Friday! just couldn't get out of my mind. do i call that cravings?</font>