(2012/06) Jun 2012

How can you tell if it's your baby's legs or arms ah? I cannot tell at all! Last night I was lying on my right side and my entire tummy looked so contorted, there was a lot of movements/shapes sticking out at my belly button area and when I tried pressing or rubbing, it only continued to push back harder. So i had to change side - turn to left, then ok.

So hard to please - tough being a human incubator.

Jul,

I'm still in denial. Refuse to go buy cos I have no idea what size I'll fit and I don't want to end up wasting one packet. hahaha...

Jul

Somehow those cotton socks you mentioned reminds me of those socks we used to wear in school? Should be quite easy to get ba? Should check out those market or town centre shops, sure can get them at a decent price. Else maybe even BATA will have. haha..old school man!

Cindy, thanks..hope yours grow bigger too so that people will start giving up their seats for us. Yest I had to stand in the bus till someone alight. Nobody even bother to take a 2nd look at me.

Smilez/nattan, I haven't book the studio yet cos dunno when tummy will grow big. But I tink it's a nice keepsake to have...can show the baby when he is much older that this is where he come from ma. My fren took hers at StudioLoft. Seems to be quite popular with mummies too. Photographer is a mummy too, so if u're daring enough, can go for nude shots.

Fleurfleur, I dun need to get mosquito repellent cos hubby is a natural mosquito magnet. With him around, me n baby is both quite safe. Haha...

Jul, can try scholl socks..watsons n guardian selling...suppose helps to reduce water retention too. I got a pair but will only start wearing if my feet starts to swell.

Smilez, my baby cannot even hv anything pressing on my tummy..if I rest my hand on it, he'll keep kicking till I remove my hand. Talk about fussy baby.

Socks
Oh socks! I thought of getting the scholl compression stocks! Would be good for us

Gosh! 3 more months and we would be seeing our babies! Do you mummies look at photos of cute babies? Hoping that you lil ones will look as cute as them? I do! Hahaha

Jul, you can wear men's socks if you don't mind la.. Else like some others said, get the Scholl ones.

Adeline, you mean your tummy is not even visible?? That's quite impossible right.. now that we are all about 6 mths pregnant... I just measured my waist yesterday... 38"! And my hips are 40.5"... Gosh... just added almost 5"... Even if people say I don't look very pregnant from the back, I sure stick out a lot from the side profile!

I was thinking of doing some nude shots and couple shots too, but hubby is shy...and he doesn't want me to expose myself :p Any idea how much is the photo package??

Jolene, I don't purposely go and look at photos of cute babies la, but their pictures are on pregnancy books anyway...

ssmilezz
Wow you can see the shapes from you belly already? I am always on stand-by to catch the precious shot. Take a look at this photo.

Isn't it wonderful?

@Adeline
Yeah Adeline my husband is a natural mosquito repellent too. But my baby would most probably be like him, a O blood type. I've got a mosquito net ready.

<b>Pre-natal Shots</>
Tempted to get the professional for a fuss free shot. But then again $$$. I thought of just getting a relative or close friend to help me take those shots.
6774560.png

Jolene, wow.. can see your baby's foot!! That's precious... Your belly must be very thin also, not much fats.. I cannot see any shapes on my belly but can only feel baby's strong kicks.

Nattan

If yr hubby is not game for the photoshots, you can just take them on yr own for remembrance then. I haven't even taken abt baby bump pics since I started showing. And not measuring myself yet too.

Adeline

I seldom get seats on the train too. Realized I have better luck on days I wear those empire dresses. Think they make me look bigger than usual. Hehe. Most of the time, I cAnt even squeeze into the seats area. Sigh. But ok for me cos the mrt journey is short only few stops. I don't mind standing.

Jolene

Yah, it's quite a scary to think we are heading into the 3rd tri so soon. I haven't been I intentionally looking at baby pics too.

No la that's not mine. How I hope. That's why every night I am on stand by. I just snap the photo from yahoo image bank. Damm tempted to go for a studio shot now. Hahah

ssmilezz, I get seats most of the time, cos most of my clothes are kinda "figure hugging" like tee-shirts or knit wear, so it really shows off my bump. I don't get seats as often if I wear a loose dress.

Jolene, haha... thought it was your own photo!!

Anybody feeling more emo or moody recently? I dunno why but I got quite teary last night and hubby was wondering what got into me. I was a bit upset he didn't spend as much time talking to baby and me like he usually does but went to bed earlier. :p

Jolene: I'm tempted to get the scholl compression stockings also.... but so expensive lo... And can you imagine hor cannot have the fan then still wear socks, confirm sweat like a pig.
Is that foot real or is it photoshopped??

scholl compression stockings
i bought them last week and tried it three nights ago.. abt 40++, got two diff versions for night use, one goes all e way up to the butt.. i bought the one that ends just before it.. not sure if it's working.. but have been on verge of having leg cramps every night recently, that night when i wore it, no leg cramps!

i have colleagues who mentioned there's sports version too aside from scholl. haven't check them out yet tho!

Hahaha all can't be as bad as me. My husband is damm committed to the SAF. He returns home at 11 plus, one plus and when it gets later than that he would just call and said he would sleep in camp.

Next week he is going to Indonesia and the following week Thailand. December he is going to Australia. ;(

AsRias
The stockings can be used even after you give birth, in the hope we will have more slender legs lo. And we can switch on our air-con ma, we have all the prerogative.

Btw, mothers. I was looking for a bed for my confinement nanny, my mummy who might come over to stay overnight and in case when my husband needs an undisturbed rest.

And if you need a cupboard to store your baby barabg barang, you can take a look at these sites.

www.beds.sg
www.furnituremart.sg/

Nattan

Have to rant about the stupid MRT. The delays are so terrible. Being stuck inside a jerky train is a total nightmare during peak hours. sigh. I waited like 15-20 mins at my MRT station before I could board a train to get to work yesterday. I was late needless to say.

I get emo from time to time and I can feel it. Just feel like very panicky and lost. Don't feel like talking much but I will tell my hubby I am feeling emo (thanks to the hormones) and he will try to ""sayang" me. Unfortunately, there are days he is also having a bad day, so cannot expect much consolation from him. I'll just spend time with my doggies to cheer myself up- at least, they always give me 101% attention and unconditional love.

Jolene,

My hub works late too and although he tries to reach home earlier, he will end up logging on at home to work. Mine is travelling end of this month to USA too. For a week (I hope) and not too long. He is supposed to travel end May and I was like you better not do that!!!

I shared this in another topic earlier, thought it might be useful to all of you here too.

Walk more!    
The nearest train station from my house is about 2KM from my house. Hope that's enough of walking. I swim every week too.

I read the "Idiots Guide to Natural Birth" Yes!! there is such a book!! It really motivates me alot and make me believe in Natural Birth.

Here's what you can do and tell yourself:
1. Believe in yourself. God make us woman this way, we can do it w/o the help of medication.
2. Jasmine Essential Oil helps to reduce labour pain (Start looking for it now, a lot of shop doesn't sell it. Bought mine from a push cart in Jurong Point)
3. Swimming! Breast Stoke.
4. Yoga.
5. Play your favourite music while you are in labour..bring in your MP3.
6. Request to Stand and walk around, don't be tied down by the various machines. "Gravity"
7. Prenatal massages helps.
8. When you have epidural, it will be harder for you to feel the right muscles push.
9. Most of our mum did it w/o any medical intervention too. If your mum can do it, you can too!
10. And lastly, to further motivate myself, I asked my hubby to get me a watch if I give birth naturally, drug free.

You can up with a birth list on what you want to do during labour and discuss with your gynae.

ssmilezz, Jolene, my hubby stays at home all the time, so it's not like he has a lot of work commitment. But some days, he just doesn't like to talk to me too.. he has his own emo moments as well :p

ssmilezz, ya some days the MRT stations are really packed. Nowadays I take cab to work about 3x a week so at least I can get away from the crowd :p

nattan, i have a small bump to show only when i wear fitting clothes. my top was quite fitting yesterday though but i guess its still hard for people to differentiate between fat n preggie. i think the photo package cost from $200+ to $500...they have promo from time to time. Perhaps you can call them up to check. I stopped measuring my waist long ago...and only step onto the weighing scale at my gynea..think my fats go to other areas instead of my tummy.

jolene, yup, i started looking at cute baby pics the moment i got pregnant..but they were all baby girl photos from the beginning before i know the gender. now just hope my boy dun turn up too girlish.

i dunno if its the pregnancy hormones or wat..but recently i keep dreaming of being betrayed by hubby...with other gals, with my maid etc. Its ridiculous la cos those women i dreamt of are not even pretty to begin with. and my maid is already 40 years old. Then when i told my hubby about those dreams...he just keep laughing. $#%$%$^

Adeline, maybe you're tall and slim la.. so the bump doesn't look obvious. I'm kind of pear-shaped :p, fats will go to my belly, thighs and butt.

I have funny dreams also but not about my hubby. I had this dream about my friend promising to make me confinement food after my delivery, then last minute she sent me a long text msg saying she suddenly got something on and cannot cook for me anymore, then gave me a loooong list of ingredients to buy plus the complicated recipe. I was like #$&amp;*#^%$ How do I have the time to cook this kind of thing now that I just gave birth??!! Hahaha...

Oh I'm planning to donate my cord blood. I think you can just call up the Singapore Cord Blood Bank and tell them a month in advance?

Adeline: Haha, I started having such weird dreams like 1-2 mths back.... And everytime i wake up pissed with hubby. But he would pacify me though its not his fault then reassure me. haaha.

I'm also planning to donate the cord blood. I read on the website that when reach 32 weeks can call them. Gotta go through some interview and blood test if i'm not wrong. But you can still change your mind cos there is 1 last consent form to sign in the delivery room.

Cot
Finally found my baby cot at Taka

Pre-natal Shots
I book mine with studioloft. Because more comfortable with lady photographer. But the shoot will only take place after 33 weeks.

Leg swollen
My bil finally moved out last Sunday and I think I over clean the dirty house on Monday and can see a slight swollen on my feel. Can't stand long now and the house is still not fully clean. Luckily clean my baby room on the first day. The rest I will be taking it easy.

Yu Jiao
I bought the yu jiao from fu Hua on tue. Ya is fish maw. I think is Jew fish maw if I didn't remember wrongly. Double boil n not stinky.

Belly button
Mine still very deep. I think mine is not popping out.

Kinda funny reading all yr vivid dreams! Haha. Really overly active hormones at work. I can't rem my dreams at all.

Hope everyone had a good lunch today! Just had some bread cos not feeling hungry. Going off for my gynae appt now. Hope all is well.

This thread moves fast, spent a while to catch up on posts from ytd nite.

Adeline
My belly button's flat too but haven't pop out yet. haha.. just waiting to see if it will pop out and when. Good that gynae say that you and bb's wt is normal! Guess yr tummy will grow bigger very soon. Heard pp put on the most in 2nd/3rd tri. hee... my tummy is small but still visible. when i take public transport, i try to wear more figure hugging dress/tops so that it's obvious i'm preggy. Some will nicely give up seats. Else me very thick skin, will go to the reserve seat and nicely ask whether the person can give up the seat to me. So far it has worked all the time!

Ssmilezz
I'm 1.69m. Glad you asked the qn how to tell if it's bb's hands/legs. Me wondering too. Can feel kicks quite often. Then again, i wonder whether they are kicks or hands hitting our tummies. Update us after your gynae visit!

Jolene
Your photo is AMAZING! I also thought it's a photo of your tummy. The little feet and toes are soooo visible!

So many of you are donating cord blood. Cool! My frens are urging me to sign up for the cordblood packages but I'm not so keen. So will likely donate. Let it be bb's 1st good deed.

Chin, hooray your BIL finally moved out.. now you can clean and decorate your baby's room. I don't have a baby room cos my spare room is used like a dressing room cum store room for our junk. Need to get rid of most of the stuff to put the baby cot inside, so might as well just put the cot in our bedroom. I figure it's easier to care for baby esp for night feeds. While cleaning, just make sure you get hubby to do the heavy stuff.. don't overtire yourself.

BTW, are you all getting a baby wardrobe? I'm thinking of just getting those Toyogo stackable plastic drawers to put baby's stuff to save space and money. I don't have enough space for another wardrobe at the moment, so not even going to get a changing table. Will just do everything on my bed.

On the train nw.. Nobody gives up seat =(

I signed up with Stemcord to store cord blood.. Would like to have a security back up plan should one day he needs to use it.. *Choy*!! really nice of u mummies to think of donating rather than just leaving it alone =)

Mat shots
That time studio loft had a booth during Bb fair and had promos.. Think it was gg at 300 ++..

Nat, for #1 I bot the Ikea mammut blue drawers.. But by about 4 months, his clothes had outgrew the drawer and I had to buy another wardrobe.. Now the helper is using the drawers.. She has less barang than him! In fact, we constantly have to pack and re pack his wardrobe.. Woes of ease of online shopping!!

hopecg, why don't you ask someone sitting on the reserved seat to give up for you? Usually if it's a man (not old one of course), he would do so.. Surprised that the train is crowded at this hour... where are you going?

I figure with the changing wardrobe since babies and toddlers grow so fast, I should get a temporary storage instead of a real wardrobe. At least if I don't want those old baby clothes anymore, they are already packed in plastic boxes, ready to be given away

Cindy, I also thought i'm the lone ranger cos all my friends paid to keep the cordblood. But after reading up more about it, both me and hubby decided on donating.

Just done with my gynae visit. Put on 8kg as of 25 weeks+, baby is around 900g-1kg. Everything looks on track (Phew). Baby's head is at the bottom in an upside down position. Her legs are at my belly button area. We saw her wavin her arms and putting her thumb to suck. Haha

Cindy

I'm 1.68m so we are almost the same height. Hehe most of my kicks and jabs are at the belly button area so I think it should be legs kicking ba.

Chin

I'm so glad your BIL is out of your place. At least you won't feel as frustrated as before

Nattan

I bought those plastic drawers from Toyogo
And I'm using them to store my baby supplies now. But I think not big enough to keep everything. So we just get a standard chest of drawers from Ikea so at least we can use the top to put the sterilizer, etc.

ssmilezz, good to know everything is on track
I'm the same height as you, but I think I put on slightly more weight :p Better cut down on my snacking and fattening foods!

Where did you buy your Toyogo drawers? I think maybe 5 drawers should be enough? 2 for clothes, 1 for towels, 1 for diapers and 1 for toiletries/misc.

Nattan, ssmilezz
Ya super happy that they are out of my life already.
everyday is a happy day.

Nattan
If u don't mind u can get the drawer chest from Ikea? I think it cost only $86 or $89. Like u said is only temporary so I don't want to waste the mOney too. Plus most baby clothes only fold no need to hang.

Giving up seat
Forget get it! Nobody do that! Example I saw a seat on the bus so I hurray myself to take that seat cos nobody want to seat (poly students) they prefer to stand n talk plus jam all infront. Then they give me a weird look as if they didn't see my bump. So piss. If I'm not pregnant and the bus not taking a 90 degree right turn I don't bother with that seat.

Ikea
They having sale now! Maybe I will drop by tonight if I can finish dinner early. :D

Toyogo
For better price go to their "factory" at TPY.

Edit:

Blk 11 Toa Payoh Ind. Park Lorong. 8 #01-1205 Singapore 319023

nattan, i m tall but not slim anymore..fats go to my face, my arms, buttocks etc. sighx. i am using plastic drawers too..but its also almost full. But no choice, now staying with my mum so only got a small room and have to put baby's cot. will only invest in a wardrobe when i shift back to my own house after ML. i bought mine at NTUC - the big one at AMK hub. Nice rainbow color compared to the ugly ones at Giant.

cindy, u really brave to do that..i will only ask for seat if my tummy has grown to show i m not fat but pregnant. more rights to demand for seat then. lol.

cordblood donation - read some info that most children won't get to use their own cordblood even if they develop any sickness in future. it may only be useful for siblings etc. but when u donate it to a public cordbank, you get priority if *touch wood*, your child really needs it in future and chances of finding a compatible one is higher. and also doing a good deed to help other children.

aiyo, i saw some youtube videos of pre-term babies..one was born at 23 weeks..so small and fragile. his hands were still translucent. makes me cherish my baby more. pray that all mummies here will 'incubate' their precious ones till full term! God Bless~

Adeline, I asked someone for the reserved seat once. Hehe.. he was with his gf, so I think he felt obligated to behave like a gentleman. But I've also had some men and women who voluntarily gave up their seats for me. Guess I look very pregnant huh... :p

Re storage, I was thinking of getting this http://www.ikea.com/sg/en/catalog/products/90169914/ and then buying the separate plastic boxes and lids to complement it. Total cost is about $86. I don't have enough space to place the chest of drawers Chin and Asrias suggested :p

Cordblood donation

I checked w my gynae, u hav to call up the cord bank after 28 weeks if u decided to donate. They will interview u on ur family history etc and sign a consent form.

When u're in labour, there will be another final consent form to sign, then they will take ur blood for testing. If there's no problem they will keep ur cord blood after the bb is born.

<font color="aa00aa">I like IKEA's Trofast series. I have 3 similar rack and now using them to store (1) #1's toys and crafts, (2) Miscellaneous stuff, (3) Our clothes.

I bought the following storage items during #1's time to store his baby stuff:

(1) 4-tier Toyoga-style storage box to put his diapers, wash cloths, towels, &amp; miscellaneous stuff.
(2) Chest of 3 drawers from IKEA to store his toiletries, clothes, cloth diapers &amp; napkins. I chose one that is not too high (I think around my waist level) so that the top can be used as a changing table.

I placed organisers inside the drawer chest to segregate his stuff. It's something like this:
http://www.ikea.com/sg/en/catalog/products/80192632/</font>

Asrias
This looks good. I remember sawing some offer on drawer when I was there on wed. Will go check them out later if I have time.

Nattan
That one not good. Dust can go in. U can drop by Toyogo at TPY. Their price is really better. I bought 2 from their to put my kitchen stuffs. Hoping to clear one of it so that can use one for baby. If not, hv to get the one from Ikea

Chin, how will dust go in if I put a lid on the boxes? The lids are sold separately @ $2 each. How much is the Toyogo drawers?

patrina

haha no worries!! at first i thought $49 for 2 was the price so i got shocked when i saw $89! tot i missed some sale or smth.. shall go back and buy then. looks very comfy

ssmilezz
yup! managed to get a pack of long pants, ribbon tops and mittens! brought to office and my colleagues bought them all over from me leaving me only with 2 pink long pants. but it's alright! my boy's gonna be a cool boy wearing pink pants to sleep. hahaha. anyway will be going over tmr to get more with my hubby.

JL sale
went to JL marina sq during lunch today and they have 20% sale! for most of the items and on top of that 7% GST absorbed! managed to get my kose sun block at like $5 off each?? good deal! and i saw quite a bit of baby stuff there too.. going there again tonight to get the waterproof mat to put on my bed when changing my baby! saw the pigeon plain one at $20.90 before discount

Nattan

Yeah, u should go to their warehouse at Toa Payoh. I bought my drawers there and many other misc plastic stuffs like basins etc.

I have been snacking on chips. Cant stop!! It's so unhealthy and heaty. Sigh. Need to exercise more self control.

Chin

Good la happy mama means happy baby!

Think Ikea is crowded over weekends. So best to go on weekdays after work.

Adeline

I saw this show Touch of Hope last nite hosted by Diana Ser. Very touching. About kids and their parents. There was a story abt premie born at 28 weeks. Very heart breaking to see the baby suffer.

Mothecare Sale

Just left the place. No Q but constant crowd of Ppl. Still can walk at least la. Bought 3 clothes. All at 50% off. Have to search around for smaller sizes. Onesies are going at 5 bucks.

ssmilezz, do I go to the warehouse at 21 Lorong 8 Toa Payoh? Or the showroom at 11 Toa Payoh Industrial Park Lorong 8?

I'm planning to go to the Mothercare sale today after work. See if can get anything there, although I'm seriously broke now :p

How is the scale of the mothercare sale?if its worth it might go down tml.

so happy its fri now.get to leave office early,now in ikea enjoying chix wings.not much stuff to buy.

Nattan
Didn't know got lid. :p since have than better. Toyogo at TPY I bought mine a year ago. Can't remember how much but very much cheaper. At least $15 n above each drawer, depends on the design. BUT!! Pls check carefully when u buy cos one of my drawer actually crack n I have to go all the way back to exchange. *sweat*

ssmilezz
Ya expecting ikea to be crowded this weekend. Anyway I stay very near tampines ikea, everyday go also can provided hb come back early.

I prefer Taka fair to mothercare. Mothercare nothing great unless u eyeing on the clothes or promo stuffs. Other then that 15% storewide is not great. Rather go Robinson sale.

Nattan

It's the warehouse I think. Both at Toa Payoh Lorong 8. If u are cabbing down, the taxi uncle should know. The chest of 5 drawers was around 30-40? Erm I think so la. Bought it maybe 2 months back. I also got new plastic basins
And pails to use for baby clothes/items.

Adeline

Which Ikea did you go? My hub loves going Ikea
Doesn't help that I'm
Staying within walking
Distance Of the Alexandra branch. He always
Wants to go there to walk walk shop shop.

I

For the toyogo drawers. Sometimes giant is cheaper. Yesterday's paper they are having discount for 5 chest drawers. Selling at $29.89...

But they did not state the brand. Can take a look if you are at giant. 2 mths back I compared the price between toyogo toapayoh and giant. The price is about the same. So if you have no other plastic stuff to purchase don't bother to spend the extra trip down to toyogo toapayoh.

my #1 alrdy occupy the whole of a 3 door wardrobe for his stuff. Dont knw i bgt too much things for him or wat leh. Nw i m havin headache on hw to rearrange the stuff to mak way for #2 to share.