(2011/10) Oct 2011

snuppy, buy those 500ml will do.. tiger brand from taka only 20 odd i think... but u might need another one for porridge in future.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i forgot that one how much liao.. shouldnt be too expensive

no prob snuppy!

heard a sad case abt a toddler (7 mths younger than my gal) who passed away from meningitis, friday fever and following tues passed away... So sudden and fast...

the most important thing is to have a healthy baby and hopefully the healthy baby will grow up to be a healthy person.. lead a happy, honest, meaningful and long life...

life is really too short and fragile

HS,

Choy~~!! it won't happen!!!

Think of bb kicking actively or waving to you !!!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

HappyGal_01 : yepp, probably will go up earlier, see if any one finished their checkup,then

will be my turn.haha

wat colour will u be wearing tml? can say hihi,hee

Roxanne : the toddler didnt go for those pneunococcal jabs?

meningitis seems can be prevented.

HS : dont think too much, bb will be fine

pofy,

thanks for the encouragement! just feel that my fil say things without thinking and those words kinda hurt although they came out meant as a joke, nothing more. some things just cannot be joked about lor.

roxanne,

i didn't deliver in KKH le. i was with Mt A.

snuppy,

buy from wet market?? maybe cheaper than departmental stores. my mom bought a large 1-2L type to store red dates tea for my whole day use.

HS,

you think too much! won't happen k? baby will be very healthy and well. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lol.. starry, paiseh.. ya, i know u delivered in MtA.. but i thought it was u who also went to polyclinic for referrals to kkh at the same time so that in case of complications then can be cheaper at kkh.. maybe it is another mummy ah..

babystarlet, i think the high fever caused it? The kid finished all the jabs already.. all the pds, gp failed to diagnose it

haiyoh, HS... it wont happen!

Starry,

the 1L-2L type, my colleague passing it to me (ya for dates drink).. so can save..

but i need those to carry out if bringing bb out.

I tried to go wet market if possible, because now super sensitive to SMELL.

you bought yours from wet market?

Hi Pofy,

If you are going for Subsidised rates at KKH, you have to excercise careful considerations since you said yours is a complicated case.

Before I signed on with a Gynae at KKH, I was under the subsidized rate in clinic C. in such case,you will not a specific Gynae taking care of you. Instead, a team of Doc will be incharge of you and chances that you see a different doc in every visit.

My sister was diabetic during her pregnancy and she also went for Clinic C for subsidized rates due to budget then. She was quite well taken care of and suggested I do the same for my pregnancy.

Like her, initially I opt for Subsidised rates at Clinic C. Each time I see a different doc. I have to repeat my case (IVF pregnancy) as some doctors do not flip through the medical files and check on the previous records. Not to say, waiting time is also pretty long.

To share 1 incident: during my early pregnancy, I had very light spotting. One day, I encountered bleeding and went to 24 hr clinic and was seen by an Indian doc. She merely scanned the tummy and showed me bb’s heartbeat and said baby was ok. No injection or medication was given to stablise the pregnancy; just gave me MC n told me to rest at home.

After I left KK that day, bleeding didn’t stop and became worse. I went to see a pte gynae at a pte clinic nearby on the same day and was shock to find out that I might be suffering from a threatened abortion. He quickly up my dosage of duphaston n gave me a jab to stablise the pregnancy. Imagine.had I not gone to the Pte Gynae, I would have lost my little angel.

Since then, I decided I need to choose a good Gynae and be seen by him only for the rest of pregnancy. At least he has every background of my medical history.

All in all, it’s based on luck, my sister was lucky to have a team of good doctors taking care of her, for my case, the team of doctors weren’t too fantastic…

roxanne,

it's okay. think it was someone else. hee hee! i ever heard of that before too. can really save a lot of money. only downside is that the waiting time for appts and queue is very long.

snuppy,

gd le, got colleague to pass to u. after confinement that type of vacuum flask become white elephant liao. 'cos really no point using such huge one at home. my mom was the one who went to buy. got a lot of 'chap huay diam' there. hubby bought 1 from Fairprice Xtra. small 500ml type which we bring out when we're out with my girl. that time on promo, ard $10 only. can keep water hot for very long. still feel warm enough for milk even after 12 hours.

woaw....

then i think i go NTUC to go see see b4 gg TAKA..

ya lor.. cos my house doesnt use electrical airpot. my mum used kettle to boil water (like kampong la), hence alot of things need to watch out for..

unless i intend to "pop" another one out within these few years..

hahaha but right now over excited & nervous to think of having a 2nd one .

snuppy,

lol! you are so cute! #1 haven't come out u already thinking of #2? when i had my girl, i couldn't imagine having second baby 'cos couldn't fathom at that time how to split my love and attention between 2 kids! now think can, 'cos reality liao. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my mom still uses kettle too! save more $$ actually. 'cos electric airpot consumes a lot of energy. kettle one can save quite a lot in the long run. i also don't use electric airpot at home. no point keep water hot for 24hrs. i boil sufficient water to fill up my girl's 500ml vacuum flask. change a few times every day. more ma fan, but i think cleaner bah. 'cos large airpots harder to wash. too heavy!

don't buy too good vacuum flasks. normal one can keep hot for at least 6-8hrs gd enough le. very sayang is no use for it next time. my only splurge is my girl's food flask, small one bought for almost $40. a bit heartpain, but it's darn good. porridge still piping hot after many hours outside. brand is foogo.

Also feel electrical airpot waste electricity. Intend to get vaccuum flask type. How many do we need?

1 small for bb going out

1 big for home to heat milk/ clean bb

1 food type for bb food later on

1 big for red date tea fir confinement

too exagerrating?

I use electric airport leh... I think it's more convenient lah... cuz I can make milo, cereal etc immediately without having to wait...

Hi mommies, I've a almost brand new copy of Gina Ford, The Contented Little Baby, bought from Kino. I've wrapped it nicely in transparent book wrap too. Selling for S$22 with normal postage. Can also meet up at Raffles Place area. Pls email me weeling.chew[at]gmail.com if interested. Thanks!

I jus did my detailed scan by a specialist ytd.. i feel e test result are quite contradicting.. My BB has thick NT but blood test is considered low risk for down's n they suspect could be other chromosome defects or heart prob n my gynae refer to another specialist at wk 18 instead of wk 20 for detailed scan but pay double.. so i go for it ytd.. e specialist mention no abnormalities seen except e NT still consider slightly thicker than borderline at wk 18 (borderline at wk 18 shld be below 6mm but my NT read 6.05mm) so could be down's?? then e specialist say scan not so accurate better to go for amnio but most likely shld be ok since no abnormalities found..

blood test n my gynae say low risk for down's but specialist say NT thick could be down's?? i feel e results is rather contridicting.. now feeling like kana cheated for e need to pay extra for those additional test!

gilera,

1 500ml one for baby going out (can be used at home for making formula milk also)

1 2L one for confinement tea

1 food jar for baby meals later on

that's all i have! for heating up milk at home, i don't use hot water, i use the avent food/bottle warmer. when outside, i will pour out from the vacuum flask. if not enough, i will request for hot water from restaurants or just use the hot water dispenser in the nursery rooms. singapore is very convenient and baby friendly now. and i realise when u ask for hot water politely at coffeeshops/restaurants/cafes, the waiters/waitresses are very happy to provide.

jinnous,

the electric airpot is indeed very useful, but horribly expensive to maintain. anyway no one at home in the day, only those few hours at night so thought save the money and don't buy. we just boil what we need with a small electric kettle. nothing more.

pofy: you will still need a breastpump when you go back to work, unless you do not want to breastfeed after you are back at work .. breastfeeding can save money for the milk powder in long term, so you might want to invest in a good breastpump ..

re: gender

do not be too disheartened over what eldery said/commented on gender of baby .. be it girl or boy, he/she is godsend's angel ..

re: dry groceries

for mummies who are planning to stock up dry groceries for confinement, you all can go to the hawker center opposite the temple at waterloo street .. there is a shop 'fu' at level 3 .. their items are cheaper than retail and you can even bargain if you are buying in bulk ..

Hi Minidiary,

Thanks for having me in your list (no.46). I have not been an active member in this forum. I just had a miscarriage at wk#13 which was one day before my OSCAR scan. My bb was discovered to have no heartbeat upon my admission to A&E at TMC on the same day. I was really sad then but life got to move on.

To all the mummies, all the best and enjoy your pregnancy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: electric airpot

haha i had a airpot at home too.. so if i need hot water then will turn in on to boil, else electricity will b cut off. i guess in this way will help to save $$$ bah...

starry, is it really a need to buy flask now ah? hee cos nv tot of buying these items at all leh hehe..

sorry jus here to vent my anger as i feel my gynae shld have ask me to go for amnio instead of referring me to another specialist for a more ex detailed scan knowing tat amnio test would yield a more accurate result than a detail scan.

Jacqueline Teo,

Sorry to hear that, you are a brave mummy to go through this and pick yourself up, prep your body well go for the next one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jia you.

HS,

maybe when you bring your bb out, you can prepare yourself with some hot water & thus the need for vacuum flask??.. if not have to buy hot water from coffee shop or which ever eatery you will be.

Babystarlet : I am not sure what I will be wearing yet...but most likely will be carrying an olive green bag. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hope to see you tmw! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Royal: Because of my complication, I was referred sought a 2nd opinion and will have to stick to doc in TMC so I won't be going back to KKH. I am tired of having to repeat my case history etc etc to different doctors so to be safe,I stick to current. Now only hope all goes well. Just +/- 4mths. I have come so far already, i really really really hope baby is good and stick to me so that I can be his mummy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Roxanne : Too late liao. After i read then I see alot of mummies recommend Dr Ang and yes, his fees seem so much more reasonable. My next pregnancy I will definitely try him out. Thank you for the recommendation. Now I am with Dr Quek.

Starry : I totally agree. Some things even when joke cannot say out because it will hurt. Like why hen cannot lay eggs. Hurts very badly when said in your face although I am not a hen. Don't take it to heart is easy to say but difficult to practice but i guess no choice lah. haha [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

fantastar : i wish to also but its not possible. After my ML, I have to come back to work. My office has only 1 meeting room and it has windows. The rest of the office is open concept cubicle. Toilet very damp and very dirty, no place to pump the milk. I don't think I can pump and also no fridge in office. hahaha.

jacteo: sorry to learn of what happened to you .. take good care of your body, and lots of baby dust to you ..

pofy: i see .. no fridge still can buy a mini fridge .. but if environment is not available for milk pumping, it will be difficult ..

Hello Ladies just wanna check is steamboat safe to consume during pregnancy. I had cravings for Kichi Kichi steamboat at City Square Mall.

Can I extract 2 of my wisdom tooth now?

It's painful n gums are swollen.

Gums bleeding last few weeks from preg though.

seaview, i ate alot during my #1 time...

gilera, unfortunately no.. me been enduring too... our gums are more sensitive during pregnancy.. U can reduce bleeding by flossing often. It helps for me.

Roxanne ; that's why we need to super Gan cheong when bb high fever

Airpot -

Electric Airpot good during confinement period, ESP when the CL needs to heat up the breast milk or wash the milk bottles.

Is much faster than those milk warmers

Also, I usually off the Airpot when we sleeping or go out for work

Hi all, I new to tis thread, MTB, EDD sep 16. Thgt I shld start doing some shopping but nt sure where to start... Anyone knw if Avent electric sterliser and breast pump is gd? Is it to early to buy in case no milk? I dnt want to spend unnecessarily. :)

Actually the milk powder is designed in such a way that it will dissolve completely in normal temp water. If you use warm water, milk powder will form into lumps and remain undissolve. So, I use normal temp water to make milk when I go out. Just need to pre-fill the milk bottle with the right amount of water.

At home, use a 1L thermal flask is good enough. But a good one is recommended e.g. brand Tiger. Coz you only use a little bit of hot water to mix with normal temp water, to make the milk a little bit warm enough will do. So I feel it's not cost effective to use an airpot, which consume electricity and I feel water if re-boil too many times is not good.

Welcome sunnyday.

Pigeon sterilizer is better, bigger and taller. As for breast pump, many says medela is good. For myself, I use Avent for my #1. Although it went a bit spoilt after a yr, so I send for 1-1 exchange.

1 thing good about avent is it has both electric and Manual. So if electric spoilt, I can use manual. Wanted to change to medela for my #2, but worried the pump may be too strong or Wat, so I better stick with avent

good evening mummies.

minidiary, thks for updating. I'm expecting a boy this time.

Starry, your fil and mine behaves he same. Hb told me if I get a gal this time, fil won't shower the gal. Might as well say he doesn't want to take care of the gal.

pofy, the office I'm working in is also open concept, only 1 small meeting room and toilets sometimes smell of cigarettes! But managed to express out my milk for 4 months after ML as I've a long shawl that I can cover while expressing. I told my boss of my intention to express milk and she was ok with it. But now that she's resigned, I'll let my male boss know. Jiayou yourself ok? Difficulties are only temporary. Mummies are all weida!

Ok I gotta sleep now. Goodnight!

My remaining two wisdom tooth really hurt now. Gums sore n like rubbing inner cheek ulcer.

Dentist got med or go see doc?