(2012/06) Jun 2012

HI Anna, I don't know how much the bill will be and don't really want to think about it now.. haha.. just trust that God will provide for me. My first check-up 2 weeks ago already cost me $300 with blood test. I haven't thought about OSCAR test.. maybe not necessary although I will probably go for nuchal screening. My gynae has not offered any prenatal package yet. I will have to ask him when I see him tomorrow...

So nice tat most of u preggy r eating well. I'm hvg gestric now. Everytime I got preg it will happen.

Now in a panick mode. My helper is gg home n I'll b struck with a tod n a Bb alone. Surviving on how to settle their meals r a headache to me.

I'll b getting a one bedder room n ask hb to pay. Hai, he's the one whom is looking for a son ;) can't escape the cost rite. ;)

Jerlyn, I felt breathless at times too and faster heartbeat especially after meals. I think it's normal for preggie women.

I hate crowd....can't imagine how to squeeze with people for x'mas gift shopping...especially feeling restless most of the time now.

NATTAN: yes.. i hope so.

angela: wow.. very messy. i think i see liao also blur.

i not doing OSCAR test. i heard my gynae say only NT Scan. which he will do. i don't think he'll charge extra unless baby not cooperative.. then maybe he might charge more.. hehe

petrina, i dun think gynae will charge extra, when bb not cooperative, he will tell you to go walk walk then return for scan again.

My gynae (Mt A) arranged for me to go to TMC to do the Oscar Scan which will cost ard $400+. Is this the normal rate? Any other alternatives? I very scare of the drawing blood procedures.

Baywater, can cater in (tingkat) to solve your meal problem?

BTW, think we can claim our pre-delivery medical fees from Medisave up to $450... not a lot but better than nothing.. also can claim up to $300 per yr for your child's immunisation jabs. So better keep all your receipts properly to claim later through the hospital..

Yes nattan, hope god will help us too. Strike 4D, toto and pay raise. Heehee....

Chin, mine cost between S$ 130 - S$ 150 for each visit. First time consulation will be slightly higher I think.

All mummies, please let me know how much is your prenatal package if your gynae have those packages? I will check with my gynae the next visit few weeks later.

<font color="0077aa">chloe and mummies seeing gynae at kkh tps, just thought to share, for my #1 from wk 20 onwards until delivery at wk 39, i spent a total of $723.96 on consultation + scan + routine test and $229.30 on vitamins. it's about quite comparable to pte gynaes offering packages. my normal delivery fee for 2D1N 4-bedded was $2,204.09 before medisave.</font>

If we don't opt for single bed, the baby cannot stay with us through the night.

It's up to you guys, but I will prefer baby stay with me all night. Actually can get baby stay if something wrong just call the nurse.. Also if need to help in breastfeeding.

Last time first night the nurse said just leave the baby in the nursery so I said yes, but the next morning my Lactation consultant scold me saying baby suppose to stay with me because then I'll know if she's awake and hungry and they will be awake more at night instead of in the afternoon.

The whole night in my first night is: the nurse didn't bring baby to me every 2 hours as the suggested feeding time!! They bring after 3-4 hours!! I'm very kanjiong cannot sleep because I thought die die 2 hours I must wake up. It turns up I'm waiting and waiting but the nurse never come.
I don't even know whether they give formula milk or not in the nursery.
When baby comes to me she doesn't want to latch..

The 2nd night baby stays with me, everytime if baby cry or feeding time just call the nurse up. I found better but still baby cannot latch.

And got 1 time experience in Mt A, only 1 in 10 nurses I guess. Very very black face, when helping baby to latch only 1-2 time not successful then just said cannot and go, I ask for breastpump from her, she give me but never instruct me on how to use etc. In the end I pump but no milk comes out since it's only colostrum, can't pump out.. Only wet the bottom of the bottle, even they said can't take out to give baby. Wasted..

She's the only "unkind" nurse. The rest of the nurses in Mt A are very attentive. 1 bad seed. haha..

<font color="0077aa">groovy2009, i stayed in kkh 4-bedded and the nurse actually asked if i wanted my baby to room-in with me at night. i said no. ;p but i understand from my friend who just gave birth at glen e that she wasn't given that option when she stayed in 2-bedded.</font>

anna: my gynae is cheap then. only $105 per visit. tat's subsequent.. every visit same unless have meds.

groovy: glens got lousy nurse too. my only complaint was tat 2nd day i went toilet after removal of urinal tube. i was leaking blood. all over my legs n carpet. press bell, nobody came after 10mins. so i made my way to toilet. lucky i requested bed next to toilet. so just stone's throw away.

i had mastities at 3rd day. nurse came n massage me with warm water. ask me tahan pain..
then i was 2 bedded. but i told them i want bb with me. so they nvr take baby back other than bath time n UV photo time. *he had mild jaundice*
i was a fierce patient. baby was sleeping on same bed as me throughout. cause i bf him to sleep. nurse say cant. cause scared SIDS. i heck lah. i felt i know btr. so overall nobody came to disturb me cause i was a total hands on mummy.

angela > ya, i wen. I tink i was ther later. Whn i was ther nothing much liao. Aiya, shld hv meet u for a drink or smthing. Haha.

Baywater > wow so tis ur #3? Hw old is ur #2? Hw r u gona handle? I cant even handle jus my #1 who jus turn 1. Salute u!

anyone knw if we cn board cruise in late feb or early mar?

Hi Anna, my ante-natal package is $600 which include scheduled antenatal consultation(up to 11 visits), urine test, blood pressure and weight measurement, bedside 2D scan with 1 photo for every visit

Chris, my gynae said it's safe to travel after 1st trimester. So it will be okay for you travel in feb and march. Dun travel starting from April onwards is the best.

Michi, yours is quite a good deal. Which gynae are you seeing now? Mine never offer me any packages. Dunno if he have any. If not, really need god's help as gonna cost a bomb then.

Ya. My gynae also mentioned that it is safe to travel after 1st trimester. Therefore, I will still be going ahead for my Sydney trip in Feb 2012. Maybe after this trip, gonna be a long time without one...

Anna: My gynae is Dr Benjamin Tham, his clinic is juz below TMC. You check with ur gynae bah, if still in ur early weeks, still can consider changing. Cos' the ante-natal package starts from 12 weeks onwards

Chris, i got the go ahead from my gynae to go cruise the following monday even though my first trimester not over yet. He said shld be ok as long as dun carry heavy things. He also prescribed anti nausea pills to me, just in case i have seasick. there's a doc onboard the cruise so i think should be safe.

Anna> I hope so. If every checkup so ex cannot tahan.

My ante-natal package can only be purchase after 1st trimester. Now have to pain pain pay everytime

<font color="aa00aa">Ops! Just realised that reef1976 has posted some of the links above as I haven't read the past posts when I posted above.

Chin (squarebox) Posted on Friday, November 25, 2011 - 1:38 pm:
<blockquote><hr size=0><!-quote-!><font size=1>quote:</font>

Almond milk very easy to make.

Buy raw almond (I got it from bugis mkt there) then soak it in water overnight (like how you soak soya bean for soya milk)

Then pour away the water.
use a blender put almond and water and blend it
Use a muslin cloth and strain the bits out.

There you have almond milk<!-/quote-!><hr size=0></blockquote>
squarebox
Do you have to boil the almond milk after the last step? I know we have to do that for soya milk.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">I paid $150 for my first visit to gynae few days ago. It included routine check such as blood pressure &amp; weight record, urine protein check, ultrasonic scan &amp; advice and non-routine checks like visual cervix check &amp; breast check for lumps. She didn't charge me as new patient since she was my previous gynae. And to my surprise, I was already 9+ weeks instead of 8 weeks' pregnant.

She'd discussed the First Trimester Pregnancy Test (FTPS) option with me and I can decide if I want to sign up on the next visit.</font>

Nattan tingkat can solve mine but nit my Bb. She too young to eat solid.

Chris my no 1 is 4 this yr n no 2 is 9 mth old. Never tot tat I'm preg again as I bf my no 2 100%. Well since this little joy came knocking at our door, we just accept the Bb happily lor.

Thanks May.

Dr Tham seems to be an excellent doctor but I find TCM abit far for me. Hence I went to my gynae who deliver at Parkway East...finger crossed...hope he will have antenatal package.

baywater, which tingkat do you cater from? I also feel like ordering tingkat so that I dun need to keep thinking of what to eat. But I'm worried that theres alot of MSG.

Hi Anne,

I will be delivering at parkway east too..
The package my gynae offer is $700 till delivery from wk 12 with multivit and calcium.. I thgt the price is reasonable.. So will be taking up my next visit

Hi Priscilla, which gynae are you seeing?

I just went to see my gynae at PWE today.. baby is 9+ weeks going on 10
Blood test came back normal, doctor says just continue to eat if I'm feeling hungry
Also I'll be going for the OSCAR in 3 weeks' time (just realised that the nuchal fold screening is also called OSCAR!). The receptionist/nurse said the package is only from week 12 onwards but I don't think my gynae offers anything around $700... So far I've paid about $1K for 2 visits inclusive of blood test and OSCAR test. Quite expensive hor.. Anyway, next appt is on X'mas Eve..

Hi nattan,
I am visiting dr heng.. Her clinic is at bedok and pwe also..
U already sign package.? 1k?
For my case, if I going for Oscar test, is $350.. But I am not going la..
And for the blood test, which I will taking soon, is $100.

I got all the breakdown of the cost.. They give me a sheet of all their charges..even hospital charges.

Hi Priscilla, I'm seeing Dr Chandran. I haven't signed the package cos it's only available from Week 12, so maybe they will let me sign up 3 weeks later. I decided to go for the OSCAR just to be more assured la.. it cost $350 also, and with a blood test to check hormone levels, cost $500. Each normal consultation cost $100.

Hi chris.

Hmm I've nOt idea how I'm gg to handle two kids at a go alone. I think I just hv to. ;p

Dun think of it first, when things r here, just do it. Now pray hard tat both of the gals will b gd to mummy.

fuyutsuki01 - i reserved 1 bed without epidural first (decided first... did not bother to consult my hubby...haha) but i understand that we can change the package later... no problem...

adeline - i am not too sure the charges for hubby staying overnight... i can check with my frens who delievered at gleneagles... will post when i find out

haha... yes... there are 2 charmaines in this thread (*waves* to charmaine)... can refer to me as charmed81... not so confusing... keke

Hi Anna,

U staying in the east? If u wanna deliver at parkway east, maybe u wanna try dr heng? She only deliver there. She is a lady gynae la...
She got clinic at bedok / parkway east..
U let me know if u interested..

I am see her the first time, so far so gd la.. Signing up the package my next visit.

Michi: i breastfeed for about 13 months. Went back to work after that. For this baby, i think i can breastfeed for 6 months before returning to work, although i haven't decided how long to take leave for.

Charmed81: you mean you have already booked a bed? Isn't that very early?

Re oscar
I'm not taking the expensive version. Just taking the nuclai fold or whatever test where they measure the nose and the neck or something like that. It's 130 plus if i remember correctly.