(2012/06) Jun 2012

Hi Priscilla,
Do share the info if you find out from your gynae next week!

Do you still have MS now at week 14? Maybe you can ask your gynae if there's anything that can make you feel better? Just continue to think positive thoughts about your baby.. all these will be over soon and it will all be worth it! Jia you!
kao_babydust2.gif

priscilla,
how about going to your mum's place to stay on some nights, then won't feel so alone ? or buy the burger in advance, keep until supper, microwave and eat. always have some standby food, don't wait till hungry then search for food.

Jul, thanks. not sure. I was asked to measure 3 times daily and Dr Yeap referred me to Dr Kelvin chua to monitor my BP. but strange is whenever i measure, i measure it with normal reading leh.

I was down on mc for 2 full days with lower abd discomfort and headache. Panadol that doc asked me to eat did not quite help, I applied " Lu Yi" oil on my forehead last night and it gone this am..

I am not sure if the pre-natal vitamins are too heaty. Can we eat water melon?

May: Watermelon belong to 'cooling' fruits leh. It depends on individual actually as diff ppl diff 体质. To those heaty body, maybe ok but for woman whose body is 'weak', it's not advisable lor.

These are Chinese belief lah. But Western believe in eating in moderation.

Hi May, cooling fruits include papaya, honeydew/rock melon, orange, Chinese pear, starfruit... Not advisable to eat too much if you tend to get stomach cramps after eating them or loose stools. If you are ok, then it's fine if you eat just a few pieces, preferable not too cold (leave it outside the fridge for a while). Personally, I've been eating a lot of kiwi, strawberries, apples, oranges, sometimes pineapple, with no problem. Helps with bowel movement

Thnks ladies.

Ok nattan, I will update u later.
MS? I also not sure wat is consider MS.I will feel giddy before and after lunch lor. And still burping also.. Help it will go away soon.

I still can manage to be alone now..sometimes feel lonely only.. But sleeping alone not too bad.. I can have the whole bed and no snooring sound.. Haha.. Very peaceful.. Haha..
Maybe I will go back to my mum place 2weeks before I due..so got ppl on standby

Grape consider heaty. I personally eat a mixture but steer clear of cooling one like pineapple, watermelon, starfruit, snow pear

So far, eaten apple, orange, grape, kiwi, strawberry

May, I dunno about passion fruit cos it's quite rare to find here. But I like passion fruit bubble tea!

Priscilla, do you throw up, or just feel nauseous? I don't throw up but feel nauseous esp when I feel hungry. I also burp a lot nowadays.. Doc says I should eat small, frequent meals to help stomach digest the food so that I produce less gas, but cannot leh... I want to eat a full meal when I'm hungry.

I don't throw out food, but air.. Haha..too much gas..ESP when I hungry..
I feel nausea before and after food, ESP lunch.. Not much appetitie for lunch.. So usually only can stomach half the portion.. But full meal for dinner..
I think my digestion system not good..so feel bloated most of the time...

Will vitagen help?

Oh so you're like me lah.. I also "throw up" air.. haha.. But I don't feel nausea after food. Yes, you can drink Vitagen/ Yakult, eat yoghurt or take probiotic capsules (if you don't want extra calories) to aid digestion.

So far I have no problems in pooing. Not sure if its cos this is working. Morning I drink a glass of cold milk and I have 2 slices of whole meal bread (which is supposedly high in fibre). At night before I sleep I take vitagen. So far I have been able to poo every 1-2 days even though I haven not been taking that much vegetables.

Been so tired this week. Can barely keep my eyes open. Last night had a nightmare and was angry with my husband in the stupid dream. In the end when I woke up my stomach was hurting. I was so scared. Luckily the pain is gone now. Now I know why preggies cannot be agitated.

AsRias, I have been going to the toilet quite regularly too..
maybe cos i drink a lot of fruit juice and make sure I have fruits and veges for at least 1 meal.

I usually cannot remember my dreams :p But sometimes I will wake up with heart palpitation. I just take deep breaths, pray and go back to sleep. Maybe you can try a relaxing warm bath before bedtime and meditate to calm yourself before sleeping. That way, you'll have better sleep. I recently bought an ultrasonic aromatherapy set from Muji.. going to try it out and see if my sleep will improve with some lavender

Nattan,

Its really weird, cos since I got pregs I have had a couple of dreams of my hubby being unfaithful.

But I'm sure he is not. He is the sweetest thing and therest nothing for me to suspect otherwise. I think the hormones in my body are giving me crazy dreams.

Sighz I think I will try some soothing music.

Yeah I think it's your raging hormones
Try not to dwell on these negative thoughts. Relaxing with soothing music is good too...

Hi ladies! So long nvr log in... Was on 2days mc cause fever n giddy, standard flu n cough..
Damn tired.. Havent eat meds sometimes already like taken martell! Can doze off instantly..
Havent been eating much yet. Taking anti vomiting pills before meals otherwise will vomit. But still only managed 3 small meals a day. Cant eat 6small meals or more.. But super hungry.. Everyday look for food inspiration from hb n colleagues.. Haha

Dreams - my hb say i've been acting crazy.. Always suspicious of him and his female colleagues.. Lol since preg i've quarrelled with him so many times cause i keep questioning him whereabouts which i nvr do in the past.
I feel insecure with the stupid fat tummy lah.. Then he scared hurt bb, so he rather hug bolster at nite.. Make me lagi sad.

Adeline, thanks for the price updates.. I told my clinic to book le. Dunno if they done so though. Cant check.

I hope to be able to eat normally soon. I hate the sight of food but i m so hungry all the time.

Drooling - my #1 didnt drool much other than the usual few mths where they start blabbling and saliva comes out.. Hehe
Not sure abt craving cause i have no cravings!! Cham lah.. But i m super bad tempered.. As in really! Even my MIL also step away from war zone when i scold my son. She only open her mouth after im done scolding. She say bad for baby.. Ask me cool down.. Otherwise bb will be just as grumpy. I feel guilty, but hard not to scold my son.
Recently he machiam lost his ears! Call him no response.. Eyes n ears glue to tv and toys. Make me so angry.. Then i cant stand messes.. His toys all over the place.. So i tend to shout at him alot!
Told him he sick cant share my food n drinks, he'll purposely eat from my spoon or drink from my straw then say i cant eat or drink cause he drank liao! See i go crazy or not.. With such a son!
End up i caught flu n cough from him lor.. Then cough shout at him lagi have sinus headache.

anyone going gynae visit sn? Forget to ask my gynae yesterday if i cn dye n rebond my hair. Anyone seein their gynae sn cn hlp me to chk? I m stil in my 11wk. Thks!

Morning every one, haven't log in here for a few days.
Just had my nt scan, results are normal. Had an ang moh sonographer, and she's quite fast. Had all the measurements in half an hour and the scan was so blur but she can see. Only thing is she's very quiet when concentrating, so i just lie there and sleep.

The first one i had, i had to walk around and wait to go in a second time. Then the person kept scolding my son for being naughty and kept hitting her hand lightly.

I have a cyst in my left ovary, but gynae said it should disappear by next visit, so hopefully it will.

Mood of mother
Do try your best to feel happy. I had lots of terrible things at work last time, but i chose to ignore the bad part and keep feeling happy. One trick is to run the unhappy events like a movie in your mind, like those flashbacks. Then you reverse the movie, add distortion, like that irritating customer, make her super short, super long, grow mickey mouse ears, get blown up like a balloon, and then deflated with a pin, black and white, red big nose, with funny clown music or whatever. After a while, the unhappy event becomes funny and you don't get too caught up in that.

So my son is generally a happy baby. Of course he has his moods once in a while, but quite easy to get him to listen. I have heard of some babies who really get hysterical, because their mummies got really angry quite often during pregnancy. So try your best to control your mood.

I was a little emo growing up, turn out my mother was doing radio drama when expecting me, and sometimes must act out a range of emotions, so i also displayed a whoke range of emotions too.

For my current pregnancy, i'm trying hard to be happy, but my husband just want to scold me about housework. So i just ignore.

Petrina and other mummies who are sick, take care. I have been having a cough for 2 months and more and i feel extremely terrible. Like coughing my lungs out. Gynae gave me cough mixture last month, i finished everything but didn't work.

Heaty
I was too heaty recently. Bit my cheek twice in a row. So i took some green bean soup to cool down. Think no need to avoid cooling food totally. Just see what your body needs.

glass > probably i m in no position to sy bt ur hubby shld b more understandin leh. My hubby works 6 full days a wk n whn he is hm, he has to lk aftr #1 n do simple cleanin n wash milk bottles n etc. Othr housechores whic r more time consumin, i outsource to part time cleaner. The house is nt 100% clean n tidy bt i tink its the best hubby n i cn manage for nw. Smtimes i knw he gt frustrated w the mess, bt wat to do? I m jus too tired to do anything. :p

Chris: coz we come from very different background in terms of housework. His mum is a housewife, so she cleans the house every day, washes clothes as well, but doesn't cook at all. My mum works, so doesn't do at all except cooking. I don't have a habit of doing housework too, so that's why he thinks i'm lazy. Actually he is right lah, just that now i got excuse. That's why i just ignore lor.

Regarding part time cleaner, me still thinking about it, but would probably settle it by end of month.

Dreams
So far my dreams are more about me being unprepared at work. Just 2 days ago, i can't remember the reason, but i know i slapped my husband in my sleep. Happened to just wake up at that moment, and he poor thing, didn't even know he was slapped. Hehe

Just had fillet o fish, one for one. Dunno what to eat for next meal.

Baby hair colour
Just use johnson baby shampoo and body wash, baby's hair will be brown. My friend mentioned that, and her baby's hair is brown, my son's hair also brownish.

glass > my in law family is much much worse. His mum does everythin, fr housework to cookin n even hlp out in the family bis. FIL does nothing except wk. Cm hm, jus ly on massage chair n watch tv. Durin meal time is worse. Everything wil b prepared by MIL n SIL. Even utensils n rice r all prepared n set nicely. FIL, my hubby n his bros only hv to move their butt to the dinin table. Aftr meals same thing, the guys jus leave everything on the table. Even the bones n their own rice bowls n utensils. I was SHOCKED whn i 1st join thm for meals. I m simply nt brght up tat way n in fact the opposite way. Cos my family is all female n jus 1 male, tat is my dad. Haha.

Bt i tink for my case is a little diff fr urs cos we waited 6yrs for #1 n we heard of many stories of losin the foetus n such. So we were really careful thn. I was lik a queen. Haha. Nw for #2, although we r more relax, hubby stil understd y i nd plenty of rest. Although smtimes he wil stil comment y his sis cn do everything whn preggy n i cant. Thn i tell him cos i m special! Haha. :p

Woah~ Am 15wks tdy. But my tummy still SMALL laaa. =___=
Sooner or later can know the SEX of the bb. *thrilled*

My experienced Auntie asked me whether I like SOUR STUFF during my 1st trimester. I cannot recalled so I said no. She immediately said its a GIRL. I asked her for more other reasons what makes her think it's a girL she said DON'T ask much. Girl means girl. KAKAKA!!

Interesting huhHh. I tried to check out the charts. No matter which chart I used, it says BOY. haA! Let's see then..... ^^

To my huBby or me, same same. Girl/boy no difference, as long as bb ish safely born. Well, I don't know about my MIL/FIL side laaa. Who knows, sekali THEY hoping for BOY?? Bleah~~

Felicia, ur gynae really said that huh? my gynae told me no rebonding and dyeing of hair but i don't care leh, going to rebond after 2 weeks.

glass, I also have a cyst near my left ovary but the gynae said it's normal and will go away. I read that the cyst usually develops to produce hormones to support the pregnancy before the placenta is ready. No worries about it.

I agree with Chris that hubbies should be more understanding now cos the wives may feel more tired or have bad MS...my hubby does most of the heavy housework at home, including cleaning our cats' toilet cos I can't do it now. But he is willing
I just do light housework like magic-mop the floor a bit, wash some dishes and put the laundry in the machine

Angela, I like sour stuff (and strong/spicy stuff also) but the charts all say I'll have a girl... hmm...
kao_confused.gif
I think IL side will wish for a boy to carry the family name, but so long as the baby is healthy, that's more important right?

Felicia, I went to Watsons just now and bought a Liese kit to DIY at home... hehe..

petrina >personally i wil avoid bbq fd, cos scare nt fully cooked n thy r more prone to bacteria while handlin. If u wan, jus mak sure thy r well cooked bah.

TELLING #1

Have any mummies with older kids told them abt this baby yet? How do you plan to tell them? And when?

I'm in a dilemma. I don't know if i shd tell my #1 now because he's starting sch in jan. Not sure if he'll feel that we're sending him away coz the baby is coming. He still likes to refer to himself as a baby.

And when we mention going to sch, he just says "dowan dowan". Dunno if it's his Dowan acting up, or he really doesn't want to go to sch. Hiaz

I always feel bloated after meals, seems like too much gas in the stomach. Any mum-to-bes feel this way too?

Chris, I dyed my hair last week, during my week 14 pregnancy. Gynae told me it is alright to do so as baby is stable after the first trimester. I did manicure and pedicure too.

Michi, can register for the childbirth education now, the classes are fully booked till Feb 2012! I am into 15 weeks now, so by then I go for the class, I am already more than 20 weeks.

Jul, ur #1 still small? I dunno how to handle younger kids, but mine is 3.5 so i told him got baby in my tummy. From then, usually toys he want, we'll say wait till baby is out then buy to share. So now he grasp the idea le. Of course initially he dun wan also. It takes awhile to realise that there ia someone else sharing his parents.
So now alot of things or places we will say after baby is out. Plus, bring him to scans. My gynae tells him his sibling is here, in his old house. Hehe

Huhu.. mine #1 sure will feel rejected becoz as soon as my Maternity leave ends I'll need to put her into childcare already since I don't think 1 maid can handle 1 baby and 1 toddler :S

My #1 will just be 21 mths when baby is born. I dunno whether she can understand or not already. Now she's a spoiled little girl..

fuyutsuki01
haha yup, he said, there's no scientific proof that the color of our hair or nails will after our baby so go ahead with whatever i want to do..

As for Oscar scan/blood test, i did that on 11/26.. during Oscar scan, sonograhper will roughly tell us if there's any problem with baby, so no need to worry that much, the detailed report was sent to me after 1 week plus together with blood test result.. and if lucky enough can see baby gender de..

As for blood test, they will call if there's anything so no call = good news.. the report is very detailed.. it shows the calculated risk for Trisomy 21 and as long as you are below the cut off, nothing much to be worried about..

anyway all these test results are not 100% accurate..

Jul
i told my boy about it but he kept saying "don't want" when i ask him if he prefer a didi or meimei.. he's already in school for 8 months so that's not a concern.. but he also refer himself as baby, so when i said mummy cannot carry you because there's a baby in mummy's tummy, he will say, "yup, Renzo baby", faint that's himself.. i think he understands half half only.. anyway they are only about 28 months old so can't expect them to fully understand it ba...

Hi MTBs

I would like to recommend my CL who did for me last CNY. She is available wef early Jan 2012 as a MTB had cancel her service due to an unforseen reason.

You need not apply any pass for her as she is holding on to a LT social visit pass in SIN.

She is neat, clean & hygenic and very pro to breastfeed. She cooking are superb and she is not calculative.

She even volunteered in making red eggs and even cooked extra food for my babies 1st month party as the food we ordered was not enough.

Her charges are very reasonable according to the market rate. Is no regrets hiring her as your CN.

I am not getting any commission from her as this would be my second time I willl be hiring her.
I am just sharing my CN with all MTBs in this forum who are looking for a responsible CN.
Lastly, she 'niang' very delicious and sweet rice wine too w/o adding any preservatives...

PM me if you need her contact...

Wishing you a smooth delivery...

Squirrel, I have the same problem as you. Always feel bloated after meals. Think that's a norm for mummies.

Jul, I have received the package already. Thanks for ordering and shipping. Btw, when can we start applying the cream? After 1st trimester?

Finger crossed....hope my check-up will be alrite today. My 12th weeks check and hopefully can do Oscar test today. Pray hard....

bloated after meal
think that's what i hate most about pregnancy.. had that for a straight 12 weeks i think, getting a lot better after 14th week... so jia you mummies, you will feel a lot better during 2nd trimester..

Just went for my Oscar and results not good my risk is 1:101 and I am only 32. Going down to see doc n I think he will recommend me to do amnio... So worried now...

May
for my case will be nanny.. but if can't find a good one, will have to hire a maid.. my #1 was looked after by myself with a maid for 8 months, then my maid looked after him on her own till he is 16 months old, then we moved in with my in laws while waiting for our condo to be up.. end up have to let the maid leave after #1 went to childcare at 19 months, cuz mil don't like a stranger in the house..

so for #2, we are still crashing in with in laws in a 3 room flat, very hard to get another maid unless we have no luck in finding a nanny.. and i even planned to leave #2 at nanny place and bring back on weekends only, so #1 can rest well at night..

merydith
me same age as you, 32 also.. mine is 1:9581 this time, last time with my #1 was 1:4452 when i was 29.. anyway don't worry too much, i've seen so many cases that amnio test rest turned out very good although oscar scan result was at high risk.. this test is really not that accurate.. maybe opt for fast result for your amnio test so you don't have to worry for too many days.. although will cost more..

do take care and trust that your baby is healthy and strong!! i think if no family history, most of the time it should be all fine.. jiayou!!