(2012/06) Jun 2012

Fleurfleur, thanks for explaining the massage technique. So do we have to strip down? Last time when we could lie on our backs on bellies, we could cover ourselves with towels. Now that we need to lie on our side... how? Do they use aromatherapy essential oils or just plain oil for massage?

Groovy: I did get some notes from the TMC prenatal class during the 2nd or 3rd lesson. I'll get it scanned and upload it somewhere so you guys can have it too.

Nattan: Hope you will get well soon. Its hard to sleep with your flu and blocked nose.

Joeey

I have been sitting on the floor in a cross leg yoga position to trim my nails now. Don't think I'll let my hubby do it unless really die die cannot. Haha

Chris

Luckily you get a break from yr no 1 during the day. What are your plans when no 2 is out?

Nattan

Yr dry eyes are prob due to yr current nose infection. Else maybe even sinus related. Hope u recover soon!

I checked out mummytoon webbie but most bras are very thin without padding and I feel conscious of my nipples showing through. So I want to get one with padding.

Fleur

I wouldn't go to JB to shop la. Way too much of a hassle.

Asrias

Me too. I always feel so shag at day end. Just want to quickly knock off and get home. But once I get home and have dinner, I can slowly do my household chores. Then shower and relax abit before bed.

Just had BK for lunch. Double Mushroom Swiss Meal without upsizing. Haha

Childcare leave 6 days

I just checked with my company and said that since my EDD is june hence I'm entitled to 3 days CL this year. Subsequently will be 6 days every yr till my kid turn 7. Is that true??

DS, I attended the prenatal class from TMC / Mrs Wong Boh Boi class in AMK hub. I was given notes on my 3rd lesson last Sun and I got Nattan to help me to post the notes here a couple of days back. It's kind of difficult to remember all of what was taught in class so just remember some key points will do. :p
Btw the taka fair will end this sun, not tomoro. You still have the chance to go grab what you need. Anyway, there will be Baby expo coming up in end apr and Motherhood fair in end may for those items you have yet to purchase which I intend to do so.

Groovy, do you have the notes you got from Mount A and probably can share it with us here?

Anyone have notes from your prenatal class to share with us? I believe it will help if we will to compile all the notes we have all learnt individually. TIA.

ssmilezz, I don't think your nipples will show thru esp if you'll be wearing breast pads? Anyway, just a suggestion. Besides, I've been wearing some cheaper nursing bras (bought earlier from another website just to try) without padding, and they are fine.. cannot see the nipples.

Haha.. I had the exact same lunch as you! Went to Plaza Sing to eat by myself since I had a morning meeting and was on the way back to office.

Anna: I think they are not supposed to pro-rate your childcare leave unless you worked less than a year.

"If an employee has worked less than a year

The leave year for childcare leave will be any 12-month period as agreed by both employer and employee. If there is no agreement, the leave year will be the calendar year by default.

Employers may pro-rate childcare leave based on the duration of employment, subject to a minimum of two days. "

Nattan

Hehe I shy la. Maybe I should take out the nipple pads to test test. I have bought some cheaper sleep bras online too. Ok for home wear.

Me too! I had lunch at BK alone. Didn't know what to eat so just settled on burger. where is yr office at? If u need to travel outside a lot, the change in temp can be quite a pain and leave u with a headache.

AsRias, I have worked in this company for more than 6 years...nvr have any problem with leave but since this is my 1st kid so better to check with HR. That's what I have read from the web too but the HR told me that she confirmed it with MOM....since I'm only delivering in June hence should be pro-rated as 3 days starting from June onwards for the 1st year. So calculative...faint nor...

Babies Bellies - I went to their website but they state that pre-natal massage can only be done after 2nd tri..i still have about 2 weeks to go.

TMC Anenatal notes - besides the free notes given on lesson 3, we can also purchase the books from WBB. $35 for 3 books. But I heard those in the TMC club or something gets it for free. So don't need to buy if you already joined the club.

Avent Steril Bundle - I got mine few weeks back. They din call me to collect but i happen to be in Taka and saw they have a lot of stock, so asked to collect on the spot. Read in the May Mummies thread that a few of them went down on Wed where they had new stocks and collected on the spot as well. They are probably too busy with new sales to call those that've placed orders.

nattan:
They told me they use olive oil with a bit of lemongrass oil.
Strip all but wear disposable panties. Our front is covered leaving only the back area exposed. For mine i didn't want her to massage my breasts so she didn't (still shy ah keke).
Tummy they also won't touch too.

ssmilezz: true also ... if i really go its probably to get an additional cheap cot for my mum's place. But even then based on what my friend paid for the cot (no mattress) $120 so maybe only slightly cheaper.

ssmilezz, definitely cannot see nipples la.. unless yours are super big and sharp?! Hahaha... Once you put the breast pads in, they will cover everything.

My office is near bras basah. If I'm travelling outside, I usually stay indoors and under shelter. Already have headache from the flu...

Anna: Your company really quite calculative hor. My colleague gave birth last year around Aug and my company gave her full 6 days. Maybe you also wanna call MOM to double check?

Massage: My back is aching like crazy, But then to play safe I still avoid going for massage. I can't wait till baby is born and confinement over. Then I can go for the Kenko upper body massage. Shiok

Fleurfleur, sounds ok... actually I got vouchers for 1st trial during Baby Expo but I didn't sign up. I think expired already. I normally also don't let the masseur massage my breasts and tummy cos I'm quite ticklish :p

Babies Bellies - they had a trial offer during the recent Smart Kids expo. $39.90 only. Will call them to see if they can extend the same offer to me.

Good thing i have you mummies to chat with...my colleagues here don't seem to chat at all. Total silence even when there's a couple of us in office. And too far for me to walk over and chat to them. Not used to such environment cos my last job, i had noisy and jovial colleagues. Over here, they don't even go out for lunch..everyday pack their lunchbox from home..sighx...wonder if its becos they are filipinos..so keep more to themselves...they only chat among themselves too and in tagalog, so i can't join in even if i want to. I am on friendly terms with them, just that quite tired if i am the one making effort to communicate everytime.

My mt A notes is from 2010 lor.. Dunno where I put already. Will try to find maybe in 9 mth pregnancy only (or maybe after baby is born) hehehe..

Nattan

Yah!! Mine really very big and fugly!!
super pointy for dunno what reason la. So embarrassing I tell u. I miss my normal sized pre pregnancy boobies!!

U still not able to sleep well? Wow this virus is very strong.

Asrias

Try to do those simpler yoga back stretches at home. Can relieve your back tension a little.

Worst in 2010 my #1 is born in September, maternity leave must take 16 weeks straight, so I don't get any child care leave at all :'(

Groovy: Aiyo, poor thing, then somemore year end alot of PH right? But now change already right? now is 8 weeks straight right?

Nattan, I have booked my prenatal 1st trial massage with Baby bellies tomoro afternn using the voucher I had on hand. You can try calling them...I believe they should not be so inflexible to entend the "so called" expiry date of the voucher.
Btw, you attended the prenatal class with PWE rite? Any notes given out by them to share? TIA.

Prettibride: Without coupon they will not offer you 39.90. Thank goodness i had the booklet as i threw away the coupon i got at the babycare fair. I may have another booklet with the coupon.
Let me find it tonight and if i have i can mail it to you tomorrow.

My company policy must take maternity leave 16 weeks straight lor..
Then childcare leave is also 6 days, there's no additional days if we have more than 1 kids..

Ya last time luckily 2 days of CNY is not inside my maternity leave! Otherwise very rugi! Counted out of 11 public holidays, 4 is inside my maternity leave in 2010. Imagine if plus 2 days CNY then 6 out of 11 is inside my maternity leave!!

I always wanted May/June baby so no public holidays inside my maternity leave (only national day). But who knows this year also have hari raya..

Prettibride, same here...there are a few cliques in my office and I'm not part of any group. So lunch time, they go themselves and seldom ask me to join. When I did join them a couple of times, I don't really know what to say also... don't really share much common interests. So I end up going gym twice a week, bring lunch a couple of times and sometimes go out with a few of those colleagues who also have no cliques... haha.. we're like some misfits :p

ssmilezz... haha... I think everyone's boobs changed drastically. My nipples also turned very big and dark, although not very pointy.. hehe... But even before pregnancy, they were kinda big already :p

Ya, I've been having this dreaded flu and cough for a week now. Past 2 nights the cough got worse and I've been waking every 2 hrs to cough non-stop for 5-10 min until some phlegm is expelled. Nearly choked in my sleep

ya, I think I also threw away my brochure I got at an expo fair. Didnt expect them to be so strict. I shall go and dig tonight to see if it is lying around. If not, have to pay full price really sian.

groovy2009, my friend is a teacher, her maternity leave falls during the school holidays, she grumbled that she even more lugi. haha

Kadice, your teacher friend cannot opt to split the maternity leave? Anyway for teachers, their maternity leave will always intersect with school holidays cos there's 1 (either long or short) holiday in every term: Mar, June, Sept and Dec, unless she delivers closer to beginning of the year or after June holiday.

Childcare leave

I have just called MOM to confirm that we are entitled to 6 days childcare leave per year to a total of 42 days over a 7 years period once we have fulfilled the criteria of working in the company for more than a year. Hence I'm entitled to 6 days leave this year until my kid turn 6 yrs old. Unless I start taking my childcare leave next year, I will be entitled to use it till my kid turn 7 yrs old.

nattan, not only me feel this way, i have a few sales colleague (singaporean) who also feel the office environment is wierd. but too bad they not always in office, so i can't lunch with them often too. there is this chinese herb called Feng Han Ke supposingly good for bad coughs..u might want to give it a try but check with the shop if its ok for pregnant woman. get well soon ya!

kadice, but teachers already have super good benefits..21 days AL on top of the Mar, June & Dec holidays.

Nattan, she did not split. Overlap with Mar and Sep is fine coz only one week holidays, over lap with mid/final year then very sian for her. Anyway, I have 2 teacher friends who are taking one year off (no pay leave) to look after their kids, MOE seems very supportive.

Anna: Then after your kid turns 6 can prepare for another kid to continue enjoying the CCL for another 7 years
Haha

Prettibride/Nattan: same same ... my cliques are the super gossipy kind and love to compare and complain about their hubby or other ppl. So i maintain a cordial rs but do not join their lunches

AsRias, they are also not wrong in that sense. They can shortchange me 3 days now, but I can still take back the 3 days when my kid turn 7yrs old provided I'm still in the same company when my kid turn 7 then. Hahaha...

Anna

Yup your company isn't doing anything wrong lah. It's either they give now, or they give the last yr. of course it's preferable to take now lah haha

kadice

MOE is Civil Svc mah. Gotta set example for pro-family ploicy else MCYS will come after them haha

Me snacking on Jacobs hi-cal crackers, chocolates and instant coffee now :p Suddenly hungry again...

Fleurfleur, so how do you spend your lunch time?

Kadice, MOE has to be supportive of govt's call to be pro-family, but not sure if the HODs would be as supportive...

Fleurfleur, I think this will gonna be my 1st and the last kid. I'm gonna turn 35 this year after my birthday in Oct. My hub dun wanna too much liability esp we just bought this apartment not long before I got preggie. He said his shoulder is getting heavier each day...lol.

Got news of my bonus. Ok got the money for my CL, herbs, groceries, & cash payment for hospital bills liao. Whew!
At least my nest egg will be kept for my leave of absence without pay. Gonna be poor for a long time

Anna: aww.. really? i also thought 4yrs ago my boy will be my one n only.. then here comes another.

If u are worried about being overaged mom, perhaps u wanna have a closer age gap child for #2?
i feel it's abit lonely for 1 kid. but of course it's up to individual. my hb is 36 this yr, he also feel very burdened. we're applying for flat this year.

i might resign next year

but i believe we can manage with frugal spending bah.

Think even if they not supportive also not choice, have to answer to govt's call. Unlike private sectors, they can choose not to. Just give the bare minimum.

Sometimes I would eat with my friends working in the same area. If not, I also eat alone or go run errands. If cannot "clique", very torturous leh. Lunchtime supposed to relax not to feel stressed.

Petrina, my hub said he will make sure there will be no more accident after this accident...haha. So it's pretty hard to change his mind unless we strike toto or big sweep.

Just inform HR of my knowledge with MOM. "Ok, you can take 6 days childcare leave this year then." Haha.

smilezz,
i'll try the cross leg yoga position to cut my toenails, thanks for the tip !

Anna,
take the 6 days of CC leave this year, can spend more time with bb. having a sibling for #1 is the best gift for him/her, as long as below 40, mummies still can try

jul,
congrats on the bonus, $$$,

anna: pray hard. maybe ur baby will help ur hb in boosting his career

Some kids r GOD of Wealth to their parents

afterwhich u can both reward ur kid with a sibling

petrina

I also thought #1 would be the only one. We're also worried abt finances, being old parents, being tired etc. Guess it's God's will that #2 came along.

anna

Haha unless ur hubs goes for vasectomy. I am thinking of getting Hubs to go, coz it's kinda unsafe to do anything else, IUD has its drawbacks, & anyway, the man shd also take some responsibility for family planning right?

Joeey

Hehe thanks! Wasn't expecting this, coz I was penalised (and victimised) rather badly by my previous section for the past 2 years. Thought this year may kena victimised again, but luckily my new boss stood strong.

That's why I said don't think abt how to manage the finances with me not working & with #2 anymore. Surely God will provide a way

Joeey, I will definitely take a full 6 days leave this year. Who knows what will happen 7 yrs down the road. I dun mind to be an overage mum and will love to have a sibling for my girl girl too provided the sperm donor will be cooperative...lol. God, please let me strike big toto if you wanna me to have another kid ya. :D

Jul, so nice to have bonus now. I also want....

childcare leave

just check with my HR also.. she said entitled for 6 days.. not pro-rated.. so when i go back to work in oct, between oct to dec i got to clear another 10+6 days of leave!!

pre-natal massage
the more i read about the massages here the more tired i feel meaning the more i feel i need some nice massage! hahaha. just checked with the malay auntie that i booked for my post-natal jamu massage, she does pre-natal massages too! $50 per session at my place.. sounds good. but going for mani+pedi tmr already, do massage some more like a bit splurging too much.. hehe

Petrina, thanks for your encouragement. Hope my girl can help my hb and make him change his mind....and then reward her with sibling and many toys.

Anna, as an only child, I know how tough it is to be alone esp when parents grow older and need support. You can tell your hubby that and ask if he can bear to let his only child care for the 2 of you all by herself next time? Even if she has a hubby, she also needs to take care of her own family and ILs. So, having these thoughts I decided early on that either I would not have any kids at all, or have more than 1. As Jul says, I believe God will provide the means since He already blessed us with this child