(2011/11) Nov 2011

Rin,

Brave of u to go without epi!!! For me, I was induced, but dilation very slow, from morning 9am until 11pm then finally got 2cm dilation, that was when gynae broke my waterbag, wah that was so darn painful lor!! And then the contractions came fast and furious, I asked for epi which came half hour later, then it took another half hour for epi to take effect, so total I suffered 1hr of labour pain. Which could have been avoided if someone had told me epi is not immediate!!! But of cos epi is god-sent! I did have bad backache during confinement but even if it's caused by the epi, I would still go for epi this time. Only regret is that I asked for epi too late! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/lol.gif]

rin_45, when the doctor was preping me, i was so nervous! he kept asking me don't worry be calm, all the more i panic. had to call a nurse to hold me down so i don't move away from the needle. the needle pain is ok, not as pain as i expected it to be. contractions are much much more painful. so i'll ask for it again this time for #2. and must ask first thing! cause you need to wait for the doc to come, that can take some time, then prep you lah, this that, so ask early.

naturally, yeah, ward already must quickly ask for epi!

I didn't experience any pain with my gynea broke my waterbag. VE also weren't painful.

Administering the epidural also wasn't painful.

I guess it depends on individual's pain threshold?

Been slacking for this period.. Lol.. Having to cope with my studies n health.

Yesterday was a bad day for me. First, i almost fell down despite wearing my ugly hush puppies shoes due to the rain. Then got heavy summons at my car. Worse, My gynae called me yesterday and say i contracted some kind of virus (Seen him earlier as my virginal got really itchy. So he took sample for test). I got really worried as he say it might affect my BB at birth. But console me by saying 90% BB never got it, 10% BB got mild chest infection. Only 1 or 2 out of 100 babies will get serious lung infections. I could not get the name of the virus. But was praying real hard for my BB health now. Anyone heard before this kind of virus?

ssbaby,

sorry to hear about your bad day. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] is it strep B bacteria that you've got? don't know of any other virus..

wah so many post to read till my eye drop [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

simp, at first i tot to take GA too, but last mins the doc adv me take half numb one, he said better than GA, coz he said GA somebody got side effect and need get the tube thru u throat later wake up will feel diggy..so at last i take epi one..but its really fast...awhile my body numb and my gynae very fast take my bb out within one min...i think he only use abt half an hour to do all the things...u cannt see the doc cut you so u dont worry....this time round i oso will choose epi again....coz after tat u will awake and can talk...and u hb can go in witnes ur little one out

ssbaby,

is this infection you're referring to Group B streptococcus (GBS) infection? i thought usually will test later.

ssbaby, today will be a better day [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ur gynae will be giving you medicine to clear up the virus? Then shld be no problem, dun worry too much.

I just saw Dr Ang. Clinic really small and crowded. He told me that only thing he can confirmed now is that I am preggie but cannot see if bb is healthy or not; have to wait till 2 weeks if can hear hb. He said spotting no issue as long as not continuous. So keep my finger crossed and pray for the best for my bb. He also told me no use drinking milk or eating more now cos the nutrients wont go to the bb yet. Nonetheless, he gave me "An Tai" medicine. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry & Redgin, thanks for ur concern.. i not very sure. But i guess will ask my gynae to check if i still got the virus at the later stage. Coz now not itchy liao. Only very bad smell which no need bend down, u also can smell type.

Felixp, Thanks! Dr Ang say wun be giving me any medicine till my 3 trimester - Antibotics. But I hate western medicine. So see how loh. Hope virus can disappear. As for ur bb, how many weeks are u now? If less than 6 weeks, then cant hear hb so fast one. I believe u will be well with ur baby. Dr Ang never give me medicine until i go find him for my brown discharge which is a false alarm. Yet, i naughty, havnt start eating it. lol

Maybe i will consider epi this time round, hopefully the needle pain is not too much.. does it feels like ant bite?

Ssbaby, sorry to hear about your case. Hope it'l clear up soon. I took antibiotics with my #2 pregnancy at 3rd trimester bcos of bacteria infection, detected thro swap test during later stage. Maybe u can ask your gynae how long the virus usually takes to clear up during next visit. Think positive okie, everything'l be fine since your gynae also assured u.

rin, my auntie advice me to take a jab at our thights area. Stomach still feel the pain but not below onwards. Somemore the jab is free from my doc. May consider that if cant tahan..

Tummy will show so fast??!! I will try to locate my uterus tonight as suggested..I tot I am just getting fat and getting flabby coz of my food intake..

earlier on I just felt hungry everytime so ate a lot...nowadays see feel no appetite but I can still stomach them now.

I feel as though I have having car sick the whole day nowadays...is that supposed to be MS?

hi all, this thread is moving v fast! din have time to come in here to chat. i'm now 'eat snake'

c-section:

i had c-section for my #1. had epi fr 9am to 9pm till i dun feel anything. i wanted natural birth but due to my bb's cord too short ended up w c-section which only last for 2 mins! if i dun remember wrongly the bill size was abt $7k. I hardly remembered whether was it painful after the c-section. i only remembered i had post-natal depression for a while.

ssbaby, don't worry, if it is that infection, i remember dr telling me that can administer antiobiotics jab in the 3rd tri and bb sld be fine.

rin, i think the epi jab more pain than ant bite.

frenlop, it's normal to have post-natal depression after giving birth. i remembered i cried and cried at the pd clinic when my bb had to be re-admitted for jaundice. and i cried and cried when i got back home, somemore i had problems latching on my girl, so i remember i cry a whole lot after giving birth. :p

Rin: Hehe, i also duno. Lets just tink its a ant bite loh. Then we wun be scared if we going to take it.

happymum: I looking at the +ve side. Not thinking of it anymore. I have to trust my gynae. So i leaving it to him. :p

redgin, ha, u also had it. i guess urs was a mild one just like me... cried for nothing, shouted my hb for nothing, kept saying i dun know how and dun know wat to do... hahaha.. now think of it really funny.

felixp, i had some brown discharge yday. after seeing your reply, i feel better now at least i dun have to 'chiong' to see my gynae. i went to GP to have some folic acid to be taken daily. my 1st appt w my gynae will be next Mon. as for 'Ai Tai' medicine, i had it very often for my #1 as i had several miscarriages before my DD so my gynae was very 'geng chiong' even small matter.

I want to ask advice from you all. I am moving house this weekend. Is there anything i must do or i must avoid during the move?? I am quite pantang but i can't ask anyone cos no one knows i preg except hb.

Frenlop, my new flat in mist of renovation. I was told not to go near to renovation or help out in shifting. Mostly importantly is, i cant shift my bed where i "an" during my customary. I staying with my in-laws now. So when i shift in may, i leave my bed there for my bro-in law to sleep first. While i will move my single deck to my common room, hubby will sleep on floor - poor thing but too bad. Master bedroom will leave empty till i deliver and move my old bed from my in-laws place. U might want ask some feng shui shi about the bed shifting. Coz i was told very much that cannot touch or move a little of my bed. its a strict NONO..

frenlop >> My mom said preggie woman cannot be present during the moving event. cannot participate in the event at all...scientifically is due to the due and paint smell etc but old wives' myth is to avoid any movement...

Fellcy

Oh no package from dr a l lim. Maybe only the delivery fees package? Last time i was given foc folic acid. This time now it wd cost to buy. I already have sufficient folic acid to last for 1st trimester but cannt remember if we still need to take from 2nd trimester. I know multi-vitamins and calcium? Is the crowd manageable? how long do u have to wait.

Serene

Very happy for you. Like what the rest said, having #3 wd be the best decision u have made [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] If u need to go out, go out with mommies friends like us since age group of kids abt the same easier.

Milk

Hmm seems like drinking fresh milk wd be a better choice for moms and bb. I wd drink fresh milk as an excuse to take cold drinks.

Pedicure/ facial/makeup

I totally stop any form of pedi, facial, makeup, perfume when i had my #1. Din know that opi nail polish is safe for preggymoms. Hmm this is getting me excited. Alot of my gf still makeup, facial, pedi when pregnant. They say must be pretty during preggy days as well. Think i very plain during pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rin

the birth story really not easy. I think all moms who can delivery naturally are very brave [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I can imagine only [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Ur current bb u will opt for epi? I just learnt from my gf that she delivered naturally a 3.9kg baby. That's quite a birth i must say :p Amazingly super. Not sure if she did take any epi for the birth.

Epi natural and Csec

Hearing the assurance from otw, redgin, jmi, sodami has given encouragement to prob go for epi later on. Cross my fingers that i will choose csec with epi instead of ga [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ssbaby

Hope everything will be ok. What is gynae going to do abt it ?Keep us posted

correction: Touch ok. but cant shift bed. Change mattress cover also done by hubby or any others except me. Other pantang stuff is no cutting allow on bed.

Simp, yup.. i am hoping things go well.. Looking on the sunny side. Gynae say wait till 3rd trimester eat anti botics. But i will try not to la.. See if virus can go away before delivery.

My hubby say i getting uglier each day. But more ugly he more happy, coz high chance its a boy. =_=" I only hope for a healthy baby. Boy gal, nvm la...

Moving house

Im moving back to sg in june including moving my bed to sg. Going to do window grills in my flats and maybe more things. Maybe preggy moms shd not be ard when there is any reno, hacking etc as the pure noise and vibration are not good to begin with so i dun think it is nice for bb. Where i am staying overseas, the apt is old so there is always constant renov around during preggy and non-preggy days. Just need to stay indoors and not go near the reno area. The noise is simply irritating.

Old wives' tales for a peace of mind is to use a broom to sweep wherever work is to be done before any work is carried out. Prob dun need to worry too much. Just let the contractors and hb handle and we just convey our wished how those shd be done?

ssbaby

is it more ugly means boy? haha, your hb so cute.

Simp

nowadays, i can't be bothered to dress up. am just so tired and feeling nauseaus in the morning. so been wearing the same old thing every week to work, no makeup, never blow hair etc... maybe after we get past 1st tri, we'll feel better and got energy to dress up!

yup.. i agree with Simp. I can now be queen and let my hubby do all the work. Else, i be the one doing it all the time. Hahaha... So i be calling, "dear, i want water..." and there water delivered in front of u.. wahahaha...

redgin: ya loh.. he always say big brother will take care sister in future. I was like, i dun think u do loh.. (HB got a younger sister. lol)Anyway its all myth la.. My mum fren also do calculation base on my age n the month i have conceive. Also boy.. so see how la.. Boy gal also can la..

ssbaby

yours is first bb, so either or should be fine. i have a girl for my #1, my mum was really hoping for a girl when i was preggie with #1 as she says girl can take care of younger sibling later. so diff people have diff opinions. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] now, my hb is hoping for a boy too, but i told him still 50-50 don't get your hopes up too high. we mummies just want a healthy bb.

re: Reno, i'm not pantang or anything, but for safety reason, best is to stay clear of reno or moving. cause of the dust, the loud noise, and all the sand everywhere and sharp stuffs laying around. better be safe.

redgin, i agree with ur mum coz i am #1 in the family. Will really take care of siblings one loh... hahaha.. But anyway, just healthy will do. I ok with boy or gal..

Hi mummies, I had a rather bad fall just now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Was at a new foodcourt, and was walking around, checking out the food stalls. Didn't see the step down cos I was looking up, and guess I was not expecting the foodcourt to be "split-level". Next thing I know, it was like sailing through air and I fell like a ton of bricks. Landed hard on my hands and knees, but I think my belly should be ok. My colleague helped me up. It was right infront of a ban mian stall, so luckily I didn't go flying into the path of someone with a hot bowl of soup.

I think I am ok....maybe a little crampy, but then I think maybe pyschological too...hope so...

ssbaby,

yes don't worry, I'm sure your gynae will know how to best treat it.

rin_45,

Strangely, I didn't even feel the epi jab, perhaps because I was on laughing gas then, and that helped. But according to my hb who was observing, it was kinda bloody.

desertmoon

oh no, are you ok? good thing you landed on your hands and knees. sld be ok, but must be careful, esp when the floors are wet. your hb can observe your epi administration? mine, they ask my hb to leave the room. didn't know it was bloody.

desertmoon,

oh no! i hope you got over the shock already! good thing nv hit tummy. i'm sure your baby is fine.

i had a bad fall and sprained my ankle when pregnant with my girl too. also blacked out at 9 weeks and fell over someone's chair during church service. thankfully baby and i were okay.

Oh dear... Be careful my mum.. My goosebump rose when i was reading ur message. Can feel the pain the u had. Most importanly, the worry for the bb in ur belly.. Hope u are fine. If need to, go n check up at ur gynae to ensure both of u are fine..

hi all, i am currently 6 weeks pregnant [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] have been following the thread since I discovered my pregnancy two weeks ago... but everything feels so surreal and unreal... and so afraid that things can go wrong (my hubby says I am a worry-wart) only now is the reality kicking in... we had been ttc for close to 3 years and this pregnancy was totally unexpected as we had stopped trying for sometime. My hubby and I say that this baby is God's gift to us...

he he this is my first pregnancy

my details:

nick: aabunny

edd: mid Nov

gynea: Dr Tracey Lim

hospital: ?

next appointment date: 5 April

baby #1

aabunny,

congrats! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and welcome to this thread. children are indeed god's gift to us. i'm thankful to have my little girl every single day!

aabunny, congrats and welcome! i know how you feel, i ttc for more than 2 yrs for my #1. so treasure this! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

dessertmoon, take care...

Simp, all medication are chargeable by AL Lim. I called the clinic and the nurse couldn't tell me how long the wait will be. She just told me to call for a queue number at 10+..when I asked what is the closing time she said depends...sometimes 1 sometimes 2...faint..

My gf told me preggy can go facial but cannot use machine during facial...

I heard uglier means girl coz the baby "suck" away the mummy's beauty...hmmm

fel,

think not true that uglier means girl. my ex colleague was very pretty and radiant having a boy, and i was having all the pregnancy glow with my girl too so a lot of ppl thought i was carrying boy.

thanks all for sharing the house moving pantang rules.... i will avoid the moving process and only appear when all is done. poor hb and maid!

Re to use broom, now i remember someone told me last time to use broom to sweep in the air and at the same time say sth like 'bai wu jin ji'. true?

simp, moving back to sg? where is ur present location?

desertmoon, be extra careful! hope everything ok.

aabunny, congrats! i can understand your feelings. relax and dun tik too much.

i went facial during preg but never used machine, just do normal facial. i also went for foot reflex after 1st trimester but must tell them we r preg then they know wat to do. I went for mani/pedi but never put on nail polish.

actually, i am thinking of going for hair perm. do u think i can do now?

when i preg for my daughter, i was super super ugly. my siblings said i v ugly. quite true, my girl 'sucked away' my beauty. hahaha.. 'bu yao lian'

re: perm/straightening hair

a few days before i found out i was preggy with my #1, i did rebonding. no prob. but safer to avoid in 1st tri, and if want to do, got some of my preggie friends will tell the hair stylist u pregnant and not to put chemicals at the root touching the scalp. they will understand.

Congrats and welcome, aabunny [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

desertmoon, hope everything is all right. Lucky didn't hit tummy. Do take care and be careful wor.

Been thinking of going for hair cut and treatment cos will be on leave next few days, duno whether is it advisable?

thanks ladies for the welcome. Congrats to you as well! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I went for my eyebrow ressurection with Browhaus just after CNY. I still need to go back for one session of touchup which expire mid of April... which is within the first trimester... not sure whether I should go do the touchup...

I remember when i was preg with my girl, my skin was super dry and peeling. End up i need to use those super rich moisturizer.

This time maybe still early stage and all the hormones changing inside, i am having outbreaks.. sighz..

Dessertmoon take good care..

may i noe any mummy here got sent ur dd to child care, coz i think to send my #01 end of this year by the time she 2.5 yrs, but my mil worry she cannt get use of it and cannt take care of herself,am oso worry, may i noe mummy here how old ur child sent in to child care? will they cry whole day?