(2012/06) Jun 2012

Hi Anna,
If u thinking of buying Palmer, maybe u wanna try the body shop one, cos they r both cocobutter. Is so much cheaper at body shop. Cocobutter is for stretch mark. So guess they have the same function.
If u wanna try, don't buy the duo one.. They have 2 type, get the normal one.

Priscilla, $25 for Bodyshop's cocoabutter is more expensive than the $16 I paid for Palmer's... but maybe the quantity is more for Bodyshop's. Does it have a strong cocoa smell? Every time I use Palmer's my hubby will comment that he feels like he's sleeping next to a bar of chocolate! :p So I've been using Topicrem more often.

We went to get our stroller and baby car seat over the weekend. The retailer told us that they will be participating in the baby fairs over the next 3 weeks and the prices offered to the shoppers over last weekend was the prices for the fairs. She mentioned that the Taka Fair will be the first week of March.

heehee...wonder if kiddy will b having their sale soon too.

Hi nattan,
Haha, ur hubby very cute.. Body shop one, not that bad.. I can't smell myself Le... U can go body shop to try the sample there.. Or u can bring ur hubby to body shop. Ask him whhich is better..becos he has to bear the smell for the next 4months....

Sometime back I went to the warehouse that sell baby cot , stroller etc,at bendemeer. they also mention that they will be at the baby expo and taka fair. Those who interested to buy cot can take a look. They have some kind of package. Quite gd buy..

Hi nattan,
Is infantino warehouse, the one at blk 994 bendemeer. They sell package for 399 or 499 include baby cot, gd quality mattress, baby safe, baby seat , etc.. Something like that.. They ask me to visit baby expo or taka fair to purchase..

jul
----
Ya I'm one of those who is allergic to Palmer's! I remember when i used it for my 1st pregnancy, my whole tummy grew rashes and it was soooo itchy and i've to stop using stretch mark cream and apply rashes cream instead. In the end, stretch marks appeared in my 9th month! Before Palmer's, I used Pigeon which was mild and nice and i didn't have rashes. This time round, I bought my rashes cream from my gynae but i forgot the brand name. It's very expensive ($40) but very good so far, nice smell and no rashes.

Baby Fairs
----------
Baby Expo on this weekend so I'm going! I know Taka Baby fair always happens in March so keep a look out! I always go and buy the Huggies diapers at taka fair, so much cheaper during sale.

Pelvic Pain
------------
Anyone started to feel pain in their pelvic region? I only felt the pain during my 3rd trimester in my previous pregnancy but this one, i felt it so much earlier. Is it because it's my 2nd pregnancy and it's loosen? I can't walk too long and when i sleep, i feel pain when i turn. Can't imagine when i reach 3rd trimester - cannot turn liao.

Joycie

Me! I've been having the pain since 21 weeks. The last time round, i got it ard 27/28 weeks, if i rem correctly. Hope it doesn't mean i'll give birth even earlier this time!

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Anti-stretchmark Cream/Lotion
I'm also "sensitive" to Palmer's Cocoa Butter. For #1, I've used anti-stretchmark oils, brands such as Mothercare, Avent, etc. but I've got lots of stretch mark. For my case, it's due to my bad muscle tone as my mum doesn't have any even after giving birth to 3 kids.

Re: Baby Expo
Can you please update what's good buys there as I don't seem to see any advertisement for it. Still thinking if I want to make the trip down as I'm staying at the other end of this island.

Re: Pelvic Pain
I've experienced it earlier for this pregnancy but now experienced another kind of discomfort. It's not pain per se but rather feels a heavy load on my pelvic region. Again, gynae said it's due to bad muscle tone &amp; sagged ligaments, esp. since this is not my first pregnancy.</font>

Hey mummies.. just saw a Philips Avent promo today.. Starts today till Sun: Get a $50 shopping voucher plus 3 packs of baby wipes when you spend a min of $250 on Philips AVENT products at authorised retailers.

Thanks Priscilla for the clarification. Looks like we are all waiting for the Baby Expo for better deals!

Joycie, I'm also starting to feel some stretching pains in my lower abdominal/pelvic area. Probably ligaments are being stretched. Do you exercise? May be a good idea to start on yoga or something to improve your muscle tone and help yourself have an easier delivery.

My CN is available in mid June for confinement duties before her next duty in Aug.
She is from M'sia (staying in SIN) and you do not require to apply any pass for her.
PM me for her contact.

i wil b goin to the fair tis fri aftrn too. Any mummies goin mayb cn go together since i wil b alone.
shld b ther ard 3pm. I wil move off fr cck. So i cn giv a ride if u r stayin ard too.

i also hv the pelvis pain. Definitely earlier than #1. Tink i m gettin weak too. :p

thers so many fairs n promo, smtimes dont knw whether to gt the items in tis fair or wait for anthr. :p

BABY FAIR

Think i'll just go for the taka fair. Much more accessible. Guess it's also that i don't have much to buy. Mostly small items like diapers, pads, bottles etc

Chris, you can spread your buys, cos heard that there's another Taka baby fair in Aug too. Usually they have it twice a yr. For Baby Expo and BabyCare Fair, I'm mainly looking for the stroller and cot. Then for Taka fair in March and Aug, shop for other things like the pads, diapers, etc. I don't want to buy too many things and clutter the house. Gotta watch my cashflow also :p

There are a few websites that offer good deals also, so if you miss the fairs, can still get good offers online.

Pelvic Pain
-----------
Wow it seems like we 2nd time moms experience the pain earlier than the 1st time. Must be due to the ligaments being stretched.
Me too loshita, my pain is on my left side. nattan, I used to go for pre-natal yoga for my 1st one but this time, i'm too lazy to go for exercise.

I'll be looking for new bedsheet set. I only have 1 set now. So it's good to buy a new one for the baby so when the side panel is dirty can wash and replace. Nowadays I just leave #1 sleeping without side panel when it's dirty..

Probably I will go Taka baby fair. More accessible and I feel it'll be less crowded..

Last time I went Taka baby fair I bought cheap playpen if not wrong only $79 :p.

As for the rest like Pigeon etc, sometimes I feel if buying in robinsons when got 20% discount is about the same.. Because the discount usually max is 20%. But there will be more variety of items in the fair usually. I like robinsons becoz I have robinsons card, can get another straight away 5% rebate which immediately offset the purchases. So if 20% discount will be 20% + 5%.

Btw, last weekend I saw Chicco High chair is on 50% discount in Robinsons! It's a very good deal! I bought normal price last time hux. Different like $150

The one I went to is Robinsons at Centerpoint.. The high chair if not wrong now become $150 (or even less), last time is $329 or more. Can't remember but I remember I bought $300. Huhuhu..
The chair can be reclined so the baby can sleep there (sometimes my #1 ZZZzz when feeding her last time). But cannot swing it though. It can be pulled up or down too to adjust the height.

I think there's a higher end version of the chair too right now, priced $189 (after discount), dunno what's the different.

Breastfeeding Diet

Heard from my SIL that we must be careful with wat we eat if we intend to BF. Experience mum, please advise what to eat and wat <u>not</u> to eat

Stretch mark cream

My friend highly recommended L'Occitane 100% Organic Pure Shea Butter...saying it's much bttr than Cocoa Butter from Bodyshop as it's more creamy. I went to try the one at the bodyshop during lunch time today and feel that it may not last that long. I'm starting to feel the itch by the afternoon after applying the topicrem in the morning. Went to try Elanycl at Watson which dun seems to be that good too. Another recommended Bio Oil which I saw it at Pharmacy...it contains Vitamin A ingredient...it's a no no for us.

Baby Expo

Most likely we will see one another not knowing who is who. Lol...

Michi, I read that generally we should avoid those foods that contain caffeine, alcohol and spices, as spices like chilli can affect the taste of breast milk. If baby is having jaundice, should avoid ginger as well (about this, I'm not sure if it's just old wives' tale). Eat a lot of high protein food like fish and dairy products, fresh fruits/veges, and also drink lots of water. Don't forget calcium supplement as breast milk will leech calcium from your body.

Anna, think your skin is dry type so you itch more easily. I apply Topicrem only at night and never reapply in the morning.. I don't experience any itch at all...

Michii

I used Kotex &amp; Pureen Madame pads.

Can't really recall abt Kotex coz I was made to lie there after epi &amp; they only gave me 10 pads. By the time I was allowed to get up, the Kotex ran out liao haha.

Pureen is so-so. I find that it bunches up easily, but that could be because it's those thick type of pads. But it was ok for lochia absorption. Coz we need to change frequently for hygiene. I find that for natural birth, we shd get the thicker pads to cushion the stitched area. For C-sec, think not much blood, &amp; no stitches, so it's ok to use normal pads.

As for BF-ing, can eat anything. Just don't anyhow take emdication without checking with the doctor. And don't drown your baby with alcohol. But if the PD diagnoses your baby with reflux, allergy, eczema etc, they may recommedn you to skip certain food. So it depends on your baby also.

Michi, for BF: when baby is first 3 months, best to avoid any kinds of ginger, including yellow ginger (turmeric)

I never drink alcohol at all. My friend said she drink alcohol when baby sleeps overnight but not me. I just drink beer 1 time in 1 year. (and regret it since preggy again cannot drink again huhu).

Regarding cannot drink coffee, chili etc, I don't really believe. Just still eat in moderation. So far no problem. It's just you'll feel your baby will awake more often if you drink coffee..

I feel if I eat ginseng chicken soup or those herbal soup, my baby will be awake more often too. hehe..

anna

Haha yeah, if I were at the fair, I'll surely be wondering whether every preggie woman with similar tummy size is from our thread haha

I was thinking hor, if let say want to improve the flow of BM, we need to pump/latch every 1-2hr. If like tat, wont the baby be very tired also?

Like nv give them enough rest... hahaha, even adult will also feel pek chiak right if someone wakes u up every 2 hrs?

Jul, Michi is asking about BREAST pads.. not the pads for lochia.. hahaha...

Re diet, I cannot live without my kopi so I will probably still drink 1 cup a day :p Haha... if baby is awake then let daddy handle lor..

Michi, you don't need to pump and latch every 1-2hrs since baby will be demanding a feed every 2 hrs! But once baby's sleep pattern is established to sleep thru the night, you'll need to pump regularly even when baby is not waking to feed, like every 3-4hrs.

Anyway, for the below, I think I will use back my sanitary pad for menses one bah since I stock up quite a lot of those ultra long one

Michi

I used Pigeon breast pads. Never tried other brands, but the consensus seems to be that Pigeon is not bad. Anyway I din have much milk to leak anyway. Ended up using the BREAST pads as nipple paddings for the stupid thin nursing bras.

Argh can't believe I'm so blur hahaha

Michi

Er.. I already wanted to 'die' from exhaustion. My #1 would demand to be fed very often, esp past midnight! No energy to pump liao haha

Happy Valentine's Day to all mummies! <3
Going off to enjoy movie date with my hubby... Better enjoy all these dates before the little one comes between us.. haha..

Groin pain
Me too.. When i lie on left side, my right butt hurts alot. And vice versus.

Best is lie on back but that is worst position to be in as a pregnant woman... Haha

I won't be buying much this time since i've got most stuffs. Some 2nd hand from SMH forum. Plus this time i'm FTWM, so i don't think i'll need much accessories apart from the much awaited pampers or huggies sale in any expo sale.

Last pregnancy i spin the wheel and won a Braun Ear thermometer after spending $80 at pampers booth. But spend $20 taking taxi home.. Haha
Hope this time they have similar promotion

Breast pads
Based on price and experience from other mummies, fold hankies will do. Cause leaks will usually occur only when y latch one side. Otherwise for work and outings, pigeon is best. Thin and absorbant. Nuk works too. But sticky tape not fantastic compared to pigeon. For me i push bra down. So tape not essential.

For lochia pads
Kotex wings they have the 35-40 cm type. Those r super thin n absorbant. So slping time won't stain bed.
Best after all the brands i've tried. Sofy matches. But price steeper.

Bfing diet
I believe just eat fish, broccoli, papaya, pork or beef.
Chicken will make wound itch.
Spinach will co react with vitamin c absorption
Cabbage cause colic in babies
Liver is toxic
Ginger is bad for jaundice
Sesame oil may cause itch in epidural moms
Seafood n eggs may cause early allergy in babies
Seafood also create wound issues
Threadfin is best for c sec moms
Snakehead fish cause horrible scarring for c sec moms
Some others i can't remember. Maybe. An google those foods u have suspicions then u read more.

Good morning. I went for detailed scanning yesterday. Howver, KKH is weird cos they do not weigh the baby during 2nd trimester, only at 3rd trimester. They can only measure the size. I m having a baby gal &amp; in the end, I broke down uncontrollably! Baby is very active. I guess my gynae is very sensitive &amp; comforted me when he saw my report that baby's a gal &amp; stuff. He even asked me how many days of MC do I need to take a break? However, he mentioned that my placenta is low &amp; will check at 7-8 months again. He also mentioned that baby's head is very big &amp; body is chubby, which is not good to deliver. Hence, I was advised to walk more after dinner or cut down on rice / sugary stuff!
I also gained another 3kg, so at 20 weeks, so far already gained 5kg!!

Hi Zo,
I hope you are feeling better today. As long as your little girl is healthy and active, it is a blessing already. I gained 6kg at 21 weeks. Is there a reason why your dr wants you to watch your weight?

petrina
Thanks, ur info really detailed

Zo
Dun worry abt the low placenta. So long as baby get enough nutrient can already.

ssmilezz
I wont be getting one, maybe juz place a mat on the sofa/table/cot

Zo
i think your weight gain is very normal. i gained 5.7kg at week 20 and now at week 24 havent go for check up but sure gained another 3kg+ already.. my gynae said no more than 12kg is alright, although i believe i will gain more than 12kg this time round...

placenta low is normal, i had that for #1 and now for #2 same thing, placenta low again, last time it moved up around 7th month.. so no worries..

as for baby's weight, my gynae last time never measure at all, only estimate based on head size right before my delivery.. my #1's head is big and he said at least 3.6-3.7kg.. end up less than 3.2kg only.. but even he estimated a big baby, he checked my pelvis size at week 37 and encouraged me to go for natural delivery.. so don't worry too much as it's still very early now..

i can see this pregnancy is quite a tough experience for you, cheer up, your baby girl will feel your emotion and you must be a happy mummy to deliver a happy baby!!

ssmilezz
i don't find changing table necessary at all.. but just a side note, if you put baby on your bed to change diaper, remember to sit down on the bed or on a chair, rather than stand there then bend over, will get back pain after a few months..