(2012/06) Jun 2012

Morning mummies! Rainy day today...

Michi, I thought passed week 12 is 2nd trimester already? Cos 3 months = 12 weeks mah. Week 13 is 2nd trimester already?

Groovy, Dr Don Wong was my gynae before I moved from Woodlands.. he's quite nice and gentle.

Hah... I think doesn't matter la.. I've already told my closest friends already
now just waiting for the right time to inform my boss this week..

BTW, anybody experiencing itchy boobs/nipples? I have been feeling itchy there but not elsewhere on my body... makes it hard to fall asleep at night. Will applying stretch mark cream help?

nattan i've passed the stage of itchy nipples. Hahhaa... for me it was ard the 8-10th week where it itched like mad! Now seems to be ok. If its itchy boobs mabbe cos the skin is stretching, just like how the tummy feels itchy when its stretched.

Nattan, what is PEH? The double room look so squeezy. low ceiling and the room is so small. 4 bedded at least the space between yr neigbour is still fair. But truthfully, I like the deluxe one better.

Nattan, is this your 1st pregnancy or 2nd?
Just wondering any mummies experiencing delivery by Dr. Don Wong..
Not much info about him in forum. huhu..

I also found he's quite nice and he doesn't mind showing the Ultrasound for quite some time. Definitely he can do longer consultation compare to Dr. Ang..
I never see USG clearly during Dr. Ang's consultation and almost all the pictures are blurish image only.

May, PEH = Parkway East Hospital. Which hospital are you referring to? I don't think I wanna be in a room with 3 other strangers and their families. Will be too noisy already. I definitely will go for single bedder.

Groovy, this is my 1st
Dr Wong is nice.. I went to see him last time for other issues, although he was not really able to solve my problem la.. I had to see another senior consultant. Also cos I moved from Woodlands, so not convenient to see him anymore. But Dr Wong takes his time so you don't feel that he's rushing through his consultation.

Hi Sophia, welcome! I will sign up for prenatal classes soon.. usually people sign up in week 14. I probably will sign up after my OSCAR results come back (I'm going for the OSCAR this coming weekend).

Anna,

I think even after the scan I will still go for the amnio since its not that accurate. So the scan probably is not needed but can go if you want to see your baby gender?

I have just passed 1st trimester and in 14 wks now. Wonder why I still have nausea....so sad..
With my #1, my nausea ended before the end of 1st trim..

prenatal class - didn't go for #1, won't go for #2.

nattan: i also have itchy nipples. i think just weather, sweaty or dry. cause only occasionally. then no more liao..

moi: i just read ur previous post abt flat tummy, i lie on bed i also realized that my tummy totally flat. scared me for a moment as my tummy don't seem to be growing much.

anyone not showing yet?

yup petrina, not really showing much yet.. guess it's normal, my #1 also started to show after 4 and half months and for those who didnt know i was preggy, only can tell when i was 5 and half months..

this time round just reached 16 weeks, so guess will take another 2 weeks to really show ba.. but for those who know i am preggy now hor, they can feel a diff liao...

felicia: ahh.. cause my previous appt was 3wks ago. then still another 2 more weeks to next appt. so long nvr see baby le. abit paranoid. haha
i see a few of my frens didn't make it through. so i abit scared.
i'm 14weeks now. by 24th dec will be 15 weeks.

my diet hasn't been too good either. no appetite, can't eat. ate 1 hokkien bak chang for lunch then feel like puking le. too full.
drinking lipton red tea with sugar to keep it down.
drinking caffeine everyday except weekends. otherwise can't function @ work.

petrina, Me Me! I also feel tummy looks so small.. I think #1 last time is bigger. Huhu.. Maybe becoz last time #1 I eat hawker center food with lots of rice. This time around is home cooked food. hm...

No sign of me gaining weight yet :S.

For me, not sure issit coz last time my tummy was quite flat, so now 12w+ already showing and I can't wear some of my clothes cos too tight at the belly and I can't breathe.

Prenatal class,

When I had #1, I went to Ms Wong Boi Boi prenatal class from TMC parentcraft and I feel it is good and not so boring. Every lesson there is a few minutes prenatal exercise too.

Anyone knows any good prenatal pilate/yoga?
Thinking of exercising because I feel very lethargic now..

Petrina, groovy
Me too now with #2 the tummy not very big and my appetite is not great either.. I wonder if it is a gal this time

yeah and today at 14wks I am still feeling nausea at times...no appetite

I also hope for a girl coz #1 is a boy..Pray that the baby is healthy..going for amnio on 3rd jan.

Me different, #1 is girl. haha.. I hope small tummy = boy :p

But I won't be hoping too much lah. Afraid later will be disappointed. Going for appointment this Friday on my 15th week becoz hubby will be on retreat next week. Hopefully can see the gender. And seriously hoping baby is growing fine becoz I feel my tummy is not getting any bigger in 2 weeks..

that hubby of mine, he delay his retreat until year end! I thought he's not going anymore but he said he cannot if don't go. Sigghhh..

I think last time he's hoping if #1 is 1 year old already then he can go full retreat without a need to come home everyday.

I actually the one asking him to still come back home everyday so his retreat will be like working hours. His retreat place is in JB leh! Last time he used to stay in the retreat house.

1 year he "NEED" to go for 2 times retreat, each can last 1 week

me although tummy not really showing, i gained almost 3kg so far and i feel my whole body is growing, especially my breasts.. last time for my boy, no change at all, only got a tummy.. so this time round feel so fat and ugly.. =(

appetite wise not say super good, but can eat normal 3 meals with no problem, no snack and stuff though..

i am going for my scan this Sat.. also hoping to see gender.. i doubt so though cuz i suspect the machine used by gynae and sonographer are diff lor.. dunno if gynae can confirm gender or not.. actually i have been reading on the "nub theory" to tell gender and looking at my 12 week's scan photo but just couldn't figure out for sure.. really want to confirm gender asap so can start thinking of name..

AsRias, you can check with your hospital or gynae on their prenatal courses.. most likely I will sign up with PEH.

My tummy is also not that obvious esp if I tuck out. Nobody is giving up seats for me in the train.. haha.. But my pants cannot button up already.

Pre-natal Class

Most probably will sign up with TMC this coming Sat. As per what squirrel12 advised on the fee, it's $283.55 before FBI discount. Heard from frens tat it's very good, they will give out notes also.

Felicia... I wanted to try and tell gender also through the "nub theory" but my bb refuse to show. everytime see sideways the legs cover the genitals. haha

felicia: i feel that my tummy looks very spread out. not like those celebrities. hehe, they tummy so beautiful.. round n protruding.
mine seems to be super overweight type of tummy. like those i see the aunties.. my tummy look like those type.

mereydith: yeah.. still nausea. everyday vomit at least once.. baby forbidden me to eat fried carrot cake since 4weeks, but i super gian. so i tot already 2nd trimester, just whack. then 1hr later all came out.

definitely not mummy's girl/boy.. most probably daddy's baby... only consolation is my #1 super nice to me. everyday hug me and kiss me. then my hb can't wait for #2 to pop so he got "baobei" also.. hahaha

Groovy: ya lor. i scared. cause these 3weeks tummy don't seem to be growing. then i no weighing machine at home, so i dunno if i put on weight since last visit. cause @ 12wks i was still losing wt. so my hb was worried if baby is growing well..

eh, something private to ask, anyone still bd-ing now?

nattan: try wearing tight tops? i have been wearing tees to work with work pants or those dresses with empire cut and elastic waistline..
but also seldom ppl let me sit. haha. unless i m standing right in front with tummy protruding into the person's space.
usually i carry bag and jacket, so ppl can't see also.

Petrina, what's "bd-ing"??

If you go to the gynae, they will weigh you right... if you are below the recommended weight, your doc will tell you. Don't worry so much la..

I cannot wear tight tops cos I feel breathless in them. I do wear some empire cut/high waist dresses but maybe they disguise my tummy instead of showing it. But fortunately, I've been quite blessed that most times I can find a seat la.. Maybe by 2nd trimester I'll stand at the Reserved Seat and ask the person to give it to me!! Haha..

AsRias
haha mine can see but then it's the ambiguous type lor, shape looks like boy but parallel to spine so angle wise looks like girl.. actually we are not concerned about the gender as long as baby is healthy, plus #1 is boy so my fil is happy enough, i don't have any stress for this time.. but then we just feel it's easier to let friends and relatives know if we confirm the gender.. cuz every time we tell friend hor, they will ask, boy or girl.. will be much easier if we know the answer.. haha

my tummy also not really showing, anyway I just passed week 12. Only my boss knows I am pregnant, I told him last week. No one in the office notice I am pregnant yet.

Past few days, I have been coughing non-stop. Almost cough my lung out especially in the nite time. Hb still can sleep like pig though I cough non-stop. Din see any docs as my mum doesn't allow me to take any medicines. End up I googled online and found honey is safe to consume during pregnancy. Immediately I took honey yesterday nite. Still coughing still as bad, hopefully after today another 3 round of honey, I will be very much better. Else like my mum said I am going to cough till deliver!!

Think i gained d most weight liao.. At 13 weeks i gained abt 7kg already.. So scary! But i met my aunt yest who told me i looked like i'd loss weight.. Maybe it's bcos i've juz recently started vomitting violently after meals, sorry if it's tmi but it's like merlion lor.. So straining to d throat that it's sore now.

Sorry, what's bd-ing?

loshita: i had terrible coughing 2wks back too. had to take 2days mc then can't eat much meds. i buy manuka sweets from OG. those r very handy. or get the propolis drops. yucky but drip some into your throat. very fast recover.
i do that for my son. but i nvr touch the propolis, cause super yucky! haha

nattan: erm, intimate acts during pregnancy...

Loshita, how did your boss react? I always wonder if male bosses are more understanding than female ones?

BTW, you can take mint tea (non-caffeinated) to sooth your throat from all the coughing too. Can take those OTC meds like Woods?

Sel, 7kg is a lot! But if your gynae says it;s ok then ok.. so far I've only gained about 2.5kg, maybe cos I still go to gym.

Petrina, how come that's called "bd-ing"?? Curious.. But ya.. we still do it. In fact, I think it's much better than before.

Felicia: I'm also more concerned about health of baby than the gender. But knowing the gender is fun cos can start shopping =)

Sel: Wow your weight gain is alot. Mabbe because you were previously very skinned? Low BMI? I gained abt 2/3kg at 12w+ now.

Petrina: Me and hubby also still intimate but we try to be gentle la. Also scared affect baby. Like Nattan I also think its better than before.

BTW, any mummies here go for bikini/brazilian waxing? I made an appt last week, went there then the therapist told me she cannot do it cos I'm still in 1st trimester. Is that the norm?? I was quite irritated cos they never asked about it when I made the appt, wasted my time to go down to the salon. I will ask my gynae this weekend and see what he says. But any one of you did it before during pregnancy?

nattan
i think it's not about male or female boss, so far all my ang moh bosses are extremely nice.. i rem for #1, my ex Dutch boss even said, i am glad you are still willing to continue working after maternity leave, but don't need to rush back, take ML for as long as you feel necessary, end up i took 4 months straight + work from home for another 4 months..

this time i emailed my angmoh direct report boss in US and her boss in HK at the same time, the US boss is very nice, told me to arrange things the way i want to as she trusts that i always make best arrangement for myself.. but the HK boss, he did not reply my email at all, and just last week he briefly asked me over the phone, i called him for other issues actually, so he said, for that 1-2 months who's going to cover you, i was like huh? since when i said i take 1-2 months ML only?!!!

so overall i think it depends on company culture lor.. for my own team member, his wife delivered in Sep, and i even let him work from home for 3 months.. cuz i have kid i really understand how tough it is.. but too bad my big boss in HK is truly a workaholic, so i guess the most i can take 3 months ML at one shot this time round.. so unfair to ladies lor, very hard to balance between work and family life..

Nattan,

my boss said:' It is a good news' When i told him that is the reason I kept taking MC lately as I din take medicine when I fell sick. He said it is ok, health is more important. Well he is kind and nice but my MD is verys stingy person, I wonder will he make my life difficult when he knew I am pregnant. Cos my colleague who is on ML now was being scolded by him always before she delivered.

Felicia, ha.. your HK boss dunno it's MOM law for employers to provide 16 week maternity meh.. Anyway, just maintain professionalism lor. Will you have a replacement temp while you're gone for ML?

loshita, same as above.. you just have to remain professional at your work. Although sometimes no choice need to take MC. If your performance and productivity are not affected, your MD has no reason to make life difficult for you.

Sel: u very skinny isit? 7kg is alot. haha
but some ppl do put on a lot of weight during pregnancy. i have heard of 20-25kg weight gain b4.. but i guess it's all up to individual BMI.

nattan: baby dancing
my hb tend to avoid. aiyo. dunno how to convince, cause he say will affect baby. haha

waxing - i think can do leh.. y can't? maybe the therapist scared sensitive? no particular chemicals right?

felicia: i also agree abt the gender of boss isn't impt. it's race. for asians, they tend to be more work driven.. ang mo very family orientated. so if got baby, they will tend to ask moms to care for kids when necessary. unlike asians where most kids go CC.
my hb's company also allow him to work from home when i had #1.
he had to travel often, but near delivery n 1yr after delivery, he was grounded. his boss took over the traveling for the moment.
but my co... considering to ask me to shorten ML

so #2 i think i can only take 1mth full confinement leave then after i may have to take 2wks each month cause i have to be back for month end closing

Re weight
I started losing a bit of weight, maybe by about 1kg last week. Now poor appetite. Hungry but can't eat much. #1 i lost 3kg by third month.

Sel: just keep track of your weight gain. If you put on 20 kg for this pregnancy, it will be very hard to lose it. You also must be careful of gestational diabetes.

Re nausea
I didn't puke for more than a week, but last night think i was too hungry before having bread. So it came out. Sian. But i can tahan more than 3 hours without food now.

Petrina: your #1 is so cute to hug and kiss you.

My son would throw his angry birds at the pigs, and then if one bounces back and it me, he will say sorry mummy, and continue doing it. Then it hit my tummy. I told him to say sorry, baby, but he just said sorry and ran away. One funny thing is we told him he would be a big brother, just like one of the big brother red birds. So he said he wanted to be known as big brother boi boi, as he usually refers himself as boi boi instead of his name.

Merydith and petrina: i sort of hope for a girl, but my son says it is going to be baby brother. My husband's side prefers boys, but my side woukd prefer a girl. Guess got to wait patiently till jan for my next appointment. Anyone bringing your child to see the scan?

Loshita: let me know if the honey works. I took a bottle of cough mixture and it didn't work. Been coughing for three months already. Yeah, my friend told me that coughing during pregnancy could be a prolonged one.

Petrina, can la.. just do it slowly lor.. but stop immediately if you dun feel good la (eg feel any pain). You can talk about it with your gynae with your hubby present. I'm sure your gynae will say it's ok. My gynae was very supportive and said so long as I'm not doing anything too vigorous (including exercise) it's fine.

Ya, I dunno why the therapist refused to wax for me. I may go to my usual salon next week after my checkup this weekend.

So nice that your hubby's company allow him to work from home. I hope my office allow me to work from home too :p

Nope, i was 1.65m n abt 64kg before pregnancy.. Not looking fat cos i've got heavy bones.. Last appt i weigh 72kg.. Got a shock! My doc didn't say anythg so i'm thinking it's normal.. Haha.. But i eat d normal 3 meals plus tea break as normal.. Wanted to start walkg as a form of exercise but after d spotting incident last week i think i would rather not for now..

Went to a wedding yest n was wearing heels, not high but it's higher than kitten heels.. Now my right ankle seems to swell a bit.. Hurts when i touch d area.. To be frank, i'm very disappointed w my body.. Can't believe it's so fragile now.. I used to be very active, basketball captain in skool, cross country runner n many more..

Anyway, i already sort of booked my post natal masseuse.. So kiasu right?! Going to extend n do slimming massages n wraps after that.. I'm sure i'll have lots of weight to lose

Bd-ing.. Did it like juz twice since we knw abt d pregnancy.. It's uncomfortable to me.. Plus d weight gaining doesn't really help! Makes me feel conscious vs enjoying myslf.. But hubby has been very understding

BW, i had not done it since being pregnant.. I miss d cleanliness but i think it will hurt more now that we're pregnant

petrina,
I also gian the fried carrot cake but once open the packet I smell the garlic want to puke. My neighbour also likes to good lots of garlic end up the smell enters my whole house. Makes me very nauseous.

loshita,
I also have been coughing non stop past few nights. So I tried UMF+10 manuka honey morning n night for 2 days and now no more itchy cough but now lots of phlegm. Haiz...So I guess I have to drink more water to flush it away.

Sel, the weight of your body presses on your feet and ankles that's why they hurt. I usually wear flats now, cos easier to move around and more comfy, esp if I need to stand in the train. Most of my heels are over 2" in height.

Where did you find your masseuse? It's quite early to book! Haha.. .but well, it's up to you.

Re lovemaking, if you've had spotting, then advisable to take it easy or abstain. But if you miss the intimacy, you can do other forms of intimate acts like petting or just cuddle with your hubby.

We drove so there was limited walkg.. So lousy right my body condition?!

I knw her personally, she's my aunt.. More than 10 yrs experience so very popular in dis forum i think.. Very scared can't get her cos during her peak she can massage 6-7 patients island-wide per day n still have to reject some customers.. I'm sure it'll be a busy yr for her nx yr

nattan
yup my HK boss knows it's 4 months ML and indeed for my company, even foreigners get 4 months ML de, not just for us Singaporeans, so my HK boss sure knows about it de since it's so good policy mah.. he act blur then i also act blur lor..

Sel
i got friends who put on 27-30kg, they didn't face any problem during pregnancy but then i know most of them complain about not being able to lose all the weight 1-2 years after delivery.. my gynae suggested 2kg for first 5 months, and 2kg each for the next 5 month, so total no more than 12kg.. i did control my weight during #1 that time since my gynae is so particular about it, so i try to eat soupy and not so oily stuff during my 2nd and 3rd trimester, 1st trimester totally out of control, haha..