(2012/06) Jun 2012

<font color="aa00aa">libragem,
I used:
1) Desitin creamy (blue) - works wonder to clear rashes

2) Lansinoh &amp; Medela. Both are quite sticky but I prefer the former. I tried to use EBM to apply on sore &amp; cracked nipples (then air-dry) but doesn't work for me.</font>

BTW, somehow i think i will kanna discourage by hubby to BF. He keep on saying to me 'scarly you got no BM'

Haiz~ I tink cos' most of his fren's wife all gave up BF-ing cos' they say they got no BM, tat's why my hubby dun wan me to have high hope that I will have milk

Thanks Sapphire, jul, petrina, Groovy for sharing your experiences and tips on breastfeeding. This forum is very informative. Last time, i only did partial BF for 4 months. This time, my aim is to do TBF for the first 4 months and persist for another 4 months partial. Hope all of us will encourage one another. Thanks again

Michi, your hubby should know that every woman is different. Also lactation consultants always say you need to preservere in the beginning cos the milk will not flow immediately. Hope he will give you more support, cos husband's support is very important for the mum to establish the flow also.

joeey, I'm also hoping to do TBF for 4 months and then continue by pumping after I return to work. Hopefully can do for 1 whole yr. If not, then for as long as my supply continues

For the drop in, it has to b used w only playtex bottles? I read the review in amazon n sm sy it leaks? I thot the ice tray storing is interesting. i recall seeing smthing lik this but in longer cubes specially jus for BM. Wonder if the covered ice cubes trays selling in daiso is gd to b use for this purpose.

for FTM who truely wans to BF, it is extremely impt to hv all support u cn get. Also vry impt to mak clear ur intention n determination to BF, to whoever u wil hv contact w during ur confinement, while u r stil preg. Don't b lik mi. My bb nvr fuss during or after latching n he cn latch pretty well n cn even switch easily fr breast to milk bottles, except he cn suck for vry long. But cos bm is nt as filling at FM, my bb has to b fd 2-2.5hrly. Having no experience w BF, as my sis n SIL doesn't BF, my mum n mil kp telling mi tat I don't hv enough milk or BM too diluted or bb doesn't knw hw to latch n blar blar blar, eventually my hubby also starts to chip in on the comments. Felt vry lonely tat time, as if I was struggling alone. Thn w the post natal blues kick in, I was crying vry often. Thn I kp pumping, wake up in the middle of the nite at least twice to pump, pump after every fd, tak supplements and etc. Eventually I wen to lactationist n she affirmed tat my bb is sucking vry well n I hv the best breasts to bf n in fact i hv an over supply n shld stop pumping.

I am from the Aug 2012 Thread. I like to find out if you can PM me some of the confinement ladies that you have engaged. Seems like alot of them are booked. do let me know

All the best to your pregnancy!

Thanks Petrina &amp; Jul for the advise on the pumps... really must think it thru... not a cheap item... sigh.. still got 4 more months and i have not gotten a single baby stuff yet.. seems like got tons of things to get...

For mummies who have gone to previous baby fairs, is the fair super crowded?? I hope not like those IT fairs.. (-_-)'''....

regarding bf

I got conflicting advice. But since my baby had been fed FM, and also expressed BM, he got used to the bottle quite fast. I got a bit upset and went on and on about how he would prefer the bottle instead of my boobs, but actually, I think it was ok for me as letting him drink expressed BM from the bottle allowed me to rest, and allowed him to get used to the bottle. He was still ok with latching on, and there was no nipple confusion.

If you want constant supply, just keep pumping. I decided to stop after 1 year, so I just stopped pumping, and the supply just drastically decreased.

Actually, engorgement may not be all that bad, because it simply means you have lots of milk instead, and it's just waiting for release. Just pump and pump and massage the hard bits away. I had to attend whole day workshops after 3 to 4 months, and couldn't pump that often, resulting in huge engorged breasts. I ended up with a sudden increase in supply and managed to fill up an entire medela bottle for almost both sides. That's when my supply increased. But cannot try this too much, coz supply will eventually dip if you don't pump it out.

DS: not super crowded lah. Still can breathe. Only thing is there will be some sales people that have nothing to do with baby products

glass

The reason for the conflicting advice is because different mummies &amp; babies are different. For my case, MIL pressured me into the bottle. Then once my son took the bottle, he rejected the breast. So it really depends.

Guess the best advice I can think of is.. If you're determined to BF &amp; latch, hold off the bottles. But if you're gonna return to work soon, or don't mind either BM/FM, or to pump &amp; bottle feed only, then it's fine to give the bottle early.

Daffy

yeah it's not cheap. That's why I bought Ameda in the first place. Half the price of the PISA. Then end up having to waste more money by buying a PISA too haha

Chris

For my case, my MIL doesn't believe there's no milk. She kept saying, So BIG, how can be no milk. When my boy cries, &amp; I felt that it was time to feed, she'll override me. Being FTM &amp; blur &amp; inexperienced, I thought, ok shd be correct. So she'll carry my son away, give him pacifier, give him water etc.. then I'll be trailing behind her like a dumb sheep. Not doing anything, just helplessly following her &amp; baby ard.

Felt so terrible then.

This time confinement is at my own place, with my CL, so I will call the shots liao. Figure that if I dun learn from my mistakes, I must be a dumb sheep! Argh! Until now, I still feel so sore abt it. Women are really petty huh? haha

Joeey

U're welcome

Just hope that sharing my experience can benefit others, so that they won't have to go throught the same path that I did.

This time ard, I hope I can latch successfully for at least 6 mths. If that works out, I will continue to latch/pump till 1 yr old. If cannot latch, I have to pump only &amp; stop at 6 mths liao. Coz that's when my #1 comes back to me, &amp; I won't be able to cope with 2 kids while pumping, washing, sterilising etc.

jul

Your advice really helps. I think I will hold my stand and ignore watever discouraging words my hubby/MIL say to me.

After all, it's my child and I will know what is best and wat i can do best for him.

Jul: poor thing

woman petty yes! i always remember the sickening uncle (MIL Brother) cut my boy's hair for man yue. my hb not at home but MIL insist.
then MIL sickening friend say she will help me video the cutting end up she close the videocam. so only video 5sec..
till now i still very sore.
confinement we had lots arguement cause MIL have lots old wives tales to share, this that can't do etc...
but i had strong determination to follow my way maybe tat's y we clashed so badly. but i was glad i didn't sway from my ideals. anyway we managed to make up in subsequent months..

I am a no pacifier, no water, no nonsense person. so even baby cry, i will not give pacifier. then TBF cannot give water to babies below 6mths. even go jabs or sick also can't give. as TBF babies water already alot.
only FM babies can drink water during first 6mths.

glass, btw actually can't leave breast engorged leh.. It won't increase your supply, but can decrease instead.
You'll be able to pump more (if you skip 1, then sure next pump can get 2x supply), but the next time pumping can suffer.

The best is if pump regularly every few hours.
I found my supply gradually decreasing when I start to get lazy so I didn't pump at certain hour. (4 times a day, sometimes pump at 8 hour 4 hour 8 hour 4 hour, this will make your supply reduced. If you constantly at 6 hour 6 hour 6 hour 6 hour is the best)

But of course that one is for total pumping. If you still plus latching it's different case I guess..

<font color="0077aa">Chris, yes the drop-ins only work with playtex bottles. I've used it for #1 and I dun rem having leaking problems leh... The long cube u r referring to could be sensible lines meant specifically for breast milk. Depending on whether u r particular abt bpa free or not, u can definitely use those trays used to freeze ice.

http://www.sensiblelines.com/</font>

Morning mummies..

This morning all the reserved seats were filled with "sleeping" passengers. Next time I should bring an alarm clock huh! Yesterday I managed to ask a guy to give up his seat. My hubby said maybe cos he was with his gf, so needed to act gentlemanly :p

Jul, Michi, Petrina sometimes really got to ignore all the "well-meaning" advice from relatives even if they are elders. My boss told me an incident where her FIL fed her then 6-mth old #1 lingyang (antler horn)! Her baby was having high fever and cough for a while but it was cleared by antibiotics and she was recovering well. The drink was too cooling for the baby so my boss told her ILs that they shouldn't feed her that but they ignored her. Then the next day she had to be hospitalised! Up to now, her #1's lungs are weak

Sometimes elders will think they know more than us out of experience, but times have changed and they may not be as well-informed. As parents, we are responsible for our kids and not our parents or ILs lor.. Don't feel pressured to follow what they suggest if you think it's not right.

Michi

Yeah the best is to stand no interference. We're the mum right?

But saying that, I'm too 'good' a person sometimes. MIL insist, I just give way lor. She nag, I just listen lor. Guess she's very spoilt liao haha

petrina

I also didn't anna give water, pacifier, etc. But MIL will insist to carry away my son &amp; start giving him spoonfuls of water. Really cannot convince her. Everytime hiccup, drink spoonfuls of water. Honstly the hiccups didn't stop lor.

Then stuff pacifier. He refused to take, she even asked my SIL to buy another brand/model or whatever &amp; stuff that on. Stuff until my son addicted. Sleeping also need pacifier. I even have to get up several times a night to restuff the pacifier into his mouth. Then she starts complaining that he is addicted.

Recently he staretd using less of it. I told her he never uses it to nap at home, she also not happy. Like maybe competing with her coz she needs it to make him nap in the afternoon?

Now he's sick, she started giving again even when it's awake. She says it'll shut him up from crying/whining. No lor, my son is very good one. Can cry &amp; whine &amp; talk with the pacifier in his mouth.

She complains that he is rough &amp; spoilt. Who spoilt him? Not me lor. When I let him cry coz he was throwing a tantrum, she will interfere &amp; say dun let him cry... next time become a habit, &amp; he'll become bad tempered! Now he is bad-tempered, &amp; she accuses me of spiling him!

Wah I can go on &amp; on leh...

Couple of days back, she just nagged at me for half an hr for sending him to sch. Wah I super angry lor. Went on &amp; on abt how we are wasting our money, he doesn't do anything in sch, just turn up, ash hands, queue up, play then go home... Shd justs end him at K1... Only then is he capable of learning

I dunno whether to be stunned by her conviction that her grandson is a dumb sheep, incapable of learning.. Or her archaic ideas that kids can start sch at K1 &amp; be ok in Pri 1.. Darned irritating lor. I swear she'll just be happier making him watch TV from 8am to 8 pm all day &amp; start sch at K1. I'm sure after that she'll start complaining that my son cannot elarn, cannot read, cannot write, watch TV all day. Argh!!!

nattan

Hiaz my MIL will aws punctuate her nag/well-meaning advice/scold with 没有骗你的

In my very naughty times, when I'm already tired, stressed with work, busy with #1 &amp; generally up to my ears, I feel like telling her, 可是你是很笨的. But I nvr do it lah. I'm too kind &amp; respectful liao.

Regarding water! Must really careful lor! Especially for those first time grandparents one. Sure they said must give water as it's the habit last time as they give formula milk not TBF..

Until I always insist, then bring them to doctor and specifically ask. In the hospital always specifically ask.

The strange thing is my PIL both doctors but they don't know. Then ask BIL who is studying become PD then knows and not insist anymore..

But in the end I give water to my baby in the hospital becoz PIL insist saying my baby dehydrated lah, not peeing well. Not latching how can pee??

Haha Jul...you're too nice. I usually don't give face. If not happy, even if I don't say out, everyone will know cos it's already written on my face :p Next time your MIL says why your son is so spoilt, you can just act innocent and tell her, I dunno leh.. everything also follow what you tell me to do what! Hehe...

I'm glad I don't have a MIL to come and interfere with my baby! Sorry.. so bad hor.. :p

jul

Can understand. Sometimes i also try to avoid having direct conflict with my in-law since they are staying with us.

I know they meant well lah. Furthermore my MIL used to be a babysitter, she and my hubby definitely think they are right since she got experience.

Maybe i should think of an excuse to let her have less contact with my child... hahaha... like tat she wont have the chance to 'poison' my child

nattan

Huh??? I cannot bring myself to say that leh. really too nice liao hor? How to work on being more firm huh?

groovy

Your PILs are doctors but dunno???

Aiyah pls lah, my PD told my ILs 3 or 4 times. Every visit MIL will ask, &amp; everytime he'll reply the same thing.

Yet she chooses to think that the PD sucks, dunno what he's doing, the old nurse at the polyclinic told SIL that shd feed water, &amp; she'll do it her own way. I dunno why she'd rather believe a nurse than a specialist lor *faint*

Speaking of PD... when my poor son was only 1 wk+, MIL &amp; SIL insisted he had phlegm. Brought him to this PD near MIL's that my SIL goes to.. kena suck phelegm by that suction machine. Then at 8 weeks, she insisted got phlegm again, did the same thing. poor boy cried like dunno what. Coz went to my preferred PD, he said no phlegm, &amp; MIl refused to believe him lor.

After a few episodes of sickness where that PD aws push a lot of meds, finally my boy kena diagnosed with HFMD when he didn't have. Kena eat this emd, eat that med,.. all not relevant one. But super expensive. Then he had diarrhoea till his butt, testicles, penis all red &amp; swollen, weepy etc.

Aftre that I told her I'm nvr going to that PD ever again. Then she believed me that that PD is no good, but only interested in pushing expensive meds to amke money. I keep reminding her once in a while abt how my boy so poor thing, kena vacuumed for no reason when he was so young, just coz PD cannot give meds when he was only a few weeks. Then she'll keep quiet. See if she ever asks if I wanna visit that PD, I'll remind her of all the suffering my son went thru.

Jul: wahh.. i will argue de lor.. pacifier is a trap (to me, for bfing moms)
babies will treat our boobs as pacifiers then suckle to slp, that's y so many ppl say TBF babies no good lah.. suckle for comfort etc..

Re Preschool
same! my MIL also say her boys go K1 n K2 niah.. nvr go playgroup or nursery.. keep saying i very bad, force my son go sch study.. piangz!
now she see him at home talk alot, go out she very proud cause her friends say her grandson very smart. Talk like an adult.. then she start to think maybe we shld develop her grandson.. lol
then i say i dun anyhow send him to school $ hard to earn, muz choose carefully what enrichment to send lor..

then #2 coming i ask if she wanna put him in whole day school. then she not willing, say i hard-hearted. LOL

Nattan/Groovy: yeah. water very dangerous for TBF babies. those lingyang &amp; barley n etc.. cannot anyhow give.

Michi: i avoided my MIL during confinement.. in the end she tell ppl her DIL dun give her carry her grandson.
it took me awhile to mend this wounded heart. hehe
but i was glad i insisted cause she forgot how to carry NB, then super many old wives tales. do what u think is right. u r the mom. bond is urs. nobody can know better than u.

Jul: i once brought my son to this nearby PD, also suck the phelgm out. cause too young to take meds. sucking is ok, but it will come back since the root of cause is not resolved. it is very sad to see ur baby try to breath via mouth n trying to cry at same time.
then his birth PD say to spray nasal water into nose n use the pigeon thing to suck out the mucous when it's wet.
the pigeon tube is linked to a bottle n we use our mouth to suck. we will not touch the mucous as it will drip into bottle.

petrina: hahahaha i let her carry when my baby wants to sleep or need to take a bath lor. Then when baby is awake, told her baby needs to be BF since i believe initially the frequency of BF-ing will occur very often

Petrina

Hiaz the thing is that i din find anything wrong with my son's breathing lor. The PD i like din either. Dunno how MIL n SIL can be so supersonic ears n hear the phlegm!

So this time i'm staying home with a cl. Mil wanna see, she can come up. At least she won't be so eng to kpo 24h. In fact she'll be bz looking after no1 lol

thanks nattan.

btw, i am so pissed off with my helper, making my blood boiled. intend to send her back after her 2 years contract ended with us this year.

Will need a new maid then. any mum have any recommendations for maid agency with reasonable price?

Jasmine

I've been gog for foot reflex. My gynae ok me after 1st tri. My foot reflexologist will also tell me each time that they'll avpid the points connected to the womb n whatnot. Think i've been 4 times since i cleared 1st tri. I went during my no1 too. Maybe that's y i din have swelling n my legscremained quite slim haha

Jul,

so do you have any contractions or sort after that? is your foot reflex frm a place that specialise in prenatal massage?

Jasmine,

Mine is Maid Asia at Sembawang Sun Plaza. Just next to Dr. Lawrence Ang's clinic..

Rate is quite reasonable for Indo maid $400 now.. Dunno if other nationalities.

Service is quite OK.

Sigh, if maid got problem is really troublesome. When's your contract expired? I really think you'd better get a new maid immediately if you really pissed off. But depends lah, for me I'll need to leave baby at home with maid so I'm quite relief my previous maid saying she wants to quit starting last January. Still lots of time for my #1 to get used to the new maid and definitely will know the maid better whether she's suitable to take care of baby or not. So far my new maid is OK. I found slightly better than the last one. The last one is a bit behaving not like a common maid.

Foot Reflex
Jasmine, I did try last month during CNY in Malaysia. They will not do it as normal ppl. Just to improve your blood circulation only. I heard from them, some ppl will start from 5th month till 9 mths.

Breast Feeding
I have a fren who over stimulated herself until she got engorced easily till she gave up bf-ing. Imagine she can pump out 1.5 liter each day!!!!
only later I found that once after her delivery, she use breast pump to stimulate her breast every 15 min!!!!

I was being retrenched by my company, I am not sure if they purposely did it at this time as according to MOM. 'RETRENCHED' (not terminate) more than 3 months before EDD no need to compensate on maternity benefits.

I am very sad at first. but now feel ok dy and oredi filed a complain at MOM for Unfair retrenchment of an expecting mum.

Ioshita, jia you!

Breastfeeding. Yeah cannot over stimulate also..

It's really not easy last time. If going out I make sure never more than 4-6 hours. Then need to pump before go out. Otherwise if boobs feel heavy really uncomfortable. Like you can't breathe like that as well. Not inclusive if has pain on the side.

Right now I have all the time to go out but then feels tired easily. And then will repeat the same cycle in 4-5 mths. Huhu.. Hopefully this one will want to latch even after I go back to office. And hoping for successful latch from the beginning so I'll have confidence to nurse in public using nursing cover and master to cover using the MIM sling..

Quite afraid now seeing how this one is similar to jiejie, HEAD DOWN VERY EARLY and stay down there. Huehehehe.. In my detail scan.

Groovy THanks.

I went to Taiwan for a trip when bb is 4mos. Din able to pump as usual cos travelling. When back to hotel dunno why the pump not working even i use a converter for the plug.( i forgot to bring the battery part) so in the end after the trip supply drop.

Groovy, is it still early for head down, probably next gynae visit your baby change position dy.

Jasmine

Nope. No discomfort. Just feel that my blood circulation super shiok, feet no longer sore, calves no longer crampy. Btw i am starting to feel cramps trying to start at night haha.

It's not a special antenatal place. But i've been gog there since before i was preggie. all along i have poor blood circulation n often get sore feet n tight calves. So i trust the place lor.

I find that the msians ones r pretty gd

Loshita

Oh no. I'm sorry to hear that.

Seems like many companies r trying to retrench or terminate preggie ladies before they need to pay maternity benefits. Hope mom can help you

Come to think abt it. I shd go for foot reflex sometime next wj before hubs goes on overseas trip. Then again after he comes back to recover haha

loshita, did you speak with the HR and find out why you're being retrenched? Hope you get some support from MOM on this matter.

foot reflex

i think i need one badly, have very sore calves for month already. heels will be painful almost every morning or after lying down..

loshita
so sorry about to hear about this. such company is really too much man. how long have u been with them already?

regarding maid
my maid very yaya lor. thought we dont have her will die. so piss off with her attitude. but beside that, she is really good la. really nv give me much problem and can handle my 4 yr old well. her contract expiring this 3rd quarter and she is from myanmar.

Ioshita,

Ya lor.. The jiejie head down early since the detail scan, refuses to move as everytime we check in the gynea after that 20 week, he always said head down, very low, cannot do 3D scan becoz of that. (cannot see the head). Even though the 3D scan is FOC.. He tried to on the machine switch to 3D for a while then say cannot :S.

In the end that's why I deliver on 37 week.. Argh had a feeling this one will be early too from the situation..

loshita: Ur company is so bad lor but i dun tink they will be successful in retrenching u, even retrench also need to pay u back ur maternity benefit. Dun worry too much

The sonographer this time around quite funny saying usually the ribs they can show in a straight line but not your baby case, head down, ribs is curly. huehehe..