(2012/06) Jun 2012

Moi > i mayb going this Sun.

Adeline > Salary n off day the agency alrdy tld mi is $400 n no off day. Still nd to ask? I tot flipino is much more expensive. Bt urs is much cheaper than this indo maid which I m gonna interview n she has no overseas experience. Wonder if I m paying too much. Yes, i do agree it dpd alot on luck. I m jus still so scared n is tinking of fixing cams for the whole house, which is gona cost mi a bomb if I do tat!

Jul > I wld hv upgraded to a bigger size than FW if ther is. Nw I m almost outgrowing FW! So I think I m gonna b stuck w FW for awhile after delivery. :p

Chris: Looking for a transfer maid but not even sure if that would work as i would be leaving my newborn to her alone to take care. I need someone i can trust and at least a maid who has been with us for a while.

Nattan: Yup i agree with you. I guess my maid is having a good life now thats why she doesnt want it to change. Most weekdays she is home alone.

Oh well, on the upside of things pertaining to maids, i believe i can always fall back on my SIL maid who has been with them for perhaps 10yrs and taken care of 3 boys with the youngest one at 4yrs old now.
I totally trust her and i know she is keen to help me out so will have to speak to my SIL soon. Thats my light of hope there.

Jolene & Cindy, I enquired about the rooms booking also cos i also wan a single bedder. But what the nurse told me makes sense..cos you may not surely deliver on your EDD. So book already also no use.. And if happens on the day you go in, all single beds are taken, you just have to take the next category and wait for an available room. I was told to book around week 32..sometime early May. Not sure if its too late.

BaoBaoNeo, hihi...how's your experience with Prof Han so far? I find that he always speak very fast and I feel paiseh to ask him too many questions. Any idea if KKH offers 4D scan?

ssmilezz, I'm cooking today cos on MC for flu, but now feeling better.
My recipe is very simple la.. just brown 1 small pumpkin (cubed into pieces) with 1 large sliced onion, 3 cloves of garlic and a bit of oil in a pot, then cover with water (sometimes I add 1 cube of Knorr's chicken for more flavour). After everything has softened, puree in a blender and return to pot to boil. Voila! For the chicken and mango wrap, I use M&S' Spicy Mango Chutney and a bit of fresh lemon juice to marinate the chicken before grilling. Then just chop some fresh mango to wrap in Gardenia wholemeal wraps with lettuce. Simple eh?

Adeline, i find that the medela pumps selling at taka fair is more exp. I bought mine from the KKH pharmacy..PISA @ 599 and Freestyle @ 699. Taka Fair selling at 799 for Freestyle. They might have bundled in some additional things but i don't think the price is worth it.

Chris, my maid is from philipines. agency fees is $300+ i think. Standard interview questions i asked is whether she have experience with kids/ elderly/ housechores etc. Of cos everything she tell me yes. I also asked if she knows how to use washing machine/ appliances etc. One thing to note during interviews with maid is to make the job scope sound as difficult as possible so that the maid can be mentally prepared that she is not coming here to enjoy life. That's what i did..but truth is, she has nothing much left to do after she finish her daily chores..so most of the time my maid is quite free..watching tv and just keeping my mum company.

Adeline > ya, thn its impt tat the maid has bn w u for awhile. Since u gona leave her alone w the NB, r u also plannin to fix the cameras so tat u cn c thm online as whn necessary? Hopefully ur SIL r willing to let go of her maid for u. A gd maid is really hard to cm by.

Chris: Mine is $370 and no off initially but after 6 months i gave 2 days off in a month.
I cant comment on indo maids as i have never taken one before. I prefer to stick to Filipino maids.

Do scout around and check with colleagues and friends before commiting. It is not as easy as what your hubby says of just changing the maid. It is a hassle!

Nattan: Thanks! Need all the luck!! Hehehe...

din know that Da Feng Ai is sweet smelling..yuks...can't imagine attracting bees n ants during confinement. think i'll stick to normal body wash n shampoo too.

Pretti > Hw much is ur maid salary? The agency sy I hv to pay $400 for this new Indo maid, w no overseas experience. Smtimes I think of the interview questions n I cn almost knw wat the answers r gona b. Its gonna b "yes, yes n yes". So wats the point of asking, actually? :p My sis's ex maid is almost lik urs initially, aftr housechores nothing else to do n jus watch TV n relax n nap. Thn whn her bb come along, the maid sy she doesn't wan2 wk anymore!.

Chris, but note that new MOM law states that all maids need 1 off day per week from 2013. Not sure if it applies to maids empoloyed this year. Ya, I agree that getting a good maid is a matter of luck..filipino maids are more well educated and learn faster..but never hurt their pride.

Chris

Haha I'm keeping my finegsr crossed that I won't 'upgrade' anymore. It's hard to find FW size leh. I visited 3 Guardians & all OOS. Dunno issit I just din notice so many people with my kinda butt ard, or they just make very little of that size coz poor demand!

audrey

Hehe u can buy & wash whenever u feel comfortable. I'm just trying to be prepared in case I pop early again.

smilezz

I popped at exactly week 37!

fleur

Oh it's my Subsequent Born Incentive card. For discount on the room for TMC. If you're not delivering at TMC, then u wun need it.

Marriuage cert is to register the baby's birth cert at the hospital, if u want to do it then.

chris, her salary is 380. considered low compared to the others i asked. most are charging 420 - 450 now. Guess the demand is high. Before she came over, I already prep her that she needs to look after my mum now and my baby when he comes. But i'll try to look after her interests too..like let her rest when its her bedtime and try to find out if she's coping ok. My filipino colleagues even offered to help me 'counsel' her should the need arises. hehe.

jul, u wan to organise spree for the disposables? I wanna join..haha..so far the watsons i go to only have Size M..can't fit my big butt too.

prettibride

Haha sorry I dunno where to get disposables leh! But I saw free size that can take up to 40", which is L, at Watsons yesterday at Centrepoint. They have the Watsons brand, & the Miine brand which is slightly more expensive. Guardian left all with S! How to wear??? One on each hip huh???

Jul > Haha, u r funny! :p

Prettybride > If u r as big butt as mi, cn try the size FW fr Guardian. So far this is the best fit I cn find, aside fr those maternity disposables tat costs bomb.

Prettibride

Prof Han is very reassuring. He delivered my #1 also. When i was ttc, I also saw him for 2 whole years

But one little complain, he like to 'arga-arga' baby's size, he doesn't do the measurement thing with the ultrasound, and let the machine estimate. So his estimate most of the time miss one loh.

For my #1, he arga-arga say baby will be 3.5kg, so with my built shouldn't have problems delivering. Woah, so I try loh. When baby born, she was 4.065kg leh! I still dunno how I did it without any epidural, only use laughing gas.

But looking at the bright side, he help me save money for epidural. So this time round before delivery, I gonna ask him to try measuring with the ultrasound.

jul, hahaha...shld write down this on their feedback form.

chris, really got a size call FW? I am looking for those comfy cotton material also..ya, i tink i got big butt..now wearing those ah ma type undies..until hubby comment 'never thought my wife will someday wear ah ma underwear. #%$#%$'

baobaoneo,

Ya, totally agree..everything i ask him how big/heavy is my baby, he'll give me the average answer based on pregnancy weeks. shld press him to do measurements next time. u're really brave to deliver just on laughing gas.

Prettibride >
Ya, size FW, "F... Wide" in Jul's hubby's definition. :p Yes, it is cotton n although disposable, I do wash thm a few times n reuse thm. Thn whn confinement, once stained will throw thm away.
Cn save mi $, cos I also wearing ah ma undies nw. Haha.:p My hubby sy I cover the whole toilet bowl whn I sit on it! So urs can't b as bad as mine.

Chris

Haha I tried on the Guardian FW, L & the Watsons L. Seems like the non-FW a bit just can-make-it. Pls dun let me increase anymore *praying hard* Else I gotta send Hubs out for FW at Guardian, or to Kiddy Palace liao!

Jul

I will keep my eye out for u guys didn't know the large sizes so in high demand!!!

What sizes do u guys want? I will check out my guardian after work if have, I get for u all.

Nattan

Rest well! Hope u are feeling better aftera day of rest at home
Your recipe sounds good!! I havent been cooking much nowadays. Just boil soup over weekends to drink.

Mummies, I was reading on my beauty loft blog and she did mentioned that her supplier will assist with the change however shipping fee will have to be borne by us.
Would shipping fee costs a lot then?

Just wondering.

Actually I'm also at home tdy. Just dugged out some Carters blankets & brandnew NB clothes. Wondering if I shd keep or thrash the old swaddlers?

how come your maids salary so low.. i just confirmed my maid at $450 without off day.

I referred to this blog for some idea of the interview questions. http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/2007/07/selecting-maid.html

maybe this maybe useful to you

Some questions that i have asked is the following:
1) When you work overseas, who is taking care of your child?
2) When babies cry what will you do?
3) General questions like can u cook? what hsework do you do, can you share what did you do in your past experience.
4) How many times u need to call home a month?
5) Why do you want to work overseas?

More like to test their response and understanding of language. Like what many of you say, hiring a maid is more of a luck thing. I lowered my expectations and assumed that we have to train them when they come. Cause the routines of their previous experience maybe different from what we are expecting.

Most importantly the maid is hardworking and sincerely here to work..

ssmilezz, I didn't sleep much cos one of my cats is very sticky with me the whole day... kept wanting to sleep on my lap =.= so I can't move much at all... I'm his human sofa!

Adeline, hmm... I don't think shipping would amount to $300+ which is my savings compared to buying one locally ;)

Chris

No prob! If need just let me know la, I'm sure all of us are like located at all parts in SG sure can find what we need some how.

Jul

Wash first la. Later than decide what to do. :p

Can i juz check, what do i need to ask the Confinement nanny when meeting up with her? Coz im not chinese and im totally clueless.. Ask her stuff like :
1) what are the stuff i should buy for cooking? eg. sesame oil, lots of ginger
2) Tell her what i want and dont want when it comes to baby? eg. i want baby to sleep alone in the room, i want her to be the one to feed baby at nite
3) what else??

Can someone tell me what are the stuff i need for cooking the confinement food? Coz im Eurasian and i don't know whats needed. eg, use DOM or Yumeishu???

Thanks in advance

am sick and resting at home. read a mummy posting that our immune system tend to be lower when we are preggy? that's what i discovered also, seems to fall sick easier...sigh...

i feel that being preggy with number 2 is quite different with number 1. Even when you are sick and preggy, you still got to take care of your number 1. squat up and down, cook, wash clothes, accompany him etc etc....so tiring!

Buttercup > Same sentiment fr mi on taking care of no.1 while preg w no.2. Misses those times whn I was preg w no.1. I was lik a queen. Nw...haiz. Speechless. U take care n taks lots of Vit C n fluid.

smilezz

Haha true lah. Ok I just packed them into the "to be Washed" bag.

Chris, buttercup

Yeah lor. When I was having No1, I just needed to order Hubs ard. He'll serve me my food, drinks, move my pillow etc. Now I have to serve No1! Hubs does most of the work with No1, so cannot expect him to also serve me now "H=Jin shi bu tong wang ri ah!"

soulsista

You have to ask your CL abt what sesame oil, herbs, liquor etc that she needs for cooking. Coz it's very individual. You may not wish to take food like pig's lover, kidneys, stomach etc. And you may not wish to take liquor. Discuss with her what are the dishes that she will cook, & what ingredeients she needs & decide for yourself whether you wanna eat them

Usual stuff are sesame oil, ginger, DOM, glutinous rice wine. Usually u need red dates, dried longan etc for the red dates tea. Fresh food will be things like meat, veg, rice, mee suah, etc.

And yup, ask her abt her duties. Clarify hat hsework is included etc doies she mop the floor, wash toilet etc? And is she pro-BF if u intend to do so.

Yummy.. having garlic wrap with ham & cheddar & mozarella cheese with hot Milo for my snack. Waiting for Hubs to pack home a late dinner from MIL's.

Jul.
You can take garlic? so nice!
garlic still makes me gag even at 2nd trimester...
so now i can't even eat those zhi chai stall veggies when i used to love them!

petrina
true also, same gender as my boy and most of his clothing are as good as new.

jul
I delivered on 36 weeks + 6 days, had contraction on 36+5. Gosh, think I must prepare earlier just in case.

audrey

That's why I'm working on 37 week schedule here. That means I could be popping in end -May leh. Better be safe than sorry. I was really sorry the last time