(2012/06) Jun 2012

Tea

Hmm.. I also drink tea... Iced lemon tea, iced milk tea, buble tea, Teh O,... Also Coke, other soft drinks. The only thing I don't drink is coffee coz I nvr liked it in the first place

Taka Bb fair
Hehe spent an hour there even though kinda know what I wanna get!! And total damage $200.10!! And it's for #2 lo!! Bought huggies diapers too.. Abit cheaper cum freebies!!

VE
I also wondered wad that was!! Wah! Brings back painful memories sia! Pain la!! I think aft e whole delivery process, that's the most painful one!!

hopecg, what kinda freebies with Huggies diapers? I went to Taka fair 3x already... Hubby says no more... he's sick of the crowd there. And I think I should avoid crowded places cos more chances of getting sick :p

Sian... my office is planning an overseas retreat in April and I'm not sure if I'm still fit to fly by then... Called doctor's clinic but he left already. Hopefully he thinks it's ok and I can get a letter to go.

Jul, you got some many things to buy at the fair?

I also spent about $200 at the Taka fair mostly on bedding sets, towels and other small items. I already bought some at Babycare fair, spent about $700+ for cot, Babysafe mattress, Baby Bjorn and some misc stuff. Then spent some online, mostly baby and maternity clothes, Medela breast pump, lingerie and baby gym. All in all, spent almost $2K so far :p Better control liao... Still need to get other maternity stuff for myself...

Haha Petrina also went many times ar?? Yupyup then if buy $20 worth, got free wet wipes.. But yah jul, we should avoid crowded places.. Viruses abound! Hope u get to go ur retreat!!

Nattan: How many weeks will you be by then? Where is the company retreat held at? Maybe you can check airline rules first then check with doctor if safe and get letter.

Are you all planning to take full 16 weeks leave?
I am so sick of work and working with people who love to take all sorts of leave and get away with "genging"

Fleur

I'm taking full 16 weeks and planning to take unpaid leave till year end so that by the time I leave my baby at my in laws place when I go back to work, she'll be abt 6 months. Cos typically year end, my side alot of ppl will be clearing leave if I do get back, I also have to clear my leave and childcare leave.

Nattan

Wa you are a big fan of the taka fair! Haha I went once only on the first day and spent 700 there. I think I spent more at Babycare Festival - maybe 1k plus. And another maybe 1k on stroller and car seat the weekend before that. Gosh, I'm really feeling the pinch now that I start counting.

Hope

Aiyoh u are freaking me out abt the VE!! Hehe

ssmilezz: I went taka fair a few times but only spent the most on the first time i.e. on baby cot. Same here i spent the most at the baby care festival

Not sure if i shld take 15 and then stagger my leave and do 4 day work week

i went taka fair once only. but w/o my son. plus we already know which booth we want to go. so 3hrs there we managed to racky everything we wanted to see

usually we just go to Medela, Pigeon, Avent, Strollers section, Huggies, Fisher Price. Then got time then we walk around. spent $90 there only

nothing for us to buy there.

babycare festival spent nearly $100 only. also nothing much for us to buy. just bottles n beddings

Wah Petrina u my idol! Spend so long time only spend so little!!

Nattan
Haha just when I felt abit better, u gotta remind me mine not #1!! Hahaa!!

Smilezz
Sorry ar.. But I think abt VE I also scared Liao.. It's super uncomfy la! Din see that coming at that time.. Thot only gotta worry abt delivery.. But VE is a split second kinda uncomfort la.. If it makes u feel better =p

Fleur
My job nature is have to take 16 weeks one shot.. Also shiok la.. Don't have to keep counting!

When was Bb care festival? Seems like I missed Gd deals!

Fleurfleur, I would be 31 weeks by then (now 25 going on 26 weeks). The retreat will be in Bangkok. Actually I called my doctor and he gave me the green light. But I still need to go for a consultation and check up end of this month to get a confirmation.

Re maternity leave, I'm definitely planning to take 16 weeks straight cos I have no helper and want to spend time with my first born. Besides, I want to TBF so I need the whole period to establish that.

Ssmilezz, I went to the Taka fair 3x cos first time went and didn't know what to expect so just walk walk see see. Suppose to help my boss buy a swaddle but she didn't get back to me in time. In the end just bought 1 set of bedding and towels. 2nd time, I went to help my boss get the swaddle. Then the 3rd time went cos I wanted to check out the Medela pumps and buy another bedding set and more towels.

I also hope to take full 16wks.

Hopecg: i m very stingy. So unless the sale is really cheap, i won't buy. For JL sale, i spent 2hrs there, bought $300 worth of misc items. No big ticket.

Nattan: i also wanted to go bkk early this mth. But the bombing n my son just recovered from gastric flu so in the end cancelled plans.

Nattan, my gynae told me that i can only travel up till 30th week and need to get a letter of consent from him to fly, just in case they dun allow you to board the plane..initially i also wanted to plan a short trip, but my parents nag and nag, so i gave up the idea already.zzz
p/s: talking abt the VE, it is giving me creeps already. heard from my friends that close to EDD, when we go for gynae visits, they would also check for dilation...scary

Spending

Wah! Don't get me started!

Taka - $850
Robinsons, Isetan - $300
Bugis Warehse shop - $150
Online maternity clothes - $500
Maternity clothes - $400
Nursing bras & clothes - $400
PJs - $50
Sunfires like pads, breast pads etc - $100
Ceiling fans - $900

My goodness! Which means I've spent $1.45k on me & $1.3k on the kids! I'm sure there must be misc stuff that I mised out too *faint*

And I still need to buy more fans, get Babysafe mattress, air purifier, some misc sundries for baby.... *double faint*

jul
gosh can't believe you can spend so much, lol.. for us since #2 and same gender, really nothing much to buy, only 1 baby carrier since we didn't get any for #1 back then, and 1 mini playpen since crashing with in laws no space and don't want to let #2 sleep in #1's cot.. then just some clothes and bottles, that's it.. go shopping also dunno what to buy de cuz seems that we have all the stuff we need already..

for me i spent basically on girls clothes *online about $300 so far* including my maternity wear
necessities like wipes, bath, cream *$300*
baby toys *$100*
i need to get another purifier since my old one broke down last week. *$500* then i'm done..

nattan

Coz I'm 'converting' almost all my standing fans to ceiling fans. Installed for 2 bedrooms & living room. Now wanna get for kids' room & maybe another for living also. Thinking of getting a small wall fan for the kitchen also. Coz I'll be staying home with 2 boys mah. Dun want them to start sticking their fingers into the fans or to topple over!

jul: ceiling fans not very cooling i feel. cause my mom had ceiling fans when we moved 20yrs ago. in the end all bought standing fans in our teens.. lol
maybe wall fans r better since can concentrate on 1 area.
that's y last november my hb n i invested in a system 4 air con, made kitchen sliding door too.
so we'll have air con everywhere we go.

petrina

I don't need it to be too strong in the rooms lor. I tested out 2, works ok.. so we installed a 3rd one. Now it's just to get a small, weak one for the kids room. The one I have is too strong for the kids room coz it's 5-blade.

I also have aircon for the whole hse, but expensive to aircon the whole hse leh! haha

jul: maybe my parent's house the fan not good bah. cause we all feel like no wind. LOL

u investing alot in urself. keke
maternity wear, pjs, bras.. i kinda recycle my existing clothes. pants can't wear then i wear more dresses to work.

clothes i just buy 3 sets per age band. then the rest i wanna get hand me downs. then baby toys i gave most of #1's stuffs away thinking i won't have another kid.

i need a bouncer but i think i'll wait for manyue ppl give. or wait for grandparents to buy bah.. hehe
so niao! tat time $98 i refused to buy cause i wanna wait for better deal or cheaper option. :p
hb would have bought it then le if he was at the sale.

oh ya, baby kicking..
anyone's baby is kicking intensively?? throughout the day and night??

mine whole morning can kick non-stop for 3hrs straight.
then nighttime can push my bladder or kinda keep me in pain for at least 2hrs straight..

Jul

I also did some minor home improvement works to make my home more baby/child friendly. I did not incl the $ spent into my list. Hehe in denial.

My hub also bought some fans over the weekend to replace the old n rusted ones at home.

Fans more to get some air circulation la. Difficult to really cool down the whole place unless u intend to blast it at yourself which is bad la. Wait end up feng shi.

Nattan

Let's see what yr doc say. If really should avoid flying then just be safe and dont go.

Fleur

Staggering the last one mth is good if yr company is ok. Some companies may not like and insist their staff take the full 16 weeks at one go.

I spent ALOT more!
Babycare fair $660
Taka Fair $600
Online purchases of swaddles, rattle toys, wash & burp cloths, diaper caddy, changing mats, decals, braun thermometer etc $795
Pram $580
Baby clothes from NB to 12 months $400
Ikea $450
Total spending = Almost 3.5K

Still need playpen mattress, nursing bras

Petrina

Lat night was bad. I dunno why my girl don't want to sleep. Keeps kicking me and changing position. I turn left then right side she also not happy. First time shes so active at night usually she very cooperative with me.

And I have been sweating like a pig these few days. What the heck!

petrina

Haha maybe your parents' place is very big, so the fan not strong enough, not like my small HDb flat hahaha

or maybe the fans just got old liao?

Haha yeah I bought a lot of stuff for myself, especially new maternity clothes. Then of course, I ngiao mah, want new nursing bras. My old Emma Janes are really quite 'lan'. And the Impression ones I got, although cheap, but lose the elastic very fast. End up buying many more to replace. Might asw ell buy a better one then no need to replace.

As for clothes... #2 can wear #1's past the first few mths stage. But for NB, all torn, staine, yellow etc, so needed to get more.

Baby Movts

Mine started to move more. But not really kicking. He likes to wriggle, dig his dunno feet or whatever all over, stretch etc. Think he's feeling cramped now, no space to kick, so keep wriggling to make room? The movts make me feel seasick haha

smilezz

hehe in denial eh?

Yeah my fans are for air circulation. it can get quite stuffy sometimes.

fleur

Hmm.. I guess my stroller, Manduca, rocker & pump etc all bought from #1 time, else need to add another $2k bah? hahaha

smilezz

I also sweat a lot these few wks!

Esp the neck area. Everytime wake up from sleep or nap in a foul mood coz my neck was so sweaty & I felt so sticky! Argh!

nattan, be careful when you travel cos you need to carry heavy luggage and probably alot of walking ? hubby is not with you leh ...

jul, you are well equipped

Spending
Taka stroller - $300
Robinsons Medela parts - $100
Misc diapers, wet wipes, Aussino bedding sets , avent bottles - about $400

My house doesn't have a standing fan too, wall fans in the bedrooms, ceiling fans in the living room. Then 2 of my wall fans spoilt after 1 year, so we bought table fans and put on top of the wardrobe, the kids cannot reach. Standing fans are too dangerous. My friend bought those bladeless fans from taobao website, mummies can also consider.

VE
After i took the epidural, i can't feel anything down from the hips, no feeling when the nurses did VE on me. #1 delivery took 13 hours but #2 only took 5 hours, the midwife told me to stop pushing and wait for my gynae to arrive, cos can see the head already.

joeey

Hehe yeah, I kinda feel better after seeing all the stuff that I bought & all the money I spent hahaha

Btw thanks for the message on Medela parts at Robinsons. I missed that! Nvm I'll order mine thru spree instead.

Hmm.. I wonder if my #2 will take that fast too! Where got time to shower, wash hair & scrub face???

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Ceiling fan
I have one in my living room which we used to switch on daily for several years but for these 2 years, we just switch on a nearby standing fan as it's more difficult to clean the ceiling fan.</font>

Spendings
wah i spent a lot too! maybe coz first child.. haven't get breast pumps yet some more.. think spent almost $2k liao. still got more to buy....

baby movements
i thought it's just me!! for the past 2 days my baby keeps moving around non-stop!! lucky at night he sleeps when i sleep.. if not.... zzzzzzz
gets quite irritating coz can't concentrate on work

sweating
yes. i m sweating buckets too! even within an hour after bath. esp when i dun wear bra at home, my saggy boobs feel so sticky towards my tummy.. but wear bra so constrain, also perspire.

those having #1 will definitely spend more. my #1 i also staggered my spending.. from 6mths buy all the way till birth.. misc, big tickets like stroller, bouncer, baby carrier, playpen, playmat, safety gate, haenim play yard, child proof accessories, new furniture to accommodate baby, etc...

fleur: if u compare with my #1, i think we spend at least $5k just on baby stuffs. we were quite spendthrift for his things like beds n bouncer. these 2 items we lugged back from Chiangmai then. costing us ard SGD$600.
then clothes we also bought alot from there.
just the honeymoon we already spent $1k on him. hehe. so be consoled that you r spending alot lesser already..

non stop.

Jul

Same same leh. Always so wet and sweaty behind my neck my back and I get heat rash between my inner thighs. Which when I told my hub, he said - oh fat thighs lor that's why rub n rub then heat rash. Argh.

How long did yr no 1 take?

Joeey

Those bladeless fans very nice and sleek looking. The original brand is Dyson right? Super ex!!

Wow yr no 2 was first. And now I cannot imagine how fast yr no 3 will take?

Petrina

I have the same issue - sweating between my boobs. Terrible. My tshirt will be so damp and disgusting at night. First few times i actually thought I drool in my sleep okay! I was so grossed out by myself. Lol

Hello! Follow Mummies... Going for a holiday before THE DAY?

WTS: Rimowa Salsa Deluxe series luggage in Brown color, 82L

74.5 x 49.5 x 27.5 cm, multi-directional, 5kg, ATS lock

Only use it once to Tokyo and once to UK.

Retail price at $1,300+

Letting go at $850. It's a used item, scratches are expected.

Serious buyers only. SMS Winnie @ 9005 8165

attachment_icon.gif
rimowa desc
Rimowa.tiff (86.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

love reading your thread. can anyone share with me where to get a 4-6 flights of drawers aka children's cabinet to store baby clothings huh?
any good recommendation huh? is ikea drawers lasting huh?

racking my head now to get a good cabinet so that can start packing hehhee ...

Cindy,
i feel safer when i can feel bb movements. during the first few moments when i wake up in the morning and can't feel bb move, i'll try to disturb bb, by turning left/right on the bed ... There was one night #2 accidentally kick my tummy pretty hard and i couldn't feel bb move for a few hours, i was really scared then ...

Ssmilezz,
if you buy from china taobao website, it's cheaper, from what my friend told me ... #3, i'm thinking of not taking epi this time round, but depends on what my gynae say, cos that time, my placenta was low and may need C-sec.

I'm having sore throat and runny nose now, kids were sick last week and i guess the virus is passed to me now. hiaz ...

Wahh my spending also quite power. Spent about 3k shopping on bb. Think the more expensive stuffs are cot, stroller, breastpump, baby carrier, car seat)

If I include gynea and vitamins its 5k already. Equivalent to one holiday trip.

joeey: i feel safe with movements too. but last night was way too much. while standing, i can feel someone punch my V part. i literally screamed OUCH!
then lie down also stab me, sit also can't.. until i so pek cek i told her off! then she kinda lessen abit..
daytime at work she move around i still ok though i can't concentrate much whenever she does that.

smilez: taobao is cheap. u see what u need then u compare seller. kinda like gmarket. only thing u need to be careful quality.

sunbelle: we get the 4-5 drawers from toyogo. got wheels and light - plastic.

Letting go of my ultra beloved 1 yr old STOKKE Xplory Blue

Perfect for a boy. Imagine your 3-mth old baby at the same height with you are dinner table. Or your 9-mth old able to see the noodle chef at Ding Tai Fung open kitchen.

Mothercare price $2,209

Selling my love for $1,600

Serious buyers only. Interested parties, pls SMS Winnie @9005 8165

It's a used item, do expect normal scratches.
6812744.jpg

Jul, I agree with Petrina that ceiling fans are hard to clean. My ILs' and grandma's place both have ceiling fans and they get very dusty. But nobody cleans them :p Sometimes black dust will fall on us when we sit below :p Also, my ILs installed ceiling fan in the tiny bedroom we stay in when we visit them and it's very strong, as in the blades turn very fast (and we only dare to turn it to level 3 cos 1 and 2 the fan just doesn't work), but it's like no wind lor.. always feel so warm that in the end my FIL installed a/c for us. Haha... end up I always turn on a/c there cos it just seems warmer in JB :p

Thanks joeey, I will see what doc says during my check-up. Some people say it's ok to travel and some say no... I guess really depends on individual's and baby's health.

Re sweating, I don't sweat a lot but get sticky. That's just the way I am even after exercising a lot. But I tend to turn the a/c on a lot more at night nowadays. Let it run for an hr or so then switch to fan to circulate the cooled air. I can't sleep with a/c on or my nose gets blocked.

Re baby movement, ya baby is a lot more active now esp at night and I always feel him kicking when I'm about to sleep. Very hard for me to find a good position so now I have panda eyes :p

Hi sunbelle, welcome.. I think if you have space, just take a look at Ikea or Casa Kidi for kids' wardrobe selections. Can even get carpenter to customise a cabinet for you. If not, some of us here are getting those plastic Toyogo stackable drawers with casters to move them around. Those are cheaper but not necessarily more long lasting.

Lately my baby also very active. Keep moving and moving... Having finance meeting he also keep kicking me. Told my hubby baby signalling to me he wanna be CFO. haha. Nowadays my insides start to hurt, also cannot pin point where. =(

AsRias: ya.. inside pain but hb put hand can't feel it. so irritating. haha

Nattan: tat's the main reason y we stop using ceiling fan. hard to clean &amp; machiam no wind. haha
i managed to solve the cleaning issue recently. get the magic clean disposable beige duster. they sell the long stick. then can bend and clean the top w/o climbing.
my mom clean the fan once a yr since nobody is using it.
the blades very strong also. but i feel the fan shakes. always scared the fan drop. LOL
very noisy when i used to turn to #5. first 4 levels no feeling.

smilezz

Wah your Hubs wanna get bashed ah? haha

Well, I guess if u count from the time I started feeling unbreable (according to my low threshold) contractions, till pop out.. shd be ard 9h plus.

I dun have thogh heat rash although my thighs are fat too. But I feel sticky in the cleavage! What a shame, coz I nvr have a cleavage pre-preg haha

sunbelle

Ikea drawers depend on whichs eries. MALM series are quite lasting but more ex. Those cheaper ones are more flimsy.

If u dun mind plastic drawers, try those Toyogo type - can get from Giant, NTUC, Carrefour etc.

joeey

My placenta was also low. Hope no need to C-sec
I must rem to ask gynae this Fri.

asrias

Aiyoh, I dun bother to include gynae fees n supplements. If u wanna onclude delivery, hospitalisation, PD fees etc.. easily will hit $15k all in lor!