(2012/06) Jun 2012

Adeline: No he didn't prescribe but i decided to take because i am worried that i don't consume enough calcium in my diet and also there have been cases i heard of people losing calcium during pregnancy. P.S. i didn't even dare ask him but the one i take is also recommended for pregnancy.

Jolene: if i remember to take twice daily it will be 600mg but most of the time i always remember to take once in the morning that's why 300mg. I know i shld start increasing my dosage as i read that the baby take 250mg of calcium during the last tri.

Fleur: Hahaha... I know the feeling, i will just take whatever he prescribes for me then, my diet is pretty balanced as i eat home cooked food almost everyday with the exceptional lunch meals during work and 2 meals out during weekends.

I thought a balanced diet will do? I have freshly squeezed juice every morning,bread,rice,green leafy veg,soup,meat(steam or stir fried),soy milk and loads of water.

How do you lose calcium during pregnancy?

Jolene: I think as long as you eat right its fine. Well my gynae only prescribes DHA and multivits for me.

I would take natural organic stuffs like prunes and walnuts as snacks. Gynae was actually happy when i told him that on my last check! Hahaha....

I'm at the Robinsons sale. Small selection of baby stuff, mostly Shears brand. A lot of toiletries on sale though. Almost everything has additional 10% off sale price.

Adeline, you can lose calcium cos the baby can leech from you to build bones. That's why we need nearly double the usual calcium during pregnancy and lactation.

Jul, hopecg, I'm now resting at home and most of the time on bed. No big movement allowed n not to carry any heavy stuff. Gotta monitor closely to see if any further bleeding. Finger crossed....hope my placenta will move up. I will wanna go for natural birth and not to c-sect early. I have not pack my hospital bag yet. Been telling my girl to be with me longer ya.

Yup. We do need an extra dose of calcium. And did your gynae or pharmacist advise your that the obimin or DHA I forgot which one would hinder the absorption of calcium. So it's better to take the former I the morning and the calcium in the afternoon.

Jul: No prob. Just keep me in the loop

Jolene: I started taking calcium pills since my first visit to the gynea. Only stopped the folic acid after I finish the bottle he prescribed. But I also take a glass of milk daily. So far only had 1 instance of leg cramps so I guess I have sufficient calcium?

Jenny: I got my thermometer quite early cos I didn't have any at home. Got the braun thermo scan. Pretty easy to use, no complains so far.

Adeline: I think the baby absorbs our calcium to build the bones. If we only take sufficient for our own body, the baby will aborb it all and we will be left with none or little. When my dog was pregnant, we didn't read up so much, so didn't supplement with calciums stuff, so after the pups were born, her bones suffer lor. Now 1 leg down, so poor thing. Even supplement with calcium now also abit too late.

I don't think I have a very balanced diet, I always eat out and most of the time I just follow my mood. I TRY to have it balanced but sometimes I just have no interest. So best is just take the supplements my gynea prescribed

<font color="0077aa">jul/nattan, i think i will keep facial to after delivery. something pampering to look forward to. :p

anyone knows how much honey pot charges for waxing for first-timer? i'm still thinking if i shd go cos i scare may get UTI

jenny, i have a spare BN braun thermoscan IRT-4520 to let go at $80 if u r interested.</font>

Mummies. My mil condition is lot worse and my hubby is flying urgently today. If she pass away I will bring my daughter and maid fly there too. Any usual restriction for chinese culture since I am pregnant now? Fil hasn't said anything just said i no need buy ticket first wait for news. Feels very saf and gloomy now

Thanks ladies! I think will check with my gynae and see what happens...Hahaha...

Anna:please get ample rest and take good care!

Groovy:Sorry to hear that your mil condition has worsen,be strong and will keep your mil in my prayers.

Jenny:I want to sell a brand new unopened baby infrared thermometer. Retail price is $79.90 now selling at $60.

Specs:

Thermoquick measures body temperature quickly and reliably by detecting the infrared energy emitted by the skin and can also be used to measure food temperature and ambient temperature.

- Simple to use
- Ultra fast: gives a temperature reading in less than one second
- Hygienic: no contact and no tip to change
- Accurate: set point can be entered on the basis of the child's body temperature
- Practical: does not wake the child when used in the dark (back lit screen)
- Multifunctional - includes body, feeding bottle, bath and room temperature
- Adjustable audible alarm
- Memorises the last 30 readings
- Dual scale Celsius/Fahrenheit
- Operates using the 2 x AA batteries (not included)

Let me know if you are interested,can pm me.

Adeline, what is the brand of the infra red thermometerbu have?

Even thermometers also got so many choices.. Dunno wat to get..

Fleurfleur: I m coming 30 weeks tmr. It's a last min decision to sign up. Wanted to give it a miss but scare my hubby dont know what to expect during delivery and after delivery leh. Although its my first child, at least I have been helping out when my sisters r doing their confinement. See u at the class then. Oh ya, how many weeks r u in too.

Groovy

Keep her in your thoughts. Keep us posted k?

Not sure what sort of Chinese customs you need to avoid considering that mil is considered immediate family.

Take care of yourself!!

Groovy: I think u might not be able to fly in your last trimester. Better check with airline carrier first. Maybe they can make an exception for you. Jia you. Be strong!

<font color="0077aa">jenny, i tried to pm u but u did not turn it on. i got it from US, thus probably no local warranty. not sure if the locally sold ones have or not though. i got one already but because i dropped and no more beep sound, i bought another one. but now thinking the old one still working well except no sound so wanna sell off the spare one :p)</font>

Jenny: Beaba Infared Thermoquick.

We can fly until our 36 weeks but has to be accompanied with a gynae's letter to certify that you are fit to fly.

groovy, sorry to hear about your mil. be strong k? be mentally prepared for the worse but pray for the best. not sure how close you are to her, but i totally understand how it feels. i din avoid anything during my mother's case as I feel that nothing is more impt than kinship. Dun wan to regret in future that i did not do wat i was suppose to do. But minnzo is right, check with the airlines if its safe for u to fly. Most impt, control your emotions, otherwise it can affect your baby. Will keep your mil in my prayers.

I think immediate family 百无禁忌. But in case, u might wanna avoid the coffin or staying over. Just pay respects and sit ardthe guests if they expect ur prescence.

Tiring but enjoyable day. Now at underwater world son zzz. I got some time to surf web.

Ltr he wakes up we'll walk ard the lagoon n underwater world.

Groovy: I took part in the rituals during the ceremony when my husband's grandmother passed away. Only didn't keep kneeling and standing. Basically take good care of yourself. Your maid should be able to look after your daughter so one less worry.

Hope your mil is ok

Yay! We are almost done with work for the day!! Cheers to a long and well rested weekend.

Am thinking should i avoid meat tomorrow, its the least i can do i supposed for Good Friday.

Waiting to see Gynae. Nurse took my weight and said I put on 2kg since last appt. sure get nagged by my Gynae. Jialat! I hope later I go in Wont get lectured!

Fleur: 2kg is fine la! He told me it was fine during my last visit. Ask him about calcium pills!! Hahaha..... Long queue at his clinic?

Finally back from being all day at the Expo, although did make a pit-stop at the airport for a while. Didn't get to eat my big breakfast but had 1-for-1 fillet-o-fish. The Robinson's sale was just like any normal expo sale...lots of toiletries, clothes and snacks, but limited baby stuff. I did manage to buy 4 packs of disposable undies. They were sold for 2 packs for $9.90 and have 5 undies in each pack, so now I have 20 undies. Quality is like thin cotton and washable. Comes only in Free Size, but I think should be big enough for XL ;) After that went to airport to while away time cos the Times Book Fair only starts at 3pm. Got some Christian books and baby bibles at low prices. Think I walked too much today... back and groin a bit sore now :p

Hi Groovy, sorry to read about your MIL's condition... I think while you may want to be there by her side, you should ask your gynae whether it's safe to fly now... I think most airlines don't accept pregnant women past the 2nd trimester. For your baby's sake, I think it's better not to fly now. But be strong and let's all keep her in our prayers...

Re Chinese rituals, my SIL took part in all the rituals when she was expecting but sat throughout those parts where we need to kneel and stand. That time I didn't know I was already pregnant so I went through the rituals like the rest.

Anna, hope you have a good rest at home... it's a good thing we have a long weekend to rest!

Fleurfleur, 2kg is very normal leh... why are you worried? In the 3rd trimester, it's expected for us to put on weight faster.

Adeline, I just went to check my calcium tablet and it says 1,250mg of Calcium Carbonate (equivalent to 500mg of elemental Calcium) with 400 iu of Vitamin D3 to help with absorption. I think it really helps with leg cramps as I hardly get it and I also take dairy products like yogurt regularly. Maybe you can try to increase your intake and see if it helps.

Haha I wasn't worried until the nurse was worried and said the Gynae sure ask me what I have been eating n will nag!
I thought its normal now that we r in last tri.
Heng he good mood was distracted with telling us abt his gd day do what a relief no nagging.

Adeline: I recalled I asked him if I needed calcium many weeks back. He said no need hence I didnt dare "challenge" by asking more. Hehe. But since I don't keeP track of my calcium intake through my diet I thought ks abit to supplement it.

Damn tired! Just reached home.. Went school to pick son at 12. Then reached sentosa at 1. Then lunch and palawan beach till 3. Then showered... Happy boy zzz in stroller till 5, in time for underwaterworld n dolphin show..
Didn't make it to songs of the seas cause tickets sold out for 7.40 show. So went vivo toysrus for awhile.
Took circle line back... Now my feet r twice it's original size!
Now i'm waiting for laundry to be done and hang them b4i can hit the sacks. Super tired but happy day

Updates: Baby weight at the end of 28weeks is 1.1kg. So far gynae is happy with the weight since i am opting for natural delivery. Sad thing is my bb girl loves to cover her face so we still couldn't see her profile. Its a question mark whether she looks more like daddy or mummy.

Went for holy thurs mass after checkup and tmr morning need to go for Gd Friday church service. I cannot wait for the next appt!

Adeline: Leg cramps are quite normal at this stage. You might want to try ask your hubby to massage the calves before you sleep every night and keep it elevated. See if it helps.
Mine didn't cramp every night but probably 2-3 times a week as opposed to previously every night ever since HB massage for me

I received my La Leche Bra size 34B bought on allemon.com.sg! Guess what???? its HUGE!!!! It looked sure granny and the cup size looked like a cup E or F to me. Mine is more like apple and this can fit a small rockmelon! I emailed them and hope i can do an exchange.

groovy, condolences to you and your family. please be careful when you travel, don't carry heavy things ...

Morning ladies!!

Groovy:My deepest condolences to you and your family.

Fleur: Our lil girls weight is almost similar, mine just slightly smaller but yup he was happy with the growth rate. I guess it would be a lot easier for us during labor to deliver.

I only had leg cramps once so far which was on Wednesday. I actually checked with the nurses at Dr Chan and she said our multivits have sufficient calcium and if you are eating a balanced diet, it's sufficient as too much calcium is not good either. I told her I was worried as a lot of ladies were prescribed with calcium pills. She asked if I had leg cramps and I told her just once recently then she said its ok I dont need it. Gynae will prescribed if you inform him that you have been having frequent leg cramps. So guess I am ok.

I will be going for mass as well later, which church do u go to fleur?

Morning! Had another restless night again. Dunno y these days i can't seem to sleep without waking easily then find myself unable to get back to sleep. My groin hurts! Argh!

Groovy

Condolences to u n ur family. Do take care while u're travelling

Finally MIL is back and she cooked birds nest this morning for me......yummy!

So happy that i got tickets to Russell Peters Notorious 2012 World Tour!

Time to get ready for church now.

Jul: Try and get some rest, why is your groin hurting? Baby is siting on it?

groovy: condolences to u and ur family, take care...

im having a fever since last night, took one tablet and still not well. ok for pregnant mums to take panadold right?

Groovy, my deepest condolences to you and your family. Please take good care of yrself and dun forget to get a letter from yr gynae that you are safe to fly in case the airline ask for it.

Groovy: pls take care of yourself and don't be too upset.

Kadice: panadol is fine and safe. No aspirin !
Drink more water.

Adeline : I attend HFC at katong

Kadice, yes you are safe to eat the panadol up to 8 per day. I was told to eat the normal panadol by my gynae when I had headache and wrist pain the last time I visited him. Take care and rest well.

Groovy, my condolences to you and your family. Do take care on your flight back.

Kadice, make sure you drink lots of water and rest well. You can use a cold towel on your forehead and joints to bring down your body temperature. I usually do that cos I'm allergic to Panadol.

Looks like another wet and stormy day... staying home today to do some cleaning and packing.

Happy Good Friday, ladies!

Groovy

I'm sorry to hear the news. I hope your hub managed to make it make in time to see her. Pls take care of yourself too.

Sunbelle, not a lot .. about 2 tables of it, but there are also some at the Robinsons sale. Good thing is most of them are below $10 each.

Groovy: my codolences to u n ur family. Do take care of urself throughout.

We just came home from blessed sacrament church GF mass. The kneeling n standing gave me cramps in my butt..

Prettibride, Groovy: Please take care of yourself.

Been busy and tired lately to surf net after work.

Anyone delivered in PEH before can share what is provided?? I'm trying to start packing my hospital bag but at a loss of what to pack... (-_-)'''...
After doing some goggling...I think i got info overload from the net on the bag packing stuff..

Adeline

Groin hurts i guess coz baby is digging into it! Typical 3rd tri pains for me. Tdy even worse! Dunno how i bent till the baby pressed against my backside! Couldn't bend for a while till i jiggled him out of position! Hiaz!

Kadice

It's ok to take panadol during pregnancy. Better to lower temp than subject baby to high temp.

Groovy: pls take gd care and b strong!

I cannot help but to rant out here. I caught a flu virus last afternoon. Had bad cold and then turned to sore throat and slight fever and asked hubby to sleep next room since he cannot live w/o air con or fan. This morning was slightly better and went to eat kweh chap with hubby and mil. After which, went to suntec for electronic fair and hush puppies sale. Who knows condition became worse once reach home. Started to sneeze and I refused to dine out w my in laws and hubby as my sil is giving us treat at ion. Started to whatsapp my sis and told her might not join her bday dinner since now sick and don't know if can go for family portrait tomorrow w my family. My sis told my bro and mum. In the end, my bro sent message to say must c doctor and take medication. Ever since pregnant, even when I have migraine or small ailments, I refused to take medication for fear of baby's health. Then my sis asked if my mum called to scold me yet. I said no but bro messaged me instead. Shortly, my mum called to keep scolding that must c doc and take medication else baby will b sick too.... Until I can't take it and broke down and she continued. I raised my voice at her asking her not to bother me, I m already stressful enough. Then she said ok and we hang up. I m so upset now!! As if I want to b sick and will harm baby. Since now just entered into final trimester, I really hope not to take medication. Besides I m allergic to painkillers and most antibiotics. I m scheduled to c gynae on Tuesday. Hopefully will recover by tomorrow although I doubt so, managed to spat green phlegm and yellow mucus. Monday another colleague is on leave and I will b needed at work
sigh... Been looking forward to long weekend but fell sick instead!

Jul
uch...sounds painful.There is anything you can do about it to help the baby from not digging into it?

Zo: Please rest and take care.