(2012/06) Jun 2012

gonna eat pizza hut tmr
choosing menu now. keke

i heck care lah. go in face nude. nvr put anything. so pain still bother how i look? haha
usually moms look awful post birth. but nobody bothers abt the mom. everyone looks at the baby

this pregnancy heat is really wierd..my office is freezing cold now according to my colleagues in jackets but i m still wearing sleeveless and very comfy.

Been craving for blackforest cake lately. Just finished a slice of blackforest cake....yummy. Bb kicking me non-stop now....she also say yum yum...hahaha.

Prettibride, yeah that's why now colleagues are checking airlines and making bookings. Wow.. were you already very big at week 23 that's why they didn't want to allow you to board? If you have a doctor's letter then should be ok.

Re hospital visitors, I am banning ALL visitors including family. I want to have a good rest and concentrate on breastfeeding since it's my first time. I told hubby and originally he wasn't very happy. But I think he understood once I shared with him the labour and delivery process. Besides, everyone can find a free time to visit after we discharge from hospital la. No need to rush down to the hospital.

Adeline, you can't see at all without your contact lenses?

prettibride: haha i'm wearing very thin material short dress n having desk fan blowing at me. LOL

nattan: i think most ppl won't go ur hse after u discharge. cause Confinement is considered dirty in chinese tradition. abit suay to go.

adeline: no foreign objects. so that incls contacts, dentures, nail polish, accessories.

Petrina, better still then... they can wait till the first month is over and leave us in peace! ;) But my FIL is not the pantang type. He and my BILs are quite westernised so they may not even know of such Chinese beliefs. Maybe my SIL will advise la, but she just gave birth and by June may still be too busy taking care of her baby to care.

anna, blackforest cake usually contains rum... liquor no good for baby. need to curb..hehe.

nattan, i am not very big..even till now. everything was ok until the check-in lady saw my small bump and we have to dig out the doc letter from our check-in luggage halfway on the belt.

petrina, can't believe my colleagues changed their side of the aircon to 26 degree while the one near to me is blasting happily at 18..hahaha...i just made it higher for their benefit.

Petrina

No visitors better la. Already so busy and trying to get used to the new baby still need to entertain ppl. Where got time
And mood?!

Just had my tea break. Bought those small
Colorful steam cakes from Bagawan Solo. Dip with sugar. I finished all 6 small cakes. Now feeling very grossed.

Oh is that so? Thought the local bakery won't put rum in the cake since children love to eat cakes too, like my nieces. Will check with the bakery the next time before I buy them.

Dunno is it too rude to ban visitors since they are being nice for wanting to visit you and bb, esp my hub's colleagues?

Anna

Should be ok la. Just say u want to rest, can always look at baby during first mth. Esp if yr hub's colls, n u r not close with.

I got big bump when I travelled during my 24th weeks but no one stop me at all....maybe we were the last few to board and the ground staffs were in a hurry to notice me too. Kekeke...

Anna, it's fine. My boss informed everyone that she's not expecting visitors during her hospital stay. She didn't even have a full month party. Those who wanted to visit went during one of our lunch times. I plan to go sometime this week after work since I'll be passing by on the way to another appointment.

Prettibride, I think after baking the alcohol would have already evaporated although the liquor taste may still stay, just like if you add chinese wine to your cooking. In my first trimester (about 9 weeks?), I forgot that tiramisu has liquor, under cooked egg yolks and raw soft mascarpone cheese so I ate 1 large slice by myself. I'm still ok.. :p Of course I won't purposely do it again, but if you already ate it, then don't think too much.

Hope that my hub won't mind of my decision...will discuss this w hub tonite about the visitors thingy.

Talking about tiramisu....I love to bake my own tiramisu and I did that at my 5th/6th week not knowing I was expecting at that time. I remembered I ate alot...dunno how many slices and ended up with diarrhea for a few days, gotta cancelled my biz trip and glad that I did after I found out I was preggie 1 wk later. Now I think back...probably god is helping me.

Anna, I also like to make Tiramisu. Made 1 for X'mas last yr for a party and my friends lapped it all up, while I could only look on. Well, I enjoy watching others enjoy my food but pity myself for not being able to try it! My hubby became my tester so that I know whether the flavour was good and level of alcohol was enough. Can't wait to eat tiramisu, sashimi and other banned foods after delivery... :p

Nattan, you do not have to wait till after delivery. What my friend has done during her delivery...she knew that it will be many hours of suffering and it will be no harm to the bb since her bb will be out in just a few hours later hence she asked her hub to get her favorite sushi and sashimi...ate them before went in for delivery. Lol.

Hmm.. I just remembered. Think Hubs was teary when I was crying from the contractions pain & suffering till I got the epi. He said he didn't want another kid in the delivery room, dun want me to suffer like that again. Dunno y I forgot abt all this till now!

Jul

Aww so sweet. But he also got short term memory issit? He forgot the pain u went thru? I am curious to see how my hub will react.

Mummies always say after giving birth, they get very forgetful. I always feel that it's god way of letting us women forget the pain and agony so that we can decide to have more than one kid. It's all one big plot. Haha by the time the women remember, too late Liao. Already expecting.

Jul..your hubby so sweet. Dun think my hubby would say such thing loh. He is those calm and cool type, dunno if he knows how to comfort me anot. Think maybe my parents can do it
Better. Hahahha

Ask u all. Most of u are ard 28 weeks now? Dunno if
U all rem if ur baby move a lot ard 25-26 week? Mine dun move much at times and when I walk very fast in a rush, will feel pain/cramp feeling, is it normal?

Kadice

U nvr know how ur hubs will behave till that moment lor.

Mine din move much n i also had that pain ard your no of wks. The movt started more after i hit 27 wks

Re sashimi, I rather not eat cos very hard to tell whether a restaurant's hygiene is good or fish is fresh. Not long ago Mandarin hotel and Todai at MBS had food poisoning cases.

Kadice, I felt slight movements since week 15 or 16, then now at week 26, my baby is quite active esp at night. Day time, if I sit too long he'll also wriggle a bit. The painful or crampy feeling is due to your muscles stretching, it's normal.

Jul, u r right la. Nv know until the moment. Haha

Ya, dats why I try to slow down whenever I feel painful.

Anyway raw food better dun eat to be safe. But I still take Jap food la. Those cooked dishes.

Nattan: Yeah cant see, everything will be a blur to me. My degree is 600 on both sides.

Petrina: If i don't tell them,they wont know right?

I think wear contact lens not a good idea leh. what if the labour drags for very long and eyes get discomfort..or end up need to do C-section..then cannot possible in the middle of the process, then tell them want to take out the lens. I also cannot clearly if I dun wear my lens.

Btw, my legs/ankles starting to swell. Anyone having the same problem now?

This is my second night wearing the scholl compression stockings to sleep. It feels quite comfortable, even with just the fan on.

Compression stockings is said to alleviate some leg cramps, swelling etc that happens in pregnancy. It's a very personal experience though. You got to try it for yourself

Morning ladies. Bb woke me up by kicking...and indicating she is hungry. Hardly can have a full 6 hrs sleep without waking up to pee or eat.

Jolene: I had a pair of compression socks before I was pregnant but it was quite tight. I needed to roll it before putting on. Is yours like that ?
I get my hubby to massage my calves abit before zzz sometimes it helps and I don't get the sharp cramp. I still get on other times.

Nattan: Gosh i was hoping to avoid glasses. I wear extended daily disposable contact lenses so it doesnt gets dry. Will see what the gynae says...

Kadice: Yup i have a slight water retention too and immediately started going for prenatal massage and its much better now. I intend to do a 2 hr massage every month to avoid having water retention. Dont like the feeling of being swollen.

Jolene, i thought for swelling of the legs you should not wear any type of socks, doesnt it restrict your blood flow? I thought you should just elevate your legs to promote blood circulation.

Morning! Baby is moving a lot more these days. Used to be I can predict the timing that he moves. Now he doesn't really seem to stop! oh no!

Kadice

I also love Jap food. Cooked food, no prob mah. Just like cooked Chinese food right?

Adeline

Er.. they prohibit contact lenses for safety reasons. better not try that stunt, coz u nvr know what could happen *touch wood*

Compression Socks

I wanted to buy yesterday. But upon thinking abt it, I decided to wait till I check with gynae on Fri before wearing them. In case they restrict blood circulation or whatnot.

Water Retention

Hmm.. I don't really have swollen legs. Calves are still ok, maybe just a bit on the thighs. face a bit fat coz put on weight haha

Oh I'm trying to arrange for time to go for a foot reflex this evening. Yippee!

Jul: Haha...thanks for the advice but i want to look good leh. Hahahah.... Yup last resort i would have to wear glasses. Sigh!

Can we actually do foot reflex? I thought not allowed to.

adeline

Haha then u ask your gynae lah.

Can do foot reflex. The therapist will avoid the pressure points that link to the womb. And they will also use less strength.

I've been gog for foot reflex & body massage & the therapists all use lesser strength. So not shiok! Coz I'm used to firm pressure massages

Adeline, to prevent water retention, you actually need to drink more water. It's a myth that drinking more makes you retain more. The opposite is true. I don't have water retention except when I forget to drink enough, and I know I have water retention when I cannot wear my ring.

Jul: Am going to book in for foot reflex then for this weekend!! Thanks!

Nattan: I drink at least 8 glasses of warm water everyday at work. I think i need to go swimming more often. I get slight water retention as i can feel it but after going for the massages then its all gone, so guess got to go for a few more sessions.

Adeline, thats also what I read on baby center. Cos if don't drink enough water, the body will try to retain more water. To reduce water retention need to reduce salt intake.

I have some water retention but still not so bad. But last time before pregnant my massuse already told me I have water retention problems. HEE mabbe cos I like to snack alot on junk food which is high in sodium.

Another sleepless night. Going to be panda eyes soon. :p

Water retention

Take more water. It really helps. I have been drinking even more than the normal quantity of water (8 glasses) ever since I was expecting. Dunno why but I'm always thirsty. I was worried I was drinking too much by gynae says ok. I have to go pee very often too.

Compression socks

I have been sweating so much at night. Don't think I can tahan the socks!

Adeline

Best to avoid the contacts ya! Health
And your eye safety comes first! I wear specs
Daily so no impact for me. My degree is abit lop sided. 400+ and the other side is 600+. Every thing will look blurry to me la. Sigh. I can put on my specs once I delivered right? Need to see my baby leh! Haha

Morning mommies!

water retention
my ankle area quite swollen.. pumps and all become quite tight. sian.. but other than that i think is the weight i've put on :p went to foot reflex at Fu Lu Shou, $30 for one hour! cheap cheap! but not very shiok coz those aunties and uncles there all very scared to press for preggies like us.. that time i went to chinatown one that uncle steady, was having cramps for the past few nights den he press press press no more cramps for me! but too far for me to go back..

compression socks
sounds interesting! but i also feel too hot to be wearing socks at night leh..

Jul..ya jap cooked food no problem at all, I have been eating them.

Oh..so sodium is the cause. I like to eat chips & crackers, so maybe due to high sodium content.

As for massage, I asked my gynae before, he said we can go but dun massage on the tummy. But when I try to book for massage from the normal package I bought, the beauty centre dun allow, they say pregnant woman cannot do massage. I also confused. So I did not go at all. You all going for special pre-natal massage or just normal massage?

Kadice: haha i think your beauty centre just don't want to be responsible if anything goes wrong *CHOY* can do massage, just have to go for those specialised pre-natal massage..

breastpads:
any recommendations which brand to buy? ytd there was some white liquid that came out!! i dono is it milk?? so soon?? better quickly buy breastpads already? disposable ones better or washable ones better??

Kadice

Go slow on the high sodium food too. My SIL had very bad high blood pressure during the last tri. Had to take medication and induce at 37 weeks.

I've been taking my blood pressure every few days at home and tracking on my phone just to make sure my BP is ok. Better to be safe.

Cindy

I bought Pigeon ones cos on sale. Dunno if they are good. But I only bought two boxes. I noted some white specks of stuffs on the nipples lately. Dunno why. I dare not squeeze except for to gently try to rub away.