(2012/06) Jun 2012

ssmilezz: ya me too! that's why thinking of buying.. hmm.. i saw at mothercare, disposable ones 100 for $80 i think? or is it $60? is it exp?

moi: hmm.. icic.. i tot colostrum is clear coloured and thick one.. my one is white and watery leh

Cindy: I bought NUK ones. Actually to me i don't think have much of a difference for breast pads

Water Retention: I may have slight but not to serious yet. perhaps i take more sweet stuff as opposed to high in sodium snacks.

Massage/Foot Reflex:
I love the super hard foot reflex (pre preg) but i stopped when i was pregnant and look forward to it after giving birth.
I dare not go yet because scared they will still press the "womb area" spots.
Only started going 2 times for prenatal massage.

Adeline:
haha i thought can use daily disposable contacts then after give birth hold baby take pic remove and throw.
But from the sound of it i doubt we can do it.
Plus i am scared if my gynae knows he sure scold or nag!

cindy
pigeon wipes were kinda on sale at taka fair.. i've been using them for #1.. buy 4 large packs and get one free shampoo.. haha! eyeing on freebies! will keep the bb shampoo for #2 .. it's 19.50 for one large pack of 6 packets

ya ya i was asking abt pre-natal.. no mummies go for pre-natal? used to go rustic nirvana for post-natal aft the house visits by the Malay masseur

cindy: normal. i also got white dry stuff in my nipples. pre-milk. body's way of preparing for baby. some comes early, some comes late.
my previous preg no pre-milk. then i realized that first 2days i didn't have colostrum post natal.
it come in only on the 3rd day. together with the full milk.
seems easier to BF if u have this preparation i think.

Breastpads.

I bought NUK and Pigeon disposables, recommended by my colleagues. So will just try first then later ask DH to buy more during my confinement.

Fleur: Hahaha...scared Dr Chan nag right?
I am actually going to ask the nurses first then see what is the response. Hehe.... Is your degree high as well?

Pre-Natal Massage
I am currently going to a TCM for pre natal massage, she is really good but difficult to get a slot with her. She doesnt touch my tummy at all.

guess better dun use contact lens for safety reasons esp nearing to our EDD date hehee

wow Adeline : where is this TCM located?

Nattan : thank you very much for sharing information for GD. does it mean no test for GD if your gynae did not ask you to test during week 24 to 28 or issit a compulsory test huh?
hehe

Cindy

I Think Pigeon ones are in 60s? Should be cheaper than the Mothercare brand ones. Heard lansosih is good too. But a bit more ex. I just try try first see if it works. Get Pigeon ones first since got discount la. U can experiment with other brand later.

Petrina

U mean having this white flakey thingy is a good sign ah? I was worried and thought I was having some skin infection or what. But then not itchy so I just ignored it.

Hopecg

No leh, I never go for any pre natal massages. I used to
Go facial regularly at Leonard Drake but stopped since the first tri cos my skin/hormones were
Really haywire. My usual skin care Was also giving me problems. Had bumps all over and big zits too. Face was oilier than usual too. Thank god once I hit 2nd tri, my skin has gone back under control. Not as good as before but at least less horrible.

Sunbelle: It is located at Neil Rd.Cant remember the name though. Its along a row of shophouses where there is a really nice taiwanese dumplings restaurant there.

Maternity Leave
When will you be starting your maternity leave?
Will you be taking the full 4 months?

breastpads:
icic.. thanks all for the advices! will go kiddy palace to get the pigeon breastpads later during lunch i guess. got kiddy palace vouchers from my colleague for birthday.. hehe

pre-milk:
i saw it ytd i shocked! i thought why so soon! scared of engorgement

pre-natal massage:
didn't go for pre-natal massage other than foot reflex to ease my swollen and cramp legs.. pre-natal massage like very exp
only booked one malay auntie for $50 per session for jamu massage for after birth..

maternity leave:
i'm only taking one week before my EDD as advised by my gynae! and i'm taking one week of my own leave.. so total take 17 weeks..

Petrina, I think next week can? Cos I'm still not feeling very well with my flu. Better don't spread to you.

Sunbelle, your gynae will ask you to do the test if you have symptoms like high blood pressure and gaining weight too fast. I've not been asked to do the test yet.

ssmileszz, I also had the whitish flakes on my nipples in my first trimester, but now no more. Just make sure you clear them away to prevent your milk ducts from being blocked.

I've not been going for facials... maybe should arrange to go again. But feel so lazy. Thinking maybe I should wait till after birth to go for some Me time..

Wow, the thread is moving too fast.

I also bought a box of pigeon disposable breastpad at taka fair. Anyone know whats the usage like? Everyday use a pair? Or? If everyday use a pair, then 1month with finish 1 box. Like that quite expensive.
Was thinking if buying washable kind to use also to save $$. Cos I see my friend, 8months still using breast pad.. So 1 box sure not engh..
Any experience to share?

nattan: it's ok. it's sitting in my ofc.
ask u in case you forgot..

smilez/cindy: pre-milk is ok. no worries. when u shower just wash the area more thoroughly to prevent blockage.
my boobs have been quite swollen n itchy recently. previous preg didn't itch. so i guess this time milk came in earlier.

adeline: i also went TCM for my previous preg. now i lazy.. haha
previously i had super bad water retention. very little walking and drinking. perhaps tat's y.
this round i walk everyday to n fro bus stop to ofc so maybe it kinda prevent retention with frequent exercise.

Pris: i used washables for #1. i find the shape not flexible. it stands out in my bra, cannot conform to my breast shape. maybe cause too thick. so in the end i switched to disposables.
minimum 1 day 1 pair. cause it will smell. like milk left in the open will turn sour.
i started using breastpads only when i went back to work.
at home, i fold the small hanky into qtr and stuff it in my other breast when i m latching.
usually when not latching, the breast won't leak.
anyway bra change everyday. so abit kenna it's ok.

funny thing, my baby likes to hold the stuffed hanky while sleeping after i latch. so the milk smell is there. *Mama's smell*. so it's a win-win situation for me.

pre-milk, i also have white flaky thing during 1st tri..but now dun hv. its quite common for mummies to drip a little near edd. i hv a fren who had milk drips during week 30+.

watched a taiwan variety show last nite and show this taiwan actress who just gave birth but no milk..then she shared her experience, was so stressed and sad cos her baby keep crying. even after trying for 2 mths still no milk...end up she got another mummy to donate milk to her. she is quite plump somemore...so milk supply is not determined by your body/ boobs size.

Maternity Leave
I am considering in taking only 8 weeks consecutive start from my EDD and after that would take it either on every Monday or Friday of the week. I would also have to clear 21 days of leave and 6 days child care leave.
Of which would be cleared for a mini holiday in Oct and Dec and will carry forward the additional annual leave and maternity leave which can be cleared within a year from the time the baby is born.

My thoughts are such because am wondering if taking a full 18 weeks of maternity leave would affect my chances of promotion,performance bonus and increment for next year.

Any experienced mums who are in the workforce can shed a light on this matter?

Adeline, did you just start working at your current job? For me, I'm taking the full 16 weeks since June to Aug is our slow period, so there's not a lot of workload. But I guess depends on your company culture and your position in the organisation. If your company is the understanding sort, then taking the full maternity leave shouldn't affect your appraisal. But if your company and boss are not understanding, then maybe it would affect your progress. For me, baby comes first before my career.

<font color="0077aa">re: breastpad
i tried pigeon and avent disposables. hated avent cos iirc it didn't stick well. pigeon was good. initially i only changed once a day then ganna rashes ard the nipples. i changed 2-3 times a day and no more rashes. gotta stock up more.</font>

Adeline

For me, I know that this year's absence from work will definitely affect my rating next year. Only thing I can do now is to put in my due effort for the first half of the year and hope for the best. Typically my rating would be in the exceeds expectstions or above average range so I am hoping to get at least meets expectation range.
T
As what Nattan says, it also boils down to how long u have been working there and u can manage your own and yr boss's expectations. Family will always come first no matter what.

Petrina

Hey it's a good idea abt the hanky leh. Can be a security blanket for baby too. Hehehe

Certain days, my boobs feel very swollen so I'll try to
Massage them in the shower. Not pain but just feels heavy and full. That's normal right? On other days, they just feel
Soft.

Guess I better take note of my sodium intake. Maybe I nv drink enough water. I walked a lot yet still have water retention.

Any pre-natal massage that you all have gone to? Other than TCM?

As for maternity leave, I hope to take the whole four months. My company is a very stressful place to be in, not pro-family kind

My friend told me that her gynae gave her 2 weeks of mc to rest before her EDD despite her conditions were normal then. Wonder if my gynae would give me that.

Nattan and Ssmilezz - Thanks for sharing.
I have been with the company for 2 years now and everything is great,recently got promoted and did well overall but of course baby does come first but if i have the support, i was thinking to go back to the workforce after 8 weeks as i do not want to miss out on a better prospect at work if arises.

Again it is all subjective as its my first born and am not sure if i would be able to leave her after 8 weeks.

It is just an option i am considering.

breastpad:
went to mothercare and kiddy palace during lunch just now. mothercare own brand selling 80pcs at $16.90.. but i bought the pigeon at kiddy palace 60+12pcs at $13.90!

Cindy

Pigeon is cheaper right? So how many boxes did u get in the end?

Kadice

Yr friend's gynae is very liberal with MCs! So far, my appt is usually on weekdays and I'll get a MC for that day so can get some well deserved rest and also run some errands. :D

Adeline

I have been with my company for close to 6+ years. Went thru an acquisition maybe two years back when my current company bought my previous company. Was a tough period cos there was some job insecurity. Luckily things turn out fine and my previous work experience was grandfathered and did not need to be considered as a new staff from scratch.

Balancing family and career is never easy for us women. There's a very fine line as to say how much is too much. As long as your hub and family is supportive, just do yr best.

Re MCs, I always schedule my gynae appt on Sat morning so that I don't have to use my weekdays. My MCs are only for when I'm really sick and cannot go to work. I think some employers may be unhappy if you keep taking MCs (unless of course there is a valid reason like enforced bed rest by the doctor) and this may affect the your appraisal and career progress. This may even be used as a reason by some less family-friendly companies to discriminate against you and ask you to resign.

Smilezz: Totally agree with you that it isnt an easy task balancing both.Will play by ear i supposed but i just want to be prepared for what is to come in 3 months time. Excited but scared too.

MCs
I havent taken MCs at all since i became pregnant (*touch wood*), my health seems to have improved tremendously. My gynae checks are also fixed on Sat morning.

ssmilezz: haha yep! pigeon is cheap.. actually other brands i saw even cheaper! tolly joy 40+8pcs $7.90, NUK also 48pcs but $8.90! but since you all recommend so i got pigeon.. got one box only though. coz my friend wanted to buy a $10 pillow, used my $20 KP voucher to pay :p

MC
my gynae only see patients on weekday mornings.. he always give whole day MC but i'll go back to work after lunch since nth to do if i stay home anyway :p

I've already taken 5 days' MC since beginning of this yr cos I caught the flu twice and both time are pretty bad :p I hope don't have to take anymore MC till I deliver cos it's disruptive to my work and doesn't create a good impression to others.

mom has a law protecting preggie mummies right. so employers are not allowed to sack or ask us to resign when we're about to go on ML. Most companies would prefer the staff not to take full 4 months as such a long break will make us lose touch with a lot of stuff too. i intend to go on 12 weeks, and use the last month for 4-day work week.

dunno why but the tiredness from 1st tri is coming back to me...feel so stoned after lunch and nearly dozed off at my desk. feel like taking mc to sleep at home...

Prettibride, yes MOM has law to protect you after first trimester, but doesn't stop companies from sacking you or asking you to resign after you come back to work... they can always say your performance slipped or you are not as productive as before, etc. Some chao kuan bosses will keep track of your MCs and leaves to use it against you later. I'm just saying...

I'm also quite tired these days, most probably cos the flu is preventing me from having a good night's rest. Last night I woke up every couple of hrs from coughing and blocked nose. Poor hubby also suffer together with me...

My initial gynae appointments were fixed on weekdays so I can have ample rest. However, I have been fixing on Sat morning these days. Dun think my company is too understanding on this.

nattan, if they really do such things, then no point staying in that company for long also. cos after our child is born, surely will need to take more frequent leave to bring the child to see doc etc. but its true not all co. are understanding. i actually hope to be able to work from home after giving birth..can save on the travelling time and look after my baby at the same time. need to find time to discuss with boss. your flu so long already still not well ar..pls take care...take more vit. C or fruits to improve your immune system ya.

Nattan: I used to have the same thoughts as you and i noticed it all depends on companies. What i was quite fed up is i always use my mcs only when really very very sick and force myself to go work even when i was not too well. Then i realised that a new comer who worked less than a yearactually used up 14 days mc after probation period and the company didn't penalized!!!

Prettibride, fortunately my workplace is very pro-family that's why this yr we have so many new parents in my office. My colleagues can also take childcare or elder care leave and time off as and when they need.

Ya my flu is pretty bad...took 2-days MC last week but I guess it wasn't full-blown yet. Only past couple of days got really worse. I've been taking Vit C and fruits, drink lots of water...just pray will get well soon cos I hate to spread germs to others and others around me seem to be falling sick too :p

Prettibride- I am looking into taking 8 weeks and have a 4day work week as well until i clear the maternity leave. Thats my first option but am still flexible if need be for me to cater to my newborn.

Nattan &amp; Prettibride - I have also been feeling quite tired lately, i have a feeling it is the hot weather approaching.

Nattan- Get well soon!

ya lo..the hot weather really killing. my headache seems to be coming back again. already asked hubby to come fetch me earlier. wan to go home rest.

its really not easy being a working mum, even during pregnancy. helps if your boss has kids and been through this stage, then they know how we feel. my bosses are quite nice too..always checking to see how i am, but i do feel bad if i take too many mc.

fleur, i had similar experience in my previous job too..came back to work even though not feeling too well, but end of the day, don't really get appreciated. that's why work should not be our first priority, cos family is more important.

Adeline: Its normal to feel tired easily. I get that too. After i have the sudden burst of energy and i do a bit of hsework comes the sudden burst of fatigue.

Nattan: Hope you get well too. Rest more!!! Sleep Sleep and more Sleep!

Its a PLUS when the company is PRO family but a MINUS when certain black sheep over used their AL, MC and CCL (to the point of neg balance) at your expense.

nattan, take care and sleep early.

i feel that for companies which do not appreciate you, there is no point slogging for them as they find us easily replaceable. My company on the contrary has no preggers. Even married women are quite apprenhensive to have a child. One of my colleague is planning to have her 2nd one but still considering. This environment is so different from my previous company. A lot of happy &amp; relaxed pregnant ladies around....

Thankfully my company is quite pro-family. My team every year also got ppl having kids. This year me and another colleague preg, then one male colleague wife preg. Last year 2 ladies preg. The year before last year boss wife preg. Haha... like very fertile grounds. Then anothe colleague trying to get preg. Maybe the environment not that stressed thats year everyone so easy to get preg. Hahaa

So far my company has no problems with us taking leave or MC, but of course must be reasonable la. To be fair, before I was preg, for 2 years I din take MC at all. Now take MC is just for checkup.

my last job allows me to work from home pretty often, thats how i spent my 1st tri..but this new job don't have such benefit..quite a torture for me to report for work everyday. now just looking forward to start my ML.

hey hey mummies, just wanna check if any of you have thot of ligation already?

Am 32 this year with my 2nd one popping in June... seriously considering of ligation so that I dun have to worry abt popping pills and etc...

any advice? any considerations? Kinda firm that me wont be trying for number 3 even thou, am gonna have both as boys ; )

Thanks all for your concern
I'm just counting down to end of the day to go back and rest.

Fleurfleur, yeah there are a few black sheep in any organisation but that's life...

Kadice, what kind of industry are you in? I used to be in a fast paced environment as well, although bosses were understanding, it wasn't conducive for family life. That's why it's a good thing I left (although was not entirely for the reason of setting up a family). Another ex-company I worked for was also very stressful that I know quite a no. of my colleagues suffered miscarriages
People also left after a few yrs except those who happen to work under nicer bosses. In the end, companies care more about the bottomline.. so it's not their priority to make sure that we enjoy ourselves there although the long term view would be that happier employees can contribute better to the company.

Feeling scared, nervous n abit lost. Going to interview the potential maid this evening at the agency. Being a newbie, I jus can't hlp feeling unsettled n lost, although I hv reading up alot fr forums n blogs....Tink I heard too many scary stories.

Feet Massage

I have been wearing those in-door slippers with spikes at the bottom, its especially good if my legs are tired from walking. Is that ok?

chris, dun need to worry too much. dun forget you're the employer, so you make the rules. be clear to her what is your expectations and judge for yourself whether she can really do the job or is just acting up a front. i got my 1st maid in feb as well..and glad to say, so far she is good. i din even get to meet her, just over the phone interview. remember to state clearly her job scope to her.

hey mummies.. guess i am really lucky cuz i always work for angmoh bosses who station overseas.. so no immediate boss in office..

i thought this year preggy sure won't get increment but fortunately bosses are being nice and gave me very nice increment this month.. make me feel paiseh to take leave now since my #1 is sick..

for gynae appt i always go on sat morning, same for my 1st pregnancy, and i took 4.5 days MC for the past 9 years of work so my record is pretty okay, LOL.. but this time round sometimes i feel like working from home especially when i need to look after #1.. But honestly speaking when I have to handle #1, not much work can be done at home also.. rather come to office..

since I am so lucky, i try to be nice to my team members also.. for my 2 guys whose wife just delivered, i let them work from home for 2 months to help out lor.. I think it helps a lot and they are really nice people who appreciate and take the initiative to work even harder.. so I dun understand why some bosses are so particular and want to make people's life tougher..

Adeline
My sis took 2 months for her #1 last time, but quite suay lah for her, she took one week+ in advance before her due date, end up baby overdue for almost 2 weeks, so in a way wasted 3 weeks and she went back to work 5 weeks after delivery..

now for her #2 she insisted must take 4 months at one go liao cuz i think the previous experience wasn't that good as she's always tired at work since she needs to take care of baby at night.. while if we could stay at home for 4 months, most likely babies are much easier to look after as they form a better routine by 4 months...

for me i cleared 4 months at one shot and luckily 2 days after i started my maternity leave, i popped #1, so consider very good timing lor.. and yes it helps especially for first time mummy.. but this time round i plan to come back after 2 months also, i know family is important that's why my career is of higher priority, or else how to support my family, LOL..

and if you do have someone to help out at home, i will think that coming back after 2 months for the sake of your career makes perfect sense!

<font color="aa00aa">For my #1, I applied to take 1 week maternity leave before EDD and who knows, I popped at 38w2d.

This time, I've not plan when to take start taking leave as I've been feeling more strenuous than #1's time and feel like taking leave earlier. And yes, I'll take 16 weeks at one shot as I don't want to be too "disruptive" (in the sense of staggering my leave) to my work when I return. In addition, I'll have 10 days childcare leave to clear for 2 kids!</font>