(2011/12) Dec 2011

kimiko, icic *hugs* hope u rest well during this pregnancy... ohh good tha ur hb's on ur side and ur dad sounded quite supportive too!! think u slowly break the news to ur mil at later stage ba...

babybunny, think its best u call them directly la then u wun feel so vexed guessing!!

cloud, OCK curry puff!! i also want!! but having sore throat now....

shasha, pls take care!!

oh ya robinsons is having sale! i was there juz now during lunch...

Yallo & Jacqueline, no lah, my official boss knows I am preg, just that I have never worked in a job where pregnancy is a concern so I really how to inform the office.

Yallo, I took marine omega for my #1 since 20weeks after I let my doc see that label, she said krill oil is new and no harm. The 4 different tablets are different vits. Honestly reason I continue to take is because with Nuskin, I found even my hb recover from common sore throat/ flu faster than before he does.

And a common practice in my household is double dosing our multiVit (including helper) when one member in the household fell sick. This helps the sick one recover faster and the rest protected.

In M'sia, the color is brown due to the M'sia regulation.

bfly, all milk product that you seen in supermarket chiller are pasteurized. Only those straight from farm isn't. And those milk that do not require chilling are call UHT milk which were treated with heat for a longer time hence doesn't require refrigeration until opened.

Hi sporty, thanks so much for your concern, really appreciate it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Yea, I guess my in-laws will come to understand the importance of a CL esp when they realise they weren't able to help much at all.

Haha.. I'm craving for pizza :x Really? Hmmm.. See if hubby is able to accompany me to robinsons tomorrow, whats to look out for at robinsons?

now we are at that stage can see cannot buy. By the time can buy i got no energy to see already... hahaha... even now shop like 30min i cannot take it... not to say when it comes to 3rd tri.

Hmm, thanks mummies, looks like it could be due to the results, 'cos my combined adjusted results is 1:800, so it's still within the 1:1000 range. that's why they offer to do another scan. My parents do not like the idea of having to do so many scans on bb, that's why I abit scared. But hearing from what you shared, I definitely feel less confused now.

Talking abt calcium, my gynae also din prescribe, only given obumin, fish oil, iron tablets and folic acid. Actually should start drinking more milk now, but just that always feel nauseas and having very poor appetite. Funny thing is I still put on so much weight and tummy looks like 5-6mths preggy.

Hello gals...been few days not posting le.

Hope all doing good...

RE: calcium intake

I did not take calcium pills for 1st & 2nd pregnancy, was able to take cheese & HL milk. Now seems very turn off to both of these items & get nauseated. Worried calcium intake insufficient. Should I ask gynae to prescribe me calcium pills? How much does it cost roughly?

sporty: Did u spot any good 'lobang' on breast pump? I need to get Ameda pump liao as my old one is faulty. Then need another set to 'replace' back to my ex-colleague as I was using hers on very heavy duty until become faulty! Hmm, did not manage to find Ameda pumps selling in BP though...only Medela. Getting 2 sets local can be very very costly! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] U know anyone ordering Ameda pumps direct from US (US set)?

Hope u'll recover soon from ur sore throat & flu. I'm also frequently down with flu & running nose nowadays. Preggy nose...haiz...had it for all my 3 pregnancies.

sporty, i have been taking a lot med since last dec because of my health prob.. lolx.. so we can stop folic acid now?? i still got 1.5mths supplies at hm! lolx!!

babybunny, huh?? there's another scan for u?? liver flow?? wah!!this is new to me!! anyone can explain??

line, she is not caring?? hmm.. okok.. that time i was still considering if wanna go back to her but must go all the way to KK i find it ley chey.. haha!!

the last time i was admited was at KK and it was dr khoo something.. den i find him quite ok.. but i already seeing gynae le n gonna pay for package liao so end up stick with my gynae..

kimiko, wah!! ur mil sounds scary!! i was actually having some prob abt it also.. my dad says i can go hm for confinement.. my mum can help since not working and no need waste unnecessary $$.. when sort of discuss with MIL, she was like "HUH"!!! den i feel sian.. but luckily hubby is on my side and he managed to talk to his mum.. his mum is working lah.. if i stay at home, no 1 to take care of me and no space for confinement lady.. at the moment she agree that i go back my home for confinement but baby shower must do her my in-law's place.. i must be back by baby shower.. now my mum worried.. coz after i go back in-laws place, everyone working, who take care of me.. which is true lah.. sigh..

ya lor.. WoW so confusing and not cute de.. and plus its 3D, i cannot handle and will feel giddy.. u playing maplestory now also?? i just went back to the game last weekend.. playing with 1 of my bro.. training new character.. u??

KK, i nv inform whole company wor.. only supervisor, manager in my ofc and some closer colleagues.. have to inform HR also??

ya, what do we need to look out at robinson sale??

Ha bfly, you are so right abt can see cannot buy. Eversince we learnt abt my pregnancy, my hb and myself went into this bad habit of shopping for new bb. Everything just looks so cute and nice, but at the end can only buy toys, no clothes since sex of bb still unknown[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kimiko, yeah they will...juz dun worry too muchie!! yah...think i saw items like pigeon, nuk , avent all have 20%... got good selection of car seats n strollers also... i nvr really go n see in detail cuz juz wanna get bday pressie for my fren's boy nia!

bfly, best to buy frm robinsons/jl sale or taka bb fair then ask for delivery la... no need to lug home the loots urself!! hehe

jing hui, thot where u went...u MIAed for a few days... i think u can check the BP for ameda sets...think some of them selling US set... i have a ameda too but using it as a stand by, in case my medela FS goes bonkas!! hahah... ya much better liao, thks for ur concern!!

jac, the multi vits tha gynae gives had good enough dosage of folic inside...so can stop la...anwyays if u take excess folic, it will also be passed out as urine :p

hahaha me and my husband also keep looking around for strollers, cot, etc... seems like nothing interest me than bb stuff now.. hahahha but everything just see no buy...

if too much dosage of vitamins, you will get constipated too.. if too serious then you can decide whether to continue or stop for folic acid as it is most needed during 1st tri. i should be stopping folic acid once my supply from gynae is finished as they have given me to last more than first 3 months.

we can also organise some BP of items that can be shipped from US at cheaper price when we reaching 3rd tri. also im wondering if Msia cheaper than SG for strollers, breast pump etc..

Jacqueline, in my previous company, news travel fast, once I call the planning, the whole department already knows.. this company very small, no proper HR dept, this is handled by Account Dept. So no worry.

sporty: I did not MIA, still around reading silently never post only. Got some issues at home 'hen fan' & unresolved, thus getting a little depressed & in bad mood la...but logging in here reading posts made me feel better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I've checked all current BP going on in the forum, none selling Ameda ler...only Medela or Avent [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] U know any other BP organizing or organizer conducting Ameda pump spree? If not, really need to go to Robinson to checkout liao...

RE: robinson sale

For 1st time mummies, can look out for milk bottles, wet wipes, baby shampoo etc 1st. Later when know gender of baby can get newborn clothes & receiving blankets, mittens & booties. Then car seat & stroller, cot, diapers & breast pumps. No need to buy all at once.

Kimiko: I'm so glad your husband's taking more proactive steps to support you in this matter. It'll be good if he talks to his mom abt this and reach an agreement there rather than for you to talk to your mil about this. Really glad for you!

Shasha: Those are really detailed measurements. And glad for you that your pregnancy is doing well.

Think I'll use your structure to get my report from gynae when I next see him at about my w14-15. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

missus BL, my boss is married with 1 daughter. Even as a father he is also not understanding.

His PA's son admitted to hospital and he commented that 'her family always full of problem'. As if his PA wants her son to be sick!!!

Ok will find the right moment to 'Surprise' him. Muahahaha...

bfly, u need to bring a checklist if u go bb items shopping...if not u really dunno what to get lor... if u need the list, lemme kno...i try to find the checklist... pm me ur email if u need! i think msia is cheaper for diapers (like those giant,tesco etc) but rest of the items shd be ard same price and they have less selection la

jing hui, whats wrong ah? what kinda issues?? if not u can try to get ameda from mums fairy...or u wanna ask our previous thread, any moms wanna sell u their 2nd hand ones?

For buying of baby stuffs, is it too early??? A lot of ppl advised me to buy after week 20. I was thinking of buying after I give birth.

my mom wants me to buy druing my 3rd tri. I will do as per what she says. I know during Oct, there should be some taka sale.. bcos it is tehir anniversary so should have further discount. That should be the time i go and grab BB stuff.

Jacqueline - think essentially they are just going to redo another OSCAR scanning, 'cos things that they look out for are still same. Think that lady whom called me meant blood flow from heart ba, 'cos I only recall hearing the sonographer mentioning blood flow from heart during my scan that day, nothing about liver.

For breastpumps, manual ones, so far I have tried pigeon, avent and medela. Avent is best, works well in clearing blocked ducts too. But it's frustrating with the valve keeps flipping over when you pump too fast. For electric one, this time round I am getting Ameda as I kept experiencing back flow of milk into the medela pump, which ended up requiring servicing so many times.

bb n gg, ur boss's daughter must be quite grown up liao...mb he forgot how it was like when the kid is still young n needs lots of attention...or he may have alot of help at home tha whatever happened to his daughter then, he no need to take leave or what lor... cuz thas the case for my boss la...cuz she finds tha we v ma fan, like kept taking leave to attend to this kinda things (as if tha we want lor)...

babybunny, u looking for ameda ah? maybe u can BP with jing hui!!

bfly, no prob...give me a few days hor cuz sometimes i v lazy to on my lappy at nite :p

Ling: i was like you... i also think things like breast pump (which is expensive and i may not need it if BB is able to latch properly?) can i buy after birth when i need it... but my CL is suggesting BB to sleep with her so my sleep at night wont be disturb.. so seems liek i need to get the breast pump before birth.

Sporty: hahaha no worries.. i can understand... i never on laptop unless necessary when im at home. Thanks in advance!

Thanks sporty and Ms Carpe Diem for your support. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think shall check it out if hubby is free, otherwise I probably wait till 3rd trimester to shop for the necessary stuffs.

Hi Jac, I used to play Maplestory but stopped for like over a year already. I have a main character inside, forget what level also. I heard there are some changes to Maplestory, can the old characters still be used? I think my old character got at least level 100 ba, really wasted if cannot use.

Sporty - Good idea! But I intend to buy maybe around end oct/nov, 'cos even if shipping from US, dun need such long time ba.

Going off soon, will go home straight after meeting..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bfly, ya if u want bb to sleep with cl...u need to pump the milk for her to feed lor... if not, u can ask cl to bring bb to u whenever bb need to feed and after feeding, u can return bb to her for changing of diapers, cajoling bb to sleep etc... thas what i planned to do la...

sporty: some suggest that this is a good idea to let CL feed bb at night so we can recover faster and better...

cons will be bb will nto be able to latch well as bottle feed is easier to suck etc...

sporty: I better not mention or discuss about the issue here la...later cause a big stir of debate! U know la, SAHM also will have their stress time too...and this kind of stress can kill!

Hmm, I better not buy anymore 2nd hand pump, haha...coz the last time I got it, the motor died after 2 weeks of pumping & I had to urgently borrowed my ex-colleague's pump (she only used barely for 2 mths & was very new) & heavy duty pumping for slightly over 1 year until become faulty. So now, I have to look for a replacement for her (she'll due in late Oct) & one for myself. Coz I know the current faulty one will die anytime soon & I don't wish to end up like the last time where I need to urgently look for a standby pump. I do have a set of Avent manual pump but does not work/not ideal for me as my milk is over supplying. Maybe will have to checkout Mumsfairy, no choice liao...

RE: buying baby items

Yup, don't need to buy so early. Best during 2nd tri to early 3rd tri. By mid 3rd tri, most preggers will be huge & heavy, easily tired out when doing shopping. But if buy after deliver, most items will be needed once baby is out. So, need to get some necessity ready/prepared also.

i think JB might be cheaper for some big items because of currency exchange?? we saw a shop (2 storey high) and sells a lot baby stuff! maybe will need to research on sg prices den decides.. but my friend tell me dun buy cot.. use yao lan better.. lolx

ok, i think i continue with my folic acid since i not taking multi-vits.. den check if gynae again bah..

babybunny, but weird leh.. y need to redo again? unless they didnt do properly?

sporty, can email me too??thanks! [email protected]

kimiko, ya, my main character also still inside.. level 97.. but hor, all my items and $$ all gone!!! sob sob!!! can still use existing character lah! but i m not sure abt the skills how le.. what job were u playing last time?? i stopped for at least 3 years.. den recently play back.. ya.. now alot new things.. new maps, new mobs, new characters also!! last time we only have 4 right? now a lot more. thats y now me and my bro decides try all over again.. its quite fun lah.. at least it takes ur mind away from work or those headache stuff..

ya, my friend also say no need buy too early coz u might receive some stuff as gifts also... my cousin even received a stroller before!! $500plus!! i think luckily she havent buy yet...

ms carpe diem, sure! no prob!

bfly, yup yup...even if cl feed bb at nite...the mummmy have to wake up to pump milk to maintain milk ss lor, so still have to wake up lor :p hehe i think ling getting bbplus if i rem correctly...

jing hui, actually if u are getting 2 sets of ameda, maybe u see the gals here keen or not, maybe can get together frm the US site ... think www.breastpump.com sells...if i rem correctly la... anwyays dun feel stress la...wait ur bb as unhappy as u!!

jac, ok will email u! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yao lan...bb might be hooked leh...if u go out, how to yao ah? :p

bfly,

just a note, even if u r not feeding at night, inorder for breastmilk supply to maintain or increase, u still need to wake up pump to every 2-3hrly as per the same frequency as how ur bb wakes up in middle of night. N if ur bb is ok to latch, i wld think it's easier to latch at night instead of washing pumps etc.

Some mummies say that their BM is not much is cos they do not wake up to pump or latch. Just letting u know first if u r planning to bf longer term otherwise BM may not be enough.

the theory supply = demand works for bf.

sporty: i cant sleep throughout the night? *lazy mummy.. hehehe* but i will latch wduring the day... hehehe still need to wake up in teh middle of the night to pump?

If this is the case i might as well as CL bring bb to me already...

bfly, yah like what cloud said...if u seriously wanna bf long... have to wake up in the middle of the nite to pump cuz nite time is the "golden period" to produce bm... i think cl bring bb to latch is easier la cuz u can close ur eyes to "rest" while u nurse bb la...pump still need to set up pump, store milk etc... breast milk everyone sure have one, its juz whether u are hardworking enough to "earn" it...

Ling: anyone of your friends reccomend you baby plus? I get to know baby plus from Nov thread mummies.. but some reports say good some says not good.. as usual... so im still thinking of whether to buy or not.

KK, my stomach hides well for all my pregnancy, only toward the 5/6th months then will be more obvious.

Even when its obvious, pple will still thinks I am fat than pregnant bah. Hahaha...

Hi mummies, I think I miss out a lot....haha....currently I just take acid folix, fish oil and 千喜泉 (one kind of supplement drink that highly recommend by my relative).

bfly, cos i heard some CL discouraged latching at night, cos they think FM is faster n more convenient to give bb and then they can go back sleep faster whereas latching takes a while so some CL lazy so to speak.... hehe motherhood is abt sleepless nights leh... :p

even at night also must pump??? confirm no need slp le leh.. for 1st 4 mths still ok coz not working coz maternity leave.. what happens after 4 mths??

sporty: Yeah, need to get US set as getting 2 sets. Get local one very costly ah! I asked an oversea organizer here whether she do Ameda pump order or not coz I see her spree, people order Medela only.

If yes, then good...hehe. Waiting for her reply.

I also wish to stay happy & stress free la...but cooped up in the house most of the time with kids really can kill lor!

bfly: If wanna breastfeed baby, cannot be a lazy mummy hor!...Must sacrifice our beautiful & precious sleep one...All mummies are 'wei da' de [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cloud/sporty: so if we latch day and night, will we still need to pump any other time of the day?

also they say wear wire bra will affect the milk duct... do you think its true? im still wearing my pre-pregnancy wire bra as it is still comfortable...

bfly: Not acvisable to wear wired bra during breastfeeding, as it will cause blocked milk ducts even infection (mastitis). I 'kena' infection before and it was real bad until I had to be hospitalized for 3-4 days, coz high fever. And I'm allergic to panadol/paracetamol.

Jac, after 4 mths, i think babies still need to wake up at night to drink at least once... so i guess it's up to u whether u want to continue pump/latch at night when u start work...

bfly, dont say that keke nobody is ready until when we reach that stage, even when i think of waking up every 2hrly i also sian now hahah.