(2012/06) Jun 2012

Glass,
Didnt know I'm the 1st to post on the gender of baby :p There're many other ladies with earlier EDD. Maybe they just didn't 'announce' like me :p

Sunnie gal: among my mummy friends who gave birth at the same time as me, most of them have two children of the same gender. I wonder how high my chances are of having a girl. One of them who is expecting her third child has a third boy.

How do you feel about having a boy?

Some might have earlier edd, but sometimes cannot scan if baby not cooperative enough.

Hey mummies, I was planning on making a tiramisu for a X'mas gathering until I read that mascarpone cheese, which is used in the recipe, may not be safe during pregnancy. Is this true? Even if it is pasteurised? I recall eating a big slice of tiramisu a couple of weeks ago.. is that going to affect me? Just slightly concerned...

Petrina, I dunno if I will have the willpower to be on standby mode since I don't have any kids before. I probably will wake if the baby cries, but I know my hubby will probably be the first the wake up cos he usually wakes up at the slightest sound but I just keep on sleeping

I really think it's motherly instinct to wake up when baby cries. Nowadays I sleep like a log if I over tired. But last time I always need to wake hubby up to attend to baby or helping me attend to baby. Even though he's the one sleeping next to the baby monitor. Some more, he can sleep like a log with baby on his side until one time baby falls down. For me I will wake up after some time to put baby back in her cot

Groovy: regarding motherly instinct, didn't really work for me. I was sleeping most of the time. Just too tired.

Nattan: you may wake up when baby cries, but sometimes just too tired to get out of bed to settle the problem. Some just poke their partners to wake up to tend to baby.

Glass, I think so too... I probably will just poke my hubby to wake up.. hahaha..

Groovy, how come your baby can fall down?? Isn't the baby inside the cot? I won't put my baby on the bed with us cos it's dangerous...I don't want to risk squashing the baby and if I'm constantly thinking about that, I probably can't get a good sleep. But the cot will probably be next to our bed.

Good morning everyone,

It's Thursday & also a day to get my bonus from company!!
Thanks Felicia for the method. My hubby downloaded an app on iphone and it said baby should be 6.35cm by week 11, so I have no idea if my gynae is telling the truth. LOL I hope m baby will be tall, as I am 1.72m. But cannot see baby's limbs, that's why 5cm is from head to bottom. I hope baby is growing fine.

Hi Moi, the brand that gynae prescribed is known as Natal Care Plus, 30 capsules & costs $28.06

I dont drink milk, only 2 ice cream daily and 1 yoghurt. I am very afraid of milk!
& my baby seems not to like meat, can only take 1 slice of fish at good times or some bacon. Probably that is 1 of the reasons why I lost weight.

Nattan: I am also becoming more forgetful which is terrible as I need to stay alert and remember many appointments at work! :/

nattan, If she wake up nowadays that means she wanted to be hug to sleep like that, so we'll put her to sleep in the single bed next to her cot..

She fell down once, I think probably becoz she has woken up and keep moving but hubby hasn't wake up yet.. She'll kick the bolster that we put on 1 side, hubby sleep on the other side. I think that happens when she's 10 or 11 months old, quite big already..

Nowadays she can wake up and goes down from that single bed already (even though the bed is quite tall!!) Hubby said she usually wake up, get hubby's glasses and give to him.
But to be safe I always told hubby to put her back in her cot whenever she's asleep already...

My #1 until now can't sleep herself.. Need to be hug or pat to sleep :S.. We've been quite bad in sleep training her. We tried lots and lots of time to put her in her cot to sleep while she's awake but instead she'll just play, stand, shout, scream, cry. Can't stand that so we still use this method..

At least we don't need to carry her to sleep like what our maid does...

Btw, she's sleeping alone in her own room. I use baby monitor. I think it's best for her, since last time hubby & I used to camp in her room when she's 1-2 months old. When she's able to sleep overnight at 2.5 months old, she'll startle when hubby and I about to sleep in her room. So we thought it's best if we move out.
Hubby move out first becoz I can't stand he's snoring and wake baby up! Haha..
Then soon I also move out.

Nowadays sometimes she'll just wake up once at around 3, sometimes able to sleep from 9 pm to 8 am..

Morning ladies! indulging in BK Egg Benny Breakfast with hashbrown

Groovy: my boy also till now need to hug n slp. and worst thing, he's nearly 4

boy somemore.. haiz... he don't like MIL sayang him to slp, prefer me. dunno is it pregnancy, boobs got milk smell. yesterday he wanted to hug my boobs to slp. end up scold, he cry then i walked out of room. haiz... then early morning MIL nag again..
super bad start to morning lor!

Sunnie_Gal
i think we have another mummy Priscilla also announced that she's having a boy...

well some of us have earlier due date, like me and my sis both June 02, but during OSCAR scan, for mine doc didn't say much but accidentally mentioned "girl", for my sister, she did asked specifically but doc said can't really see yet.. but for my #1, doc said most likely a boy when i was at 14th week and it's just a normal scan, not even a longer scan like OSCAR or detailed scan.. so i really think that boys very easy to see at earlier stage, although not all, but for girls maybe very hard to tell around 11-14 weeks still, so most likely have to wait for 5 months detailed scan..

nattan
pasteurised cheese should be okay, plus everything in moderation should be fine, don't worry too much..

Mummies, anyone has been to Port Dickson before using coach?
How long is the travel time from Singapore?

Huhu my company policy now we need to clear our leave (4 days) on 27-30 Dec. Until now I haven't booked any travel to go outside SG..
Planning to go Malaysia as it's near.

Or anyone been to Malaysia using coach before? Did the coach has toilet? Will it stop halfway if we want to go to toilet?

I haven't even go JB yet ever since I stay in Woodlands. huehehe..

Gd morning everyone, wake up this morning feelin burpy n giddy. I feel like that almost everyday when I wake up and had been missing work for a bit. How did you motivate yourself or force yourself to get out of bed with such unwell condition?

i went Desaru via coach few mths ago. no stop only causeway at singapore and malaysia checkpoint.
then all the way to desaru ard 2hr journey.
that time we kenna stuck at woodlands checkpoint cause jam for about 4hrs. also bo bian. have to tahan.

if u have 4days, i'd suggest u go BKK or Chiangmai.
more child friendly and it's not expensive also.

To make it worst bcuz of wat happen to mi n hubbynow, I m totally stretched to the max n super stressed! That make it worst for mi to drag my feet to work.

jenny: highest lvl of motivation is $. LOL
no $ means baby can't have stuffs. this is my motivation to work.
i hate to get to work also. but it helps to think i can buy stuffs for my kids w/o taking from hb or parents.

Felicia, thanks for the assurance. I think I may still make the tiramisu for my friends since that was what I promised, but I can don't eat it. Or else, I can try what some recipes recommend: heat the cheese and then cool it again, but that may not stop bacteria from growing in the cooled cheese.

Groovy, I've not been to PD, but recently went to Malacca via coach. Was a quick 3hr+ trip (including clearing customs) and there was no rest stop. But it's ok cos I make sure I empty my bladder and bowel before the trip
I think to PD should take a shorter time.. maybe 1-2hr only? It's better if you travel during weekdays so that there's less chance of jam. I hate going to M'sia on weekends.. too many people and always jam at the customs. If you don't wanna travel too far, can consider Bintan or Batam also. Or try staycation on Sentosa or Changi Village. Less hassle if bringing kids.

Jenny, what kind of work do you do? Can you arrange for flexi-hr if you really feel unwell? My office hr is quite flexi.. nobody goes to work on time :p haha.. For me, usually I take my time and reach about 9.30am. My motivation is that I enjoy my work, so not such a drag, but I don't like having to travel to work. Still, cannot complain cos my workplace is already quite easily accessible, unlike my previous place where I need to take 3 buses to work!

Huhu the problem is hubby is going for retreat until 27 or 28. I can't remember :S..
So he ask me just stay at home to supervise and see how things are being put by my current maid, how my current maid works everyday etc. So we'll be ready when changing maid.

My hubby I think doesn't want to go anywhere leh! He's not the "traveling" kinds of person. Everything I need to arrange if I want to travel

Hm.. air tickets will be quite expensive I guess if travel those days..
Or should I just go Batam or KL?

Anyone experience with Ferry?

Last time I took Ferry from HK to Macau so torturing leh.. Very dizzy. Now preggy and need to carry #1 some more :S..

I wanted to go maybe 2 days 1 night or 3 days 2 night kind, so it won't be too torturing for me too..

Haha ya ya.. Highest motivation to work is $$ so can buy stuffs for baby/child without hubby nagging.

Now I use my money also hubby sometimes nagging me buying so many things.. I can't imagine if I don't work anymore

port dickson is a run down place. A total run down place. Not worth and it about a 3.4 to 4 hrs from Singapore if there is no jam.

Groovy, then staycation. sentosa or chalet..
my hb n son went for 3day 2 night chalet at NSRCC.
nice bungalow with sea view. just like a house. so u don't have to worry abt food. can cook there. got restaurants there too.
i don't like chalets like pasir ris or ntuc.. like hotel room. small n noisy.

Groovy, got for fice Star/transtar preium or first class coach. coaches will stop @ rest point to let u go toilet or to get some refreshment. I took transtar to KL and was a good experience.

I took Aeroline and Transtar to KL on separate occasions.. both are great.. very comfy seats with wide legroom and personal entertainment system.

Groovy, I think if your hubby don't like to go anywhere, a staycation is the best bet.. Can try one of the new hotels in RWS.. your #1 can also enjoy the fun rides. Nowadays discount sites like Groupon also have a lot of good deals on entry fees to Sentosa attractions. If you prefer a quieter time, Changi Village Hotel is not bad.. close to lots of eateries and the beach.

Have not been active very lately.

Just saw the updated list and realise that is time round a few mummies are giving birth at gleneagles.

Btw, If u confirm giving birth at gleneagles, go check with your gynae if can let u do pre hospital admission now before 26 Dec. As Glenegales is increasing their hospital fee... If u do pre admission now, u still pay for the current fee.

How nice, can go holiday, my hubby don't let me go anyway. I wanna go swimming, he also don't allow.. Say scared I fall down..
How to convince him so I can go holiday ah? Haha

Sigh.. hubby said his retreat is until 29

Dunno where to go. Maybe just stay at home again. Huhuhu..

I plan to bring #1 outside though during weekdays. Maybe go museum or shopping..

Priscilla, huehehe.. Your hubby is so protective.. But I guess if your pregnancy is normal, we can go anywhere we want.
Last time during #1 I let go the opportunity becoz when I'm feeling better in my 5th & 6th mth it's school holiday already, air tickets are so expensive!! And I'm thinking to keep my leaves instead of spending it. I rugi 1.5 days of leave becoz of that since I can only carry over 10 days every year and my maternity leave is across the year

I also think people usually go babymoon to SG becoz lots of toilets lor.. In 5th, 6th mth really feel like going to toilet all the time. I can't imagine if traveling overseas like that.

Priscilla, swimming is ok, but maybe your hubby is afraid the floor is slippery and that you may slip and fall. Usually doctors would advise travelling after the 1st trimester. If your doctor says it's fine, will your hubby allow? I'm thinking of a quick getaway sometime around CNY since we probably cannot go visiting anyway cos of MIL's death (not yet 100 days)

Groovy: what abt next week? b4 ur hb go retreat u both go staycation?
weekdays alot of things to do.. go christmas shows with #1. go zoo, sentosa play water, playground - fidgets, explorer kidz, go-go bambini etc..
playdates with your SAHM friends with kids..
but u'll be super tired. hehe. tat was how i spend my SAHM time during #1.
best of all, go afternoon movies with #1. esp during #1 nap time. they will most probably slp throughout. my #1 did. music is like white noise to them. very shiok..

Glass,
Actually this pregnancy didn't come easy for us. We actually conceived through IVF after yrs of trying, testing, medication & eventually IVF. I still say I'm very fortunate as we managed to succeed on our 1st IVF cycle. So regardless of gender, as long as baby is healthy, we're happy. Hubby also say gender of baby doesn't matter.

But I guess for both sides of parents, they're looking forward to a grandson. My parents have 4 daughters, so a grandson will bring some balance I suppose :p on my hubby's side, we have 4 nieces n 1 nephew. So another boy will be nice

Regarding traveling, my hubby also disallow. Says don't take unnecessary risks. So I booked a stay cation at Sentosa this weekend to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary.
but won't be expecting to be walking ard much though. Anyone have any idea regarding any rides pregnant ladies can take at Universal Studios? Wondering whether to visit cos no point paying so much for tickets but in the end, can't ride anything.

aww.. Sunnie, dun go USS.. all cannot ride. haha
i went there just b4 realising i was pregnant.
if u don't wanna take risk then dun go.
cause, most rides r roller coaster. even the safe ones like jeep ride is bumpy.
the MUMMY theme has underground roller coaster.
the SCI-FI theme has red and blue ultimate crazy coaster.
the shrek has 3D with chairs effects like sitting on horse. of course there r stationary chairs but not that enjoyable and there will be abit of surprises that comes along with the show. so u might get shocked.
the 4D show about the NY thunderstorm has lots surprises too. many were shocked and yelped once in a while. not scary as in monsters but sudden movements n items dropping.
all other rides that r safe for kids r merry go round and octopus that can fly when it spins round n round. but i guess with nausea, best not to sit also.
there is also a dinosaur type coaster that is only 30sec. hanging from the top you'll be 5 storeys above ground. like those mailboxes you see moving around in the hospitals in olden days..

there r many things to ride in USS. if u dun ride, there ain't many theatre shows to enjoy. mostly r musical. abit boring. at least to my overseas counterparts they r boring... haha
to me it was new so i found it entertaining.
other than the coasters, i ride on almost everything safe that kept my head above my legs.

but experience is nice. so if u dun mind ur hb just riding alone then u can go. otherwise wait till u deliver bah.

food is horrendous to me in USS anyway. chinese restaurant is exp n sucky. western burgers r worst than mcds.

when i was 4mths preg i went australia movie world with hb. i was camera person. everything just walk n look niah. super boring..

Petrina, I also went there before realizing I was preggy!! And it coincides with children's day

Siggghhh.. I thought of going on Hubby's B'day which is after my #1 first Bday.. Bought ticket from long long time before becoz of the 20% discount.

When I went there, see crowds in MRT AND REALIZE IT'S CHILDREN DAY THAT DAY. ARGHHHH!!!

It's so full inside USS. #1 sleeps when we reach there. When she wake up, not long after it was RAINING!
Then we can't go anywhere anymore, some more we forgot to bring stroller raincover. We just took the Merry-Go-Round for 3 times, watch Shreck, watch Donkey, get into Madagascar. And that's all
.. Some more Madagascar one actually nothing just go inside the boat, but #1 not yet 80 cm high can't join. Huhu.. So hubby wait with her outside..

That hubby of mine, if #1 is sleeping, really spoil her leh. Don't want to wake her up, don't want to disturb (so we didn't go to any attraction when she's sleeping). Huhuu.. Wasted $$.. We went with my mum. She's asking whether we want to see any attraction and she helps wait with #1 but in the end we didn't do that because it's totally very very long queue.. huhu..

Groovy: yes. cause this yr children's day was first friday instead of the usual 1st oct.

there is alot of things to play when not preg.. hehe
the boat was fun too. u like the shrek? hehe..
i didn't take merry go round.. my overseas collys didn't want to sit. then i also paiseh.
i like the 4D NY show.. can use the baby carrier to bring baby in..

Petrina, thanks for the info. Think better not waste $ & go there. End up just wandering aimlessly ard :p

Jenny,
U still considering divorce? Got to speak to hubby already?

Just received a call from the gynae. Blood test result not very good....increased risk ratio of 1:118 so gotta for the amnio test in 3 weeks time on 1st wk of Jan which involve 5% risk of miscarriage, if baby moves too much. My last scan shows that my baby loves to move alot, very active. Hope it won't affect the amnio test.

Btw, the gynae prescribed some omega 3 fish oil named Dhaxtra softgel. The taste of the fish oil is pretty bad after burping. Anyone eating that too? Any other recommendation? I would like to try NeurogainS from Pharmacy? Wonder if anyone try that before and is the taste as bad?

sunnie gal, or u think i should go counselling centre first? ya, still think should divorce.. everytime i close my eyes i think of him calling mi names n the nasty words n the bruise on my face, i just cannot forget.. didnt speak to him.. i tried, he wont answer the calls or reply smses.

I am new to this thread, currently in my 14th week, this is my #2 & #1 was born in Nov 09.
Done with my Oscar, thanked God result was okie.

Decided to go back to Mt. A after having bad exp with the parking at TMC when we were there for Oscar test. Initially was uncertain abt which hospital to choose, i like TMC coz they will provide free longan drink where as Mt. A don't.
But i still decided to go back to Mt. A, feel that their nurses are more friendly & helpful.

Not having much MS during my 1st trimester, no heartburn, not much vomitting, but just feeling tired.

Dr. prescribed me with Natal care triplus, so far no prob with this fish oil.

Jenny,
Hope u can cool down & talk to yr hb before u all proceed for divorce.
It takes 2 hands to clap & both parties to maintain the relationship, think of a way to solve your prob. Take care.

Sunnie_Gal I think better dun go for the rides... too much sudden/jerky movement may not be safe for the baby...

Thanks Petrina/Groovy for the review on USS.. I've not been there. After reading what you wrote.. good thing I didn't waste money, rather watch movie. :p Maybe next time then bring my kid there...

Jenny, your hubby didn't try to contact you at all after the last time? If you have really decided, you can check out more info on the Law Society website. There's a list of lawyers who specialise in divorce: http://www.lawsociety.org.sg/directory/advertisers/divorce_family_matter/result_page.aspx
BTW, it's not true that you need to wait 3 yrs for divorce to be granted. If you can prove that you suffered hardship or cruelty by your husband during your marriage (you can take photos of your bruises for example), the court can grant you a divorce. Anyway, do think carefully before doing anything...

pre natal pills - my GP give me neogobion. tat's all. i nvr take pills from gynae.

Jenny: pls consider carefully. marriage is for life. not to be taken lightly. if he bruised u only once, it might have been a mistake. if he doesn't have any abusive track record, y not consider giving him a chance? first u can apply PPO to have a record and protect urself so in future if u really want to apply divorce, there is already a record for easy processing.
he left the house u both r currently staying in? so u r all alone or he chased u out? where r u staying now? personally unless there is a very good reason, i dun recommend divorce so early in marriage. things can be worked out. let him cool down first.
do u both have fb? maybe u can update ur status so he'll soften? of course not blabbering tat he beat u or left house.. just update your daily stuffs that u both usually talk abt after work..
update about baby n stuffs.

hehe Sunnie, yeah. wait till delivery than go bah. just adults more fun. got babies or kids very ley chey.. this that can't sit.

Anna: don't worry too much.. some ladies here also taking the animo test. pray for the best.

Hi Little Mouse: welcome.. there is a google spreadsheet. do update your stuffs when u r free.

nattan: haha.. go movies, do anything u want that cannot bring baby.. have fun! u'll miss these fun after baby is out. hehe

Petrina, I dunno whether a PPO would help.. wouldn't this make the husband more embarrassed and angry? Esp if both parties continue to live with each other? But yes, a PPO will make sure the husband gets punished if he ever use violence on Jenny again.

Jenny

All the best. Whatever u decide to do, pls make tye best choice for yourself n baby's sake.

Anna

Oh dhaxtra's the brand of the fish oil my gynae prescribes. I agree it sucks lol. That's y i take my nordic naturals. Plus it's strawberry flavoured haha

STAYCATION

Actually hubs wanted to go this dec hols. But i wanted to save money. Think he super sad lol. If u all can afford n physically able, it's gd to go overseas now. Once baby comes hor, most of us won't go. Me anal.. Dun let my son eat overseas food. So drag my rice cooker to batam, malacca n phuket tocook for him. Sian lor!

hi jenny

I was inactive in the forum but was reading your posts just now.

Reading your posts reminded me of my past. I was like you when I had my first child. My hb abused me when I was pregnant with my 1st child. Now I am having the 3rd child.

Do not do anything rash to harm the baby or yourself or even end the relationship. If you don't mind you can email me [email protected] or find me at facebook using the above email add and we can solve this together.

Jul, wow... you are very zai leh... bring cooker overseas to cook for your son! I remember when I was small, my parents brought me to Japan, I didn't want to eat anything except the rice there! Think my mum must have wished she brought something from home to feed me. I wonder next time will my kid be so picky like me

jul: hahaha.. u very hilarious leh... bring rice cooker overseas?
bring jar food la.. keke

nattan: PPO not sure useful or not. but from my fren's experience, it doesn't embarrass the man cause it's just a letter mailed him. no police will come by. he can choose to be absent from court no arrest will be made.
it serves as a notification and warning. she can choose not to enforce the PPO even if he comes near her.

when i brought my boy to thailand on his 2nd bday, he also can't eat much. cause too oily.. he kept vomiting out the food. end up he fell sick. but i don't think it was food that made him sick. he fell sick on 2nd day upon arrival cause he bath then run ard in the air con room. so caught a chill. then i didn't pack enough meds. thailand meds not too good. plus doc queue very long..

so when traveling overseas, make sure u pack loads of meds for kids. all sorts.. i learnt my lesson liao.. hehe
we almost had to rebook flight back home cause he high fever..

jpn ok leh.. so much food to eat plus it's clean.
tat time i brought my son to thailand we had to keep eating jap restaurants cause other foods too yucky for him.

Petrina, agree that it's important to pack meds for kids while travelling. My stomach was very sensitive last time (maybe cos S'pore is too sanitised already) and I'll have diarrhoea every time my family travelled overseas, worst time was in Phuket I remember... LS after every meal (and we only ate in restaurants/hotel). Japan is clean and has lots of food, but I was only about 4 or 5 yo, didn't know how to appreciate the food there la.. just rejected everything except the rice. Now I love Japanese food but cannot eat my favourite salmon sashimi or sushi till after delivery!

nattan, jap food is also my fav and i'll usually eat those sashimi and sushi. now got to cut down on going to jap restaurants since can't eat my fav sashimi and sushi. last week when i went phuket with hubby, we went to a jap restaurant at a shopping mall for dinner. hubby ordered a big plate of sashimi to eat and kept saying 'oishii', made me so angry at him for being so insensitive

btw, any mummies here started or is starting to do prenatal massage? got any recommendations?