petrina
i can understand your feeling.. well my dasao married in 2008 so tried for quite some time liao but no luck yet..
for me hor i rather settle things on my own, don't trouble both sides of the parents.. but if they are willing to help, i am more than happy to let them handle.. like my in laws now help us fetch #1 back and cook his dinner hor, i never ask what he had for dinner, to me if MIL is handling, then i leave it all up to her, just trust her that she knows what's good for her grandson.. same goes for maid, i dun bother much as long as my boy is safe..
personally i also thought about being a SAHM, but my father is strongly against that.. he told me that i should continue working and let my kids understand that mummy is working hard for their good future, and mummy will not have all the time just for them.. i agree with him lor, i must have my own career and my own life.. so if really your mil were to return the kids to you hor, why not consider childcare, i think the best choice i made was when my mil insists to send the maid away, i put my boy at childcare.. he is not good at socializing because he only see my maid at home everyday.. but now he is improving a lot and become more and more independent..
that's why for #2, i rather just send to nanny..i wanted infant care but they do fall sick easily, and since we don't have a maid, once they fall sick, or school close, we have to take leave which is going to affect our career, so we decided to look for nanny instead.
but my mil is very understanding and told me to get another maid if i really can't cope since she see me tired now everyday.. i said no need, wait till i deliver #2, if can't get nanny i will then hire a maid, since our condo will be ready by Q2 2013, she just need to tahan the stranger in the house for 1 year, hehee..
will you be getting your own flat any time soon?