(2012/06) Jun 2012

Jolene, there's 2 Adeline here...haha, a bit confusing..maybe can call me prettibride instead. I am seeing Prof. Han from private suite. Only good thing about KK is the yummy waffles from Prima Deli..haha..

Cute bodysuits you got there...where did u buy them? So nice to have bb gals..can buy many pink and pretty stuff. Mine is a boy...not much clothes to buy, so i save for his future education and toys la.

Prettibride, I'm also having a boy, but I'm spending quite a bit on his clothes too
So it's not true that there's not much to buy! I bought 2 cute onesies from Baby Gap and 2 from Cotton On Kids, got some cheap ones for wearing at home from Metro Expo sale and a set of cute pyjamas from an online spree site. I also received some hand-me-downs, but they will only be used at home. But, true that baby boys have less things to buy compared with baby girls cos they don't need hair clips, bows, etc. I want to get beanie hats for my boy but my hubby is resistant!

<font color="0077aa">mummies who bought the medela pumps from beautyloft, 1 yr warranty starts from which date? the day she bought the pumps from US, the day we bought from her or the day our baby is born?</font>

Sapphire, as with any product, the warranty will start from the day you receive the product. Hehe.. if you want to start from the day baby is born, then you can ask Beautyloft to hold the product for you until then ;)

@Sapphire that's my question too. Let me email Ris and ask her. I update you here.

@prettibrideI bought them from a HDB shop lo, I think they sell factory rejects from various brands, thus it is so cheap, alot of boi boi cute clothes too. I hardly see any faults in the clothes. OR they could just be parallel imports. Think I am going to get a toddler Addias jacket too, about $30+ only. I think Prof Han did my CVS for me. Was relieved that it was handled by a professor at that time of stress.

my ON supply just arrived

Total damage - $40 + $30 shipping. total bodysuits purchased - 10pcs + a pack of 6pcs socks

when i had my boy, i bought alot of bodysuits from those pushcarts too.. no defects. mostly r parallel imports. cause last time not popular to buy from US directly.
Now i like to shop online. wait for sale then deliver to doorstep.

Thanks mummies for the feedback! Will head down to Taka tomorrow to check the display sets.

Nattan: i am more inclined to freestyle now....initially i thought PISA was better as i had feedbacks that the suction is better but both models have the same power, so i dont see why it would be different in terms of suction and both models have the 2-phase expression technology.

Cant wait for my off day tomorrow!!

Rompers / onesies

I bought some really cute ones from a Korean brand. Gmarket korea.
but I'm wondering if it's actually convenient to wear these rompers/onesies or will just a simple top suffice with diapers below. Dress down look! Haha

Petrina

The Old Navy loot shipping quite fast hor. So any pink loots this round?

Jolene

How to attach img directly here ah?

jolene: i'm with KKH as well.. with dr John Tee.. EDD 17 June.. any of you booked the rooms already?? i was advised by the nurse to book only in 30+ weeks.. but i scared baby boom i can't get the room i want..

Adeline

So what are u planning to do on yr day off?

I tried carrying my friend's PISA with the entire bag and items inside. It's not that light and rather bulky. She stopped carrying a handbag now and just use that metro bag as her bag for work cos too cumbersome to bring 2 bags to work.

Petrina

Is it the Suntec Foodfair ? I see them advertising on tv.

U tempting us with the food leh. Hehhe. Im not a fan of
Durian but i love
Mangoes!

Petrina: Noted on your ASOS cancellation.
I may also wait for next coupon code to come by and order

I bought the Thermos food jar 350ml and flask (can put hot water) from JL just now. Costs $29.90 I know its a bit early but i thought the flask can put hot water make milk and the food jar can put porridge later on.

Adeline: Thanks for the info. I didn't know the RH packages only apply to those who give birth in RH! Sigh

went to JL during lunch to buy the LuckyBaby play pen! $79.90 comes with free pillow! and just buy one more item to have $80 and there's $10 off immediately! good deal leh!

smilez: ya. very fast. i think total took 2 weeks only. Mostly Pink Loots!! some whites too.
Will upload photo when i learn how to do it.. haha. otherwise will upload FB then attach link here.
Mangoes season now... NTUC selling 2 huge mangoes for $2.60. bought a few on tuesday night

Food Fair is in Suntec.

Fleur: u not bfing?

Ssmilezz,

Hubby's bday tomorrow so have booked for a nice lunch but before that going to head down to the city to check out for any bargains and definately to Taka for the medela pumps.Will take note on the weight.

Will probably head to the Rochester starbucks joint,heard it is quite a nice. Just to read up on infant books that we have bought recently.

Fleur: Yup, i checked with the nurses but the difference is miniscule with about $100+ for non package. So it just boils down to either poly or RH. As that would make a lot of difference i believe as advised by Petrina.

@CindyMy gynae reassured me that there will be space. We can't book that early too. I must have a single bed.

@Perina there is a upload attachment button just below the space we typed our messages.

It's a busy day. I'm busy going over what I still need to buy to get ready. Dun understand how come I buy &amp; buy, still got so much left to buy? Hahaha

PD vs Polyclinic

Hiaz I got 'phobia' of polyclinic. The nurses there can tell my SIL &amp; MIL to disregard the doctor's advice that there's no need to feed water, but to feed a lot of water to clear jaundice. ?????

As for PD, if I use PD, I will definitely go back to my No1's PD. I find him good, in that our philosophy regarding medication, fever, illnesses, etc all similar. It's impt to find someone that u can click with. So that when the baby gets ill, or if you're just concerned, u can trust what the doc says coz u know u're on the same pg.

SIL recommended this PD near MIL's that I used to go to. Think I mentioned b4 that I really regret bringing my No1 there. For no reason, aws kena tortured with phlegm suction, feed a lot of expensive &amp; potent medicines,... I totally ban that PD liao. My ILs dun even dare to mention bringing my son to that PD at all.

Jul: i won't listen to nurses there. not being racist or anything, but there r way too many PRC nurses who bring their village ways into SIN. then they think they very smart.
I will go polyclinic for jabs only. then if necessary, i will go to #1 for any issues regarding health or growth. for #1 now i still bring him to visit the PD once a yr for through assessment.
Minimum consult is $80. if we drag time, we will most pay the max consult which is $120.
comparing to visiting at every jab i think we'll save a lot more this time.

Did u receive my email? also i attached the kiddopotamus links on how to attach to stroller.

Jolene: ipad can't upload here. dunno y. i need to get PC to upload.

Petrina, you used Vpost for your ON shipping? How long did it take. Thinking of shopping when there's another sale ;)

I just bought 2 sleep bras and washable breast pads from mummytoon.com...comfy microfiber material and cheap, so thought I'd give them a try. They also sell nursing tank tops, so maybe will buy them later on.

Had a filling lunch today of mixed vege rice plus teh peng, so thinking of cooking pumpkin soup and making chicken and mango wraps for dinner tonight. Supermarket near my place is selling sweet Thai honey mangoes 3 for $4
I <3 mangoes too!

Adeline, good that you're going down to Taka.. think it's better for you to see and feel the pumps for yourself before making a decision.

Jul, haha.. I know what you mean... I thought I bought everything I need but will somehow miss out something or realise that I need some more... But luckily we still have 3 more months to prepare... Also, some stuff may not need to buy so soon, so I am thinking of waiting for other baby fairs to shop around.

Jul: Yup those are kinda my concerns as well with polyclinics....my first choice would be a good PD but am still keeping an open mind. Thanks for sharing you experiences,now i would be more wary.

Jul, set up a spreadsheet of what is needed to be bought for baby and mummy, so that you dont overspend and buy unecessary items. You can also keep track of what you have missed out and you are able to monitor your expenses and remember great deals that you have previously purchased.

The rest of the items that is not as important as when you need it during the first month just place it on a baby registry for your babys full month party.

petrina

To be fair, I don't think it's to do with nationality. A lot of those 'laojiao' local nurses are also sorely lacking in NB knowledge. Most of them didn't even attempt BF mah.

I'm still thinking abt whether to bring my No2 to polyclinic for jabs. But I think No2 will also kena jaundice, so I prefer to bring him to my PD till he's full mth &amp; clears the jaundice. Then I'll decide whether to bring him to polyclinic for routine jabs.

Thanks! I haven't opened the photos yet. I'll go see later. Now my mind is full of what I still need to do/buy to get ready for No2. The nesting insitinct kicked in really strongly this time round!

nattan

I don't want to wait for other baby fairs liao. Many of the small items can be bought from Watsons/Guardian &amp; I prefer to get ready soon.

As for other things I need, it's stuff like furniture, fans, home improvement, etc.. these kind also cannot wait till I'm immobile then start shopping ard mah. Gotta get it done NOW so that I can wash &amp; pack the kids' clothes &amp; stuff also. Feeling very very antsy. Hope it's not an omen that No2 will also be early

adeline)
Heehee I have a spreadsheet. Been gog through the list &amp; noting what I still have yet to buy. I can't really wait till delivery, coz from my previous experience, I was too zoned out &amp; depressed &amp; exhausted to even think all the time. I really would prefer not to go through all that misery again, as far as I can help it.

Settling all these things will make me feel at ease, &amp; prob delay the baby's arrival coz I shd be feeling Zen by then? hahaha

Special Lemongrass type Shower Gel

Anyone buying or bought this? I wonder if it's necessary actually.

I did try bathing with the Da Feng Ai dunno what herbs water ONCE. Gosh it was so sweet &amp; sticky I felt that I was covered with grass jelly! I like eating it, but not to bathe in it.

I also tried the special shampoo &amp; shower gel from.. aiyah I fogot... issit Mums in Mind? Small small bottle, quite expensive. Same place that sells the healing bottom spray. Found the soap ok but the shampoo was really drying.

This time round, wondering if I shd just use my normal shower gel &amp; shampoo.

Jul: cause most indian nurses i met in gleneagles, they r really good with babies. mid age type. not the young ones.
then the young PRCs that i met also at gleneagles, they r very impatient. tat time my son was in there for 3days, the Filipino nurses keep forgetting to pass me fresh potty. also nvr clear the old potty.
always the indian nurse do it. so i tend to lean over the part where SG nurses r more willing to work as compared to Filipinos or PRCs.

nattan: yes. vpost. ordered on 20 feb received on 14 mar. i delayed a few days pymt to vpost for shipping. so this round took 3weeks. otherwise it usually reach me within 2weeks. meaning the minute i receive vpost email on package arrival in US, i'll submit invoice then pay immediately.

Petrina

Hmm.. I do agree that the young PRC nurses that I met in TMC are rather impatient too haha. But the Indian one I met is quite blur, &amp; a bit gog thru the minimal motion. The Filipino one I met in the delivery ward was so rough! And impatient! Kept hurrying me through the clearing of bowels, &amp; was so rough with the edema

The nicest &amp; best nurses I met are the local ones haha

Jul: i use normal shampoo &amp; shower gel.
Exactly! Local ones.. the indian nurse i met is local. anyway can tell from accent that she's local.

Glass > Its nt ur 1st time having maid, rt? Thn u will hv more experience than mi. I m totally new to this. Thers pro n cons to transfer maid. If choosing transfer maid, better to bring ur kid ther n c which one he has more rapport w n which maid is better at handling ur kid? Wat questions did u ask? i hv yt to interview this maid, although I paid a deposit to book her 1st. Btw, hw is ur maid salary? This one asked for $400 w/o leave. Hw much did u pay for the agency fee?

Adeline > U got ur maid alredy? Cn share w mi wat r the questions u asked during the interview? Hw much did u pay for the agency fee? which ctry is ur maid fr? Thks!

Nattan > I also wan2 get PISA fr Ris. do u knw hw much she charges? If we buy together, cn get discount?

Seeing you ladies prepare so many things already make me panic. So far I only bought 1 pacifier to standby, 1 nipple cream, 2 packs of watson disposable undies (lying somewhere in my room, yet to try the size) and 1 box of disposable breastpad. I think I will need to push myself to buy all the necessary stuffs asap.

Petrina: 1st chpice is to BF but just worried no milk. If possible i would like to BF until 6months at least.

Jul: After buying baby clothes in 3 different timing and receiving the package at 3 different slots. After i saw the hand me downs i realised i really have alot of baby clothes so need to stop. However some hand me downs are yellowish so I was like ERRRRR. Anyway those will be used for home and i hope to be able to wash it nice and white again.
I THINK i have bpught enough stuff for now until the next baby fair in late April

BTW where to buy Napisan? Went JL to find but didn't see it

petrina

Haha ok, you're spot on! Local nurses are the best. I wonder if I'll meet that nice Sister in TMC. She was so nice during my No1's hospitalisation for jaundice. I wanted to write a complimentary letter but I was so overwhelmed that I didn't do it then. This time round, I must make sure I compliment her in the hospital haha

fleur

U can buy Napisan ffrom Cold Storage or NTUC. Comes in a small paper box.

Haha I dun need to buy baby clothes. All the buying now is for myself!

Jul, hehe.. I think you have a much stronger nesting instinct than me. For me, I bought some space bags but have yet to keep all my smaller size clothes. I need to free up more space in my wardrobe for maternity clothing and baby stuff. I also haven't bought the storage for baby's clothing and stuff. Thinking of ordering the plastic stackable drawers from Carrefour since they offer free delivery for min $150 purchase. I'll just make sure I have other things to buy before ordering. What I would wait to buy at future baby fairs are things like the stroller. Looks like hubby wants to wait till baby is born to shop around with him to test drive :p

Re foreign nurses, I met a very blur one at Mt E when my mum was hospitalised last yr. She didn't seem to know how to bring my mum down to the operating theatre until one of the senior nurses commented rather loudly whether she just arrived from Myanmar?!

Chris, Ris is selling PISA for $395 now (up from $370), but it's the latest model (with On the Go tote). $8 for courier charge (delivered by her hubby so you can pay COD). I don't think have discount for bulk purchase la.. haha..

Chris: i currently have an existing filipino maid but after telling her i am expecting a child she immediately told me she dont want to take care of the baby and ask me to get another additional maid to solely take care of my baby while she concentrates on the housework.

She did not even attempt to try,that just shows she wants an easy life as a maid. Her biodata states she has experience with children for 2 yrs and willing to take care of infants.

I was furious but if she is not willing to even try then i would rather transfer her out as i dont see the need to have 2 maids at home!Would just create more problems.

petrina

Just saw the sunshade photos. So after tying it like that, can we just fold up the stroller with the sunshade on, or do we need to keep everything? My Hubs has this irritating habit of needing to keep everything on the stroller before folding it. Cannot stna dhim sometimes :p

audrey: some are first timers so they tend to have more things to buy. u shld be able to use #1/#2 stuffs.
for me i gave alot of things away thinking i'll just have 1 precious. then also this baby is different gender. so it's like being a first timer.. hehe

fleur: NTUC. soak the clothes first. it's powdered. i used abit hot water to melt some then mix with cold water b4 soaking the clothes.

to prevent clothes from being yellow, pls wrap your whites with towel or paper to absorb the moisture. i tried dehumidifier, not as useful as wrapping.

also it depends on the place you stay. North side very damp. so u need to take extra care of your whites.

nattan

What I have is a PANICK instinct hahaha

I also wanna get the plastic drawers for baby's stuff. For a start, he'll be sleeeping in my room so that he doesn't disturb No1. So I need to have some stuff on hand rather than having to go into the kids' room to get it. I also need to pack my non-maternity wardrobe away.

Hmm.. chill chill! Ok I go &amp; dig out the baby's clothes first. Then sort &amp; pack No1's clothes. Then sort &amp; pack my clothes. Ok ok, break down into 3 tasks seems more doable haha

petrina

Thanks! Now to pyscho Hubs haha

But these few days seems like we need rainshade more than sunshade haha. Think the sunshade will only be more useful when I'm home with No2.

Nattan >
heee...was hoping tat ther will b discount for buying more sets. :p Cn PM mi the contacts? Oh, btw, medela warranty usually starts fr birth of bb...for local sets.

Adeline > Wah! Ur maid thinks u r rich leh. Cn even mak such request arh? So u r also in the mids of shopping ard for new maids? I m suppose to interview this maid sn. Bt I hv no idea wat kind of questions I shld ask her. Hubby is nt much of a hlp either. Stil sy no nd to interview, jus bring her in n if no gd, jus change lor.

Adeline, some Filipino helpers have quite an attitude...fortunately my parents' helper has been with us for over 10 yrs and still serving loyally. Of course, my dad is an exceptional employer... he pays her very well above market rate and allows her more than 1 off day per month. My grandma's Myanmarese helper is also very good. Good luck to finding a replacement..

Jul, you panic for what? You've had a baby before and have more experience than some of us here. Just chill....

Jolene &amp; prettibride: Me also in KKH. Seeing Prof Han HC at TPS. EDD: 04 June
Already booked 1 bedder during 24 week checkup.

About LilyPadz:
Anyone tried this before? It says it's breathable silicone that helps with controlling let down, so can be used in place of breastpads. I wonder if it is really 'breathable' and whether it will pose any harm using it since we will be breastfeeding. Need to rinse nipple after removing it first before feeding or not arh?

Chris:

Interview questions:
1.I basically ask them to tell me about themselves and experiences first. (note: what they write on their biodata and say can sometimes me different)
2.I will also ask what are their expectations in an employer,the salary they are hoping to get and the off days as well.
(This is when you can analyze them.)

I will in return tell them briefly about the family and the daily household chores required.

I want to find a maid who would want to work for us as well, as most maids have a preference to expats. I have interviewed maids with vast experience but immediately when i ask what kind of employer are you looking for and they replied expat.So i dont want to waste her time or mine just to be fair to both.

I cant remember how much is the agency fee but i am currently paying $370 on maid salary.

However finding a good and reliable maid i feel is luck of the draw.

nattan

I packick COZ I had one before. I was very Zen the last time round coz I didn't know what I was in for haha

Chris

Haha join the club! Btw I discovered I can squeeze into L size. Coz FW was all sold out! In desperation to tick off one item on my list, I bought L to try. Can manage, so I just bought L &amp; closed case

jul
I keep thinking of buying it later but never thought of when to buy. Initially I was thinking of buying my stuffs in april and washing in may but seems too late? Hmm..

Jul

I'll be using my normal shower gels and products after that. No point trying to shower with those special products cos I don't think I can tahan the smell! End up torturing myself only.

What week did u deliver your no 1 ah? I can tell u are very well prepared aldy. Don't kan Cheong!

Nattan

Pumpkin! I love that! All forms - soup, steamed, cooked as pumpkin kuay! What's yr recipe for pumpkin soup?

Chicken n mango wrap sounds really good! U have time to cook when u get back from wk?