(2012/06) Jun 2012

fuyutsuki: LOL!!

my boy loves fried food. so in jap restaurant in chiang mai, we ordered fried mushrooms n garlic rice for him. also those katsu pork, etc.. hehe
ur tummy sensitive i think.. muz eat some pasar malam food to exercise ur tummy. hehe

fuyutsuki, your hubby is so naughty!
Luckily my hubby doesn't like the raw stuff..

Not sure when we can do prenatal massage? After 1st trimester? I think you google online to find out who offers such services.

Petrina, now my tummy is quite strong already.. after travelling all over the region, I've eaten all kinds of food, got used to it. I think when kids are still young, their digestive system are still not fully matured, so it easy for them to get sick after eating unfamiliar foods. My parents also never packed any medication for me last time, so you can imagine, I was miserable during much of our trips.

Anna,

I also bad blood test result. Scan is ok. I probably go and see Prof Ananda from Camden medical for Genetic scan first....then decide...
saw from forum he is quite famous for this

Petrina, haha.. you blur la!!
Blame on pregnancy!! But anyway, now that we are pregnant must also be extra careful with the food la.. hygiene is important.

nattan, i saw from forum here that some started the prenatal massage at wk 14-16, after 1st trimester.

merydith, what's a genetic scan? how different is it from oscar?

Yeah Merydith, pls share.. I'm not really comfortable abt d amniotic test.. I don't know.. I mean my risk of down syndrome is less than 1% n to confirm i haf to expose myslf d risk of miscarriage by less than 0.5%.. Make sense or not?

My tummy has sanitized ever since I go to school here in SG 8 years ago.
Got one time 4 years ago I get a severe diarrhea when I went back to Jakarta after I graduated. It was very bad until I can't eat and want to vomit everytime I saw food. I spend almost my whole week in the toilet.

The reason I think just becoz I drink some juice with ice. Even though I'm drinking it in the restaurant.
Some more I also drink hot tea that dunno where the water comes from. Hm..

After that, I stick to Coke or Teh Botol or Aqua (bottled water) everytime I eat in Jakarta.
Never order even fruit juices anymore!

petrina, i did think of giving him a chance. however he dun seem like he is repentent or sorry abt hitting me. he nvr apologise to mi since he hit mi and yet he told my sis i deserve more slaps..i did think of getting a ppo and at the same time can make him go counselling for some anger management to better manage and improve our marriage. afterall, i believe i have some blame or a role to play for this ugly state we are in now. it takes 2 hands to clap. however i have the same worry as nattan.. i am scared getting a ppo will make things worst and cause more misunderstanding and he might be more angry and hit mi?

Nattan, wah.. blame preg.. hehe.. brain juice go to baby.

Jenny, go check with aware or fei yue how ppo is done. I can't believe a man will slap the wife over trival matters like sil staying over. Have u tried to make peace with him. That u accept the staying arrangement. Any other reasons y he say u deserve more slaps?

Perhaps there is something on his mind that he isn't telling. If u really think this marriage is over, then find a halfway house for preg woman. Stay there till the whole problem is sorted out. Or till divorce is finalised.

Would like to know if anyone doing or have done CVS test instead of Amnio? Seems like CVS test can be done at 11-12 weeks but amnio gotta wait till 15-16 wks. It's real torturing to wait that long. What's the risk factor ratio between these 2 tests?

Merydith, what's that genetic scan then? Never heard before. It's to test the same thing as CVS/amnio?

Stretch mark prevention cream....when did you mummies start applying them? I dunno when should I start using cos my tummy not that big yet.

I've discussed it w hubby n decided not to go for d amniotic test.. I mean chances of down syndrome is less than 1%.. I'm only 27 n have no history of down syndrome.. Y expose myslf to a risk of miscarriage by 0.5% juz to confirm that my baby does not have down syndrome?! D test is not cheap either. Plus d ultrasound went great! My baby is d right size, already has nose.. Baby was very active stretching n turning.. Even waved us goodbye.. So cute!

Even if d amniotic test were to come back negative, i don't know if i can juz abort n let d baby go.. There is still a chance d test may be wrong..

So baby, we trust that u're healthy.. mom n dad loves u n will accept u as u r!

Having slight sore throat, can we drink something cooling?
On leave today to bring my son to the SSO Baby Prom, hopefully he will enjoy himself...
TGIF to all mummies ...

Sel, that's good

That's why I think if we really don't want to abort the baby, never go to those test. hehe.. Only waste $$ and make us worried..

I'm still coughing occasionally too after 1 week. My colleague is the same, he even worse already 3 weeks still coughing bit by bit.. I think becoz he never take MC.

Dr Yeap called yestersday. Result was fast. 1 day after my OScar.Low risk andI was thrilled !

i nearly but heng.. my hubby fren whom work in HBo pased mr some towels and calendar and forced to me to take a cab home .worth paying the $11.70 to take cab home ...

Morning mummies! TGIF!! Woohoo.. looking forward to this day!! Office is super quiet today as many colleagues have gone on leave.

Sel, that's a wise decision... just continue to have faith that your baby is healthy and everything will be ok. I'm also going to stand in faith for my OSCAR next week

Petrina, luckily I don't live along the NS line and last night got a lift home from a church friend, so we went home with no hassle. Really feel that SMRT should take some responsibility for the 2 breakdowns in 2 consecutive days. They raise fare prices but things don't get better, only worse!
kao_frustrated.gif

Little Mouse, try drinking something mildly cooling like barley or chrysanthemum. The Baby Prom sounds interesting.. what is that?

Groovy, I'm also having mild running nose... think the typical office is quite unhealthy... all those germs recycled and circulated via the aircon.. You should ask your colleague to see a doc and stay away from you.

May, congrats on your OSCAR results! Now you can just relax and enjoy your pregnancy.

Aiyah yest read n post halfway, hubs chiong gong my phone

FISH OIL

My gynae prescribed Dhaxtra too. I find the taste horrible. N the pill is huge. I'm gd at swallowing pills but even i find it a chore! So i eat nordic naturals, recomm by my GP. Got thurd party testing etc for heavy metals, oil from smallfish like anchovies etc. Less worry abt mercury from deep sea fish n autism. Plus i get the strawberry flavour heehee.

RICECOOKER

Pls lor. My son is v pampered. He doesn't eat jar food. I truee giving him jarred pear, berries etc mixed with cereal, he pui pui lor! He mostly eats homecooked food like porridge, mee suah etc. And he eats a lot of fish.

When he was 9 mths, i went to malacca. I brought ruce cooker, fish for 1 day, potato n carrot. Andbcoz i only pumped, i brought FBM coz i didn't have enough as i was diwn to 2 pumps a day. I even brought distilled water n dudn't use the tap water!

OSCAR

Personallyi didn't go for oscar coz i wasn't gog to abort anyway. I blur blur went for my son coz first tine mummy, ks mah.

For those with so-called poor results, dun worry so much. Oscar is just a STATISTICS test. Gd results doesn't mean zero downs syndrome. Bad results may notbe DS also. If u feel insecure, esp is results really low, consider cvs or amnio. Trust your gynae's advice.

NON-WIRED PADDED MATERNITY/NURSING BRAS

Any ideas where to get this? Those bras i see are mainly non-padded. I dun wanna wear non-padded when i'm out of the hse leh. So ugly!

<font color="aa00aa">jul_04,
Maternity shops and some online shops like Moms R Us, The Birth Shop (formerly Moms In Mind), etc. should have.</font>

Jul,

Should have bought the nordic natural together with you. Dhaxtra really taste sucks...I hate to burp and the taste of the fish oil...omg...really feel like puking. Dunno how to continue eating that every morning...the sight of the pill really turn me off. Can I buy the nordic natural strawberry flavor from pharmacy / GNC etc? Or I have to go iherb online to register and buy them?

When should we start applying the topicrem? I dunno when to start applying them? After 1st trimester or when tummy is huge?

<font color="aa00aa">Seems like most gynaes prescribe the following brands for fish oil:

1) Natal Care TriPlus
2) Dhaxtra

I used to take Nordic Naturals DHA while breastfeeding and during the early weeks of this pregnancy but stopped when it made me nauseous. I'm giving my son the Children's DHA from the same brand. Think I may start some DHA again if my fish consumption is low.</font>

MOI

I went to mothercare, birth shop n mums r us. All non-padded.

PETRINA

Ooh! Thanks! I'll check out M&amp;S. Been despairing. I wkre wired thruout my prev pregnancy. Dunno y now i can's stand wired.

Yeah lor. People like me shd just stay home lol

Actually we were thinking of gog to bali this dec. Coz ILs onhol, we're on leave anyway. Then i got this baby. No choice. Stay home lah lol

I have just made apptmt to go for the genetic scan with Professor Ananda. Can't wait that long to do the amnio. I think genetic scan seems much safer than poking a needle into our womb....can't bear that kind of thoughts.
Thanks for the great info, Merydith.

ANNA

Yeah i hate the burp taste too! Gosh the smell majes me wanna puke. N i nvr puke during first tri yet fish oil makes me puke.

You can buy from vitakids at paragon or united sq. It's $58 in 2008. There's original or strawberry. I buy strawberry lor

Anna

Anytime can apply. I started topicrem at 8 wkscoztummy v itchy! My tummy aws comes out v v early. People think i'm 4/5 mths preggie. Hiaz

<font color="aa00aa">jul_04,
How about using your own breast pad in non-padded bra? Actually, those online shops have those that are slightly padded. I used to buy this from MIM and it's very comfy for me.</font>

Jul, can just buy type of Sports Bra or Tube bra.. The one without wire..

Then during nursing, just pull the bra up lor..

I use these kinds of bra nowadays. Very convenient and CHEAP!
2 for $35 or some even cheaper if I'm not wrong, definitely less than $20 per bra. I bought Pierre Cardin brand.

The only drawback if I'm not wrong it's usually only until Cup C lah. Hehe.. I also bought cup B but buy bigger size so it still fit.

But definitely if you're traveling and no nursing room, it's not as convenient as those nursing bra. Maybe I'll buy more nursing bra next time..

Btw, those Pigeon disposable breaspad I found sucks! Very itchy..

Jul, I thought you would announce here that the Topicreme is here already mah... I don't usually check that email account

BTW, up till now, I haven't got any itch or stretch marks yet. Thank God!! I got a bump but it's not so obvious when I wear loose tops. However, I cannot button my pants liao.. so I just wear with the zip up and the top button undone and the flaps folded in. Maybe will get a belly band soon to camouflage it..

I'm still wearing my old bras... looks like my boobs haven't swollen up yet. Maybe will get those bra extenders so I can keep using them for a while.

I have just spoken to Gynae and he said that genetic scan is not that accurate...less than 90% accuracy. Either we opts for CVS which can be done at 12-13 wks but the risk factor is 1% higher than amnio, and not all gynae will be able to do it. Or we can go for the amnio that will gotta wait till 15-16 wks. Really a dilema boy....haiz....

Morning!!

Hope all mummies have a great Friday!

Today I finally reach 13th week! First trimester over! But my hungerness still the same. And got a bit of cramp pain at the side of abdomen. Will be seeing gynae only coming mon!

) who had pass first trimester?

Nattan, I think you are away when Jul announced it here weeks ago. I hv got my topicreme but have not use it yet cos tummy not that huge yet. Likewise I can't button my pants &amp; jeans already, though I can use my loose top to cover the bump. I bought my belly band and it's really very useful.

Those who are in the 2nd trimester , how r u feeling?
My ms and giddy like all gone. And the thing is I don't feel that hungry like before.. I can skip breakfast, eat full lunch, dinner and like supper.. Feeling very normal now..
Experienced mummies, of that normal?

I bought it at Mothercare at S$ 29.90 for the whole box. It comes in different length which we can use at different trimester. Very useful I finds it. I dunno where to get it cheaper though. Too lazy to go shopping nowadays...so just buy it when I see it. Heehee....

The bands only comes in black colour but there are 3 different colours (black, white &amp; blue) for the piece of cloth that can be attached to the band to cover the zip area.

hi everyone, had gd lunch? friday finally! i m going to have a long day today.. going to company family day after work which will end at 2300hrs tonight.. dun feel like going as everyone in my company is bringing their partners n kids n i am going alone.. i feel like the odd one out. dun feel like going at all but scared dun go company will say this and that abt mi cos everyone in the company going.

Hi Priscilla ,

I just pass my first trimester. But still feel hungry easily.

But I think you don't worry. My coll reach her second trimester she also behave like normal.

As I am late to engage a nanny for my confinement already...during our discussion and exchange of information and one mummy (Sparks) refer me to i-kare confinement again. I've actually engaged their nanny in year 2009 for my first confinement and I know i-kare have a fleet of exclusive nannies (with great cooking confinement food skill and with very hygenic infant handling practices and skills) I'm hesitant becos now their usual rate is S$2.2k

But then, since I'm afraid to get non-guranteed performance nanny... i contacted May and we met up and to my surprise i-kare is having a 28 days (single infant) promotion.

Whoever are still in need for confinement nanny help. pls visit www.i-kare.com.sg I've booked yafen their exclusive nanny at only S$2k.

To enjoy this promotion, pls state referral from: Cheuk Ling

no commission! p.s.you can locate me in Aug thread

Just back from lunch at MOS Burger and grocery shopping for an early X'mas dinner with frens tmr ...

Jenny, if you don't feel like going, just call in sick la.. If your company knows you're pregnant, they won't say anything la.. Look forward to the weekend of rest!

Happily eating Lamb Chops at Swensens today as company lunch. hehee.. Got free Sundae some more. I order the Sticky Chewy Chocolate. Yummy..

Hi Anna,

Thanks for checking out with your gynae. Now if this the case then we just have to wait for the amnio..
Did you fail your blood test or nt scan?
My blood test ratio is 1:94.. The rest are ok so end up total risk is 1:101...

I check the blood test components and my Papp is low n beta hcg is high ...

Now in my 13 week 4 days but still have nausea
Hcg