(2012/06) Jun 2012

Good morning everyone!

I don't know why, but it feels like it shd be a Friday. But it's only Wed. Argh!

I sent Hubs out for another double cheeseburger last night. had one the night before, but I was craving for it yesterday. Hubs asked me to get delivery coz he was tired. But it took 45min and I couldn't wait - I just felt like I was STARVING! So he had no choice but to go to the drive-in to buy, else I was going to cook instant noodles for myself. Poor Hubs hee

Chris, Jen

Do rest well. I vaguely rem reading before that some of us will get headaches etc.

Sore throat could be due to all the vitamins & supplements that we're taking?

jul
wow your hubby is so nice!! you make me crave for double cheese burger also!! for my last pregnancy i didnt have any supper so hubby never go out buy food for me, this time round so far never either.. i told him hope can last till delivery ba like last time..

but last night i really crave for crystal jade steamboat so much, have to ask him go home bring #1 out and meet me for steamboat, haha feeling damn shiok after i satisfied my cravings..

I had giddy spells initially too but just remember to sit down immdiately if you get the dizziness least you faint and hurt yourself.

Sore throat could be due to the vomitting. Usually after vomitting my throat will get really uncomfortable.

I too like the occassional cheeseburger, tastes really good and somehow I don't quite like rice now I prefer noodles.

My friend actually showed me the baby chart and she told me it was quite accurate. I should be expecting a boy according to the chart.

Not sure if its true but my grandma told me to eat whatever I feel like eating otherwise the baby will be super drooly next time after birth.

Ah Wen
haha same here i also prefer noodle than rice, like super long time never touch rice liao.. but i prefer dry noodle than soupy type..

i heard the saying also that's why last time my #1 kept drooling, my mil ask me why i starve myself and what i wanted badly during pregnancy and never eat? i was lost at first, then she shared with me about this old saying.. i only know that time my boy was teething, LOL...

but i do hear some saying if mummy control the diet too much hor, next time baby maybe very fussy about food, and might also be fatter at younger age.. not sure how true but it happened to my boy, super chubby and a little fussy about food.. last pregnancy my gynae kept nagging about my weight gain so i really controlled a bit.. not to the extend of putting myself on diet, but really just 3 meals a day, no snacks no tea break no supper..

Morning Mummies ~

Morning Sickness
My morning sickness is still on going ~_~ and im at 11weeks , this weekend 12weeks.

Insurance
anyone bought any insurance plan for pregnancy and the little unborn ?

i went to the suntec babyfair last week and there's AXA insurance pamplet..

now abit kiasu looking around for insurance..

Likewise I have the giddy spell too. Will just rest my head and do absolutely nothing. How I wish govt can allow 1st 3 months leave for the pregnant women without cutting our pay. Everyday my hubby will ask me what I feel like eating....but I simply dunno I wanna eat. Just the thought of food make me wanna puke. Haiz....can't wait for the 1st trimester to be over.

felicia

Yeah, he's quite nice to me sometimes haha

But he also big-mouth lah. He was just mentioning not long ago why I didn't send him out to buy cravings like other preggie women for #1. So I sent him to buy porridge once, nuggets once, & cheeseburger twice. Think I quite nice liao hahaha

Not my fault lor, it was mYa & I forgot who else who started mentioning the double cheeseburger. Then made me wanna eat!

Ah Wen, Asrias, felicia

I indulged my cravings for #1, & he really didn't drool much leh. maybe there's some truth in it lol

My gynae also kept reminding me to eat less, not put on weight so quickly, coz the baby was growing fast. Luckily I didn't stop myself, coz he came out early. But he was of a gd weight, so no probs.

milhoger

I didn't. I only bought after I agve birth. Not sure what I bought though, Hubs took care of it with our financial planner

First trimester

Jiayou everyone. Things really do get better. I find myself more energetic, less nauseous, less tired, less moody etc. Tummy also seems to have moved upwards a bit.

1st trimester
yup mine is finally over..very tiring as compare to my 1st pregnancy, not sure it is purely because of aging, LOL.. envy those young mummies at their 20s..

insurance
didn't buy any for pregnancy.. since i have many standard ones to cover myself already.. for #1 i bought one with investment like what i have for myself.. cuz i agree with my agent, kids are not assets. we rather cover ourselves more than cover them because anything happens to us, we must make sure we have enough $$ for our kids, but anything happens to our kids (touch wood), sorry to say but indeed life still goes on cuz they do not have any earning power yet.. it doesn't affect family income.. so he encouraged me to get hospitalization (about 285 a year) for my boy, think include A ward stay at private hospitals.. i think that's impt because kids fall sick frequently at young age..

jul
forgot to mention i left a contact number for CL for you on FB so remember to check okie =)

This morn I weighed myself b4 food. I gained 2kg!!! I think after food more jialat liao... hahaa... Now only 11 weeks. Even my sis say my tummy looks big. haha

Anna
Same thoughts of food made me wanna vomit..i even say to hubby , "eating is a chore ~_~"

Jul
now im starting to get hungry looking at all ur craving.. hahhaha

Felicia
ahh thanks point noted for insurance .. im kiasu.. ahahha

but the in 20's not very true ah..im in my mid 20's my morning sickness is very strong ~_~ bad for me.. but some friend dont experience very bad MS like me..

i don't hv any cravings for #1, nw #2 also no cravings. Smtimes I do feel lik eating certain food. Bt whn I hv the food in my hand, I don't wan2 eat liao. Haha. So i don't send my hubby out to buy food for mi. He is quite fortunate. Haha.:p

all the talk abt cheeseburger makes me wanna get one to eat too.

HI All, been pretty busy at work. Speaking about insurance has anyone thought about investing in your babies cord blood? My hubby and i were also at the suntec baby fair and was thinking about investing in the cord blood however still need more opinions and will also seek our gynaes' thoughs. Any thoughts mums?

All mommies, are we able to have yogurt? I have been craving for Yummy Yogurt but dun dare to buy. Thanks!

Adeline - I went to the Suntec Baby Fair on Sun as well. I saw the Baby Cord booth. My hubby says it is quite expensive but we not sure of the exact procedures etc. I might be asking him again nearer to due date.

Jen
why not? any reason why we can't eat? last pregnancy i ate a lot, and drink a lot of yakult also, gynae told me it's very good, no need to give me what calcium supplement liao..

cord blood
for #1 i didn't do anything at all, guess for #2 most likely i will donate.. no plan to keep so far..

Jen

I've been taking yoghurt too. Those small ones from Anlene and those from Yummy Yoghurt. I even got myself museli bars coated with yoghurt.

Think its quite good because we suffer indigestion since our digestive system is digesting our food slower now so we get bloated feeling alot and we tend to be constipated so I think yoghurt is good. Again everything in moderation.

Jen - i have also been taking yoghurt but once a week. My favourite brand just arrived in stores recently in cold storage.

Yea am still reading about it as we are quite interested in keeping the cord blood for just in case situation but am still skeptical about if its worth the money. Its can be fully covered by CDA as well but probably would like to find out more on what can we use the CDA cash for as we are first time parents.

Felicia - Any info on what else can the CDA be used for?

Adeline
I use CDA mainly for 2 things:
- vaccination at polyclinic, some private clinics can use CDA also for normal GP visit..
- childcare school fees

indeed like for my boy hor, childcare fee about 520 a month, CDA we put 6k govt top up 6k right, total 12k, can only last for 2 years but say i send him to childcare at the age of 2, 2 years of school fees means he is only at Nursery 2 and still need to pay for another 3 years. So indeed really not much..

Hi mummies... was away last week cos went to Malaysia a few days and then was out-station a few days after coming back to work. Been eating and eating so much these days, I'm getting quite bloated...But up till now, I still don't look very pregnant (weight gain about 1.5kg?) and nobody has offered me a seat in the train or bus :p

Jen, I've been eating yoghurt since before pregnancy and have continued to eat it. There's no contra-indication from the doctor, so it's safe. But try to pick the those with less sugar content. I usually go for Marigold's Natural Low Fat and add my own fruits like fresh strawberries, kiwi or banana. Those with fruits added into the yoghurt are usually higher in sugar content.

Just came back from my hometown in jakarta yesterday. Super tired. Come back with cough some more. My #1 refuses to be carried by hubby in the airport so I need to carry her. Some more she refuses my mum's maid to take care of her, so hubby and I take turn take care. Huhu. And my room is upstairs, living room dining downstairs, I've been carrying her up down up down so many times in a day. Strangely she becomes very clingy to me. Usually in sg she's ok with maid or hubby to take care so I can rest. Huhu until I thought I am carrying a girl again. But now don't know anymore..

don't look preggy
guess it's still a slightly early for our tummy to really show, maybe wait for another 2-4 weeks will be more obvious.. i think those who know i am preggy, they can feel the diff, but those who don't know, they can't tell still.. last time i also get seats on train only around 5 and half months, lol..

Groovy2009
maybe you are carrying a boy! they say kids clingy cuz mummy is carrying opposite sex lor.. me also have to carry my boy and walk to bus stop and send him to school, about 15 mins daily.. dunno i can tahan for how long still cuz he is already 16kg!!

I'm new here. 13 weeks already but still feel very sick. I was hoping it would go away after 12 weeks but it's still sticking around.. hurmphf!

Like most of you, I don't know what to eat and my MIL had a hard time thinking what to cook.

My fren taught me a method on how to calculate the gender or gal and boy. This is only for those who oredi have #1.

It is like, if you have your first mense in Aug '10 and your #1 is boy, then you count Aug '10 is gal, then sep'10 boy and gal boy gal boy till the month you conceive your #2,

I can't remember when my mense came after #1, so not able to count.

<font color="aa00aa">vinniesellie &amp; junelb,
Welcome to this thread!

Re: Supplements
So far, my gynae only prescribed folic to me. This will last until 1st trimester. She'll start me on others after my nausea is better &amp; 2nd trimester.

Re: Cord blood banking
I didn't do it for #1 and will think about it when it's near EDD. Do check with your gynae as some companies offer additional discount for certain gynaes.

Re: Food
I dread Chinese food, esp. during dinner. The sight of them made me nauseous. However, I crave for food with stronger taste.

Re: Yoghurt
Yes, it can be consumed as it provides a good source of Calcium. However, if you're consuming it because of the probiotics, please check that the ingredient has the word "live" before the word "bacteria or cultures". If not, with dead cultures, it's as good as none.

Re: Gender
From the chart May posted, it's not accurate for my #1 and I should be expecting a girl this time. I'm not too concern as the baby's health and development is more important.

loshita,
I can't remember mine too, esp. when my #1 is already 5+ yo.</font>

tok abt bloated tummy. I tink mine is vry big, even hubby sy so. Bt i hv bn having promoters comin to me to introduce slimmin gel n slimmin programs! N thy wil all sy cn burn away my tummy fats. Although i dont really wan2 tel thm i m preggy, bt i jus cant resist tellin thm i wan my tummy to gt bigger. Cos bb inside. Haha.

Jus b4 i gt preggy, ppl actually tot i m preggy. Even gt ppl giv up their seats for me. Haha, ppl r strange. :p

Hi Sherrone,

It is also my 1st time to be a mother. Can I check yr EDD is in which part of June? My 1st visit mentioned will be 28 June but 2nd visit became 2 July! Do you have any MS??

Morning ladies

Weight gain
Just cleared my 1st trimester, in my 14 wks now. No weight gain. Hubby was concerned and bought durians for me to eat :p

Food Cravings
Not much. Though I don't suffer from MS (vomiting kind), don't have a good appetite. Usually can't finish entire serving on the plate. But no prob having filet-o-fish meal though :p Prefers spicy food :p would love to have Assam Penang laksa though...

Bird Nests
Hubby gets raw bird nests from swiftlet farm in Malaysia directly. so need to soak and pick out feathers on our own. Cleaned ones are also available but double the price. Hubby helped his uncle to buy. Just pour out of bottle and ready to cook. Cooking wise, only need to double boil for 30 mins. Cook any longer, bird nests will dissolve. Those processed ones from medical halls needs hours to cook cos of additives and bleaching agents used. So not so good. Hubby tried to get raw ones from Medical halls here. But found that prices quoted was more expensive than the processed ones. Doesn't make a lot of sense right? Wonder what else was added to the proceeded bird nests...

Cord Blood Banking
Gynea was not really encouraging it. Saying its useful only until a certain age and limited in uses. So will donate it instead.

felicia

Thanks! I sent the lady sn sms but she didn't reply. Hesitant to just call her up out of the blue. So paiseh to disturb her.

asrias

I have gained slightly more than 2kg *SIGH*

adeline

I didn't store the cord blood for my #1. But coz I deliveerd early, I didn't have time to arrange for donation. Maybe I shd get my butt moving &amp; do something abt it.

felicia

Since Sam isn't gog to CC, I don't know what to do with my CDA> Not that the money is a LOT, it's so little. But I can't use it for pre-sch. Stupid right? I have to be forced to send my kid to CC to use CDA? Don't make sense hor?

Newcomers

Welcome

sunniegal

Er.. No need to have weight gain in first 3 mths lah. Baby is so small, what's there to gain?

Tummy

Mine is really quite huge lor *sigh*

loshita

That's interesting! According to your friend's method, I shd be having a boy. From the lunar chart, it's a gal. Let's see who's correct haha

nattan

Pls check your email! I sent you TONS of emails abt Topicrem. No wonder you didn't reply. Didn't know you were away haha

groovy

Oops. Take care. Lot's of coughing gog ard these days.

Adeline: My hubby also asked me if i want to bank the cord blood and i said not lah cos really expensive. We can't afford esp we already have a #1 going to childcare etc. I think it's up to individual.

Jen Tang: I crave for yoghurt all the time esp. Frolick yogurt. They just made my nausea feel much better! I started buying from the supermarket too and stock in my fridge and eat it anytime when i don't feel well.

Wow! Cheeseburgers! I'm so envy those that can eat one whole burger! I simply can't eat esp during dinner time, i will puke everything out after eating. But I do like fish and chips and potato chips. Do all of you hate drinking plain water? I can't stand the taste! I must drink water with lemon or ribena or lime juice, apple juice, carrot juice etc.

As for the chart, i kept one myself too. My mom said it is 90% accurate only so you could fall in the 90% or the 10%. It's quite accurate for some people but not all. It's not accurate for my 1st one (said boy but i got a girl) and this time round, it says i'm having a girl. I'm ok with another girl if its true cos sisters are closer. I think this is just for fun lah, everything is fated at conception hehe!

Going home is a chore for me, standing all the way in the MRT...then must squeeze bus to go home..then reach home throw up...hai..Going 13 week liao, hopefully all will be gone by 14 week.

Eating

This is so bad.

I sent Hubs out for Mac's double cheeseburger for the 3rd night running. We're at the airport this evening, so maybe this time, I can tabao it first? But cold, not nice leh. Haha let's hope my cheeseburger craving runs out of steam soon else Hubs will go mad.

This morning I had fried beehoon/mee, with luncheon meat &amp; sunny side up for breakfast, with a cup of Milo. Bliss!

joycie

I also don't like plain water. I used to drink a glass the moment I get up in the morning, coz throat dry. Nowadays, I drink, I feel puke-y. Of course I don't puke lah, but it's still not a nice feeling.

Thanks for reminding me! I shd go buy lemons &amp; put them in my fridge to make iced tea &amp; lemon water.

Jul, hee yours is cheese burger mine is fish burger craving.... whahah..... just that day i had to satisfy myself with DOUBLE FISH BURGER!

jul
maybe you want to email her at [email protected].. hehe..

As for CDA, keep it for other stuff lor.. Sam will still need to go to school eventually, but of course pre-school education more expensive to me, haha.. 12k to me is a lot lor, if Renzo is not in school i really got to think of ways to use it, LOL.. but since his CC is not cheap, i will have nothing left after another year..

loshita
I totally can't rem that already, although it's just 2 years ago, lol..

sunniegal
you should be happy, as long as you see baby growing when you go for checkup, nothing to be worried about.. my gynae actually asked me not to put on weight for 1st tri.. then put on 2kg only for first 5 months , but i already put on 1.6kg for first tri.. LOL..

asrias

I don't like fish these days. Esp steamed fish! Gag! I want meat! Meat &amp; meat &amp; flavourful food!

felicia

Thanks! I'll try to email then.

Agree lor! pre-sch is expensive. Those miscellaneous fees or whatever enrichments in Pri/Sec sch is so cheap. I don't need $12k for that lor. Plus Sam's pre-sch is lagi expensive. It's more expensive than your Renzo's CC. Why can't they have subsidy for pre-sch huh?

jul
subsidy huh.. CC have, full day half day both have.. but then like playgroup hor, i think don't have.. i wanted to put him at Josiah Montessori de at first.. 3 hours a day only, 500+ a month already, no subsidy at all.. in a way CC cheaper cuz after subsidy 500+ also but it's full day with 2 meals.. if need to Saturday can put there for half a day with lunch somemore..

not sure if can use CDA for enrichment class or not hor.. if can then will be good cuz enrichment classes not cheap also..

felicia

CDA cannot use for enrihment lah, basically only CC.

Mine is $700+, close to 800 a mth lor. I also agree that CC is more value for $. Got meals, nap, full-day, no sch hols etc

I think I gain the most among all of you. Now coming 12 weeks tomorrow I already gain 4kg. I just keep eating, but I do eat more vegetables and fruits, don't like fast food and oily fried food, prefer noodle than rice. Next fri then visit my gynae. He is the type who din ask me control diet.

But true enough, they say if you eat whatever craving you have, baby come out wont be greedy cause they already eat during pregnancy,

This is my second child and so so different from my first one.

Is it normal now I at 4kg? My coll gain 7kg at her 5th month.

<font color="aa00aa">Actually, I can't remember how much I gained per trimester for my #1 but overall, it's about 15kg.
As for this pregnancy, so far, as my appetite has not been good, I think I only gain < 1kg? Hoping to gain more actually as I'm terribly underweight.

Re: Ideas for potluck
Son is having a Christmas celebration at a park 2 weeks later and parents are to prepare potluck for 30+ 5 year-old kids. Any idea what to prepare as I need to fill in the consent form by tomorrow?</font>

Joanne
Think every mummy is different, some gain more during early stage, some gain faster towards end of pregnancy.. guess no need to worry so much..

i know for my #1, i gained 2.1kg at 3 months, by 5th month gained 4.2kg, by 6th month 8.8kg, then by 7th month gained 10kg, then add another 1kg each for last 2 months so total about 12kg..

got a feeling that this time round will gain more though.. last time my colleagues who preggy together with me hor, 1 gained 9kg in total, another one only 7kg in total.. so i gained the most actually, but my other friends gained about 20-30kg on average.. so i guess it's really not a big deal..

for me i was already overweight before my first pregnancy, so i think my gynae is more concerned and asked me to keep within 12kg, but most other gynae say on average 16kg is normal.. plus i got high blood pressure lor, so have to control a bit..

OSCAR scan + blood test
just got my report last night, phew luckily everything is fine.. but i do have a low laying placenta.. which is the exact same situation as my first pregnancy.. now hoping baby will turn down slowly, last time placenta only went up at 7th month, if placenta low hor, only can go for C-sect.. praying for natural so hope it will go up automatically again..