(2012/06) Jun 2012

Jul, you use as a moisturiser on which part of your body? Or you apply all over the body? I only apply on belly, thighs, hips and butt. Any leftover, I'll rub on my elbows. That's all. I don't like to feel sticky or oily all over.

Jolene, ya.. I always find it disgusting when I see drivers digging their noses :p

Jul

U still need some much lotion? I started on my second bottle of the Elancyl Stretch Mark Lotion already. Should be enough to last me all the way plus I have one tube of Clarins Stretch Mark Control still not opened.

If you really don’t think anything from Kim Sang, don’t get la…can standby for other items. U need space for storage right?

Glass

OMG..so funny! Kids are really monkey see monkey do….:p We need to be very conscious of what we say and do, else they will start mirroring and parroting us.

Jolene

Hehe…how can you tahan your hubby doing that while he drives? So where does he flick the booger? Throw out of the window? LOL!!

Hope

My hub was a boy scout so yeah, he’s like every ready. Must standby..cannot use to the very last and then go get.

Life Fitness is very bulky..that’s one disadvantage. I also prefer cross trainers cos less impact on our knees and we can always chose if we want to hold on to the handle bars to work out our arms. Else just focus on the legs workout.

Chris

We have been shifting furniture about. Have to get ready cos my hub cannot tahan be unprepared. But we did not do any painting (wanted to, but decided no point because I didn’t want to subject myself to the fumes) or major knocking. Even when he was fixing up/building the furniture from Ikea or the cot, I wasn’t in the same room.

Petrina

U collect those nice paper bags too? How about ang baos packets? My mom loves to collect those stuffs too…!

Do u think Goon will have more promo at the next fair? U talking about the May or Jul fair issit?

Taking Leave Prior to EDD

I also have no idea when to start on my leave. Feel very paranoid and keep thinking what happens if I need to go so quickly? Think I’m having anxiety attacks lor…

Lunch

Just finished enjoying my tabao lunch – today menu : Chicken Don Rice with Miso Soup + Popiah + Barley drink

Hope you guys are having a good lunch!!

Hi Jul

how do you relief the pelvic girdle pain? i cant move much and gotta be slow motion.

do you think we can take panadol for this kinda of pain?

whoami: I also had the same pain. Mine started off with this sharp stab at the back of the pelvis when i move off from a stationary position. Initially i tot i shifted a bone or sth till my gynea told me its normal and I just have to bear with it. Now the stabbing feeling is gone... but the back of my pelvis always feel very sore. =(

I just bear with it. Din take any pain relief

nattan

I apply on the tummy, boobs, arms & legs. Coz I have rather dry & sensitive skin, prone to eczema. Then now I aws sleep in aircon, so it's not so oily & sticky.

smilezz

Exactly my prob! No storage space for my loot from Kim Sang, so I'm quite hesitant to buy

whoami

We can definitely take panadol during pregnancy, but not sure whether it'll help with this. My gynae gave me this muscle/ache relief cream. She said can use it on the lower back, shoulders even the pelvic area to relieve the pain. I can go home & check the brand for you if u want.

Whoami, it's just your ligaments and muscles stretching to accommodate the baby. Nothing to worry about. You may like to do some light stretching everyday to help you ease the soreness. I hardly get any such pain since I exercise and move around a lot.

I'm allergic to Panadol so I can't take it for fever or pain! Every time I'm sick, I can only take Ponstan but now with the baby, I can't even take that.

Ssmilezz, my hubby is the opposite. Sometimes I get exasperated cos he often procrastinates, then last minute rush to get things done, and may forget this and that. I'm often the one reminding him to do this and that :p But nowadays I'm feeling quite absentminded also, can't really remind him that often. Fortunately he now uses Google Calendar to put in reminders so that we can both see what needs to be done.

smilez: ya. ang paos! from eons ago.. i recently cleared some which i can bear to throw.. i try to just keep 1pc
cause no more space..

I m using cream when i can remember.. abt 2x a week. lol
1 small tube still not even halfway there.

GOON
31 may fair @ expo. waiting for it. they will be there. just dunno what bargains i can find.

Baby movements
i was trying to take a video of massive movements. then i whip out my hp, baby stop moving. i keep hp, she start again. i give up!

Petrina: Same!! in the end i had to massage the tummy abit to get some reaction from baby. Somehow its as though he knows i'm filming him

Ate yong tau foo for lunch again. 2 bunch of spinach, toufu, tou kwa, tong fen, whole boiled egg, fresh fish cake with soup

snacking on mini oreos now.. hehe

Petrina, Asrias you mean you can see the baby's movement?? I can't see but can only feel. Maybe I have too much belly fat... haha...

nattan: can see
for me very obvious. when i put my ipad on my tummy to watch video, the whole ipad can jump when she is turning around..

Nattan: Even my hubby can see it. Usually its more obvious when the belly is exposed. can really see the bumps. Sometimes when its more dramatic its as though the belly is dancing!!

Hey.. just saw that there's another Baby Expo in April:
Date: 27 Apr 2012 - 29 Apr 2012
Venue: Hall 5A
Time:
11am to 9pm (Fri & Sat)
11am to 8pm (Sun)

Not sure if it's going to be like the previous one... quite chap parang type..

There's also Metro Expo Sale:
Date: 27 Apr - 1 May
Venue: Hall 4
Time: 11am to 10pm

Finally Motherhood Fair in end May:
Date: 31 May - 3 Jun
Venue: Hall 6B
Time: 11am to 9pm

Last chance to get stuff before we all pop!! Then after that there are Parents World and Taka Fair again in August.

Petrina, Asrias, maybe I always miss it when my baby is moving cos I'm usually covered up. I can feel him strongly though. It would be very interesting to see his movement like in the Starhub SCV ad.

Petrina

Your girl very camera shy. Hehehe. I can also see movements on my tummy! But cannot get in on film. Not fast enough.

Mine likes to move and dance about when I listen to music. Haha.

Nattan

Ok la at least putting it on calendar helps both of u be aware of what needs to be done in a timely manner.

Your lunch very healthy today!

Jul, I'm about to finish my topicrem but I still have loccitane butter and almond oil so won't be getting anymore. I use the normal Nivea moisturiser cream to apply on my leg and hand cos of the dryness in aircon room.

Nattan, my hub is exactly like your hub. Thought most guys behave that way, except now know that it does not applies to Ssmilezz's hub.

Petrina / AsRias: Likewise everytime I wanna my hub to feel her massive movement, but she will stop moving the moment my hub start staring or touching my tummy. Naughty naughty...lol.

Stock up

Will do a last min stock up with "S" size diaper, wet wipes and laundry/bottle detergent during the upcoming Baby expo fair btwn 27-29 Apr and motherhood fair bwtn 31may-3june.

Gathering

When will you gals be free to do so? I'm alrite on weekdays lunch / dinner.

<font color="aa00aa">fleurfleur,
Formatting - of course you can use iPhone or any PC to do it but it's a bit troublesome as this forum is still using hard codes. See this thread for instructions:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/discus1.cgi?pg=formatting#size

jul_04,
Not scaring you la. If you like to make your own bread and don't mind using cake flour and such, your bread will be softer (I use unbleached flour).

Re: Gathering

<u>Weekdays</u>
* asrias - weekdays &amp; weekends
* annatequila - weekdays (lunch or dinner)
* fleurfleur - weekdays
* gdmaimai - weekdays (dinner)
* groovy2009 - weekdays ok?
* hopecg - weekdays (dinner)
* jol82ene - weekdays
* jul_04 - weekdays (dinner) &amp; weekends
* nattan - weekdays (lunch or dinner)
* snowdoll - weekdays (lunch in town)
* ssmilezz - weekdays (lunch)

<u>Weekends</u>
* asrias - weekdays &amp; weekends
* jul_04 - weekdays (dinner) &amp; weekends
* ryan_mummy - weekends

Seems that the majority of us prefer weekdays. Can we do dinner so that we won't have to take leave?

Date: Friday - March 30 or April 13?

Venue: <blink>Where?</blink> (any suggestions for somewhere spacious to accommodate us?)

How about Marche at Vivo City or 313 @ Somerset?</font>

ssmilezz, yeah.. I like to make my own salads
Healthier and at least I know what's inside.

Anna, my boy also doesn't cooperate when I want hubby to feel his movements :p But if hubby is patient enough, he will feel it after a while. But I think baby will be able to recognise his voice cos my hubby always speaks to him.

Moi, 313 is more central... Vivo is really far for me... going home will be a hassle..

nattan: if u observe hard enough u'll see ur clothes jumping.. hehe
meet u tmr afternoon can?

smilez: can't catch on film. seems they r linked to our brains. so when we wanna do something, baby will intercept liao.. haha

anna: my hb also dun really get to see movements. at most be able to feel abit. baby teasing daddy. dun let him see her dance.

Nattan, admire your perseverance in working out and making your own lunch. I have stopped all workout ever since I found out I'm preggie, only doing some simple walking at nite with my hub and dog. Now even worst, lazy to prepare dinner. Hub been complaining he is very sick to eat out everyday. :p

I'm ok with any location since I'm driving. I can drop those off who is staying in Bedok area.

Petrina

Hahhaha u are right leh! Our baby is inter linked with our minds so of course they know what we are going to do next hor.

Wasted! Does your no 1 sayang yr tummy and talk to his Mei Mei?

Nattan

I love salads too. I used to have salad for dinner.
and wraps or sandwiches. Yums!

Nattan/Anna

My hub very Kua zhang type la. Super kan Cheong. He will get upset with me if I dilly dally or seem like less enthu!

I always tell ppl, I'm the guy in the relationship. Very independent less manja and think / make decisions like the way guys do. That includes shopping style. Very chop chop type. He needs to walk walk and check around then go back to the same shop and ask the same sales person the same questions in a roundabout way before finally buying. Hahaha

Moi

Somewhere central is good
I'll try to make it for the apr date cos month end is tough for me.

Jul
Haha!! So it's a girl guide boy scout thing!! Preparing us for the unexpected!!

Which brand u looking at for cross trainers? Any good lobangs or fairs one huh?

Kim sang
I usually get supplies from there and dunno of any supermarket big discounts lei.. When does carrefour had their mega sales?

Moi
I'm for 313 on Apr 13.. Thanks!!

Anna, I'm also sick of eating out, that's why decided to make my own food. Hubby is suppose to start learning how to cook confinement food. We bought a cookbook but he hasn't started yet (procrastinating again!). So I'm going to remind him...

Petrina, tomorrow seems fine but I'm involved in a company event so may need to take a rain check ya... not sure if I have time to go out during lunch time.

Hopecg, Carrefour just had their mega sale over the weekends.. not sure if it's still on...

ssmilezz, eating salad means I get hungry faster too.. now is time for tea break ;) Snacking on Jacobs Hi Cal crackers, instant teh tarik and chocolates!

nattan: let me noe.

smilez: my #1 gets to feel his meimei more often than my hb!! haha
every night he'll put his hand on my topless tummy and say meimei moving hor. then put his ears so see if he can hear meimei talking. haha
but all he hears r the water sound... then he'll say meimei nvr say anything leh.

exactly! aww.. love my boy so much.. very scared i can't shower same love to meimei.. hope my hb can compensate some love to her.

Petrina, your boy is so cute leh...
I hope next time my boy will be as sweet to his sibling if we have another one..

Moi, I think most of the items are about market price? Not a lot cheaper... But I'm only looking at toiletries since I'm not sure about the prices of other items.

ermm Sorry Mums. Got something very trivial to ask.

Am going for my massage with Baby Bellies later at Bugis. Any nice food around there? Even at Bugis Junction. What nice? And reasonably nutritious?

Looking @ what you all eat - home packed food etc etc. I think I haven't been eating well
. Havent ate single bowl of bird nest or home made chicken soup/herbal yet.

Petrina

Your boy is really very sweet!! So ke ai!!
just get him involved when your girl is here. He's so helpful
I'm sure he will enjoy the whole big kor kor take Care of Mei
Mei experience.

Anna

Haha told u la, I'm a guy one in the relationship! I am less showy with my affections. My hub needs lots of affections and sayang sayang to be happy. So over the years, I learn to be more expressive too. Haha

Pampers

Wow the delivery really very fast. Ordered on sun late night and delivered today already!

Jolene, if your health and baby's health is ok then don't worry too much la. Choose healthy food like yong tau fu or soupy noodles, but normally if I go to Bugis Junction I'll go to the food court and order Japanese/Korean hotplate :p I don't always choose healthy food when I am out. BTW, I've not eaten any bird's nest too. It has no nutritional value at all.. I rather spend the money on real food or supplements.

ssmilezz, the delivery is really fast right? Now thinking if I should order S and M to stock up... I realise I've been spending a lot of money online!!! Help...

Nattan, tell me about it about online shopping. I'm totally hooked into it cos been lazy to go out. I will not order S and M from Gmarket as it's still Pampers brand. I'm looking into different brands to try out like Diapers/Mamy poko/Goon and buy them during the upcoming expo sales.

smilez/nattan: i'm sure most siblings will be sweet to their little ones.
mine say he is Barney korkor.. haha
when we call him Ryan korkor..

Jolene: they have nice "liang" tang at foodcourt. soup king or something.
or u can go iluma n eat the jap noodles. very yummy.
there is a fish soup shop along the streets of the shophouses row.
cross the road from parco bugis junction towards the bus stop. shop is facing the construction site.
other than that bugis nothing much le.

<font color="0077aa">mummies with elder kids on enfa, the price is going to increase soon with new packaging! kim sang is already out of stock for stage 3 online. i just went to the shop last fri and bought the last 4 tins on shelf. actually as petrina said, carrefour with the 5% + 5% discount is cheaper than kim sang, esp when kim sang charges extra if u choose to pay by credit card. i also noticed kim sang increased their diaper price le... probably cos it's getting more popular.</font>

Petrina, not all kids are so sweet... some may be jealous or become withdrawn with impending arrival of their younger sibling. My colleague told me her son actually said to her that he wished to grow smaller and smaller cos he saw everyone carrying and hugging his baby sister. And he refused to switch to underwear and insisted on continuing with wearing diapers just to behave like a baby!! It's funny if it weren't so exasperating for her :p

Oh I love the fish soup noodles at the shophouse across Bugis Junction too! My hubby likes the pork rib rice. Now I feel like eating there.. :p

Jolene, no worries.. For my #1 I totally eat food court/ canteen/ hawker center/ fast food.
Nobody cooks home cook food for me. I didn't eat those herbal soups, never eat any birds nest.

And she grows well now..

Most important is the nutrition after they are born!

Can't promise to join the gathering. But I prefer April 13 as well in 313 Somerset. Vivocity is way way way too far from my place. Will ask hubby first whether he's okay.

nattan: oh. perhaps ur colly's family is fussy over the baby too much that they neglect the boy.
I learnt from a fren that u gotta tell #1 that mummy loves you. then in turn u gotta love baby. kinda like a cycle thing. try not to show too much affection physically in front of #1.
my boy already told me, when meimei is out, daddy will carry meimei while mummy carry him.
He book first liao cause past few mths i seldom carry him.

I miss the assam fish head there!! too lazy to walk over. my hb works in gateway. so in the past we used to date in bugis for convenience sake. now he'll come over n we'll date in MSQ instead!

Jolene: no worries abt nutritious foods. fetus r very adaptable. it's the post natal that u need to worry abt eating well.
once i heard someone say - fetus r like parasites. they feed only on the good stuffs regardless if u refill their supply. if they can't find supply, they'll feed of u.

so even if the worst case scenario that mummy starve, baby won't suffer much. mummy will suffer.

Anna, besides buying Pampers I saw a face mask deal on GMarket and bought quite a few. My facial therapist chided me when I went for facial last Fri :p Need to put on mask for my dry skin every alternate day =.= I also ordered toiletries and breast milk tray on iherb.com, bought a few Groupons for dining, nursing bras and pads from asos.com and another site, plus baby rompers and a Longchamp bag from a spree. Yikes....

Petrina, hehe.. your boy booked you already huh... so smart! I agree about not showing the baby so much attention in front of #1 or he may get jealous. Not sure if my colleague does that. But I think it's serious when the boy expresses his wish to "regress" into babyhood :p

Jolene

To be frank, I eat out like 80% of the time. Don’t really have time to cook after work and on weekends, typically, we are out on some errands. As long as you try to have a balanced meal, it’s ok to indulge la…don’t get too worried.

My MIL has been giving me birds’ nest – I dunno if it really helps but my own complexion cleared up a lot after I started on it. My mom on the other hand, is the one who sponsors me those Chinese TCM herbs which is supposed to help me feel less tired. I wouldn’t have bought all these cos it’s expensive and I rather spend the money on family/baby next time. But since I am fortunate to get that from both mothers, I count my blessings and thank god for that.

Nattan

I don’t think I’ll be getting any more Pampers liao. I have 4 packets of Huggies (S) at home. I want to try GOON. Petrina says there should be upcoming GOON offers in the next fair so I will standby. But I doubt I will go down to the fair towards end May!!!

Petrina

Actually, the older the first child, the less likelihood of jealousy. My friend’s daughter was in her terrible twos and when her no 2 came along, really havoc man. Both need attention. I think we can never truly love both children equally – that’s the truth la..affection cannot be split like 50-50% maths. But somehow your spouse will make up for the difference. Mommy’s boy and Daddy’s girl theory.

Online Shopping

It’ is so freaking addictive to buy at a touch of a button. But I have been good and trying to control myself. Hehe..

smilez &amp; hope: you gals are really fit. I completed my 21km but yet to try the full marathon. think it would take a long time to re-train again. haha

and smilez: your hubby really "hardworking" to check through the store. I am usually the one checking through to see what is expiring &amp; to eat first...

Jolene: you can even go over to liangseah for desserts if you are craving for sweet stuff.yummz

ssmilezz, can always ask hubby to go to the fair and buy diapers on his own if the deals are good! ;) I got a some Dryper samples from my boss (think they are freebies she picked up and she uses mainly Mamy Poko) so now I have 3 brands to try out

BTW, my colleague suggested using cheaper house brand diapers like those from Fairprice and Giant during the day since babies poo so often. Then at night switch to the better brands to help baby sleep through the night. Anybody tried this before?

Re older first child, that's what the PEH midwife said too... said we should try to have subsequent child a few more yrs after #1. I think Terrible Twos is a challenging time to have another kid. But then, sometimes it's not really by choice if the mum's age is catching up :p I thought about having another kid after 2 yrs, but maybe 3 or 4 would be better. I'll be in my late 30s by then! :p

Hahaha thanks all. You have made me feel better. Was feeling guilty not giving my girl good food.

I love online shopping. And I am rather happy that the mum's here are rather frugal, great to hear your shopping/savings tips. Keep it going ya.

Good that you girls are runners. I took part in a 10km jog before. But I hurt my feet, cant run any more. I always imagining my husband running and our girl and I following on our bicycle. Would be a great family workout.

And you know what! I just realised that I can actually use the CSC card which my husband applied for me to pay for my consultation and medication at KK.

Damm it, for it past 6 months I have been paying cash! Never mind must see the glass as half full. Glad that I realised it now, rather than after I gave birth. Haiz financial year ending in a few weeks time, no medical appointment le.

Finally i get to do a super quick scan through!

Hearing about 10km 21km ... i can barely make it 3km ONCE and never again. I haven't been exercising before and now during. The mind is willing but the flesh is super weak!

RE Hand me downs
My mum advised me to return all that needs to be returned and throw those that i don't need to. Haha i was surprised when i happen to share with her abt the incident. She said she rather i spend abit more and buy new ones. So maybe i will check out kiddy palace or during the expo baby fairs

RE Eating Out Vs home Cooking
Aiyooo after work already so tired we always da bao. We only cook 2-3 times in a mth.

talking about cooking, I geh kiang want to season my wok, except it's not a wok and it's a pan from my MIL. In the end burnt the pan. My maid laughed at me. Now end up oily and back to steaming my food.

Have to wait for my mum to season the real wok. Maybe should get happycall pan and no need to do anything.