(2012/08) Aug 2012

starfantasy, I think you should buy it first before you deliver. your hb may not know where to buy so last min and you will need it immeditely. as mummyR menitoned, if you have the right information and right mindset, you can do it. My sister also didnt breastfeed for all her 3 kids cos she said dont have and I managed to do it. My mum and sis were discouraging me not to breastfeed even during my confinement but I ignored them and continued, so dont be discouraged by them.

mummyR & AG, I want to breastfeed and my family is very supportive, maybe just that at their time, they might not have the right info so it hinder their breastfeeding.

I was thinking of only buying when I go back to work after my maternity leave since before that I would just let bb latch on. That is not a good idea?

bb may nt clear ur boobs so what we did is latch then pump also to build up supply haha thats why i buy early .. i cfm bringing the pump to hosp ..

Starfantasy,
You will still need the pump even if u decide to do pure latch on

Its great to have family support!

AG> High 5 ! My mother also very discouraging about breastfeed because she didnt breastfeed us so she find it troublesome and say dirty cos we cannot bath in 1st week etc. STRESS !

Starfantasy> If you scare like I do for #1, buy a manuel pump first instead of investing few hundred for a auto one. Like that u can bring to hospital too. Regards to latch on, is ok if you are not resting but if you need to rest especially during confinement it is better to express it out so that caretaker can help you to feed.

starfantasy, even when you latch, we still need to use the pump to clear cos at times, your baby may latch 1 side only. if you wanna buy, might as well buy early to fully utilize it. actually for my #1, I didnt successfully latch as my first few days tried too much till my nipple tear and sore for a week, after that baby didnt want to latch so i just continue to pump out. hope this time can latch.

Ayukie, that means I will lots of milk supply which is more happy than I can wish for..haha

Sandy, that's a good suggestion. Any idea which manuel pump is good? For my confinement, my mother would be my confinement nanny but I cannot expect her to do a lot of work as she's old so prob I'll do majority of the caring myself.

yeah sandy, i cant stand it when my mum came over each time and nag. she said we all are also well and look at my 3 nieces and nephew blah blah blah. she even ask the CL to put all kinds of tonics into my food which CL doesnt want cos I am breastfeeding. gets on to my nerves which is why I didnt want my mum to do confinement for me. I think I will get post-natal blues.
starfantasy, you can consider Ameda pump which is only $300+ and I find it good.

Starfantasy> Can try Avent Manual pump or Pigeon Manual pump. Avent much expensive slight pass $100 but come with 2 bottle i think. Pigeon around $60 plus u can get already.

AG, that's not manual right? I don't mind investing in a good auto pump if I confirm have milk supply cos now am little stressed about the money I have to outlay for bb. XD

starfantasy, that is dual-auto. So I think its very worth it.everyone sure has it...just a matter of more or less. if less than supplement with milk powder. dont need to be stress about breastfeeding lah, if it comes, it comes. I never tried manual so I cant comment but I would reckon it being so tiring :p

Actually I know manual is very tiring cos my friend got say. But my mindset is that if I can continue to have milk supply then spending more on good auto pump as the cost will even out with the time I'll be using it. If I don't have good milk supply, buying a manual one would be less "heartpain" for me. Paisei for being so practical..haha

Ivian,
yes, gg after their food. HB love the egg tart.

Ayukie,
Scared of puke so must go at early 2nd trimster. Last 2 rounds, I puke close to end 2nd trimster.

Sigh. BB shy leh. dun want to open legs wide wide! gynae only said doesn't look like a boy to him... i hope it continue to stay it that way!

Starfantasty> very practical thinking in deed. Then go for manual first at least nt so heartache. I also use manual at first but pump until very tired however once u got the flow then the pumping won't be so tiring anymore. Take it as free workout for arm. Lol

Sandy, I think every pump got pro n cons. Buy the right pump seems not easy. Think after use, then only know.

Mahjong, I also dunno will I go for the 3D scan. Wanted to but seems will be tiring to travel juz for the scan. Hope birdie goes to u too.
. Do u still puke? I still puke.

Dear Jljz,
I have adenomyosis and swollen uterus so easily feel bloated and breathless especially after eating. You? I wonder if there're any other adenomyosis sisters here?

Dear Dot,
Congrats on clearing your amnio test!

Dear icezz & Starfantasy,
Welcome to this thread! You can fill up your info on our excel spreadsheet if you wish.

Dear BBL,
I hope you'd be fine. Do take care ya?

Sasha
Hug to u. Hope u r ok
I am ok. Cleared of cyst. Waiting for my blood test result now

Jljz
Hope u got an Ang ku kueh too

Good morning mummies(to-be), anyone went or going down to the Mothercare baby fair? I'm interested in their cots but not sure if it's the promotion sets sold out.

Anyway, TGIF.. Another week has passed. Envy all those who already knew the gender. I have to wait to next Wed and only if bb open leg big big. Haha.. Hoping I have a girl but think most likely it's a boy again.

Sashamama,
i'm wondering if i got it... cos after eating i felt extremely bloated... n i do get breathless easily too! but gynae nv mention anything abt it!

BBL,
thank you! =P i hope so too leh!!!

=( my toilet has got the mouldy smell! chiam.. dunno how long i've been exposed to the mould already! hopefully it doesn't affect the development of the baby.. but can't help to worry when i went to google more for details!

QQ
The pain come n go. But more painful when u stand or walk. Could be uterus expanding but seems too long duration this round. Ya no reason or explanation given. Just got to accept the fact pregnancy could lead to alot of unexplainable pain. Having gastric pain quite often lately. But i am always eating also don't know y. Was given two days mc yest but today I am back to work. I dont wan kenA mark for alwwsys taking mc. So poor thing when preg still got to think of this n that so that my ML will be a smooth one.

Jljz
I also get bloatedness. It's pretty common for preg mummies ma so we got to eat small meals but more meals a day

BBL,
hahaha.. =P worried mah.. like what you said... pregnancy brings a lot of unexplained things hor? hahaha... jia you! i can understand how you feel! today is my son's birthday! but i can't take any more leave... because i have been taking like every mon already!!!

BBL> I am only left with 1 day of MC till July.. wahahaha... I just take. I guess I can take it because I have a nice boss. Its not that we always want to take mc also.. haiz.

BBL,I have gastric pain too. There was once middle of the night, waken up due to gastric pain. A very sharp pain lor. Guess, we'll be better in the 5th mth.

Jljz
Wah yr son birthday u still work. My son birthday I took child care leave.

Jc
Heng u have a nIce boss. I try not to take so much mc. Too high profile won't lead me to any gd. Better guai guai. If I am not preg I already take the second day mc. Must think of later part. Now I automatic then later part they can't penalized me ma.

QQ
I super hate the gastric pain Lo

I am glad that I can work from home and in fact, just told my boss earlier this week that I will work from home once a week. I feel so tired if I come into office everyday but if I do work at home, I am actually fine, I guess its the travelling that makes us tired.
BBL, could it be indigestion? I had that few weeks ago and couldnt differentiate what pain is that, then gynae concluded that for me. make sure yoour bowels are smooth. I think the sharp pain is where our uterus are expanding and I get that few weeks ago too. It will phase off soon, dont worry. When all the pain comes, we tend to get worried cos me too. lucky hb stop me from visiting my gynae else I will waste a few hundred dollars again. He said I get that for my #1 too which I cant/choose not to recall :p

haha i puke all the way .. im resigned to my fate haiz ..

anyway ameda pump nt bad i use it to bf my #1 for a yr + until i took the pill to stop bf ..

may i know if anyone of u hv any idea, if to do detailed scan at TMC, do they allow husband to follow in?

Gd morning .
It's a girl!!!! At least 80% chance cos bb leg close but dr tried to peep and saw nothing in btw the leg so he said 80% chance

Ya hor, talk about detailed scan, forgotten to ask Gynae, do we need to fast or anything to take note b4 the scan?

JK, I think Hb is allowed to go in.

BBL, if really can't bear it, juz go back n rest. No choice. Bb more important now n I think u've been there in office, think they will more understanding that you are really not feeling well.

dawn,
hahahaha... wah! at least urs still got 80% chance! my gynae didn't give me any percentage... just say looks to him like not a boy only!!! i can't wait for my detail scan... anyone going down to TMC on 31 Mar?

morning mummies... TGIF...

been feeling quite achey and stressed, took the day off to register #1 for Nursery 1 yesterday. Just wondering if any mummies here have a end-of-the-year baby and how they adapted to N1? Wondering if it makes a big difference.

sashamama, may I know where's the excel sheet?

I took MC for every visit to the gynae then sometimes for not feeling well. My rationale is that since I'm entitled, might as well take. Hahaha

Bloatedness can be caused by indigestion or heartburn, pretty common in pregnancy. I have pretty bad bloatedness in my 1st trimester and my gynae just ask me to move my bowel more often (I get constipated too) and the bloatedness should go away. And it worked!

Regarding pain wise, I also get cramping in my 1st trimester and sometimes now, and being 1st time mum was pretty worried. My gynae said nothing to be alarm unless it's constant bad cramps with bad back pain and most importantly, got bleeding then it warrants concern. Else it's most likely uterus stretching or the gas.

BBL> my boss is nice but emo.. sometimes very sian.. I have a fren who took 2 months hospitalization leave then continue with her 4 months maternity leave.. that one then power. sometimes a bit sian to deal with an emo boss.. For me right now a job is just a job.. baby is more important.. so maybe i will resign after back from maternity. Not because of the boss but i cant find job satisfaction.. sighs. I am like a zombie coming to work..

Starfantasy> I also hope to feel it moving soon!

actually once we deliver, will be even more tired due to not enough sleep. enjoy the time now

btw mummies, my gynae gave me some digestion pills and it helps. you may want to check with your gynae see if they have it.
this week I couldnt feel much of baby movement. maybe every nite I am so bloated, feel more pain than anything else.