(2012/06) Jun 2012

Sel, do you still exercise? I think it's good to do some gentle exercise, even just stretching is good. Ask your gynae what you can or cannot do.

nattan: hb scared.. also no cuddling during bedtime. he say he big sized may crush my tummy. haha
persuade very long liao. now i use the natural birth to persuade, cause my fren tat time had to induce but gynae advise bd-ing for natural induction. in the end she naturally gave birth cause the oxytocin was sufficient

Sel: cause u gained weight too fast. ur knees n ankles can't keep up. nothing to do with u being fragile. wear flats now, i bought tracce covered shoes at robinsons sale 2wks ago, the sole is super comfy with very thick padding.
i tried buying pazzion shoes, but i realized that their padding too little, it wears out very fast. so not worth that price for a short period of wearing.

Felicia: maybe he want u to split ML. alot of my friends' companies do that. take 3mths then take in parts. cause some companies don't hire temp. they let existing colleagues take over temporarily.. so very stressful.

Haha Petrina, can try other positions mah... not necessarily missionary, eg spooning, doggie, etc. These are more comfortable for a pregnant woman. Get creative!

I'm also looking for comfy yet stylish flats to wear.. very hard to find shoes that are suitable for me...

I'm new to the forum, saw that some of you posted that your tummy is flat when lying down. I'm 14wks, my tummy looks a little protruding when i'm standing but when i lie down it looks flat or smaller, is it normal?

Noelle
welcome!! yup very very normal, i feel that nowadays preggy mummies are not like last time, usually only after 4-5 months then start to show..

petrina
yup yup you are right, so i am prepared to take 3 months or even 2 months this time, then the rest slowly clear.. and for my position no replacement/temp staff de, i just get one team member to cover my role but still have to call me on urgent issues..

AsRias, huh... get too funky? But these are safer positions than missionary cos he is not pressing against your tummy leh. Anyway, these are normal for us la.. haha..

Felicia,
Thanks! Coz we used to see our gynae every week then every 2 weeks, but after the oscar scan he says can see me in 3 weeks which is next tue. So long no see the scan and still can't feel the baby's movement, feeling a little paranoid.

Nattan, hahah missionary to us is safe.... keke.... mabbe coz hubby tummy flat.

I'm starving! just had apple and hungry again.... I need a double fillet fish

Noelle
well for me i see my gynae every 4 weeks, then 28 weeks onwards every 2 weeks, so it's normal for me lor and since it's my 2nd pregnancy, i can feel baby moving much earlier this time so i am not that paranoid.. no need to worry too much..

tell gender at 16 weeks
yup possible.. but to be 100% accurate, 20 weeks full scan should be better.. guess a lot of us are waiting to know baby sex now.. in fact some got to know even earlier..

for my #1 at 14 weeks doc already said most likely boy.. some mummies know at about 12 weeks OSCAR scan also.. got to see how cooperative baby is ba i think..

i am going to ask my gynae on sat.. but i doubt if he could tell, or only the sonographer who did my oscar scan 4 weeks can tell during my full scan 4 weeks later.. LOL..

Yah Petrina when u put it that way... 7 kg in 13 wks is like 0.5kg per week.. maybe i can see if can win guiness book of record.. haha

Since d baby is d right size 7.5cm, i must have gained d weight arnd my arm, hips n breast.. I can barely fit into my bra now..

Seriously, will watch what I eat now.. But to start with I wasn't eating much more n I didn't really change d type of food.. Maybe it's bcos I'm much more less active.. I had spotting n cramping in d earlier stage which I read is normal.. but d spotting last week really freaked me a bit.. i've been pretty much idling for weeks now.. maybe i start by walking 1 rnd arnd d park tmr n see.. cos even when i do household chores like mopping i can feel d strain arnd my belly

Honestly, before getting pregnant I always assumed that d hormones will make u more horny n u'll see plenty of action in d bedroom.. But it's d opposite for me.. Maybe more so at a later stage?

Btw, any good maternity bra to recommend? I realised i prefer to go bra-less now bcos it's so comfy.. But I don't want to end up w super saggy boobs so they'll probably need some form of support still

Sel, think you should avoid doing too much strenous household chores now.. mopping is not exactly easy work. I leave that to my hubby. I only use the magic-mop, wash dishes and cook dinner. No heavy cleaning cos the chemicals may not be good also.

Heh.. I do feel more horny but sometimes the spirit is willing but the body is tired :p Sometimes I sleep so early like 9 or 10pm. Really unheard of as I'm usually a late sleeper. If you're still spotting on an off, then take it easy and don't get too physical.

I haven't been wearing maternity bras yet (boobs are still not that big), but have started shopping online for some. You can go to Mothercare or Maternity Exchange, but they aren't cheap. Surf online and you may find cheaper alternatives.

is that just me? my friends also recommended ASOS for maternity wear hor, but i don't find their clothes that nice leh, a bit mature to me.. haha and not cheap at all leh.. so far havent bought any maternity clothes yet...

Actually ASOS clothes are quite ok, quality not bad. I'm uk size 12-14 so buying clothes in sg is rather ex, asos is quite affordable esp during sales.

jus bgt leggings fr spring. Super comfy.

Did my oscar last thurs. Gynae nvr call me today, does tat mean everything is all rt?

Suddenly tinkin of eatin twister fries. Twister fries, twister fries, here i wil cm tonite.

hubby n i hv bn almost monk n nun since 2 yrs ago whn i was preggy w #1. Haha, wonder hw long more do we hv to b monk n nun. :p

Sel, Better buy nursing bra instead of maternity bras. Hehe.. It's more value for money..
You just buy 1 size bigger than now. Last time I wear 34B, now wearing 36C..
Boobs getting bigger after #1. Dunno will it be even more bigger later or not.

gender at 16 weeks! Can, but might not be accurate. Even for my friend, detail scan is not accurate too! Last time she said her baby detected as girl, but then at 24 week the doctor check and said boy!!
And that makes me very very scared last time if my girl girl change into boy boy as when I heard from her, I'm in my 32 week checkup already and Dr. Ang said baby so big already cannot see the gender anymore.. Huhu..
Luckily my girl girl never turns out to be boy. Otherwise all those girly stuffs that I bought will be wasted. haha..

People nowadays said if boy sure boy, if girl might not be :S.. But olden people like my MIL said boy is the one might not be becoz it might be the umbilical cord instead. haha.. Dunno leh..

Felicia: Most of my maternity clothes are normal loose tops from fashion stores. I just bought one size larger than my normal size. They just flare out at waist. You can consider getting those, and then match with maternity pants that are more comfortable. Those tops that i found at maternity shops are quite old fashioned. I only wore them in my last month.

<font color="0077aa">went for cardiac scan last thu at 15 wks. sonography guessed i'm carrying a boy but explained could be a girl with protruding genital. hope she's right as my #1 is a girl.</font>

Yum.. twister fries snds good!

Chris, sometimes it takes awhile for d results but I knw some Docs will inform their patients that if there is no news means it's good news ;)

I'm trying not to buy any maternity clothing.. I've been wearing Palazzo pants.. bought them in JB at abt RM30 each.. very comfy bcos it's stretchable.. bought a few long sundresses at $10 each from pasar malam.. maybe i'll invest in a pair of maternity jeans at a later stage

I am feeling abit stress about baby sex, as my FIL n MIL keep asking me. As for me sex doesn't matter healthy more impt, I can feel that they r excited as my hubby is the 1st son. By the time my next gynae visit will be in my 16wks.

I feel the most challenging part is my baby is future..planning for their education and their upbringing.

Sel, if u gotta have more kids, then buy maternity wear is fine.

Opps abt the maternity bra, i meant nursing bra. Can buy same size or 1size up cause my boobs shrank 2 sizes after 2yrs of delivery. End up smaller than pre preg.

Glass, my friend's mom scanned boy for her third child. End up deliver girl.. Which is my friend.. Hehe
Her mom almost aborted her then cause she already had 2boys. Super disappointed when sonographer told her boy.

Love twister fries! But tummy not feeling well... So tonight no fries for me

Purplenite, try not to be stressed by them.. I'm sure when they actually meet d baby they will just fall in love n gender wouldn't matter ;)

Hubby only wants 1 child bcos he is also an only child.. I want to have 2 bcos i come fr a family of 4 other siblings n had loved their company.. So who knws if we'll have another child or not?

I wouldn't mind if my boobs shrink smaller than pre preg.. I find that it attracts d wrg attention :p

hi Purplenite, don't worry too much about the ILs.. is this their first grandchild? Maybe they would naturally feel more excited about it. For traditional old folks, they would hope for a boy. But even if the baby is not a boy, I'm sure they will love her the same.

Hehe.. I hope my boobs get a cup bigger after delivery and breastfeeding.. right now they are just a B cup :p

nattan: ur boobs will look bigger like tummy stretched. but once u stop bf, it will go back to original size. reason y mine shrank was because i lost too much weight during 1st yr of delivery, so after i stop bf, my boobs became very saggy due to the rapid expansion and already current size.
felt like a deflated balloon.

i have to keep wearing bra otherwise i think i can hold at least 2 pencils between chest n boobs.
*the pencil grip test*

Chris, yup2 prosperity beef is very nice, if you like black pepper. hehe..

It's always available only during Chinese New Year period.

Hubby bought the double one some more huehehe.. Double beef double joy :p.
We share half half lah.. :$

Sel, thanks..actually my hubby didn't know about this cause they say it when my hubby not around me..i also dont want to let him know..so I share here. Did u find out baby sex already? I also feel that 2 will be better not lonely.

Nattan, thanks yes it's their first grandchild..I agree with u they usually hope for a boy. How about u? Know your bb sex already?

Petrina, you can try breast massage to tone your boobs so they don't sag. Wearing good supporting bras is also important. You can hold 2 pencils between chest and boobs means your boobs are quite big still! I can't even hold any!!

Purplenite, I don't know my baby's gender yet. Suppose to go for OSCAR this weekend.. hopefully can see in the scan. Anyway, some parents choose to keep the gender of the baby a secret throughout their pregnancy. I think it's ok to do so too.

Sighz, last night was doing abit of reading. Read abt the inverted nipple =(. Did the pinch test and confirm i'm one of the 10% who has this problem. Next time bf headache liao. Any experienced mummy successfully let bb latch even with inverted nipple?

lol.. nattan, no.. hold 2 pencils under bust means saggy liao. best is cannot hold.. means perky lah.

Purplenite: don't worry. unless u intend to close factory after 1, ur In laws won't pester u. once ur baby comes out, they will love him/her.

Haha.. oh... Petrina, you mean hold horizontally huh... I thought hold vertically between the boobs! Kekeke...

AsRias, I've seen tools for helping to pull the inverted nipple out so that the baby can latch. Can google to find..

Asrias, I study from the pre-natal class in Mt A that need to use nipple puller in that case..

I heard from oct2010 mtb forum last time when they are in TMC the nurse immediately say inverted nipple cannot breastfeed...
But dunno if they teach how to use nipple puller or not..

At most I heard successful stories of mummies with inverted nipples who total pumping milk.

purplenite
i can understand your feeling, sometimes really no choice but the old folks just think that way.. it's not so bad since it's your first one now.. i have friends whose #1 is girl, now preggy with #2, more stress even..

i also didn't know my FIL wanted a grandson so much till i delivered my boy... he didnt mention it at all, my MIL told me about it, my MIL prefers girl cuz she has 2 boys, LOL.. so in a way i think it's easy for me to say, boy or girl nvm, but for those who really hope for boy, it can get really stressful when the pressure comes from in law side.. we as parents sure okay with any gender as long as baby is healthy..

For me, I don't feel the pressure at all cos my SIL gave birth earlier and had a girl, now she is pregnant with 2nd one which she said is a boy. She will deliver earlier than me in April next yr. Actually I really don't care what ILs or relatives say. The truth is previously I didn't want children at all, so they should be happy I've even changed my mind now! Anyway, I know my FIL is happy so long as have grandkids, boy or girl is secondary.

Groovy, I'm hoping not to pump too much unless necessary. Met my CL that time and i mentioned about bf. She say best is let bb latch so that bb will help to clear all the milk ducts. She say pumping sometimes some of the milk ducts not cleared.

Nattan, ouch that sounds really painful =(

Asrias: yeah. my fren inverted nipple pump. lucky she only 1 side. so 1 side latch the other side pump exclusively. managed to bf 1yr+.

hi MTB

Sorry to interrupt here. I've just given birth and there're some items which I'm selling. Pls PM me for photos/details if interested. Thank you.

1) Pre-loved Medela Freestyle pump - US set w/o warranty. Used 3 times only. Letting go as I've no milk. (RP $460, Selling @$400) Giving away a BN box of Pigeon breastpad 72 pcs with purchase.

2. BN Confinement shampoo &amp; shower gel (RP $40, Selling @$30)

3. BN Soothing bottom spray (RP $25, Selling @$15) -> helps recovery of our stitches below faster

4. BN Maternity pads - Kotex &amp; Pureen bundle set (RP $15, Selling @$10) - giving away bottle of baby cord spirit with purchase