(2011/12) Dec 2011

Jac, I got 14 days normal MC, I think I finish all as when I just start pregnant I keep visit dr coz not feeling well. For the 2 weeks after I discharge I think consider normal MC.

cloud, yes true for my case... my #1 was more than 24 hrs... #2 admission till pop abt 2 hrs only... so this time i want fast fast also!! hahah

missus bl, mine is a female one...n i think she was mad with me since the day i told her abt my pregnancy...so i juz have to put up with her now

piggy, ohh bil ah? then more jialat leh... geez...hang on hang on!!

chan, i know chinese herbs cannot anyhow take coz too bu le.. n heaty..

oily food my dad also says will cause bloatedness... so he ask me dun eat so much.. spicy food?? i am still eating chilli and stuff leh! how to ask me quit chilli? lolx

dairy products i think is some cheese and milk cannot take..

carbo how to skip??? we need energy leh...

wah! ithink basically ur doc ask u drink clear soup and eat vege only??

piggy, ur company dun have hospitalization leave? after discharge can be hospitalization leave de.. mine 2 times after dischatge, my mc is hospitalization leave..

sporty, ur boss is not married type?? i realised not married female boss are cmi de!! like mine!! lolx!!

bfly, yes, pao-shen is one of the ingredients included in the herb for my cordycep recipe.

Cloud, I guess we feel earlier cos we know what it's like from our previous preg.

Jacqueline, yes, cos u are very politically correct in your choice of word. I learnt something from you - the better word to describe the feeling when I cant hit the pigs.

Positiveness is always good!

Piggy, sorry to hear about your boss. It's always difficult to work with/ for relatives. Sometimes they become tougher to us because they do not want to be seen as being biased towards us. So kena scolding also more jia-lat then other staff.

I think generally people working in the construction site are tougher people and may not be as sensitive to our needs.

I hope you feel better soon.

lolx.. KK, u r so funny!! but i know how u feel lah.. coz i also play angry bords before mah.. sometimes really irritated and bekcek coz maybe left that 1 small little pig cannot kill!!!! lolx!!! but nowadays a lot cools stuff on youtube on angry birds.. 1 is on real life!! duno how to do, it's a real life angry bird stage.. and they playing with it!!!

RE: Spicy Food

When I was preg with #1, I am 无辣不欢, everything must have chili. But this one, because it started with gastritis-like discomfort and heartburn, I avoided chili until the bak-chang festival.

Some also say eating too much chili makes hot-tempered baby, but my #1 is a typical gentle giant. He is almost size of a 3YO but very very gentle.

Jacqueline, everything has to be in moderation lah. "Bu" is ok, but don't over do.

Chan, ya, I also agree with Jacqueline, some people need more carbo than other pregggies leh.

You just adjust according your need lah.

I am mild lactose-intolerant so I did not take the usual milk drink (incl those for preg/ nursing moms). Good thing I am ok with yogurt, cheese and cream.

DangGui & Red date:

I just brewed some herbal soup for the family the other night, and it has danggui inside.. I did feel bloated but not sure if due to the danggui..

As for red date, does it cause allergy or something? I see most of my preg recipe has red dates woh.. Of course old wives will say red dates make the bb look radiant, even our skin will be pinky-pinky de..

Chan, u mean BKK or BBK? Better no go BKK now, their election coming right?

When I had #1, I get hungry every 3 hourly can can eat a full meal. This time, I can only eat half of my usual portion, and get hungry every 2.5 hours.. I think my digestion faster then usual leh.

Ok, lunch time!

jac, mine is married la...mb menopause coming soon le... yes agreed tha not married kind very scary de!!!

ling, can take la...but i dun like the taste of formula milk so i am not taking... also go easy on drinking la cuz it makes u fat very fast de!!

kk, yah...bkk...actually bkk is still quite peaceful even tho it looked so messed up on tv...hehe

yogurt we can take supermarket ones regularly right? cos it doesnt state pasteurised. For me, i'm taking cold fresh milk now.

Hi littledarling, no no.. Vit B6 is not multi-vit. Accordingly to the pharmacist, it's a kind of vitamin that supposed to help or prevent nausea. It works for some and doesnt work for others. But it helps me.

Hi Jac, yes I'm really grateful that I didn't have to work at this stage. Nevertheless, sometimes it feels horrible to do nothing at home even though like you I enjoy online gaming (stop for the longest time and recently pick up when feeling better) but not being able to contribute much doesnt make me feel too good as well. I'm also taking multi-vit and calcium tablets now. You have to try many combinations to 'counter' the nausea feeling after taking. Usually I don't take them together and I can only take them when I'm not feeling so full. I had the worst feeling when taking both pills together when too full. Unless you take a lot of calcium based food/products, its best that you continue with the calcium tablets at least. I read somewhere that if the baby did not receive enough calcium during bones building period, those calcium will be absorbed from our very own bones or calcium source instead.

Hi cloud, I'm taking the calcium yum? yoghurt now. It's actually looks like its for kids but it taste good to me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] So I will continue taking it.

I can imagine those female bosses. I had had the 'opportunity' of working under 3 female bosses consecutively in their 50s undergoing menopause and one of them was never married. That was the worst part of my career as their behaviours are very irrational and easily agitated.

Jac, I was given at wk 13. But my gynea says it is safe.

KK why you call her chun li? Hopefully her kick not that powerful if not later on, you will suffer.

Mummies, Those calcium tablets u all r taking r given by gynae or self bought?? My gynae dun wan give me says its for last stage of pregnancy

Anyone here has not inform your boss that you are pregnant?

I've got a "menopausing" male boss. Sigh am waiting for him to be in the better mood before I inform him.

Thank god that my previous 2 pregnancy are relatively smooth, so I work till I gave birth. Hopefully #3 will be like that too.

Re multi-vits: Alamaks, I didn't know that the proportion of Vit A is important! I'm not taking multi-vits prescribed by my gynae, coz my MIL is selling those MLM products and insist that I take from her. Somehow my hubby also just go along with her *angry* lucky I'm not taking everyday. Think I will insist to switch to gynae's multi-vits from nxt visit onwards! Trying to eat more cheese to supplement calcium intake.

Re work/vacation: Really feel like going for a holiday too!!! But very suay, now super busy at work, even though my supervisors all know I'm pregnant but bobian, ppl quit, not enough manpower, projects still keep coming sigh... Plus my hubby kena ICT, so by the time we both can take leave to go holiday it'll be too late into the pregnancy & grounded cannot fly liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

sporty, i think urs menopause coming thats y unstable! this type woman must be careful...

kimiko, at least u get to rest when u r home so u can rest all u can.. thats very impt... lolx.. ya ya.. i also recently went back to online gaming.. i have mild intolenrance to lactose so i cannot drink milk.. during 1st 3 mths, already vomit many times when trying to take milk.. yap!! it's true.. if we dun have enough calcium intake, the baby will take from us.. thats when u will see ur teeth very weak.. and u will know..

thanks BBnGG.. i will ask my gynae again when i see her early next mth...

my supervisor already know i m preg.. but hor.. i duno lah.. she like very fake and keep giving prob also...

Dawn, mine given by gynae.. part of the package...

yallo, when ur hubby ICT? mine also.. in sept.. and before and after he got some projects on hand so cannot go also.. sianz..

BBnGG, cos she was really active when we saw her from the u/s scan. She will appear, then disappear from the screen. Even our doc thinks she is very active and cheeky. ya, I hope she wont kick so hard later stage.

You are blessed, can hide so long. My tummy already cant hide even before I found out I was preg!! My gay friend straight away asked me if I am preg when we went for tea! Cos I was really bloated (which initially I thought was mensus coming).

It is really necessary to inform the boss, or can you just start wearing the maternity dress to "inform" everyone in office?

In my previous company, it is a must to inform, cos we have to travel and the company policy is that no traveling for preggies. We only need to call the head in planning that we are preg, then submit the doc's letter after that. If not, the company will also be informed by the company's doc about our pregnancy. So may of us who could "hide" actually didn't go see the company's doc until they can no longer hide.

Dawn: who is your gynae? Mine is Dr Adrian he is also not giving me calcium pills. I asked twice actually. I got calcium pills "Osteoplus" from GP instead yesterday. But i havent start eating it abit worried bcos it is given by GP and not gynae. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jac & Kimiko: What kinda online gaming you all do? Those hardcore type like WoW?

Jac: My hubby's ICT is 3wks in Aug, but after that he got some impt presentation so cannot take leave boo. Thinking of going staycation at RWS Hard Rock Hotel but very expensive leh.

byfly, Dawn: Did you all ask your gynae why they don't wanna prescribe calcium pills to you? Maybe already got sufficient intake? Coz I heard take too much calcuim also not good for body, like will get too much calcium deposit in bone joints or smth like that. Maybe better to check with gynae before self medicating bah.

KK: Why you don't want to tell your boss? I just told him outright so he will know not to plan any work for me towards end of year. :p

For vitamins, I am currently taking GNC prenatal formula but my gynae insist me to buy from her after I finish my current supply. My previous gynae Irene Chua said it is ok to take that.

yah he said multi vit that he has given me is sufficient plus our daily food intake has calcium should have sufficient. So he said monitor first.

Bfly: dr tan thiam chye in kk.... Was thinking get from outside but dun dare, i cant stand milk also n now could hear my bones cracking

Btw mummies whose tummies haven start to show?? My 1st preg show around 3 mth but this one still quite flat n i lost 4kg, 1st preg lost 7kg

I cant eat well now very sensitive to oily n spicy food haizzz n if go out eat most food oily ma

cloud, supermarket yogurts shd be pasterised la...i am taking fresh milk too...

kimiko, so have u sorted out the cl issue with ur hb & mil? wah so good no need to work... so u are sah mtb [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bb n gg, i informed my boss when i was abt 10 weeks so now she is still lamenting over it! hahah

jac, ya man...everyday had to drag myself to work lor!! cham!!

Wow, this thread moves so fast, must spend time later to catch all the posts later.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can check with you, most of you have your OSCAR scan/blood test done right? I just rec'd results for mine, relatively low risk, 1:800, according to KK but have been told to go down for another detailed scan FOC? Anyone experience same encounter? Feeling abit worried.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Dawn: same here.. and when i reach my 2nd tri, my gums actually swollen... this is common but i cant help to think lack of calcium even though calcium have no impact to gums (mentioned by GP and gynae)

piggy, sporty & BBnGG>> mine is a menopausing male boss too.. single & kinda MCP! so doubt he will know how i feeling now.

my colleague taught me to get those cutter from pharmacy to cut the pills into half, esp obimin, multivit & calcium.. they are too huge for me & i always wanna puke after eating them.

Yallo, be very careful of MLM products. Recently, my son's Godma told me this brand call Usaha had caused many of her relatives' medical report to go hay-wire.

I am also taking MLM supplements. I only take Nuskin's Marine Omega and Lifepak. But I have stopped Lifepak after the doc's advice on VitA and switched to GNC's Ultra Mega Prenatal Multivit. But I recalled another gf of mine did not stop her Lifepak at all when she was preg.

KK: That's exactly the same brand I'm taking!!! The disgusting 4 huge green and orange tablets called Lifepak!!! I really don't understand why it must be 4 tablets when the gynae's multivit is only 1 tablet loh. Really torture sia. Okok will stop taking it.

Oh are you still taking the MarineOmega??? Actually I showed it to my gynae and he said not suitable for pregnant ladies coz the ratio of BPA and EPA not ideal, may cause thinning of blood which is not desirable during pregnancy. So I took his recommended brand instead. Very strange, when I showed him the LifePak box he just gave it a cursory glance and said oh outside got lots of mutli-vit brands, all about the same one lah. =_=

Is Yoplait yogurt suitable if I am pregnant?

During pregnancy it is particularly important to enjoy a balanced eating plan, full of a wide variety of healthy foods and beverages.

Yoplait yogurts are generally suitable during pregnancy because they are nutrient rich, providing plenty of calcium, the goodness of protein, as well as carbohydrates and energy, and typically have a low glycemic index (GI).

Yoplait Yogurts contain no artificial colours or flavours, and are also gluten free.

Always seek individual nutrition advice from your health professional to meet your specific needs.

KK, i think its better to inform ur boss so that in case u r unwell, take mc or what, hopefully they can understand...

but my tummy starts to be obvious and bigger le.. too obvious.. cannot hide.. even my guy colleague asked and say obvious..

yallo, i dun like WoW or Dota coz monster so ugly.. I am recently back to MapleStory.. the character and monsters r cute!!! i only play cute RPG.. lolx!!

RWS very ex leh.. and expenses also very ex.. ppl tell me bo hua.. but if i were to choose ahotel in sentosa, i think i will take rasa.. near the sea.. can relax..

Ling, u were seeing irene chua last time?? i was seeing her before i m preg.. woman prob... is she gd??

dawn, i only lost a bit (abt 1-2kg) for 1st 3 mths den after that maintain.. no increase yet but tummy is obvious!!

maybe u can try taking soup stuff next time? or porridge???

baby bunny, i think the detailed scan is FA scan.. if most preg mummies will go.. its to see the baby's spine development, whether got cleft lips, hole in heart, etc.. i decided not to go for oscar but i will go for this detailed scan.. usually when we r in the 5th mth i think..

missus BL , menopausing male boss? so funny!! i thought male bosses r more understanding?? i have a manager here in my ofc, kinda understanding and caring.. (my supervisor n i r in diff ofc).. he will ask if i am ok.. that time still ask if wanna send me back if i unwell, etc... i came back during my hospitalization leave to clear some urgent stuff and he suggested to talk to my supervisor to give me half or 1 more day off.. i say no need.. i kuku lah! should say ok!!! coz my supervisor is a useless and fake and cmi person!!!!!

wah!! u gals taking so many med?? i m still on folic and my anti-vomiting med.. do we eat the folic acid unless we give birth??

bfly, yes both are pasterised...

missus bl, anyways juz ren for a few more mths la! then we are off on ML liao!!!

jac, sometimes the gynae will give u multi vits instead of folic after 2nd trimester... i also never take alot of pills...i hate to pop pills!

Jacqueline - no leh, it's not the 5th mth detailed scan, it's an additional scan and must be done before 14wks at KKH ADC to check bb's liver blood flow etc. Feeling very confused now.

hi babybunny

I am also with kkh. I did scan at kkh adc (during OSCAR) to check bb liver blood flow etc.

I did it around 13 weeks.

Jac, i only see her until week 20. After my m/c i didnt see her anymore. i find that she is not caring for my case at all

Rabbit - that's why I thought was already checked during the OSCAR scanning at ADC, but now with a combined result of 1:800, KKH is offering me a FOC scanning again just to be sure, sounds a bit weird to me, 'cos I thought my results isnt' that bad given my age. Btw, what was your result?

Hi sporty, yea, been resting at home since about a year ago due to slight depression, insomnia and probably a bit high blood pressure as well. Keep falling sick, its like flu and cough every other week. As for the CL and MIL issue, my husband took my stand but he have not approached his mum to conclude that we have hired a CL and that will stay. My mum asked me about it and I had to reveal to her, she was slightly taken aback and said things like 'ai yo, want to put a poster outside and say they abuse daughter-in-law'. Then she had a long chat with my hubby as well and eventually told my dad even though I asked her not to. I was afraid my dad would blew his top and called up my in-laws and demand answers. Luckily he didnt and say that he will welcome me home for confinement if I have no other option.

Hi Jac, indeed hence I take the calcium tablets everyday diligently.

Hi yallo, haha.. No lah, I have seen my bro playing WoW but not my kind of game. Like Jac, I prefer rpg so I have played Maplestory, Runescape and always alternate between this 2 games. Now I'm back to runescape [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bfly - I thought to check if any other mummies here have same encounter before I call them back to ask them questions since I was told it's FOC and optional. Scared they take the easy way out and just ask me to opt out if I ask too many qns also. Vexed!! Now, no mood to work already, just keep thinking of this.

Hi babybunny, I'm with KKH as well but I wasn't aware of such option apart from the detailed scan in week 20. My results are all in thousands though. Probably you might want to call them up to double check what is that about?

babybunny: I am not sure how your Oscar report is like. For mine, Trisomy 21 (Down's syndrome), background risk based on maternal age is 1:531. The adjusted risk after factoring the scan and blood test etc, my result is 1:10,621. Hence, my gynae is not too concerned. Hope this helps.

hi babybunny,

sorry, i cant find my results slip now (getting forgetful). think was probably 1:2000 or less, am close to 40. For my first kid, I went back many times to ADC during 5th month as they could not get complete results due to position of my bb. It is inevitable to worry over the bb, but try not to let your thoughts run wild. Perhaps you can call them and find out.

For calcium, we just hv to see if our daily intake is abt 1000mg. One glass of hl milk is abt 250-300mg, one cup of non fat plain yogurt is abt 300+mg, if u take flavored fruity ones is lesser calcium, so I'm thinking of buying the non fat plain ones to eat too, in addition I'm also taking calcium pills cos I know my daily intake still quite low.

Bfly, for fresh milk u just hv to see the box, it'll indicate pasteurized. Hl milk is n I'm taking it.

Now I feel like eating old Chang kee curry puff!

MIA for 3 days le. Finally feel the mood n energy to reply.

@ Little darling – Thanks! I have either been sleeping or lying on the bed with whole body ache. Mood is rather bad for the past few days after the blood tests. I suppose low blood pressure na.

@ Ms Carpe – Don’t worry! My suffering should be the worse among u as I have thalassemia minor. Hence, I get dizzy very easily which result me resting at home since I knew that I am pregnant.

As per my early obstetric ultrasound result, I make some checks and concluded the following.

Result (Re) – The crown-rump length measures 6.14 corresponding to a dates of 12 weeks 5 days

Interpretation(Int) – bb is not too small or too big

Re – The foetal heart rate measures 149 beats per min

Int – Idea range is 120 to 180 bpm after 9 weeks

Re – The nuchal translucency measures 1.5mm

Int – Below 3mm is optimal result

Re – The right and left ovaries demonstrates normal features.

Int – No weird thing blocking or ingrowth.

Re –Single viable intrauterine foetus is demonstrated

Int – one ,live, in proper place, bb is demonstrated

Re – The nuchal translucency is not thickened

Int – Thickened means chance of DS is high.

Sorry for lengthy explanation.

@ KK – (Seat belt clip) Yes, it is safe ! I will take a photo and post it in FB.

I have been taking omega, mulit-v, calcium and folic acid since wk 6. Pls do not take marine omega as it might contain unsafe ingredient from the deep sea. I am taking Prolacta DHA for Mother from Novell Pharmaceutical Lab.