(2011/10) Oct 2011

hi creamdonut, my MS was better after 16 weeks but suddenly came back again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Regarding breast pumps, i unfortunately is one of those who doesn't respond to pumps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] No let-down when I use pumps so in the end, I had to latch on exclusively. But eventually i realised that it was easier for me to hand-express! Imagine that! Luckily my breasts are quite small so it was quite easy to manage. Felt totally like milking a cow though hahaa... But the convenient part is that i don't have to lug around equipment [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] And don't have to find power plug haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

minidiary,

i bought from this forum, just happened to see someone posting saying that she has extra pcs for sale, brought in from France so PM-ed her to get it. $28 including postage i think. pretty worth it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leeoh,

wow, hand express very tiring le. i tried a few times and hands went numb from all the pressing and squeezing. but hand expression is really better than pump, empties the breasts more completely. i often pumped till the end a few drops come out then used hands to express, still can get let down and like 10-15ml per side.

I tried hand express before but nothing come out! hahaha.. Maybe too little milk liao..

My MS is gone but occassionally will feel pukey in the car, maybe car sick or what...

winter_bluey: same here; have you bought yours? firstfewyears is now having a promotion .. $500+ compared to $800+ retail price ..

came out shopping w/ baby .. my legs are going to give way!!

Afternoon mommies~~

back from detail scan..everything normal [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

now feeling so sleepy after having lunch. I think seeing my bed is not helping :/

Since first appt, I put on 4.5kg now 20weeks liao.. I'm gg to be such a fat mama [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Minidiary: Wow you put in a lot of effort to update for all!! Thanks for your effort!!! Just found out that the screening I'm going for this thurs is the detailed scan you are talking about. Managed to find out from my gynae's receptionist that this test is necessary in the 5th mth, although OSCAR was optional. Thanks for the bras and panties recommendation too.

It's always a mix-feeling every time I visit the gynae. Excited to see the baby's progress but I dread the waiting time. Sigh... I guess I have been feeling paranoid after hearing a few cases of miscarriage and still-born among friends. Everyone says I should be able to feel baby's movement since I'm in 21st week, but I dun seem to feel anything leh...also I feel that my stomach skin is so much thicker than before, does tat explains y I can't feel yet? Felt heartbeat but my hubby says it's my own heartbeat. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Do you gals have problem with the choice of baby names? People around me doesn't seem to like the Engish and Chinese names tat i have shortlisted so far...Sigh~~~ Naming your own baby is definitely not a easy process..Really hope to be find the right name soon cos calling the little one inside me "baby" all the time is so weird - no personal attachment

Rabbit_bb: I also have been putting on about 1kg every month. I also thot that I'm fat but my gynae ensured me that it's ok. Is this your 1st baby? My gynae said that for 1st time mummy, it's about 500gm gain every week = 2kg gain every month. 2nd/3rd time mums will have leser weight gain

karen.. i have not start to tink of names yet but i like to call my bb xiao bao bao or bao bao leh.. hehe.. maybe tink of some nickname for bb first? then when bb is out can also continue call that name ah...

rabbit_bb.. im fatter.. i put on almost 8kg liaoz !!!!!! now is only 20wks.. i cant imagine when im at full term... OMG !! have to cut down liaoz..

yea, thanks minidiary for the updates [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Karen> I also didn't feel anything till last few days, I guess we start to feel its later, some mommies already feeling it at week 18. I also have not really go and consider other options for name. Currently only one choice Lucas but that is same name as my bff nephew and also my frd say this name so common..haha. But I feel ultimately as parents if we like that name is most important, others can give their two cents worth but decision is still up to us. We call our bb Baby thio now :p

HS: I'm not skinny to begin with and after my wedding and before I got preg I put back the weight I lost for my wedding... :x then now preg plus the water retention and enlarged boobs feeling so frumpy...haiiii..but i see other preg lady still look so good.

I gained 5kg, gynae didnt say anything bout my weight when is gaining... Only there was one time, I lost some weight and he questioned..that was 10wks preggie. need to watch diet and exercise more after preggie liao...

my thigh is getting bigger... my bye bye arms and my butt also. All the fats seem like storing there.

starry: Guess I have to try the measurement first before deciding to buy the hard breastshield..

minidiary: Yup, believe bbPotato has another spree going on as my fren's intending to buy her breast shield in the next spree.. here's the link..

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/5213838.html?1305704825

You can ask her to PM you..

Karen: Welcome & Congrats! Im almost in my 19th week and cant really feel my girl too.. Hubby says he can only hear some funny sound when he listens to my tummy..

Hazel: Welcome & Congrats too!! One of my fren is attending at Como Shambhala at the Forum Mall & she finds it not bad.. I didn't join as I need to refrain from exercise for now..

http://www.singapore.comoshambhala.bz/

scrapbook: Im trying to do up something for my girl to remember too! Got materials from Spotlight and am using the Japanese photo album (where u can tear the plastic sheet and deco the page)..

i also gain 5 kg liao.

And gynae still want me to eat more.

I told him i already gain 2-3 kg in a month liao and he still say that is normal lah.

Hi mummies, everyone feeling good after lunch?

MS: some of my older colleagues were sharing that baby will have a lot of hair if mummies have MS during pregnancy. wonder how true is that? i think im one of the lucky ones without MS so far.

weight: i've put on 6kg since pregnancy.. maintained my pre-pregnancy weight during first tri.. after that, bomb. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] not only butt, thighs also bigger.. arms fatter.. face chubbier. omg. i put on 3kgs between apr to may. i've since stopped snacking on chocolates and cut down on biscuits. brought fruits to work everyday.. hope to keep a healthier diet.

baby name: hb and i decided on baby's name soon after we found out the gender. i agree that the decision is up to us, as parents. but i am bothered by some 'helpful' remarks about the possible nicknames my baby's friends might give him when he grows older. anyway i think we'll most likely stick to this name la. chinese name, we'll leave it to my fil.

My Gynae told me max 2 kg a month. At 20 wks gained 4kg. Now in 22 wks. Scared next checkup weigh in.

Seems tummy now more comfortable except for walking n sleeping. Cannot hv nice sleep! Angry! When walking feel all the "hold bladder" muscles activated to uphold bb.

Hi! Mummies, did your gynae arrange a appt. for you to go for a Growth Scan at abt 32 weeks? I never did it for my #1 last time (was with a different gynae), but this time don’t knw why this gynae has refer me to do a growth scan in Aug (32 weeks)? Is it normal?

Infant care:

I had emailed babybonus to ask about using CDA funds to pay for the IFC fees.

here's their reply.

Dear XXXX,

We refer to your e-mail dated 26 May 2011.

2 The CDA can be used by your child and his/her siblings to pay for infant care programmes at our Baby Bonus Approved Institutions. Currently, all PCF Sparkletots & My First Skool childcare centres are Baby Bonus Approved Institutions.

3 More details on the Baby Bonus Scheme can be found on our website at http://www.babybonus.gov.sg or by calling the Baby Bonus hotline at 1800 253 7707.

to check the institution :

click here http://www.babybonus.gov.sg/bbss/jsp/inst/InstInternetMaint.jsp

select childcare

and type in the name of the centre

secondly subsidy for mother, can refer to the below link

http://app.customerfeedback.mcys.gov.sg/mcys_faqmain.asp?strItemChoice=2004104123149&strSubItemChoice=2005214212431&action=SHOWTOPICS&m_strTopicSysID=20041127134116

hope this helps..

minidiary - update mine boy. :D thanks.

creamdonut - do take care ya.

my sister told me if first trim got MS then most probably will get it during 6th month too slowly get worst till delivery period.

pray pray that it dun come back... it terrible.

Hi Karen, me and hubby come up with a few chinese name for our baby boy but also not sure can use ma as need to be calculate by the geomancer. But we already start call him the name. :D

English name we have a hard time thinking as previously we shortlisted name are use by either his cousin or my cousin newborn already.

Thanks for all the infos!! Didn't know you guys are so happening in the forum, trying to find my previous post then realised it was archive so fast. haha...

I have sortlisted 2 places for the prenatal yoga

1. mother and child

2. Inspire mum & Baby

Wonder which one to go... but i think biggest problem is i'm so lazy to go alone.. haa...

bighungrybear: thanks for sharing the information =D one of the infant care programmes that I was previously interested is under the baby bonus scheme .. just called up the principal; will be going down to tour the school and register my baby for it .. hw was your HLE?

for experienced mummies, which brand of baby laundry detergent and baby accessories/fruit/vegetables liquid cleanser will you recommend? me shortlisted komodo and tollyjoy ..

rabbit_bb:

I also don’t know what is Growth Scan. My gynae did’t mentioned this to me before and I only noticed that I have this appt. when I look at my appt. book after my gynae checkup last week. I’ll ask her on the next visit on 20 June then. I google it just now and here is some of the result : Growth scan This scan monitors the baby’s growth, as well as, detects any abnormalities that may not have been seen earlier.

hello mummies, have a good evening ahead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emilybaby, growth scan at 32 weeks... i thought it's way too early. that would most likely be our 3rd trimester detailed scanning. Gynae hasn't mentioned anything about it but hb and i would go.

fantastar, hb and i used tollyjoy for both the detergent and baby accessories for our #1 but later realized that the detergent doesn't clean v well for newborn clothes. we went back to dynamo liquid and it worked just as well.

re: weight gain i put on 3kg from pre-pregnancy. i hope i don't put on a total of 8kg in 6 months so i can stay away from GD [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emilybaby: my gynae is the same as yours: SL Goh, so i also got a growth scan appointment at 32 weeks. hey, my next appt is also on 20th June! the day i'm back from babymoon haha.

mothercare having 20% off for 3 items and above. i went to buy some baby suits, mittens and socks for my girl haha. but i'm trying not to buy too much cos i think frenz will give for my baby shower [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but they looked too cute. haha.

my little one is quite active, will kick me quite hard from time to time and she seems to be more active when i eat sweet things. haha.

Wow alot of BB Boy. :D

Starry: I just visited Dr John Yam and he cant see any "birdie" so I could be having a bb Girl. :D

But I'll wait till the detailed scan to confirm again.

But the sad news is I have beta thalassemia so am waiting for hubby's blood test results. Hopefully everything would be fine.

Fantastar,

I'm using the Cosway baby detergent. It's cheap if buy from M'sia. Supposed to be gentler compared to other brands but I dunno how true. So far her clothes smell fresh and clean. My mom uses the ABC washing powder for her cloth diapers. Very effective for removal of urine and poo stains! But I don't like the smell. For bottle detergent, the only one I don't like using is the Pigeon one. Find it too 'diluted' and difficult to use.

winny,

You saw Dr Yam at the boon lay clinic? Likely a girl if can't see birdie at this stage. Congrats yah? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Wait for detailed scan to confirm then can start the shopping!

starrymommy: thanks for sharing .. now shortlisting the list of baby stuffs to get, as planning to go and chiong the motherhood fair with hubby this fri after the detailed scan and gynae appointment - easier with a 'helper & chaffeur' and knowing the gender .. got pass-down baby clothings so thought of washing them in the near future .. not planning to get pigeon as I do not want to use the same brand as SIL in case she thinks that I copy-cat and plus I do not want a mixed-up ..

went window shopping in the afternoon and with hubby in the evening .. is either the baby or my big & fat tummy or aging, my legs are aching!! Anyway, kiddy palace is now having 15% storewide for non-members and 20% for members ..

mummycoccyx, lucky i hav someone is same as me :) may i knw which gynae you will go to when Dr Goh is on Maternity leave? my appt. on 20/06 is at night time, how abt u?

Luv, i also not sure whether it's too early to do it at 32 weeks? anyway, will chk with my gynae again on next visit.

Talking about wt gain.. i have gained about 2kg so far.. but tt was based on my previous visit to the gynea.. tmr will go seeing gynea and doing the detail scan.. hopefully the wt gain is still acceptable cos my appetite seem to be better le.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

chk with u all.. are u all more moody nowsday? i like get pek chek easily and cry.. not like tis before pregnancy de..

Rina

Ytd hubby was controlling my love for spicy food n commenting tat im selfish thinking abt my cravings n not my bb.. i was so upset tat i kinda feel my eyes getting watery (in office) but i fought my tears back.. i dun think i'll be like this b4 pregnancy too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

gilera,

try chinatown, the old block just opp OG with the hawker centre downstairs. there are plenty of shops at levels 2 and 3 selling cheap 2-pc button PJ sets at like $8-$10 per set. can 'shun bian' buy baby hankies and towels there. cheaper than departmental stores.

rina,

must be the hormones bah. i get pek chek very easily too. lately also very short-fused. hard to control emotions.

rina,

i also the same. Yesterday suddenly feel so emo and wanted to cry. Hub keep asking me what happen but i also duno why.

U mean the blk next to OG, Not across the road right. Think I know where u ref to.

If CK dept store that circular blk of stores above wet market dun have?

Anything from Pureen that's needed to buy? My mum is coming from KL... so thinking the price might be cheaper there. maybe like cloth diapers, nappy liner, detergent, nany wipes? and etc...