(2011/11) Nov 2011

xin

i take my folic acid when i remember to take. :p and usually it's after breakfast. i check the sticker label on my folic acid box prescribed by gynae, it's take after food.

Xin> For me, i also take whenever i remember. Folic Acid is a supplement like most supplements, it is like the nutrients which you can find in food. If i do rem, i would prefer to take it after meal, so it is like as if I'm taking food. =)

Memorable,

i only know from friends that KKH private suite and the 1-bedder delivery wards are ok, no complaints from these gfs!

Jmi, u know this exactly happened to my boy at KKH. But it was a group of student nurses with one senior nurse doing the pricking on my boy. They refused to let us in the treatment room, I heard my boy screamed and my heart was so painful. I cried. They took more than half an hour. Till now, whenever I think about it, I am still very mad.

When my boy was at MAH, it was the pd who did the IV drip

and nurse comforting my boy. Me and my hubby could even

stay near my boy to comfort him. Pd only took five to ten

mins.

going to be the end of another work day! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

congrats sodami and welcome. just saw your edd, nice number.

memorablechocolate, your edd on 11 Nov right? it will be 11/11/11. wah, will be very popular number! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jmi

our medic students also on-the-job training so the snr ones supervise? That explains their lack of experience and greenness? Think if my dd sick, better bring her to MAH or tmc or RH.

My dd also screamed her lungs out when she was put on drip @10m when she had uti. I was right infront of the pd administering the drip. The old pd said it is not painful but dd was in protest as the nurse had to hold her hands and feet haha. That was overseas. On another occasion when she was given the prick when she was suspected dengue somewhere last year when she had fever for on off 1-1.5 weeks. My dd was also screaming in protest but i was in presence of all the jabs and pricks overseas.

Now when we moved back sg in a few months' time, if ever dd need to be put on drip, i wd request to be ard in case some inexperienced mo traumatise my child. I prefer to traumatize my dd on my own at home than in hospital.

really scary kkh stories.

Memorable, I've a gf who had her delivery in KKH and she stayed single bedder, I visited her before, she also said okie, no complains from her too.

Welcome and congrats sodami.

KKH

I think i can identify with your kids' experience. Few years back, i went for op in ward class B 4-bedder. Surgeon was excellent no complaints. Then came my nightmare, the nurses are filippino or students from poly. My blood drip was torn twice. The urine catherer was inserted painfully by the qualified nurse but i suffered the aftermath. The group of abt 5 students on attachment came and re-administered the urine catherer. I think i din know what to expect so i tgt all normal. 2 or 3 days after discharge i was having fever. Then i went to my gp, immediately i was given antibiotic jab as i was suffering from infection. Must be from the team of nurses who did this.

When i was abt to do csec at tmc and thought the procedure to be painful, i was so wrong. I have painless prick on my hand for the drip and the GA administered on me was fine. Even the urine catherer was inserted painlessly as compared to kkh nurses. I have a pleasant experience with tmc then. I hope they will not disappoint me again when i go back for csec this time.

Alert for all mommies, to be more inquisitive and asserting our rights when anything is being administered to our kids. Kids these young do not know how to utter pain and discomfort. I mean i am an adult and i din know how to express my concern until i have a 2nd experience.

Wah thanks for the heads up gals...Even after baby born better not send there!!

starry: Hmm I don't really like Bovril but tastebuds may

change huh. I actually liked the cheap sandwich I got fr sch that I usually look down on heh

Simp,

Agree with u 100% on asserting our parental rights! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And welcome back to sgp!

btw, Simp, its hilarious the way u say u prefer to traumatise kid yourself rather than to let the hospital, hee! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/lol.gif]

jmi, simp,

that was a really horrid experience!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] such lousy service... very scary. actually no big deal but become major prob under their "caring" hands. tsk tsk!!

ent29,

i also suddenly like things that previously i dislike. like the sardine puffs. didn't like the fishy taste and always preferred curry puffs but now changed. haha!

rin45: Yours is a good change! At least you crave healthy stuff!

Sigh I'm sitting in the open and actually feeling cold just from the breeze blowing!

rin-45, dont worry abt csec, when i develiver my #2 was csect epi, painless wont feel pain and i can walk my self 2nd day.

Welcome new mommies that join us today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Otw and starry

Yes i thin either the dr or nurses cause these horrible experiences. Imagine the dr did a great job but e after care is lacking and vice versa. Sometimes a matter of life and death can be very thin under these circumstances.

Otw,

haha, my dd does scream like the way she was in hospital. At home, we can have most of the control on how we and the child behave, in hospital, quite hard to manage at times. Parents and children under the mercy of drs and nurses.

Hormones:

Yes my hormones fluctuation are bad as well. Can be irritable and depressed at the same time, especially more so when u have an existing kiddo to flame them :p Think my #2' temper wd be as bad as mine compared to my #1. #1 mild in nature but also hot when pressed :p

rin, ent29,

yeah, we are weirdo preggers. lol!!

rin,

i remember my csect was pretty alright. as long as you don't cough or sneeze, it's really no big deal. you will feel sore and achy for sure, but you will be given painkillers so definitely can handle one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it was only painful for me when coughing. the doc still laughed and told me to cough all i wanted, the wound will not burst open! wahaha!

oh, the abdomen area was quite achy when i got out of bed the 3rd day (doc's instruction to stay in bed for 2 whole days) but i think that was partly because i was in bed for too long. when peeing also achy because bladder near the surgery site so somehow muscle will move when we contract bladder to get urine out. but it's like normal muscle ache.

in fact, i could bf my girl sitting up in cradle position right after csect. some mummies couldn't cradle and had to do football hold. i just need a pillow to support her when i cradle-held her.

I was thinking, ladies, hmm maybe its not really fair to condemn KKH... :p It is still after all supposed to be the best-equiped women and children's hospital in sgp.

I remember my niece once stuffed a button PLUS a doll shoe into the same nostril, hee, it's funny now that i recollect, anyway the family rushed the girl to KKH, where she was strapped into this child-sized chair, and in a jiffy the offending objects were removed! So for such little accidents, its ok to go KKH [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

woooo bovril!! i got a bottle in my cupboard but dunno if expired haha i shall go buy a new one...oh n did u noe bovril has folic acid..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i dunno abt the children ward but frm all ur nightmare stories i will tink twice..come to tink of it..when my lil sister was a few yrs old..ard the SARS period..she was admitted to KKH..she had to be put on drip or on a jab or something..but she kena traumautised by the nurses or whoever tt when the time came for it..she ran!!!! cried!! n hid herself in the toilet or something! she was screaming..she was really really small then..poor thing..

n KKH also gave me a wrong diagnosis last yr in Jun..i was having irregular periods n was quite worried that eventually when i wanted to conceive i wld haf probs (i had just come off the pills for abt 8 mths) but only had like 3 periods..instead of telling me to wait for my body to regulate...the doc i saw immediately just disgnosed me with PCOS..even though they were no cysts in the scan!!!! i was soo worried..it caused me so much grief!! n becoz i wasnt ready to try then she told me to go back on birth control! n that when im ready we can look at ivf or jabs...

i mean if i had listened to her n not gotten a second opinion i wld still tink i have pcos n i wld have taken birth control again for nothing!!! when i was trying to get my body on track for a child...sigh..it was a tough time..i was sooo depressed then..coz i thought i cld never be a mum..

rin45

Starry is quite detailed on the csec info. It's a matter of diff type of pain. Natural birth is fast or prolong pain depends on indvd and recovery is almost immediate. Csec pain takes abt 6m to be recovered for the internal wounds. Yes painkiller is necessary for the 1st and/2nd day depends on pain threshold. U can walk on the 2nd and 3rd day but prob slower than the natural delivered moms. I remember i walked really slowly. The only discomfort i have is doing big business. It took me abt 2 weeks to be better when moving bowels without exerting force. I suppose confinement time, all moms are supposed to bed rest more than walking. And with all the good or tonic food, it may cause some difficulty in the big biz.

No heavy carrying, exerting strength for 6m? Massage to be done only after 1m compared to the natural delivery moms who can start massage quite early.

Csec is like operation that needs cutting. It is considered major as long as it is abdomen cut according the gynae that is treating my female problem (diff from my delivery gynae). Hence minimal movements. However usually 2 weeks u r fine on the outside but not the inside.

Plenty of rest and proper food is the key to recovery. Hope u r not scared of csec [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sodami

Since u did csec with epid with #2, can u describe how it is to take that? I have phobia seeing myself being saw and the backaches as rumour. Need some sharing from moms who did csec with epid. I did csec with ga and very happy with that as i din have to witness any cutting. Was only feeling light-headed after awake for a few hours but managed to bf dd with the help of nurse.

Am considering epi this time as a change to witness the birth for myself and hb and also for child to be near me compared to the #1. Only concern i have is back pain with epid. Hb and my mom more keen on csec with ga.

leikela

Yes it is always impt to seek 2nd or 3rd opinion to ensure similar diagnosis as our body is in question especially when it comes to impt decision. It is very disturbing to our emotion and state whenever we receive unpleasant or unexpected news. This part of the process is human and one of the most difficult part to manage besides just e science theory.

Now all is fine for u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi simp,

Not sure if i can cope with 3 coz my hb is on 3 rotating shifts but i have learnt to be independent. My eldest gal is 6yo n boy is 28 mths.

Serene

My mom once told me this. Once the kids are out, somehow we will all manage with or without help. Your eldest being 6 will come in handy to bbsit a little. More so she is a girl. I come from a family of 3 as well n being eldest, girls are naturally inclined to be caretakers. I look at my dd who is now going 3, she has already exhibited the natural instinct to care for younger ones. Dun have to teach, it comes naturally. By the time ur #3 is out, ur #2 is also going to be 3. I find that once kids are going to be 3 or after that, it is more manageable.

The age gap is actually good, 3 and 4 yr age. If i can still plan for a 3rd one next year given my ability, i wd go for it and close shop.

Sure i will have less money to spend on enrichment class, luxury or even need to bidget tighter and probably more hot-tempered than ever when kids fight, disagree or get on my nerve. These wd all be temporary. Once they are teenagers, i think we are easier but headache on other issues like bgr, turning wayward etc. By then u wd miss these moments. My mom always says kids grow up way too fast. On and off, i also find that my dd is growing up too fast though i cannt stand her many times. They are angels and demons in 1 ok.

I think u r superb in managing your kids while hb is on shift. All will turn out fine. I do trust that u will do fine even with #3.

The mommies here are very encouraging and we have a bunch of mommies who are 2nd or 3rd time like yourself. This nov 11 bb thread has a great mix of 1st and experienced moms for support, listening ear and stories. Very different from the 1st time i joined as a new moms where 99% of moms are 1st-timer.

U r in the right place and ur child has made the path for u as well. Whenever it is so difficult to see light at the moment, we will break down but we will continue because the kids will give u strength to do it. This love is so powerful than ourselves and at the end of the day, u will be amazed at how u manage. I believe u have that spirit to manage [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks all mommies on the csec advice. Mine 1st 1 was born naturally without epidural. So I really went thru the labour pain, so this time round considering csec. But was concern on the pain afterwards.

im drinking the mamil (vanilla) one..i prefer that taste..not too sweet..u can go to the various websites n request for a sample [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Simp, you're so sweet and very encouraging ;o)

Serene, you can do it! Take one step at a time and your two older kids will get more independent with time.

Babybaby, I drink anmum too, quite like the chocolate flavor. For the plain one, I mix with Milo.

Hello mummies, welcome sodami!

happymum, my DD is in childcare, N2. Cliche as it may sound, time really flies. Still remembered distinctly the wrinkly newborn that was placed in my arms after delivery, now she is almost coming to 4.

serene, agree with the other mummies that daunting as it may seem, things usually have a way of working themselves out. It's also important not to overstress yourself, especially as the pregnancy progresses. Do you have family support, perhaps someone you trust who could relieve you now and then, so that you can take a breather?

Milk - is it really essential to drink those prenatal milk? I hate it during my 1st pregnancy. Was thinking perhaps I'll just drink the Pura fresh milk that my DD takes.

happymum

i feel there are alot of moms who are ready and open to share and I have also benefited much [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Milk

I took anmum chocolate for my #1. Nicez and may be too rich for me as i go hungry easily and snack alot. This time round, hb ask me if i wan to buy anmum, I said no need, m giving it amiss unless gynae wants me to take. However hb bgt fresh milk yesterday instead and i think i will share with dd. I think if there is sufficient calcium intake including calcium supplements/multi-vitamins, maybe can skip?

I am going to be a Nov mummy. This is my 2nd child. I have not gone to the gynae for checks yet so am not sure of the due date yet.

Does anyone knows if WK Tan from TMC is still in practise?

Welcome and congrats, Sodami [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Regarding milk, so far I have only tried similac mum and anmum, I only drank when I feel like drinking, not everyday cos of ms..personally I find similac too sweet for my liking. Still have a few other samples that I have yet to try.

Simp >> Dr Lim has no package at all...his folic acid is at 10 cents each pill.. More ex than my previous gynae..

Ent29 >> I crave for spicy food. Somehow every single meal also need chilli and my threshold for chilli has increased too. I read that chilli is to be avoided for pregnancy.. Any comments? I also need to shower in hotter water..my heater is turned to the max nowadays. Any lesser I feel chilly...

Do we need to start drinking milk powder?? I have always been drinking HL milk before preggie. Can I continue? And also can I continue to add collagen powder??

Happymum - i agreed with what u said. What simp told me make sense.

Simp- so coincidence that my 3 bundles of joy are diff by 3 years. My gal is indeed sensible and has always been a great help to me. In fact i love pregnancy and also newborn. Indeed they grow up very fast n very soon our worries will be over. With 3 kids expenses are higher n cannot afford to attend so many enrichment classes.

Desertmum - i thought that i will have my freedom soon but now with 3rd one coming i got to wait for few more yrs before i can go out with friends again. I don't mind sacrificing my time for my kids.

Simp, Rin,

My csect wound was no longer painful after a week. And I started postnatal massage after 21 days. Actually could have started earlier as I realized not much force is needed massage the abdomen area. Pooping was also not a problem for me, all very loose stools the entire one week. Only headache was the few occasions I coughed. Otherwise I was perfectly fine, bending down, carrying baby, bfing etc. The getting out of bed to walk was indeed challenging the initial few times. But the more you walk, the better it gets so have to move more and stretch the abdominal muscles more.

Fel,

HL milk is recombined milk (made from milk powder. Yikes!!!). It's not fresh milk and the ingredients contain a lot of artificial stuff. That's why it tastes so good and has such good texture. It's 'dead' milk to me and I don't understand why it's sold as healthy fresh milk. Go for Meiji fresh milk instead. 100% real fresh milk. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry, so Meiji fresh milk is better? Why abt those packet non refrigerated ones? I used to drink that but now staying with in laws and they always buy HL.

rin45-you are brave to go thru natural birth without epi..I believe you can really endure the pain.

I didnt drink prenatal milk,i heard it can make you gain alot of weight? I only drink meji fresh milk and Anlene concentrate everyday.Din take other supplements except folic acid.

Hi ladies, gd m! I have light spotting this morning! But it's just a small patch on my panty liner and no more after I've changed a new one. Shld I go see gynae or monitor 1st? My 1st gynae apptm is next week, 1 apr.

Btw I oso doesnt drink prenatal milk cos I have alot of concentrated anlene, will finish the anlene and see how. I will also drink low fat milk. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning Mummies!

Congrats and welcome joybleu!

Regd the milk, I also find anmum will cause fast weight gain. For my #1, I took but stopped for #2. I took again now bcos I have quite a number of free samples from gynae clinic. Will take fresh milk after finishing the samples.