(2012/06) Jun 2012

ssmilezz, haha.. your hubby is another joker. Is your belly button sticking out already? Mine is just kind of flat, not protruding yet.

My cats don't like to bathe, but it's necessary once in a while to prevent fleas and itch. I use Biogance brand shampoo which contains lavender essential oil. I used to use Earthbath with mango fragrance.. it was nice too!

Re Hospital Bag, here's the list my boss gave me. You can refer and see if there's anything else you wanna add:

FOR YOU:
Maternity Pads
Disposable Panties
Front-opening Pajamas(For Breastfeeding)
1 face towel for cleaning body
1 Going Home Outfit (e.g maternity babydoll dress)
Nursing Bra
A pair of slipper or flat shoes
HP with Charger
Camera with battery!
NRIC and Admission/ Doc Letter/ Card
Favourite CD (for relaxation while waiting)
Cordlife/ Stemcord box
Toiletries
Jacket for husband
Make-up
Marriage cert (if you want to register your baby’s birth cert)

FOR Baby (TMC provides all these so no need to bring)
1 Baby Receiving Blanket with hood
1 New Outfit for home
1 set of New Booties and Mitten

OTHERS - OPTIONAL:
Medicated oil
Glasses
Hairclip
Socks (if you find it cold)
Some coins for your hubby to buy drinks/parking use
Vicks lozenges (good for soothing your throat)

Jul > u mean maid, Cl n #2 in the same rm? Hmm...shld hv space. Bt kind of weird for mi to slp on the maid's bed in the study leh. N I will probbaly jus gt a single sofa bed for her. No space for anything bigger.

Haha, ya, u r funny too. :p

Jul

Share la, at least you are experienced ma. I was plannig to google Ard for a list too. Dunno what to pack and I'm worried miss out stuffs. I'm bad at packing but my hubby loves to pack and finds it very therapeutic to pack stuffs!! So he is the one with the nesting instincts and have been doing all the packing and preparation.

Nattan

Nope mine looks quite flat now. Like even out. Good to spring clean our belly buttons now. Even can moisturize the base of the belly button daily now. Lol

Are u planning to keep yr cats out of the baby room? how old are both of them?

Chris

Bah! You're just saying so, coz I pointed it out

You have space for another sofa bed? Wah your study must be huge.

smilezz

Hiaz.. ok ok.. Lemme figure out how to post it.

haha I hate to pack, but I love to make lists. The last time I was so late I just threw everything into a cabin bag & rolled it to the hosp haha

Thks Nattan for the list. Jus one thing to add. For the pyjamas, I wld prefer to use the dress type. Cos whn u lie dwn, u cn lift up the dress n will nt get it stained.

Heehee, I boiled my own red dates drink in the hospital. So i brgt slow cooker n herbs ther.

Ok here's my Hosp Bag List.

Disclaimer : I am a chronic over-packer so follow at your own risk! A lot of items would possible not be used, but I'd rather have them there than not.

Music : Don't really need
Glasses : Don't need
Hubs' jacket : If he doesn't take care of himself, too bad!

<table border=1><tr><td>NRIC</TD><TD> admission letter</TD><TD> SBI card</TD><TD> credit card </TD></TR><TR><TD>Antenatal package receipt </TD></TR><TR><TD>Marriage cert </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pen</TD><TD> notebook </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cash (incl coins for vending machine food &amp; drinks) </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BF book / magazine </TD></TR><TR><TD>Phone</TD><TD> charger </TD></TR><TR><TD>Laptop</TD><TD> charger </TD></TR><TR><TD>Camera</TD><TD> videocam</TD><TD> chargers</TD><TD> spare batteries</TD><TD> spare SD cards </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hot water flask </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snacks (Biscuits</TD><TD> bread</TD><TD> Milo) </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pads </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nursing bra </TD></TR><TR><TD>Disp panties </TD></TR><TR><TD>PJs (button top) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Socks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bedroom slippers </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cardigan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Face towel </TD></TR><TR><TD>Breastfeeding cover </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hairband</TD><TD> rubber band </TD></TR><TR><TD>Toothbrush</TD><TD> toothpaste </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moisturiser / lotion </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lip balm </TD></TR><TR><TD>Face moisturiser </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eye serum/cream </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eye makeup remover </TD></TR><TR><TD>Makeup remover </TD></TR><TR><TD>Facial wash </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cotton pads </TD></TR><TR><TD>Toner </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milkbath </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shampoo</TD><TD> conditioner </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hair serum/cream </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elomet </TD></TR><TR><TD>Plastic bags </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Going home nursing bra</TD><TD> breast pads </TD></TR><TR><TD>Going home panties</TD><TD> pad </TD></TR><TR><TD>Going home clothes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Going home socks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Going home shoes </TD></TR><TR><TD>BB cream </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunblock </TD></TR><TR><TD>Concealer </TD></TR><TR><TD>Face powder</TD><TD> sponge </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eyebrow powder</TD><TD> brush </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blusher</TD><TD> brush </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lip gloss </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shirt</TD><TD> swaddle</TD><TD> mittens</TD><TD> booties </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nail scissors</td></tr></table>

ssmilezz, my belly button wasn't very dirty to begin with.. haha.. no need spring cleaning. I don't let the cats into my bedroom where my baby cot is placed cos they shed a lot. They are about 3+ and 1+ yo.

Chris, you can wear dress type so long it is easy for you to breastfeed. I bought a new set of pyjamas with pants and tanktop. But hubby says the tank top cannot open in front so I might get another set which can.

Jul >
U mus hv the humour in u to accept it fr ur hubby mah. Study rm is jus lik a normal bedrm lor. Its actually vry vry pack w the sofa bed. Got 3 study table inside n 1 built in wardrobe nw. tats y cn only gt a sofa bed which cn b folded up during the day. Else no space to walk liao. :p

Jul, you need to pack your own snacks?? If hungry just tell the nurse la.. somemore need to carry laptop?? So heavy... I'm just bringing an iPad. I think a heat pack would be useful too, if you want to massage or stimulate your boobs before feeding.

I was just thinking about what to pack. Thanks so so much for the list

Any exprienced mummy here? My friend said that maternity sanitary pads is not neccesary and it's of a lower quality. The regular pads for night use would be a better choice. What do you think?

Nattan > Cn bf w dress type. Cos thy also hv button front all the way. Haha. Only problem is tat most of thm doesn't cm in big size. My last delivery, I gotta squeese my tummy in. Haha.:p

Jul > Ya man! I mak my own drink. Bt mayb for this time I can't liao. Cos most probably hubby wldn't sty w mi, he nd to tak care of #1 at hm.
U bgt the drink fr the hospital? Hw do thy charge?

Chris

3 study tables &amp; 1 built-in wardrobe, &amp; a bed for maid &amp; u can still squeeze in the sofa bed??? That's huge to me liao haha

nattan

The prob is there's not enough food. I get hungry in the middle of the night &amp; wanna eat biscuits &amp; drink Milo mah. Then that time when I delivered at 9plus, they refused to serve me tea break &amp; made me wait till lunchtime! Nearly starved to death lor. Luckily Hubs rescued me on the first night by getting me some snacks.

I dun have an iPad mah :p

Nah heat pack not needed. There was nothing to stimulate till the day I went home.

Jolene

U're welcome

I used Pureen maternity pads the last time. This time, I'm thinking whether to try those night use, heavy duty normal pads. But bear in mind that if you're having a normal delivery, DO NOT use ultraslim pads. use the fat auntie maxi pads. They help to cushion the wound.

Jolene, I think there was an earlier discussion above about the pads.. the maternity pads hospitals provide are the Kotex loop type that you need to tie.. I dunno how to use that, so most likely will just be using overnight pads.

Chris, ya..can get the button front type night dresses for easy breastfeeding.

Gosh.. hungry now :p Wonder what time hubby will be meeting me...

Chris

I just drank the Milo &amp; soups they served me, plus water leh. MIL made me red date drink, but only like 500ml per day, where got enough to drink?

I didn't bring much for #1.
Camera
Videocam
Cordblood storage kit
going home suit for me n baby
Ipad
Laptop
Handphone
Sanitary pads
Undies
Wallet
Marriage cert
Facial wash
Toothbrush n toothpaste

The rest of items i need i use hospital's.

Jul > No lar, I mean the sofa bed is for the maid. Tats all I cn squeeze in. Oh, bt thy sy can't drink water after delivery leh. N I don't tak milo or horlick. :p

Wow ladies, your hospital list is very helpful !!!
Your belly button pop out alrdy ? How many weeks are you all?
I'm in my 25th and it hasn't pop. Suddenly down with flu in the afternoon
. I had two rounds of flu that lasted 3 weeks before fully recovering and now again
((

RE sanitary pads! TAKA sale is selling maternity sanitary pads 10pcs for 6.30 under the Kotex brand. If any of you want can go there buy.
Btw anyone know how many pkts I shld buy coz I only bought 2 packets as I have a 16pcs packet (28cm) one I bought in BKK just that it's all I'm Thai cannot tell if specially for after birth. Tot 28cm quite long haha

Wahh,seems like a lot to pack for hospital bag.was expecting the hospital to provide most of the necessities.still ok to pack 1mth before edd right?

Nattan,they were selling this toiletries brand call buds at the taka fair..stated organic but not sure if its good.any mummies have feedback on kodomo?

Jul, i get hungry quite easily too..will ask hubby to standby food as well.i bought some super long pads from taiwan previously...42cm!too bad they dun sell it here.but where to get those ah ma type?the kotex loop ones dun seem very thick.

Pads
i bgt 32pcs of 35cm, 8 pcs of 41cm. Shld b enough for mi, cos I shld b csec n doesn't bleed tat much. Else, jus ask hubby to go NTUC buy for mi lor.

Adeline: I was checking out Buds at Unity pharmacy before seeing it at the taka fair. Since hv 10% off we bought the mozzie lotion and other stuff. Sales person cfm that the ingredients are manufactured in Aust.
To me aust organic tend to be more ex and better than US organic products.

Chris

But i was really thirsty from bf. If i just drank red date tea, i'll surely get UTI or dehydrated. Anyway i also bobian. Mil just doesn't boil enough red date tea for me to drink in hosp or at home.

Fleur

10 pads for $6.30 is normal price in watsons, ntuc etc.

Not sure abt individual. But 100 pureen maternity pads wasn't enough for me! But by then can use normal ultraslim pads liao.

Adeline

Got 42cm. I just checked my sofy 'menu'. They have 41cm.

Btw i just bought 80 pads. Half sofy 28cm n half kotex 32cm. Still thinking to get 20 of the super thick maxi ones to
Cushion my wound

Chris

Power man! You boiled your own red dates in hosp?

Does drinking liquid after delivery really cause one to vomit? I love to drink water n if I get dehydrated, I get really cranky. dunno how I'm going to tahan drinking red dates for a month.

Fleur

I'm in week 25. Belly button has turned into an outie yet but it's very flat now.
Do take care and get more rest yah?

Jul

Thanks for ur list. Very comprehensive ah.
must bring makeup some more. I was thinking heck la, no one going to
Notice how I look anyway. : P

Nattan

Same here. My pets don't come into our rooms. They sleep in the kitchen in their pen area.

I like using Sofy Pads. It's very long n good for night use. Will prob stock up from Ocean at Chinatown when I next pop by to replenish my toiletries.

Fleurfleur, my belly button has not popped la.. it's just flat against the rest of the belly. I'm now 24 weeks.

Adeline, yeah I saw the Buds products at the Taka fair. It's not bad... smells ok, not very strong fragrance. I think baby products shouldn't have too much fragrance cos maybe babies' sense of smell and skin are sensitive? So long as the ingredients are mild, should be fine.

Jul, you buy so many pads?? Do you bleed that much?? Or rather, will we all bleed that much?? Starting to feel grossed out
kao_scared.gif

Hi Adeline, my tummy is small too. Been hearing that comment from many people since cny. Even my gynae said that when I step into his room yesterday. Got me a bit worried. So he said he'll scan to verify bb's wt. Heng ah. His 1st comment was 'yr baby where got small'. Bb weigh was 906g and at the size of 26 wks old bb. I'm actually only at 24.5 wks so it's reassuring. My 1st child and I'm tall too. So no worries abt small tummy if yr gynae say all's well.

Belly Button
Mine didn't pop out for #1 neither for this preg.

Nattan: yes.. We bleed that much. Double of our usual menses for a day. Then multiple it by 20-30 days. Kinda making up for the past 9 mths i guess.

Pads
I bought kotex. The 41 cm type with wings.

Fleur

Coz i just bought sofy pads n have the packet right in front of me lol

Smilezz

Dunno i just bring. I din use the last time. In fact din even shower in hosp. but u nvr know right? My motto is to be prepared. Hee told u i overpack

Nattan

First 2 wks was heavy. Esp during bf, sure kena blood clots! But after that it tapers off. Mine lasted 5 wks or so leh

Cindy, my belly is similar to nattan's. Belly button is flat. But not sure if it's small for 23 weeks. Anyway gynea comment that my weight gain is normal. Baby is normal size too. Guess u r same as me, cos of our height, baby got room to grow 'vertically'. Hehe. But still cant wait to see tummy grow as I wanna go for maternity shots.

Petrina, I was just enjoying the no menses period...saved a lot from napkins cost. Din expect the blood flow will b so heavy after birth...scary.

Petrina

I aws overpack on hols. Will bring enough toiletries to last the number of days. Then i'll add safety factor. Hubs gave up on me long ago. He was the one who kept away my duffel n took out the luggage bag when i was packijg my hosp bag lol

Adeline

Take heart. Menses usu stay away when u're bf-ing exclusively. Mine din come back till 10mths n from then, no more cramps woohoo!

Lochia

I'm fine abt the bleeding just more worried abt back flow n staining the bedsheets. Anyway, one step at a time la.

Adeline

When are u taking yr mat shots? Bigger belly looks sexier yah?

Cindy

How tall are u? Good that your baby is on track n bigger for his age!

Mothercare sale

So did anyone go in the end? I'm going for my checkup later. Wondering if I shld just pop by.

Adeline : the mozzie cream smells of citronella! Haha unless u like the smell of citrOnella
but it's a natural repellent against mozzies.

Morning mummies...

ssmilezz, I may go to the Mothercare sale later after work. See how...

Adeline, which studio are you going to? I was also thinking of taking maternity shots but hubby isn't keen :p

Jul, depends on the person.. I think I'm super fertile leh.. My menses comes back on my 2nd mth, stop for 1 mth, then come back again on my 4th mth!!
I only enjoy 1-2 mths without menses even though I exclusive breastfeed for 16 weeks, and exclusive pumping for 1 year. huhu..

Maybe becoz I'm too young, still 25 years old when giving birth to my #1..

groovy

I have a theory...

People who push their BM supply to the limits will delay the menses longer. Coz it's like exclusively feeding the baby for 6 mths, &amp; telling the body that the baby is still young, needs nutrients from mummy etc.

But people who have so much milk that they're not using their full capacity, the body thinks that the critical first 6 mths is already over, so the body can relax &amp; channel nutrients to other things other than making milk.

Sigh.. I'm very sad to report that I'll have to buy f-ing wide disp panties. There's excess cloth &amp; some stretch to it, but with a think pad inside, better to be comfy than to have the seams cutting into my thighs. HIAZ!

Jul

I was asking my hub what FW might mean. He came to the theory it meant FULL WIDTH. The max the cloth can stretch for that size. :p

So the Guardian one not big enough ah? Since the pads are typically so thick and "pong", need to cater some room for it hor.

Nattan

I read online that those baby clothes are 50% off but mostly out of small sizes? I wanted to go see the nursing bras actually.

smilezz

Big enough! Big enough! I'm not that fat yet hahaha I meant that I can't really downsize to L so v sad lor haha

Ow ow ow! The legs are digging on my right side. This fellow has been diagonally inside me for a week or so. Keeps digging his feet into the right side of my tummy.

Long cotton socks

Any idea where to get these?

I'd prefer the 100% cotton, absorbent type rather than the spandex type coz I have sweaty feet &amp; need something more absorbent.

Also want those which are reaching to mid-calf level.

I dun care abt colour or looks, but shd be quite cheap