(2012/06) Jun 2012

wow petrina, what's the usual price for that? I am thinking of getting one, used Avent auto pump last time but very noisy, gave to my cousin in the end cuz i don't have much milk after 20 days. Want to try breastfeeding again this time since last time was not successful so thinking of investing on a better breast bump..

Original price $754.
I checked dept stores sale doesn't incl pumps. So tt price is definitely cheapest unless mums n babes have btr disc next baby fair.
I tried freestyle demo set. But spare parts seem difficult to fix. Then all parts r joint. If spoil muz buy whole funnel. Plus i tested max level, quite noisy too.
Most quiet is pisa. Almost silent unless u put ur ear near it. Suction same as freestyle. But fs more exp. RP $988, SP $770.
i saw avent n pigeon, not impressed by horsepower. So i bot pisa.

thanks for the info petrina, wah those with lots of parts de i sure can't handle.. must get a idiot proof one for my case, LOL.. so expensive sia.. last time the avent one only 200+.. got to think twice sia, if later no milk again, wasted..

Felicia: i used medela pump in style (i think) can pump 2 sides at one go. Quite loud but i like it. I don't have high supply but i can feel my boobs really deflated after pumping, so i think it managed to get everything out. Just keep pumping and the supply will be there.

I'm just curious about the people at my workplace. I never heard any sound from them the whole time they are pumping. Not sure how they are doing it.

Re housework
I just complained to my husband that other husbands are helping out with housework and he started saying he did this, he did that. But i still have to vacuum and mop the floor later. Sian. Will take a nap first then see how.

hey thanks for the info glass!!

yup i think need 2 sides de better, last time use one side, the other side is leaking, so wasted..

heng my office got a nice pumping room besides the toilet for mummies to use, and a separate fridge for expressed milk, wahaha so should be no problem at work, i scared the pump is too loud if i pump at home as we only have 1 room (staying with in laws).. if pump at night will disturb my boy and baby sia..

Felicia: my office pumping room is in the toilet. It's at a corner, but if anyone doing big biz, can smell. I don't like that it is not a room, but only got curtains that doesn't really cover the entire portion.

Don't worry about the sound. My son just continued sleeping when i switched on the pump. Usually i put full speed. And i can finish in 10 to 15 min if i remember correctly. I've heard of people spending more than half an hour each time to pump at work. Too long. If i'm boss, sure complain, plus the milk will be at room temperature for too long.

glass,
I think you shouldn't mop the floor leh, it's strenuous activity !
get a part-time helper that comes once a week to do the heavy chores like vacuuming, moping, cleaning the toilets etc etc. Then you just do the simple chores like laundry every 2/3 days. Men, i give up *asking* my hb to do housework, he's so lazy to change the empty toilet roll in the toilet.

Re: Medela pump
How many years can we use the pump ? I have a hands me down medela pump in style (i think) which has been used for 7/8 years liao, (my SIL use for her 2 kids, about 1 year, i used for my 2 kids, about 8 months) it can still work. Should i save money and continue to use ?

moi,
you may have to drink more water to keep yourself hydrated, so that the blood can flow, bring oxygen to the brain. please take care.

felicia,
thanks for sharing your labour experience, i really hope to experience the *pain* of giving birth this time.

Pisa n pis is same. Onky difference advanced has stimulation button where they will do short n quick suction like baby to stimulate letdown. Otherwise motor power is same.
Medela pis/pisa can last at least 7yrs if motor no spoil. For #1, i borrowed my fren's pis used for 2yrs..
I intend to bf at least 3yrs. So yo be it's worth.. Just tat i regret nvr buy for #1. went ard buying manual n others.. Waste $$. Otherwise i'll save more $ lor..

Housechores, i still do all the usual.. Sweep, mop, laundry, cooking. If move more, labour will be easier.. For #1, i was like queen.. Eat n slp.. So my frens say cervix not stretchy, nvr open.. Lol

<font color="aa00aa">Fellow MTBs,
Thanks. I'm much better in the afternoon. Had to drag myself to go for lunch to regain some energy.

I have low-blood pressure &amp; heart problem. So today, coupled with standing on crowded bus with bad air-flow, bad quality sleep and rainy weather, it happened. I don't usually faint but maybe because of pregnancy.

Yes, been trying to drink more fluid and taking instant cereal in the afternoons to perk myself up.</font>

Petrina: I was dancing in my 9th month and Climbing stairs but it didn't help much in labour. Cervix refused to dilate and I had to wait 22hours after water bag broke then deliver. So I think not much correlation.

Joeey: ya, super strenuous . I just vacuumed the floor. Tak boleh tahan. Hubby happened to call back I told him he could mop the floor himself. I don't have any more strength. Now he suddenly wants to bring my son out to see angry birds at taka, but I have zilch strength left now.
I have been thinking about maid or part time cleaner but I'm too lazy to come to a decision. Will seriously think about it over the next few weeks.

Re medela
Joeey you mention the bpa thing. Are the rubber tubings bpa free which means no need to change or what? My bottles were pretty new before I stopped pumping.

I don't mind is Pisa or pis but I have a button that simulate letdown so it will pump frantically for the first min or two then after that slow down.

glass
haha same as you, i also did exercise from 6 months onwards for my 1st pregnancy, climb up stairs everyday during the last month.. walk to and from mrt everyday also (about 25 mins x 2 times a day).. and before that i do like 3 times yoga every week so i thought i am quite an active person..

end up, cervix dilate very slowly even after they insert the pill.. just hope 2nd time will be faster..

having maid
i super miss my maid now.. have to send her back after we moved in to my in laws place because mil can't stand stranger in her house.. but really with a maid life is so good sia.. at least can go out with hubby while leave my boy to her on weekends.. can sleep whenever i want to.. haiz.. sure will get another one when our condo is up.. esp with 2 kids.. really need help from a maid...

glass,
don't think the rubber tubings are bpa free, but the milk won't come into contact with the tubings right ? the milk will only touch the funnels and the bottles, we also need to sterilize these, so gotta be bpa free.

felicia. I m also thinking of getting maid n this will b the 1st time if we decide to get one. Mind to share ur experience? R u a SAHM? Wat does ur maid do? Slp togther w ur children? She feeds n prepare their meals? Bath thm? So it is safe to leave ur child w the maid alone? Do u let ur maid do marketing on her own? If the whole family goes out, do u hv to bring her along? Sorry if I ask too much question. Thks alot!

Hi Chris, if it's one of ur option to get a maid, then should go for it now. At least got time to shop for a good one. Can try transfer maids, if you have kids, bring them along to see how they get along with her.

I personally don't trust bio-datas from agents because I was told by my current maid that most indo agents will ask their maids to state that they have maid experience so most of the info not accurate.

My first maid was from Myanmar, stated age 27, came over, she confessed that she's only 19 and needed the job badly so she begged her burmese agent to change the details. I sent her back in 2 weeks because at 19 years old, she got zero experience in handling babies. Housework also jialat.

i'm my current maid's 3rd employer, she had problems with her first two but I feel that she's a very good helper to me.

Like now as I type this, she's feeding my #2 cereal while my #1 is beside her doing his colouring.

My kids sleep with me so she sleeps alone in another room.

Usually, I'll handle one child, she'll handle one. But last week, i sprained my ankle badly so she handled both herself. Housework, cook, feed, bathe. My #1 is in childcare from 10am-6pm, #2 is at home with me.

At times, i'll leave #2 alone with her. My hubby and I observed that she dotes on my daughter alot. But we also installed cameras in the house (except her room) and instruct her to stay in the hall with #2 when she's alone with her.

I don't let her do marketing herself because I don't want her to be exposed to too many strangers. One of her previous employer complains was that she talked alot to other indo maids. That one also another problem, cos when maids come together, they compare their pay, employers, everything under the sun. Too much exposure for them is not healthy for us!

So either she follow me to the supermarket or I go alone. But I'll let her bring my son to school on the next block, bring the dog down for poo, let her breathe abit, give her time limit like 5-10 minutes must be back home kind.

We do bring her out because of the kids.. but if we going to have our meals at more expensive places, we'll ask her to have her dinner at home first.. then our reason to her is that later when we having dinner, she gotta feed/take care of the kids.. so no time to eat. so jian.. hahah but ya la, it's still up to us to bring her out or not.

Sorry for the long post... just sharing what I feel about having a maid.. Cheers.

Ladies, is it? My frens n mil say i nvr exercise lor... So i have high hopes this time... Hmm, i really hope my cervix cooperate leh. Otherwise i will cry lor... This preg i seem to have lots muscle ache. Very tired, cant shop at all.
Milk dun touch tube. Dun need to wash at all. So wont have old. If wash then will have mold cause not dry. But after removing funnel, btr to let machine run abit more to dry any mist in tubings.

Joeey, i am also going to get birds nest from malaysia, so much cheaper than here. Hubby's colleague has relatives in malaysia selling birds nest so can get cheaper.

petrina,
thanks for the tip, i also don't wash the tubings one...

fuyutsuki,
#1, i had lots of birdnest and he is very fair, #2, i only ate 2 or 3 times of birdnest plus i drink coffee, and she came out brown brown, till now, still quite tan ... not sure if there's a link but i want bb to have fair skin.

Mummies, just now, I felt some liquid gushing out from down there, and when I went to check, it wasn't blood, but brown discharge. It's more yellowish brown than reddish brown, but the amount that I felt gushing out was enough to soak thru my panties. I don't feel any pain or cramp in my tummy though. Any mummy experience this before?

Yotsuba, I experience this before at week 6. I went to KKH 24h an the doctor there say if it's brown and no cramp accompanied then not to be too worry. Just try to rest more, move around slowly slowly. Hope you will be fine!

Yotsuba, i also experience it during week 8. I immediately took Duphaston. Then it went away during the next 2 days. Sometimes, it's the placenta tat cause the spotting

Chris
yup i had a maid from Myanmar, 36 already consider quite old but no experience with kids.. housework okay but very slow only... good thing is me and hubby are the slow type so we like her. but my mil can't take her slowness and always complain she's not doing a good job. no choice, after 2 years just have to let her go back.. still miss her indeed...

she's a very nice lady, speaks good english which most of the maid from Myanmar don't really speak very good english, so communication could be a prob, but they don't have many friends here so most of them are pretty timid and innocent i feel.

We treat her very nicely because i hired her when my boy was 2 months old, she's the only one helping me, but only do housework back then, till i cleared my 4 months maternity leave, i started training her to look after my boy, shower him together with me.. then i worked from home for another 4 months and she just help out a bit here and there. Till my boy turned 8 months, i started a new job, and she started looking after him all on her own.. my hubby switched to half day work so can reach home usually by 2pm to supervise a bit.. but for the whole morning, she's alone at home with baby.. Afternoon she will sleep for 1-2 hours together with my boy lor.. We trusted her completely, have to actually.. we buy her everything including shampoo and pads, phone cards to call home.. so she has zero spending here and i feel that maybe that's why she's very loyal to us.. she's very smart, even picked up quite a bit of mandarin here.. and she also teaches my boy a lot of things like alphabets and numbers so we do appreciate her efforts..

She sleeps in a common room with a queen size bed, common toilet is all hers, and i look after my boy at night so she can sleep around 1030 and wake up around 630, pretty good life.. i cook dinner everyday and do marketing on my way back from work, so her job was pretty simple.. once a while will ask her go buy things for us also.. And we bring her out for every meal if we go out. i know some employers will buy them food but let them bring plain water, we buy her coffee or soft drinks cuz hubby said, how do you feel if your boss treat you meal but don't buy you drinks, LOL.. even we go for those 30 bucks buffet, we bring her along also..

Then we sold our HDB and bought a condo, so have to move in with in laws.. and my boy started to go to childcare, and she sends him to school everyday, started to make friends, sometimes can go out at 8am come back at 3pm, then 5pm go out to fetch my boy back.. so my mil was not happy but we were still okay since we know she's leaving.. really you got to trust the maid and close one eye lor... And i don't let her do a lot of things, sometimes i told her no need to mop floor everyday, she's the one telling me cannot madam, very sticky, lol.. If we let them do a lot hor, they sure not in good mood mah, imagine we only work for 8 hours a day, they have to work whole day.. So if weekend she wants to go out hor, we let her go out although she has no off day.. i just take it as giving myself more time to have bonding with my boy lor..

sorry for the long post also, haha..

Chloe, Michi, thanks for sharing! Was really freaked out when I suddenly felt the gushing, and didn't dare to move!

petrina, thanks for the warning too. I managed to sms my gynae, she said if persistent gushing then it's not good, but once stop already should be no problem, and told me to continue to monitor for next few days. Really hope this won't happen again.

Chin
gosh you better rest in bed! My sis fell down during her last pregnancy when she was 5 months+, gynae said pretty standard things lor see got any pain, any blood or brown discharge and stuff.. but worry too much if you find yourself alright.. check with your gynae better.. take good care

Thanks FeLicia, will take note of those. Don't know why I so clumsy lor! So angry with myself. 2nd time falling down this pregnancy le.

yotsuba,
try to have more rest these few days. please take care.

fuyutsuki,
i think i took about once a month birdnest after 2nd trimester, we bought few hundred dollars of bird nest from malaysia, can't really remember but definitely more than #2.

felicia,
you are a very nice employer and yeah, trust is very important.

chin,
walk slower, safer la. take care.

Joeey, i intend to take birds nest once a week leh, oredi told my hubby's colleague to bring back 6 mths supply for us from Malaysia. Wonder whether it'll be too much.

Ok then I still have few more weeks to go.

So usually the birdnest come in pieces right. So each week eat how many piece? 1or 2?

Ok so one piece. First time cooking birdnest don't really know how to. Use double boil? Need to put anything else? Like red dates, ginger etc or what? Fresh milk sounds nice. So instead of water put milk lah.

For what I understand, from some of my mummies friends and their mum, and my mom, and my aunts, usual bird nest is to be taken on third trimester , like twice a month.
For second trimester, will drink double boil chicken Soup (kampong chicken) twice a month.

fuyutsuki,
buy and keep, can share the birdnest with your hubby too

Re: Birdnest
Wow, can boil with fresh milk, sounds nice!
I just double boil the birdnest with rock sugar. 1 piece of birdnest double boil 4 hours, i use the slow cooker type. Can eat up to 2-3 bowls.

amy, i buy from Sarawak, there are different grades, mine is medium low grade, 8 pieces in a box cost S$100, not bleached type, abit yellowish. those top grade ones are very ex, cost S$500 or more.

PT Maid
I checked with the superlativesolution for P/T cleaner. She quote $264 for 4 sesions and a additional of $40 as weekend incentive. And cancellation and re-schedule have to done 3 days in a advance. This work out to be more troubleseome and $60 more ex than the current auntie I'm having.

My 11th week check up
Dr Yeap started me on low dosage of Aspirin and she said this is to prevent imscarriage, high blod pressure. For my pressure also measure 130+/85 most days.
Got fish oil and multivitamin. Baby growing well. Will do my OSCAR on 14 Dec.

Soup
What can we drink in Trim 1? can we have "lao huang kua " or bitter gourd soup?

high blood pressure
i had that with my previous pregnancy and now on average also about 120 -130 every time, gynae just started to give me calcium and told me research shows it will help.. he always ask me to eat less salty which is tough since i eat outside everyday.. need to start on some exercise soon since 1st trimester is over..

soup
guess all kinds are fine.. heard bitter gourd too "liang" though, but honestly if we really watch out we will end up having bread and plain water everyday liao, LOL cuz really there are just too many food we are not supposed to eat according to old folks.. heng my gynae very modern and let me eat anything i want de, so just take in moderation should be all fine..

soft drinks
i remember for my last pregnancy, i drank no more than 1 litre of soft drinks throughout that 10 months but this time round, i can't control but keep drinking, how?!! any mummy got this problem also?

Morning Felicia,i am craving for a diet coke just to quench my thrist but hubby stops me whenever i he knows want to have a sip. So resort to redoxon wth ice! It is so refreshing! It helps me though. Lol!

haha thanks for sharing Adeline.. me trying my best not to touch coke cuz i am a big fan of coke zero.. office got free flow soft drinks, all kinds and i try to get only yogurt drink or vitagen for now.. but once i go home, that's it, can't stand plain water and always want to grab things from the fridge..

last pregnancy i eat fish soup almost every meal, this time round all the junk and unhealthy stuff, can't control.. feeling so bad.. =(

she did not prescribe me calcium but only fish oil,Prenatal Multi-vit, folic acid and aspirin.
but somehow, all these makes me more awake in the day

I can't take soft drinks. Tummy will bloat and will wan to pass gas very much. But I like ice lemon tea.. okay right?