(2011/12) Dec 2011

@wendy - if very pain better to tell Dr and rest a few more days for further observation/tests. Hope u get well soon.

@dacylet - i just found out this morn it's a little princess. I took the CVS testing and nurse called me regarding the results. Me at wk12 so prob still cant see on scan.

@all mtb - thank you for your encouragement for past few days during my agonizing wait for CVS results. Result is normal for the usual problematic chromosones. The rest of report will be out in 2-3 wks' time.

Wendy,

Hope you're much better now. Dun worry yourself too much, follow docs instructions n rest well. I know how stressful bleeding can be becoz I had it in my first pregnancy. After 1-2 months of bedrest everything was normal n I had a healthy 3.3 kg bb boy. Have faith in yourself n your bb. Also dun keep ur pain n discomfort to yourself. Especially pain that is very bad. It's ur body's way of telling you something is not very rite so bring it up to ur doc. You shd b as comfortable as possi in pregnancy if not u will get very stressed up.

Littlefren, Jasline and sporty – thank you so much for your well wishes [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My boy is now talking and sayang-ing his meimei at bedtime everynight. I hope he continue to stay so lovely! I’m v conscious of sibling rivalry and have been reading up to prepare my little boy when the meimei arrives… experienced mummies here do share any tips u have!

Jasline – on rest and refrain from walkin: haha! I’m really horizontal most of the times at home! ;p

Sporty – Dr Ang will give his disclaimer ‘70%’ lar haha. He will say wait till detailed scan then ‘confirmed’ keekee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I was down w flu when I visited Dr Ang and requested for the ‘little yellow tablet’ safe for preggie women. But the auntie (the plump and short nurse – sure u know whom I referring to) tell me to ‘aiya just try to rest more lar’. I got her hint not to take medication so really sleep whenever I can. I’m ok now so do rest, rest and rest!!!

On abstaining – hmmm… till now have not ‘tat’ yet. Cos simply no mood lar. Actually I do pity hubbies during these period too.. I mean.. for them is more a need than a want??

missus BL – u shifting house? I also looking at pptyguru.com.sg everynow and then… but am wondering how to manage…

Wendy – hang in there! Think happy tots think positive!

TIE – I like your ‘Mummy is a fighter, so is the bb’ – so for mummies who are v pek chek need to handle lotsa stress at work now, take heart your bb will have better ‘stress management’/ ‘decision making skills’ next time tat’s wat my fren tells me too!

Maybe tis helps - http://www.live365.com/index.live

my fav online classical music for now. click on the first option 'whisperings' very soothing... except for the on off advertisement telling u to sign up ;p

chan, congrats on ur princess [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope for the best for u...jia you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gretel, think the jealousy part shd be the inital part... for my boy, i pyscho-ed him abt no 2 since the bb was in my tummy, so he actually was pretty excited to recieve his meimei...so far (even till now), no jealousy at all... now every nite i will ask my 2 kids to sayang my tummy tog...very nice to see them do so! yah, dr ang always give his disclaimer...so fast his "guess" is always quite zun for me...i cant wait to see him next week!!

Chan, congrats on ur results, that's good news! U can relax already! Another 2 wks for me before amnio plus another 2 wks to wait results, don't think I'm opting for the fast result.

Ling, lots of mummies say avent manual pump is good, i used medela harmony manual pump for 1st preg and i think it's good too.

How are all mommies feeling?

Wendy, Jia you!

Chan, good to hear the favorable result.

Cloud, hmm... like my 2WW after IVF.. 2WW after embryo transfer, then 2WW after preg blood test to scan for heartbeat...

gbh, wow to your #1!!

Talking about growth and motor skills. Recently I found our a few children in my usual play dates are having issues with their developemnt:

1. one of the child (and her brother) has this genetic slow-growth genes. They may be slower than other kids in terms of their motor skills, and usually smaller in size.

2. Hyperlexic - this kid has another twin brother. They were very premature at birth, doctor was unable to diagnose how extensive the brain damage could be. Both of them grow up fine, but recently, one had been diagnosed with hyperlexia. It's similar to autism but different. He is super bright, he could read A-Z front and backward before 2 years old. Usually they are very very smart and excel at what their interest lies, but very very bad in social skills.

3. Slow in speech - still unable to say any word at 23 mths. Usually the doctor will find our if it has to do with the muscles around the jaw or is it to do with brain signals. I hope it is muscles, cos he is slowest in crawling and walking compared to most boys in that play date.

Cloud942: It's hard waiting for results and I know it's easier said than done. But hope to encourage you to do activities that make you happy and look for company to chit-chat and catch up. It may be the best you can do for your bb now! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hello everyone!! i am back!! after missing for 1 month? haha!! was on hospitalization for most of May.. wither in hospital or hm bed rest.. vomiting is HORRIBLE!!!

now not much vomiting but still slight vomiting and mostly nausea at times.. been struggling to finish my work when back in ofc.. (dun understand y ppl can just wait for me to come back to clear the stuff after 1 month lor.. what will happens when i am on maternity leave?)

how is everyone?? hope everyone is doing gd now.. we should all be in 2nd tri and coming to 2nd tri now right?? whats the feeling u all have?? how is your body coping?? i feel so tired.. this morning totally cannot wake up for work and took morning urgent leave.. sigh....

u gals r talking abt breast pump?? i heard from my friend, we can buy 2nd hand de leh... my friends tried both manual and auto de.. the one who tried manual 1 says its very ma fan and u basically cannot do anything when pumping, and it takes a longer time.. end up u spend a lot time pumping...

Hi Jacqueline,

We've not talked before on this forum but it's good to hear from you that you are now well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My EDD's the last day of Dec so I'm not in 2nd trimester but am sure the majority of moms here are in their 2nd trimester as you had mentioned.

My MS are still tiredness, lack of stamina and slight nausea but I am just mainly feeling happy yet thinking of what to prepare for new arrival as first time mum-to-be

RE: Diaper bag

my POV.

1. I did not find those diaper bag that are given to me useful. I went to the hospital with my travel trolley bag, and needed concierge svc when I checked out.

2. I find LeSportSac the lightest.

3. If you intend to travel, I strongly recommend SkipHop. Heavy but great (especially the "Duo" meant for moms with twin or more than one baby) for packing the whole house exp the kitchen sink.

4. Kate Spade - stylish and usually light.

5. Coach - can be heavy.

6. Long Champ (tote)- my all time favorite as a rough use bag. To be used a diaper bag, I suggest u get a bag organizer (available in most dept store).

Bear in mind different series has different size. E.g. the La Pliage range's "M" size is diff from the Planetes'. And so does their, Victoire.

hi Ms Carpe Diem... well, but think it will be soon that u will reach 2nd tri right?? how u feeling?

KK, but longchamp is pretty ex and bo hua to buy in sg lehz.. i also looking for a big bag.. if not i will prob just use my neverfull if hubby dun allow me to buy bag...

Currently on med to make me slp slp slp for depression is it normal tomake a depress pregnant lady slp?? I feelso useless keep slping only

Jacqueline, welcome back.

But Neverfull is heavy.. And it is also like LongChamp, one compartment. I normally get my bags from Europe, can claim VAT.. Then again, if you have friends going N.Z. their DFS is also not bad. Based on the exchg rate now and the discount they offer, you can get up to 40% less than what is sold here. I have one Gucci and a Dior from there, prices were comparable with Europe.

@cloud - I'm the pessimistic kancheong type who can't wait 2 wks for results so we opted for fast results which only confirm got DS or not. Rest of result still have to wait 2 wks.

@carpe diem - my ex-colleague gave me a hardcopy check-list of baby items to prepare. I'll share here later.

@ all mtb - i'm onto my 13wk. Appetite quite gd but can't eat too much at each meal or else the bloatedness will be quite bad. My food cravings change every other day. 2 days ago was fish steamboat, tdy's claypot rice. Addicted to apple juice for past 2 weeks, before that was 100plus.

Me not working so can sleep till a bit later, watch dramas online, go forum chit-chat. Feel much better than 1st tri when there was MS, tiredness, headaches, work stress etc.

dawn, r u ok?? how come depress?? basically doc prob give u med to slp because wanna u to relax?? slp is the best med and way to relax..

Chan P L, u start having cravings le?? i will at most suddenly think of food that i have had for a long time.. like ytd, i thought of the muffins at shunfu market.. but they are closed ytd so i went to buy them today.. not really craving.. just that got the feel like long time nv eat plus my bros like them also so buy home for them..

so gd.. u r not working.. i wish i am not working too.. can rest and play game online. but bo bian.. need to earn $$ for checkups, med, baby stuff.. sigh... but my health is affecting my work lah.. cant really concentrate for long and got a useless supervisor.. sigh..

KK, thanks!! neverfull still ok lah.. i got friend even worse.. using a LV hampstead as baby bag.. i also have the same bag and it's even heavier!! but no choice,.. gotta give up buying bags and make do with what we have... i dun have friends going NZ leh.. only got friends just back from HK and another one going HK again soon.. how do u get ur bags from EU?? for longchamp i rather get it from EU.. so much cheaper..

Ling, avent n medela r the more popular ones.

ms carpe diem, thanks for the encouragement!

Jac, finally u're back! great u're feeling better. As for me in 14wk now, since wkend it seems my hunger pangs is no longer that bad, can control hunger better n pee at night is not so frequent also.

For longchamp, i agree it's really light, just buy bag organiser, BP sellers sells too. The planetes series is good too.

Jacqueline, I used to travel frequently. Now, I just ask my friends to help. It's not like I am buying bags every month or what anyway.

One of my play date moms going Paris this Fri.. But I wont see her cos by the time she comes back, I am in USA.

I have seen prices of Long Champ in Nagoya almost same as Europe when they have sale at the airport shop before.. But this is really "chanced upon".

Cloud, I love my bag organizer! so easy to switch bags! I have to stop buying bags, I am currently re designing my 2 bedrooms to accommodate the CL, helper & ILs this Dec, and I found at least 7 bags of similar style hanging in my guest room's closet, and 3 others folded nicely in the laundry basket!!! *can faint*

Jacqueline yes i think the med help me relax but when i wake up i feel useless 3/4 of the day gone.... My hubby says since doc gave me med for 14 days only slp 14 days lor haizz

dawn,

Yah depression usually they give sleeping pills n anti depressants. My psychiatrist explained that it's because pregnant women usually hv less sleep coz of pregnancy symptoms like waking up to pee, aches n pains n discomfort n the lack of slp adds to e depressive feelings. But gotta admit that the meds make you feel very lifeless as well.

thansk cloud942.. when is ur EDD? cant seem to find the table.. haha!! i think i am also should be ard 14 weeks le... finally the worst is over!!! i dun usually wake up at night to pee but morning will be quite full le... but hungry strikes, i will feels very bad... i think my gastric infammation is back le lor. after all the vomiting and stuff.. so when hungry i will need to eat.. but of coz gastric will feel unfair after that..

what is BP seller??

KK, so gd.. u can travel often...so far i nv hear any of my friends going EU soon leh.. sigh... i think the japan 1 is really heng suay 1.. when i went, dun find anything cheap and no sale.. but when my friend went, she bought alot back.. sigh..

Jacqueline: Welcome back! Glad to see you're doing well and all chirpy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dawn: Sleep is good! No need to feel useless lah, should enjoy the rest while you can, I think it's a luxury that all MTBs will miss next time when our kids are born heh :p Right now I'm waking up at least twice every night to pee, sianz! Even in office, keep going to the loo. Very paiseh coz I'm seated at the other end, so everytime have to walk past literally the entire office of ppl *hide*

To all mummies: WAH you all use branded bags for diaper bag??? Won't heart pain meh??? I went to google for Kate Spade diaper bag, $300+++??? faint cannot imagine using such an expensive bag then put diapers, milk bottles, stinky baby clothes / face towels in it haha. No cheaper alternative?

Stella yes i feelso lifeless will i recover? Kind of afraid this depression stickswith me till end of my life!

I m pratically slping the whole day n everyone tells me its gd n ask me dun worry abt other things

Dear All MTBs,,thanks for everything..i have too many MTBs to thank and i am afraid i might miss out any so best to thank every MTBs here[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..i am waiting for my U/S tomorrow and see what my dr got to say for me..hopefully i can go home tomorrow..

Dawn..just managed to see your post..hope you are fine ya..we wokr hard together..if you find yr dr not attentive enough,just consult another 1..you will be fine too..

Sporty..get well soon..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kk, i love bags too, but stopped buying after i stopped working... haha... so nice, u're going to US!

Jac, mine is 13dec.. BP is bulk purchase section of this forum.

Yallo, hahaha think we mummies just pampering ourselves keke

Dawn, rest well for now, dont think too much...

Hey Jac, you're finally back! I was thinking where were you just about a week ago. Anyway glad that things are better for you now. I stop having hunger pangs as in I can stand being hungry longer as per pre-pregnancy and I do not have to eat every 2-3hrs which is a huge relief for me. I noticed I only wake up to pee when I'm not in deep sleep otherwise its sleep throughout which I'm really grateful for. Recently I even started feeling some fetal movements on and off which got me really excited and I'm at week 15 today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wahh mummies, I'm so envious whoever gets to go on overseas shopping trips whether often or not.

Hi Wendy, I hope everything turns out alright for you but pls do let your doc know about your discomfort.

Hi Dawn, despite feeling lifeless from all the sleeping, do you feel better?

my cravings started abt a month back but back then, it's a case of crave for food but when the food is brought in front of me, no appetite liao. Nowadays better, crave and can swallow it down too ;p

my work was affecting my health which in turn affected my work, so i decided to resign even tho that meant forfeiting the 4 mths maternity leave & jobless for 6 mths. It's financially tougher for us now so we watch our spending more carefully than before. I'm now taking up a part-time course in accounting and hope after bb born, i can do part-time accounts at home till child is older.

i also dun bear use branded bags for diaper bag. Shall see if freebie diaper bag nice or not. If not wait for pp give as pressie lor ;p EDD so near xmas, I think our pressies all become bb's pressie liao.

dawn, pls cheer up. Try psycho yourself you'll recover from depression. I've 2 frds who suffer from clinical depression but eventually recovered. Are you working? If not, when feeling better maybe can pick up some hobby to keep mind occupied. Hope u get well soon!

Hello Jac welcome back hope u r better!

Oh dear Dawn, please dun feel bad for zzz most of us or at least me is horizontal most times every since preg! ;p

think of it tis way - zzz is our entitlement now ok... next time bb out wan to zz also cannot!

come to forum chat w us more often to anti depress! i draw strength n comfort here [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

we shd continue here when bb's out to prevent post natal blues! (by then i tink our topic will change to gossip/ complaints about in-laws/ parents' diff parenting style, CL, maids, breastfeeding...well meaning but unwarranted old wives' tales...lol)

Dawn - dunno if tis helps to cheer u up. i like going to playgrounds, parks to watch children play.. sometimes i stand outside childcare centres to watch the little tots or public swimming pools see the 'little ducklings' learning to swim... i find tat soo soo cute! it kind of soothes n relaxes me jus watching carefree children... or pick up a easy to read book like 'happiness in a nutshell' there are many self help books for light reading. depression can be serious (i lost someone v close due to tat) so it is v impt u have self awareness and seek treatment..

Jacqueline: I'm mixing feelings of happiness and thinking abt what to prepare for new arrival as new MTB [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. And yes, I'm moving twds 2nd trimester.

Chan PL: That sounds v useful, thks in advanced for sharing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Dawn: In my final yr of uni, I was feeling depressed too and the dr similarly gave me meds that relieved me from my feeling of stress and meds that had helped me sleep too.

I can understand how you feel and without many waking hours, I know how it makes us feel useless. During my time, with my feelings of stress under control, I used my waking hours to do tasks that helped me graduate. Eg talking with lecturer to negotiate the passing criteria for my FYP and asking smart classmates for tgeir ideas, thoughts and help to finish my FYP project.

Similarly I hope that can encourage you to use the remaining hours to do something (but don't set the bar too high, the waking hours are not many) which will help you in feeling better in the LT. Eg if it's finances that had been one of the factors that had made you depressed, perhaps start by filing all your expenses statements eg bank stmts, insurance, car maintenance etc then slowly working towards awareness of monthly expenses. If it's work, use the waking hours to progress in growing a new skill or just embarking on tasks that have observable outcomes.

I hope the above will be useful for you?

Wendy let work hard!!!!

Kimiko yes felt better after slping for first 2 days n i stop the med for 2 days the 1st day i stop i still manage to slp well due to the "leftover". Med in my body... But yeaterday i cAnt slp again n today felt bad again mayb i should continue with the med but i scared i depend on it too much n become addicted

Gretel actually quite glad to realise i m not the only one horizontal hehe

Cloud, this time my doc more relax cos 1, it's a natural conception, 2. I have been healthy (as in no blood or spotting). I so wish I will know the bb's gender so I can buy specific colors and styles. U need anything? I am planning to freight things back. Incl 4 car tyres, raspberry jam, blueberries, books, clothes, toys, baby's toiletries.. Last year, I was charged about $3 for air-freight which is very very reasonable.

Hope all mommies feel better soonest! How about playing games? One game I strongly discourage is Angry Bird. Try Smurf. I like it.

KK, my blue label that time when i went, they sort of dicontinued de.. the nova series.. luckily my tour guide help me buy in another place.. nowadays the blue labels like not nice le...

thanks yallo, yap, better now.. but still feels very tired easily.. so u also feel the same?? lolx.. i love bags!!!!! from last time no branded to now branded.. last time i have a whole shelf of bags! but after shifted to my in-law's place, i either threw some or gave my mum le.. =( actually got thos naraya ( i think), ppl always buy from bkk.. big and gd also.. saw a lot mummies using it too..

dawn, u must learn to think happy.. i have history of depression thats y my friends and hubby scared it will come back.. pre or post.. try to watch happy shows, talk happy things and try not to think of bad things.. at least thats what i try to tell myself lah! jia you!! u can do it de.. i walked out of it the last time myself.. now u r a mummy to be, u have to be strong!! gambatte!

wendy, what happened to you? US?? go home?? sorry, have been away from forum for some time so a lot not updated..

cloud942, same.. i am a bag lover!! but i stopped buying ever since hb proposed 2 years back.. den pamper myself once more again this Feb after so long.. but i think now gotta stop for a longer time le.. and my EDD also ard same time as u!!! 13 dec. but keep changing but always ard that period..

hello kimiko!!! how r u??!! i remembered u also have very bad MS de right?? hope u r better now already.. =) wow!! u can hold your hungry?? actually i dun feel hungry often lah.. since i dun take breakkie, i will lunch at 11.. den 4-5 plus hungry again.. den will munch a little, ard 7-8 dinner.. sometimes i will be ok till next day.. sometimes wilbe hungry at ard midnight.. i am not really hungry except for specific hrs..

wow!! u r fast!! 15 weeks le!!

Chan P L, u quit ur job??? i cant bear to leave the money behind.. money pretty impt now.. and the thing is, my bonus is every march.. so i leave now bo hua.. even my colleagues say if can try to endure.. dec deliver, den 4 mths maternity.. take bonus.. den quit after coming back.. i wish i can quit too.. but the money and leave is too tempting..

gretel, thanks!! i agree, sometimes, it better to say everything out.. and if u duno how to say or who to say or scared no 1 can understand, here is the best place coz we can all somehow going through the same thing..

KK, y not angry bird?? smurf last itme i suded to play but gets bored easily leh.. now i just went back to online gaming.. playing with 1 of my bros.. even hubby says i am better coz i will concentrate on games and forget abt other things! but when he remind me (like if i am still having pain, etc), i will feel the pain shortly after... lolx!!

lolx!! my msgs so long!!!!

ok.. i have some questions to ask..

1) do u have get sharp pains at lower tummy area?? i went doc and doc says might be UTI/infection... but i am worried coz none of my friends get sharp pains...last time is bad cramps in early preg, now sharp pain..

2) i understand that now we will have more discharge right?? but do u all get green discharge with cakery stuff??? its' like the discharge clump together...

3) do u all still do it with hubby???

kk, nah nothing to buy, thanks for asking [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Enjoy ur trip! Maybe u can spot the gender before u go on hols? My gynae spotted a boy but he was defensive saying better to wait detail scan cos he has been wrong hahah.. but nvm gender, as long as my amnio n detailed scan r good. I dont mind hving 2 gals actually.

Jac, haha... now that i'm sahm, hardly hv chance to use nice bags, and even if i go out, i need big bags... i do miss working sometimes, miss the money independence.. giving up my career took quite a bit of courage actually cos now it's quite impossible for me to go back to same sector cos it's a fast pace one...

Actually i calculated my edd to be 19 dec cos my cycle is usually abt 34days or so, but seems to be a wk earlier now...

Jacqueline, Angry Bird makes me angry leh.. I cannot do fast pace online game.. I will die of heart attack.. Plus I have to play secretly, so slow pace and relax smurf suits me better.

Cloud, Thanks! Your amniocentesis will tell the gender, 99.9% accurate. I think your doc concern about the traditional Chinese thinking is it? Aiya, these days, having a daughter means you'll get a son, having a son? Sigh, I don't expect my son to visit me everyday, just remember my birthday, CNY, Christmas and come drink my soup will do lah.