(2012/06) Jun 2012

stretch marks cream doesnt necessary stop the marks fr appearin. Sm sy it cn b due to genes wor. So mayb cn chk if ur mummy has any. I hv mine fr #1 preg. Thy r gona sty liao lor. So i nvr bother to apply any cream liao. Jus use moisturisin shower gel to prevent itchy skin. :p

chris
i also have mine from #1... haha.. and mine's ugly!! i now diligently slap on the cream twice daily to prevent more of those ugly marks from appearing! i really wana faint from seeing mine! =(

haven't gone down to taka fair..i so wanna go aft hearing all the good buys!

Anyone keen to buy some carters online.. it's having 25% off with orders above $75.. the clothes are oh-so-yummy! indicate interest here? or PM me?

Nipple cream,

I found it's not useful at all. I have one or more in my home but only use it once and I found it's not very useful..
The lactation consultant/ pre-natal class usually said just moisturize your nipple using the breastmilk.

For me I'm a bit afraid of chemicals that will go inside my baby's mouth.. Even though it's truly tested to be safe already. hehe..

Hmm... Think my boobs upped half a rib size n 1 cup size. Same as last round. I was small to begin with, as in really flat haha. Now at least i look 'normal' Btw i dun think they sag. Maybe too flat to sag???

I dun wear bra at home too. I just wear those jokey pasar malam nightdress haha. But i definitely l must wear nursing bras after delivery. For some reason, i leak if there's no support even tho there isn't much milk! But tmc lact consultabt warned me must wear, else will have lumps of blocked ducts forming at thebottom where it's not supported. I did get those lumps! Again dunno y since so small n lil milk hiaz!

Stretchmarks

Idin have any. N dun see any yet, touch wood! But myskin does itch so i just apply topicrem

Nipple cream

Have only used avent. Find it necessary for the first mth when the nipples r sore n sensitive. After that dun need liao

Emma Jane bras

Can get from tmc parentcraft, mums n babes. Not sure where else. Maybe someone else can help?

nattan
I knew my boy will be smaller in size than others during detailed scanning as there's some blockage of the umbilical cord towards baby so he is unable to get as much nutrients as others. And I realise carrier has a weight limit so he wasn't able to use it until older so I have to use stroller first instead.
Anyway is quite hard to use carrier for long hours as he poo every feed so sometimes I'm not able to find nursery room and got to find a quiet corner to change him on the spot, stroller is a better choice for me. =)

moi
I used tiny bubbles brand, bought them online from my cloth diaper seller as she send everything to me locally (msia) without charges.

jul
Thats' alot of damages! I hope this sat i won't spend too much at taka too, haha.

Yea, my boy has been sitting in his car seat since we moved to JB so now he can sit inside for 4hrs without complaining.

petrina
My sister has a lucky baby stroller given by her friend too and her son dont like it as well.Seem to me that some strollers material seem to be warmer than other brands. Like my sister's son, he sweat alot in lucky baby stroller despite having 2 fans blowing at him. But my peg perego and marclaren don't have this problem.

cindy lim
I will be using back some of my old nursing bras and adding another 2 new nursing bras so total i will 6 of it. Last time I bought them at around 8mths pregnant and i up 3 cup then. After i stopped bfing, it goes back to my pre-preggy size (so sad, haha).

nipple cream
If my memory didnt fail me, try to get those without Cocoa Butter as they are thicker and required you to clean it off before bfing. This is what Mrs BB Wong said during her lesson when I attended in TMC after delivery. So I bought avent from the hospital and used that for a couple of weeks.

Been a silent reader of this thread for sometime. I am a late june mummy..edd 30th june. Just curious, any mummies around week 23 and 24 still with small tummy? Mine is still rather small and I get envious when I see mummies with big round tummy in my anenatal class. Could it be due to 1st baby that's why its small? I am rather tall, so i console myself thinking baby has more space to grow 'vertically'. Hehe.

Also, any mummies attending TMC Anenatal class at AMK hub on tuesday? The 7pm class by WBB. If yes, hope to know someone then can share tips. Yesterday was the 2nd lesson and its quite fun to see how she instruct the hubbies to 'share the burden'.

morning mommies!

went to the wholesale baby shop ytd.. reached there before 6 but it was closed already!!! in fact most of the shops there are closed already
wasted trip.. but lucky i just stay opposite. hehe. maybe will go down during lunch or on saturday morn!

heard from my colleagues its easier to dress the baby with those tops that tie ribbons one.. so looking for those!

Nursing Bra
will go M&S today after work to take a look!

Chris

Haha I must interview my mommy again? Lol. Stuck in a morning meeting and my tummy is growling. Hungry ba.

Jul

Is Emma Jane bras good? Any padding? What's the cost like?

Disposable Undies

Are you planning to buy and use during our hospitalisation stay or confinement? I always felt that those disposables are very flimsy. Dunno if can attach the pads.

Cindy

That shop is very popular among the mummies. My SIL bought her baby's home clothes, diaper cloth, etc from that shop.

Those baby clothes with ribbons or strings to tie, I think
Mothercare sells them.

ssmilezz
get those cottony dispoable undies.. can get frm watsons.. quite cheap.. can't rem exact price, but it's not the usual flimsy/translucent ones.. supposedly can even wash n re-use.. confinement i used my regular ones.. not a hassle

ssmilezz

icic.. will go check it out! the clothes that i bought are mostly for going out one.. Gap baby, carters, osh kosh, raphl lauren etc.. better buy some for stay home ones..

cindy lim
tops with tie ribbons are indeed easier for 1st time mummies as it quite hard to hold onto baby head+neck while wearing head in first clothings. As for me, maybe cause a few time mummy already so quite chor lor with newborn and just use the head in first top + romper.

ssmilezz
I will be buying disposable undies and wear it for a mth but getting those 100% cotton, they are better in quality and stretchable. Maternity loop pad i put 2 pads in each time, got to finish them since hospital already charged 1 pack. After that finish, I will use my normal overnight pad with wings.

Ssmilez, I bought 5 packs of disposable underwear during the watsons expo sale. Haha... Regretted not buying abit more. Pregnant liao dunno how to calculate. keke. Think it was 5undies for $2 or 7undies for $2 (can't remember) The ones I bought were the cloth material one, theres the paper kind which is cheaper but hubby say y torture myself during confinement and use the itchy paper underwear when its just a few cents difference.

Anyway I decided on the disposables cos I can't imagine asking the confinement lady to help me wash my stained underwear. Worse still if keep sweating mabbe i might change 2 underwears in a day.

Hi Adeline, I'm now 24 weeks (EDD 27 June) and my tummy is quite big, like a watermelon/basketball in front of me :p...rest of the body didn't put on a lot though. I'm about 1.68m tall. I think size of belly doesn't matter.. what matters is whether your baby is growing well. Your doctor should be able to advise you whether baby is at the right size for your pregnancy stage.

Ssmilezz, Taka baby fair is selling Emma Jane bras for about $40+ (discounted from UP $70+). I may get them, but not sure if I should buy so soon since size may still change...

Re disposable undies, my boss gave me a pack of 5 from Mothercare ($8). I'll probably use them during hospital stay and switch back to usual undies when I'm home.

Cindy

Yah, don't forget yr baby will need some comfy home clothes for daily wear.
you can buy them in either half a dozen or a dozen. Cheap and comfy after many washes.

Asrias

I realized I become quite bad at mental calculation nowadays. Will be blur for a moment and my mind need to slowly process the price and info to determine if it's worth buying. Like my intel
Comp chip has been downgraded down 386 or 486 model.

Disposable Undies

Thanks for the info. I didn't know there are two types of materials! Cotton and paper. I only used those paper types before and the quality really sucks man. Tears so easily!

Nattan

Really? The bras r sold at taka? I didn't see them. The discount is worth it!

Audreyaw

How do you use two
Pads at one go?? I cannot figure out. You mean line them up and paste?

Dear Adeline, yup, mine not to big too. Should be because she is my first baby

Thanks for the disposable panties advice, gonna get from Watsons later.

<font color="aa00aa">audreyaw,
Yes, I've heard about Tiny Bubbles which is cloth diaper friendly. Malaysia has quite a no. of online shops selling Cloth Diaper stuff so your choices are wide.

Re: Disposable Underwear
I wore them during confinement and also used 2 pads each time for the first few days (practised by hospital too).

Re: Tummy size
Mine is huge for my small built and I've got lots of stretch marks (even more than #1's time). My mum did not have any stretchmark even after 3 births and from mym tummy size, she thought I was carrying twins. Even some of my colleagues worry if I can "take the load" until full-term.
So, I think stretchmark and tummy size may be partially due to genetics, my bad muscle tone and hubby's gene (his family members are bigger sized).</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ssmilezz,
We're using those loop pads by stacking one on top of the other and used with a tight underwear so that they won't shift.</font>

Audrey

Maybe I'm just a spendthrift at heart haha. I tend to not buy snything, then suddenly go on major splurges haha. Nvm, I keep telling myself that I'm buying Necessities haha

Yup, mine will now climb into his car seat on his own. But he ahs this irritating habit of folding down the middle arm rest, stepping on it, then flipping himself into the car seat. Takes so long esp when you're in a hurry! Hiaz nvm lah, as long as he's willing to climb in by himself.

Adeline

Harlow
Yeah if it's the frist baby, &amp; you're tall, naturally you'll be smaller. Unless you're like me, tummy aws pops out really huge &amp; fast. it's indivudual lah, nothing to do with BB. My gynae says I have 'gas' haha

Cindy

personally I prefer buttons. The ribbons keep coming undone &amp; they start unravelling!

I also am a chor lor mummy. By the end of the first week, I was too fed up &amp; tired to be scared &amp; gentle liao haha

smillezz

Nope not padded. I can say 90% of nursing bras aren't padded. I used the Pigeon breast pads to 'pad' them haha. But I did get one Bravado Bliss bra that is padded. It's expensive though, at $60+. I'll keep it for outside use. At home, I guess can just use non-padded, unless guests are coming then I'll switch.

get those cotton stretchy disposable undies. Hush Puppies has them. They're almost like normal ones but maybe a bit more 'holey' netted material. Very stretchy &amp; comfy. Papaer ones don't fit me, coz I have a huge butt haha

Btw TMC gives this very very stretchy, boy shorts, netted type of undies. It's very comfy &amp; can hold the pad without sticking. You can get extras from the TMC pharmacy.

Ssmilezz, yes.. you can find them on a shelf near the Medela booth facing the row of cashiers. The price is about the same as M&amp;S before discount? So, maybe you want to check out M&amp;S first before making a purchase..

How to use the loop pads?? I've never seen them before...

Oh ya.. Adeline, this is my first baby too...

smilezz

yes, the Emma Jane bras are at the Medela section. 20% off is very worth it, as I seldom see them on discount. I bought 3 of them (coz that's all they have in my size haha)

So is the Zaki hands. I highly recommend the Zaki hand. I saw TMC Parentcraft using them &amp; they look so good! The bean sprout husk pillow was useless on my boy coz he kept thowing them off. Too light lah. Even the 1kg one from Kiddy Palace also CMI. I din try the 2kg one though haha.

They are at 40% discount, so go get it. I bought 2 lor!

Nursing Bras with "string" or holes

This is my personal preference.

But I like nursing bras that can totally expose the breast, left with one strap/cloth holding the bra. I dislike the one with holes cut out to just expose the nipple.

I find it so difficult to position the baby &amp; sometimes the cloth gets into his mouth! Duh...

ssmilezz and nattan
Those loop pads doesn't have the sticky bottom like our usual ones, only 2 holes at the front and back so we are supposed to use a string to tie it.
Maybe is just me, I can never able to tie them tight enough and end up having it dropping while walking to the toilet. Putting 1 pad will shift but it will not if you put 2 each time.
You will see them after delivery, i saw the loop pad for the first time when i delivered. Haha..

moi
Yea, many mummies here like to use either cloth diapers or traditional diapers so is very easy to find them online.

jul
Mine like to climb on himself too but most of the time i throw him instead cause he is taking too much time. He will go up from the other end of the car entrance, take off his shoes before climbing in and he will demand to wear his shoes back after that.

Button top is another choice too but when u have a crying baby, really no time to button every button!

I never seen the hole cut nursing bra before, mine is those expose the breast with a bra strap holding the bra type.

Audrey, the loop pad sounds archaic and nasty! :p Think I'll stick to the normal overnight maxi pads..

Jul, what's the Zaki hand for? It looks weird putting it on the baby...

Jul

What is Zaki hands? Also a bra brand??
I'm just as chor lor. :D
Very lazy to go to Taka again. Not sure if there will be sizes. Hehe

Loop Pads

Actually I also dunno how to use. Must use string to tie? Very old school!

Bean Sprout Pillow

I just bought my bean sprout pillow and received my pillows on mon.
very pleased with the quality and work done. I ordered from Love &amp; Heritage website. I have 10% off if anyone else intends to get too. Just PM me for the code.

I still have a few miscellaneous things to get like:
1. Nail Clippers for babis
2. Nasal Applicator
3. Sanitary Pads
4. Nursing bars
5. Nipple cream
6. Perineal gels(Do get them!!)

No need to go taka fair for all these right??

audrey

Haha yours very cute, still gotta take off shoes first. I can't throw mine in leh, gotta bend low, carry him, &amp; he's so heavy! Even my Hubs complain of back ache, that's why we started training him to get in himself.

Er.. crying baby lagi no time to tie ribbon leh haha

Yeah those hole cut out ones are common leh. Esp nursing spaghettis etc are mostly like that.

Audreyaw

The thought of the loop pad dropping as I walk to the toilet is quite an embarrassing sight man. Hehe. Super malu. How to discretely pick up the dropped pad and walk away?

Jolene, can get these from Robinson's during their sale too. Some items could be cheaper than at Taka baby fair. Re perineal gels, what brand do you use? Actually a cheaper alternative is to use vegetable massage oils like grapeseed oil (which I have at home) or even canola/olive oil. No need to spend extra money if you have these at home already.

I think I wanna make my own beansprout pillow
My hubby says he wants to make his own baby sling.. that's too ambitious for me. So I have my own project now ;)

Beansprout Pillow

Till now I wonder if my #1 is some sort of freak. The bean sprout pillow just cannot hold him. That's why this time, I went to get the Zaky hands

Haha...Audrey, your son is so cute..know how to climb in himself.

I guess tummy sizes really varies...was so tempted to ask the mummies around me how many weeks they are in.

Going down Taka fair later to grab the good deals. Hope still have stocks left.

Any mummies here experience something called 'Placenta Pulsating"? Feels like continuous heartbeat near pelvis/ cervix area. Initially i thought its the baby's hiccups or kicking, but after checking with Mrs WBB, she said its caused by blood pumping through the uterous.

ssmilezz
The nurses in delivery suite will use that after u deliver, they don't allow you to get out of bed on your own. So you will be wearing the loop pad until you get to change it later in the ward.

Keep holding onto the string while walking into the toilet, you will feel it dropping. Haha..

I delivered in kkh n thomson before. The nurses in kkh tied it very tight so it won't drop at all but the nurses in thomson don't tie as tight so must be careful when walk to the toilet. So the first thing i do when i can walk to toilet is to wear undies!

bean sprout pilllow
I made my own as my aunt had sun me alot bean sprout husk last time. I just buy ready made normal bolster and replaced the inside. =p

Jolene
You can just get them anywhere, don't need to go all the way to taka to get them.

jul
He is those type like cleaniness de, abit dirty will go wash hands or pull baby wipes to clean. Ahh.. I forgot my car is those higher type so I don't need to bend down.

I only tie the outside and carry, the inside just leave it open. Haha..

I just wear normal tees when i bf but of course i used the nursing cover so i don't care how it look like in the inside.

Jul

Your son just very strong la. You sure the Zaki hands will hold him down?

Nattan

It's a good idea to make your own pillow if you are good at handy craft.
personalized for yr little boy. When do u intend to start on yr project?

Unfortunately I'm horrible at handycraft.

Adeline

There are like 6 MTBs at my work place all with varying baby bump sizes. Some with very distinctive outie belly buttons too.

Ssmilezz, I will try to make the pillow maybe next month.. this month is a busy period at work. My idea is simple.. just buy a plain baby pillow case, decorate it with some iron-ons then fill it, and then sew the opening close.

My workplace also has many pregnant women too (from different depts) and my own office has 2 (including myself) + 2 dads-to-be

so many preggies at my workplace too! really many dragon babies..

anyway my mom went to market to get the bean sprout husks when i was at my 3rd month.. had to pick and dry for like weeks! much effort. hope my baby appreciates his grandma's effort

do we really need a lot of pads during confinement?? i didn't really think about it until my colleague told me she had like heavy period for 5 weeks straight! shocked me man.. must go stock up already.. and i hate it when i stain on my bed sheets..
any ways to prevent that??

Cindy, how to get the bean sprout husks? Need to buy from the bean sprout stall in the market?? Haha.. I thought can just put dried green beans...

audrey

For TMC, they dun usee the string to tie. They just tuck it into that stretchy undies &amp; it can miraculously hold it there. No need for string or sticking or what. How come yours got string?

My son is also clean freak in a strange way. he keeps picking &amp; digging his nose! Cannot stand even a bit of stuff in it. A bit of water wetting his clothes, he'll whine &amp; complain &amp; cry to change clothes! But he can play with poo, dirt, shoes whatever &amp; not care. Think as long as he doesn't feel the dirtiness, he thinks it's clean? *scratch head*

smilezz

Dunno abt this one. But somehow I feel this one isn't so strong &amp; active as #1. At least the Zaky hand is much heavier than the bean sprout pillow. That one, think my #1 could sneeze it off hahaha

Chris

Cannot remember exact price liao. It's $40+. Original price like $70+. I also stumbled onto it at the Medela section. Was so happy when I saw the price! I intended to buy it when I send my Medela PISA for servicing nearer EDD, but since it's on 40% now, whack ah! hahaha

nattan
my aunt asked for it from the bean sprout store seller since she buy bean sprout from her last time. You need to ask from them if they are willing to sell you, some don't.

jul
My boy also want to change his clothes if its wet and always dig his nose!

I also don't know why but I realised I had the stretchy undies in a plastic bag when i look through the stuffs in my ward. I was still thinking what was that until u mentioned it earlier!

leg cramp
I heard that when you have leg cramps, it mean you are not taking in enough calcium. Many of them increase their calcium intake and no long have it. *touch wood* didn't try to increase my intake yet as I havent get any leg cramps.