(2011/10) Oct 2011

Bubblygeekypig, low risk doesn't mean no risk. That's why I chose not to do the Oscar cos it's not 100% accurate also.

It's stated clearly in the detailed scan report that heart and organ problems are not easily detected during the scans unless it is an obvious & serious malformation.

There were also cases of false negatives (scans shows that bb has heart defect & may need surgery when born, but when bb was born, totally fine, no problems).

It's really up to you & hubby. If you are keeping this child no matter what, then just ignore & no need to do the amnio. If you are not ready to welcome a child with special needs at all, then best to go for further checks.

bubbly, ya.. even when we go for detailed scan and it shows that all the organs are in place, we will not know whether these organs are functioning okie or not... cos everything is just based on the physical appearance.. need to wait until the baby is out then will know...

meanwhile, dont worried so much.. u should be going for the detailed scan soon right?

1d1r, u were mentioning the detailed scan able to show whether bb got down syndrome too right? Based on the nasal bone and what else? Paiseh, i cant remember whether i remember correctly.. hehe

Re Stretchmarks:

I read up some websites, it say that almond oil is very good for repairing and preventing stretchmarks... Anyone know where to get almond oil?

Hello mummies.

May I know if there is insurance coverage for baby once they are born?

My office someone told me now the Government will cover for the first 3 months. Is it true?

I surf website also don't see any.

Should we buy one just in case...

Can share some information?

luv : I think tough for me. No way i can express milk in the office. Sigh. Toilet not clean so not advisable.

fantastar : thanks. trying to cut cost. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

plus you are right. toilet super dirty. always wet. even now i try not to go toilet because very slippery and smelly. i worry milk contaminated!

Bubblygeekypig, ya totally agree with 1d1r....

Infant care, I've put my #1 in IFC after I went back to work after ML. In July he will b going over to childcare liao ....I also have limited support so no choice put my boy in IFC. Also dun want a maid coz want privacy @ my own home n dun feel safe my boy alone with the maid

Roxanne : I read stretchmarks are genetic. If our mother has we will have too. The creams etc just to mosturise and so we are more comfortable and less dry and uncomfortable. Not sure true or not tough. Almond oil those stores that sell massage oil or even aromatherapy will have? just thinking.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Poly, think the only policy tat covers Preggy mummies n newborn is only prufirstgift. Juz bought from my fren Tat's an agent n he discount 10% off the first year premium for me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1d 1r & Roxanne

Yes i understand low risk doesnt mean no risk, n specialist say all scans r not accurate but thick neck doesnt mean anything-my gynae say e same thing as well. Then why did in e 1st place ask me to go for detailed scan by specialist when im prepared to do amnio .. It's done by specialist at wk 18 much more ex.. I'm pretty fed up by the whole incident tat i cant help wondering did they earn thru all those referrals! My gynae in a way told me tat specialist will chk/scan more throughly tat's y can scan earlier at wk 18 so take a step at a time 1st. tat's y decide to c this specialist for detailed scan.

Actually to be frank, im not ready to have a child wif special needs but on e other hand i feel tat in a post, this lady went thru detailed n amnio test n still didnt managed to detect anything at e pt of time so it kind of puts me off to go thru other test agn wondering its accuracy! After going thru this OSCAR i alr feel worrying enough becos of its thick neck but since detailed scan cant find any abnormalities n specilist comment tat bb looks ok to him except thick neck then probably I wouldnt do amnio.

pofy, my mother and 2nd sis dont have stretched marks leh... my mother got 6 kids and her tummy is very very smooth n nice... i think i go try online, i need repair! haha...

bublygeekypig, i think they dont earn referral fees but then it will be more of like a goodwill kind of thing cos they surely must have known each other one... cos he introduce him customers mah, next time this doc will also introduce him patients in return...

Maybe u wait till ur gynae is back next week then see what he/she says... dont worry so much first, guess u must be tired over everything... have a chill out date with hubby bah... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Roxanne: Nasal bone measurement & the position of the ears in relation to the eyes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pofy: No such thing as insurance coverage from Govt for first 3 mths. If have, all the insurance company can close shop already.

The one that covers newborn now is Prudential. The others all start from 1mth after baby is born.

Roxanne, hers is neighbourhood area too. maybe different places charge differently? I went to look at the MCYS website.. most of them near me, is app. $1200 per mth before subsidy.

since confirm getting helper first liao i think i will suggest put camera. True about the housework part. hope the helper is on the ball kind, so i wont feel so heart pain about the $$.

Detail Scan:

I just went for mine this Monday, and was told although everything looks normal, but based on this scan, its only 70% accurate. but why OSCAR was so much more exp than this detail scan? #2, u mean we can skip OSCAR one ah? whatever my gynae ask me to do, i go do.. we even did the extra blood test on my hubby cause in the first tri, i was told that my red blood count was v low.

Pofy, if u sign up for the First Born incentive from FBI, then they will give u free personal accident insurance coverage from AXA for first 6 mths.. Govt nvr provide anything de..

Ya, prufirst by prudential covers mummy and child from 18 weeks till birth from any congenital conditions etc.. But then u mentioned u got some medical conditions right? So, they will need to review and maybe got exclusions for certain cases bah.. u need to ask the insurance agent for more details liao...

the most essential insurance to buy for baby is the hosp & surgical insurance which covers the baby from 1 month after the baby is born.. best is to get the H&S policy with a rider.. Our babies are quite fragile in their first year and their hospital fees can be very costly... I got my h&s insurance for my gal from prudential, the rider cost 200plus per year.. I think other insurance companies got different prices for rider..

jgladys, when I choose maid, I am very fussy. If the maid is not good, I won't hesitate to change the maid immediately. Doesn't matter if I have to pay extra for the insurance or what. Money is secondary. I need a good reliable helper, not a troublemaker.

We changed quite a few maids before we found my current one. She's fantastic! But too bad she gotta go home soon. Hopefully our next one is good. Else I hv no qualms abt sending her straight back to her country.

Oscar is OPTIONAL. It's more exp cos of the blood test.

Roxanne, the free one from AXA is nonsense. I listen already I regret giving them my info. Keep calling & hard selling. Very irritating.

My boy's rider from AIA is ard 200+ per yr too :D I think 204.xx or something like that. Less than 210. :D

Roxanne

Ya i shall wait till my gynae is back then c how it goes from there.. cos my gynae told me previously she n e specialist suspect tat bb could have heart prob so refer me to do detail scan but aft checking specialist mention heart has 4 valves n it seems to be functionally ok thou he did mention tat some down's heart also functioning ok... then specialist went on to say my bb's fingers look ok as down's normally wont 'open' up their fingers... n my bb is overall quite active.. touching head, eyes n turning back at a pt during e scan so specialist say so far so gd cant find anything jus neck slightly thicker but my bb's neck alr thick to begin wif.. probably jus in case he still suggest me to go for amnio.. but if i were to do amnio previously then i wont wanna c him alr.

Sorry for e lengthly post, really upset abt e whole thing..

btw im looking thru this Prufirst insurance too.. but im confused.. there's Prulink n Prumum2be do i have to sign up both or choose either 1. Does anyone noe how it works?

PruMum2Be is the one that covers complications & upon delivery, covers any defects in baby.

PruLink is ILP. Covers baby upon birth.

Best to talk to agent to get details :D

infant care

I call up (NTUC) my first skool: working mama after sub is $671.16 (the one i went ytd environment superb)

PCF (PAP) sparkletots :after subsidy is $577.00 (next tuesday i will visit, there's one located opp, alamak now then i realised)

hehehe

so long we working full time, can eligible for the subsidy

i saw (googled) those very exp infant care located at raffles place.. ya after sub still need to pay ard $800.

1d1r / Roxanne : i am so dumb. Sigh. I thought there will be coverage. Sorry but then that means to have coverage for 1st month, I must buy from Prudential.

Yes, I have medical issues. I never cleared my own policy too! My own policy is full of exclusions. But now what i want to buy is for baby from the moment he is born. That means only Prudential is it? Yes, i want H&S coverage for baby from birth. Prulink?

I will go and read up. Another cost to factor in. I totally forgot about this as I thought got free coverage. Stupid me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Hey pofy, u can go to all the insurance companies.. AIA, Prudential, Great Eastern also have.. 1 of the mummy is part time insurance agent leh, later I ask her pm u.. I think she carries AiA de...

I sms my agent, I think I cant be covered until prufirst.. so bobian, wait until my kid is out then i go buy the H&S...

I have the following items for sale, do PM or SMS me if you're interested [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Brand New Pigeon Silent Electric Breast Pump

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5510022.html?1306315685

Brand New Safety 1st Deluxe Bath Cradle

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5510041.html?1306316030

Used Medela PISA Faceplate

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5510060.html?1306316273

Brand New Nissen and Baby Carter Rompers

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5510073.html?1306316739

Roxanne,

I just called agent!

I cannot be covered under prufirst.

Same as you, I have to wait and for Prulink, it is only effective after baby is one month.

That means we have an exposure of 1 month after baby is born.

Even for Prufirst, she said that its not hospital coverage, not a H&S policy.

Its actually life and major illnesses.

gosh. now i am super worried.

1 month without coverage. How come such a gap and nobody want to cover, sigh.

Pofy, cos first month of life is most fragile & when most of the major problems will surface. Plus if you buy for newborn, only pay 1 premium then *TOUCHWOOD* need to claim, then insurance company go bankrupt already. They weigh the 'risks' before offering policies one...

idir : smart. never cross my simple mind. i just think what i want only. sigh.

if only all babies are born healthy and happy. i think that is all what parents want. no need to be smart etc etc.

i have a friend who lost her baby. it was devastating. after 3 months in nicu, then baby pass away. I cried badly too when i heard the news cos no amount of what others say or do can take away her pain. life can be so cruel at times.

Hi winnie, i think my colleague sent hers to NTUC one.

snuppy, $577 after subsidy, still can use CDA acct to top up right? Then it will be v affordable.

1d1r, my MIL will pick the helper.. cause i've nv had a helper in my family before, and hubby dont know how to interview the helper. so since MIL has experience, so we leave it to her lo.. since she's also paying. bet she also wants a good one to take care of her grandchild. what worries me is how the helper takes care of baby.. or if she will go bonkers (like some true stories seen in news).

Prudential:

bubblygeekpig, based on the chart i saw from my agent. it covers u and baby now, till u poop like what 1d1r said. though the insurance will be transferred to baby after birth, you will still be covered till baby is 2 or 3 yo.. im waiting for mine to be approved. agent submitted it last week so i think it should be approved by end of this week.

RE: CDA Account

Eh, there's a top up limit, so basically it's only 'free 6k'. Plus if you use it for doctor's visits, vaccinations, etc, the 6k will probably last less than 1-2yr.

I calculated, based on the preschool I want, the CDA will be just nice.

Water retention

Gynae said I hv after I noticed feet looks fleshy

these few days toes n fingers also seem to be numbish n like got needles n pins.

Mosquito bites from 2 wks before, ard ankle area still ithcy!!!

1d1r

Thanks. So better I go to one of their office ?

They r reliable should maid be not compatible?

How much must fork out for first time employer?

Gilera, how much to fork out depends on which nationality you choose.

If you are staying near HG, I recommend you go Hougang Green & look for Edlyn [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So far they hv been good & reliable. Paperwork they settle properly for me & keep me updated via email on the submission & approval statuses.

This time I chose Filipino, agent fee + medical + exam fee + insurance + runaway bond insurance = $1.1k.

Then the loan amt to pay upfront varies from maid to maid. Mine is estimated to be ard 3++k. This will be deducted back from the salary. So for next 7mths or so, their salary only got $10 allowance.

We've had both Indon & Filipino before.

Honestly, I prefer Indon. But this round, we are choosing Filipino cos of language barrier. My boy can only speak English so we need a maid who can speak to him.

Hubby & I can speak simple Malay, so I did not hv probs with our other Indon maids previously.

For Indon, I normally choose ex-Msia, preferably worked for large Chinese or Indian family. Cos need to do a lot of work, so by the time they come to my house (so tiny, so little ppl), they will realise they are having an easy life and do things properly.

Also, get those that work for 1 employer for at least 3 years.

I also prefer those fierce looking ones (not so vain). Those with thin eyebrows or neatly trimmed eyebrows, I don't want (too vain).

Be prepared: Indon may not be as fast/smart, but are more obedient. If you hv the time & patience to train, Indon is good. Ex-Msia ones will be more auto & smart.

Filipina have their own set of problems (want off day, want HP, hv boyfriend, etc). I don't mind Filipina this time round cos I'm now working from home, can monitor closely. & the cleaner at my block is female, hahah! No chance of her meeting men.

Also, I have CCTV at home. Cos my current maid is good, hubby turned the cam to main door as securty cam. With new maid, he will turn the cam back to face living/dining room.

The agency I recommend can arrange video interview. Not bad. We interviewed quite a few before we decided :D

Haiz.. not sure how to say....

Just wanna let out the steam...

I was smsing my sil bout my bb gender... then she asked me if I'll put bb wif my aunt after I go back to work.

So I said mum said will take care... (but I was still thinkin) then the whole conversation went downhill.

She started saying a lot of things...cuz they moving hse end of the year to condo and she said she dun wan bb stuffs in her new hse.. .that's y she clear all the bb stuffs to me. Then she said if bb put there, who'll wash bb stuffs, clothes etc. Maid? Cuz she paid for the maid, so she said maid will complain too much work for her. And there's also her kids. Said what if her youngest poke bb and bb cry and my mum sure will blame maid... argh! Actually she said a lot more... kept apologising, said paiseh... wah biang. Said its ok if my hubby go fetch my mum and she take care of bb in my hse.

I feel damn hurt. And I cried when I was waiting to see my gynae in TPS. I felt she was damn selfish. Now, I kept thinking, I'm eating a few days at my mum's place. Thinking she mind izzit? Cuz extra pairs of bowls and chopsticks... the maid got extra stuffs to wash... my mum has to buy extra food and cook extra food. It's my mum. Her mum can dote on her, y can't my own mum dote on me? I feel so aggrieved man... and tears are coming as I typed this.

I didn't reply her. I just said "I see", "Ok then", "I understand". And I stopped replying even though there were more replies from her. I feel so hurt. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

The thing is, I'm only considering... I wanna see how things are first. But to hear this from her.... sad.

Oh ya, the new one I've chosen is ex-Saudi. Worked for 1 family for 4yrs looking after 3 children. She looked after the oldest one (4yo) from newborn until he was 4yo.

Saudi not an easy country to work in as a maid. She can survive 4yrs there means she's good. & she has experience with newborn & can tahan 2 kids, so should be quite patient & reliable.

Even if housework not very good, I will close 1 eye if she takes good care of the kids :D

hi mummies, just knocked off from work as there is a BIG of workload to clear and everything is urgent =.= me going ga-ga with all the numbers .. does not help much, now that I am in a cab whereby the driver is so reckless in his driving .. gosh!! hopefully I can make it safely back home and no puking later ..

re: detailed scan

me really envy those mummies whom have went for detailed scan and know their baby's gender .. me still got to wait =(

re: helper

my mum proposed that I employ a helper but I am strongly against the idea as 1) I do not like the idea of another stranger at home 2) I am awaiting for BTO flat to be ready; I do not know where the maid is going to sleep as I am staying with PIL and BIL .. plus, SIL will come over with her family and stay over .. planning to put baby into infant care .. sourced for 2 infant care .. 1 at workplace (but will have to wait till 6 months before registration); the other is 10 minutes walk from my house ..

jinnous: how come your SIL is so ...?? that is your mum lehz .. if that is her mum, i can understand .. but if your mum did not say anything, why is your SIL saying so much?

jinnous, ur SIL really thick-skinned.. normally this kind of things is between children and mother say de mah.. she shd ask her hubby to talk to u or ur mother lor...

so, what issit that she wants end of the day? want u to Share money for the maid or just dont want u to put ur kid with ur mum? I think she is hoping u will put ur kid with ur aunt..

tell ur mum what has happened! Dont keep it to urself..

I feel like flicking your sil ear / mouth

too bad wat. She is the outsider n it's your mom living in her house but looking after ur bb. It's really not her position to comment so much. These type of situation v tricky. Talk to ur mom n bro. Else just ask ur mom look after bb in your house instead?

Jinnous, u shld talk to ur mum n see if she ok to go to ur hse. Better for bb as everything is there. U won't need to buy extra sets of items ie sterilizers etc. Can give her a bit more allowance for the inconvenience.