(2011/10) Oct 2011

Good morning mummies,

Gilera, the dentist won't suggest you extracting because i wanted to during my 6th weeks, fortunately the soreness went off.

they will give u some painkillers to eat, rmb to remind them you're preggy !! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies, ytd both hub & i went to check out the infant care (my first skool)

at Blk 601 #01-2611 (Infant Care)Ang Mo Kio Ave 5, so glad that the principal shown us around.

and the babies were so cute laaa. one of them clapped her hands maybe welcoming us la..

we like the environment, clean and bright, open concept, you can see what/how the caregivers are taking care of the baby.

the cons, have to walk 15 mins from house to the centre & after which gotta take bus to the train station for work .

because ytd we tried from yck station to the centre. I almost gave up halfway. because it is located at the outskirt of amk facing the jungle side. so the surroundings is very quiet & peaceful.

alternatively they have another centre at blk 329 opp amk hub, around my previous blk. the environment is not peaceful cos alot of students playing (street soccer court).

to travel to this centre gotta take bus but this is much nearer to amk station..

lastly, wanna thank those mummies who suggested infant care, i didnt know that's sth like this .. hahaahah

Oh last night i went NTUC, also having a mini fair for TIGER airpot & flask.

Can take a look.

price wise is not in bundled set.

jacteo, sorry to hear about it.. babydust to u!!!

snuppy, where do u live?

ya, gilera.. they will tell u to put on hold and extract after give birth.. that's what happened to my colleague, not sure why though.. issit ur tooth painful or the gum or both? I think dentist better but think they will only give u painkiller..

babystarlet, ya.. fever must really be very careful..

hi mummies,im stil waiting for my detailed scan to be done now,cos my baby is sooo..naughty,refuse to turn ard to let Auntie see ...:-(

so no choice tat I stil hav to wait

Emily- u can try cough cough to disturb bb.

Roxanne- it's the gums ard the 2 wisdom teeth. Somemore today dentist no open! Ergh! Hv to go see doc for mc.

Snuppy- which ntuc?Cheaper than taka? Hai, dunno taka can offer the sale today instead of Tom start. Once the promoter give me sale price when sale hvnt start

this year i spend so many days of annual leave staying at home sleep. is either headache or throughout the night never sleep. always call in for urgent leave, feel so bad. hais~

Roxanne,

I lived at ang mo kio ave 5 BLK 64X

hehehe

many thanks for your LINK [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gilera,

I saw it at AMK HUB NTUC last night, only has couple designs for TIGER 1-3L flask itself prices range from $33 plus to $45+, whereas airpot prices are much higher range also limited, no Elephant zojirushi ones though..

ya lor taka sales wise starts tmr.. surely very crowded must be careful huh. taka bundled set e.g. 2.5L airpot & 1L flask S$65 if cardholder add 10% off. there are a few bundle sets.

perhaps you wanna see this link

Dear roxanne has posted ..

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5499416.html?1306113377

i cannot comment prices, first time buying all these though.

Roxanne,

I am so amazed by the link you posted. the seller has so much variety & able to get from supplier directly..

but cannot touch, you buying from her??

Jinnous,

yes yes yes .. very calming n peaceful, both hub and i were very pleased with the environment. thus if really no other infant care in mind, we will place bb there next feb.

how bout you? found any infant care/nanny/masseur??

snuppy, my MIL stayed blk 638.. near u? I always go my MIL's hse one.. I m going to put my gal at childcare at blk 645, praises child academy.. but they dont have infant care leh... I think learning horizon at grassroot club has an infant care but they are quite expensive...

ya, i ever bought a hot water flask from this bp seller cos i lost mine..

roxanne,

ya ya near me sehhh....

woaw really know alot of stuff man,

the 2 centre you mentioned = i cannot fit in/ they cannot fit in me.. just too bad.

Alas I found nothing... haiz...

My hubby asked me... he was thinking of fetching his mum and niece here every morning and bring them back every evening to take care fo me. His mum suggested lah but said I have to take care of bb at nite.

I haven't say anything yet cuz I dunno bout the nite part. My colleague told me I'll be super tired. Haiz....

jinnous, the bp seller has been here for quite a long time liao, always see her sell these products..

erm, i also duno authentic or not leh, but so far that hot water flask quite good, nvr lose any heat one.. got one day i forgot to wash and then the next day when i opened it, the water still abit warm... haha

My hubby not very keen... he keep saying he's only afraid that I'll come to blows with the nanny... I was like huh?! He's afraid my emos will go haywire after birth... makes me paranoid also... zzzzzz

Roxanne,

after comparing the pros and cons of infant care and nanny, hubby n i decided to place bb in infant care instead of nanny.

it's pretty hard to find one who fits into our criteria, my hubby is pretty fussy one though.

Jinnous,

where do you stay then ??

woaw everyday to and fro, your hubby also quite tiring, fortunately your hubby drives.

night time i don't deny the fact it will be tiring as well. if you're working at raffles place area, actually there are a few infant care but slightly expensive than heartlands ones.

I stay in Yishun.. my mil stay in Bukit Gombak... can u imagine the journey? Though I'm not the one travelling but I still feel like crazy lor...

Jinnous,

woaahhhhhh

it's like re-enacting my poly days few yrs back at SP, yck all the way str8 up to Dover and for 3 yrs i have to travel that far..

I feel for you man.

I try drink sweet sweet soya milk,try cough cough,try talk to him,but he still keep in same position leh.I have in and out the room for three time le,still unable to finish the scan. no choice lor,I hav to go back for 2nd time scan next week le.I think he is tire and sleeping inside cos normally he is active at night ...haa haaa. :)

anyway Im still very happy. thks god baby is fine :)

this time baby open both leg big big,I can see his bird and ball ball. I'm expecting a boy :)

Jinnous

your hb suggestion is during your confinement right. after maternity end, if still can't find a suitable solution, then maybe send your bb to mother inlaw then after work go there, have dinner & fetch bb back.

Emilybaby,

congrats to you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

maybe he just want to hint to you, "start buying clothes for me, imma boy" hehehe.

Hihi, I have been a silent reader since last mth and it's really encouraging and heartwarming to read some of these posts. Thanks to all mummies and M2B for the tips! ;)

Hi Minidiary,

Do help to update. Thanks! =)

Our girl's EDD 29th Oct by Dr Loke Kah Leong

Hospital: Not decided

emilybaby: congrats on your boy! are u still seeing Dr Goh SL btw? She will be going for maternity leave soon right? who are u going to switch to?

i'll be having my screening scan tmw finally!! so excited. can't wait for the work day to end too....

No lah winnie.... I meant during confinement... after confinement my hubby will drop bb off at my mum's place before going to work and pick bb up again after work... I can't imagine being a weekend parent!!!

tis morning i went to see dr woody cos yest i realised my feet abit swollen, think due to water retention. so went to see him to see what he can do about it. he gave me some vit B pills...

anyone suffering from water retention at this stage ah? my fingers like abit fat and had slight problem removing my ring... my feet feel weird when stepping on the ground, its like having another level of flesh at the sole.

he gave me a ultrasound scan as usual. and bb as usual did not cooperate =,= cant see boy or gal. bleh... have to wait til detailed scan. i guess i will have a hard time during detailed scan loh.

thks all mummies...

mummycoccyx, yes.but only til next visit in June. today I jus realized tat she is pregnant too when I saw her big tummy :) I ask her when wil she be back then she said no pblm for us cos she will be back in Sept .my Jul and Aug appointment wil be tak care by Dr marriane,I never heard abt her bfore,tis is Dr goh's arrangement. abit funny leh cos she never mentioned it to me at all during today visit.

Good luck for yr scan tomorow :)

Re: taking care of baby after our ML

HI Mummies, just want to share my 'woes'. my MIL just made my hubby hire a helper. i know this arrangement is what she thinks is best for us, since I will be heading back to work after ML + my hubby dont really want to send baby to infant care + my mum is unable to help take care of baby too. But we are not confident to leave the helper alone with my baby.. so what they've planned tentatively, is also to send to some aunty's hse so aunty can oversee the helper in the day. same thing, we will have to send baby + helper to aunty's hse in the mornings, and pick them up in the evenings. i feel that its so ley chey so far it seems like this is the best choice..?

plus, we're still waiting for our BTO to be ready (next yr).. so, when we move to our new home, the helper will move in with us too. But i just feel that the whole helper thing is a waste of money..? i dont know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

jgladys,

it seems ley chey to me, so the cost of helper will be bear by you n ur hub?

lucky you, your bto so fast mine still long hais..

why not you see how good the helper is b4 deciding to let her continue helping you when you move it?

if the helper is good and kind/honest, no harm letting her at least the money wont be wasted..

oh wait btw why don't you ask your mil to help? or she is reluctant to ?

Jinnous (jinnous), u can try Eager Beavers. They were at yishun safra but heard they were shifted to a bigger place but still in yishun.. Originally I wanted to put my gal there but then too far for my MIL... They have infant care, the teachers there quite good...

jgladys, actually if the helper is good, it can save u alot of trouble and energy because not only will she be able to take care of the child, she can also help to relieve housework load... getting a helper will cost lesser than infant care..

Let her train in ur auntie's house a while first and test test see if she can cope with baby alone.. install camera in the house? that is what my fren did...

Hi snuppy, my MIL wanna share the cost till we move out. Cause she also wants the helper to clean the hse. BTO come fast = good & bad for me now. i was so looking forward to owning my own home, but now thinking of the extra $$ we have to fork out for the helper, i sian half :/. either way, its infant care or helper i guess.

my colleague told me working mums got subsidy for infant care. plus we can use the CDA or something to pay for infant/child care right?

MIL working, so cant take care of baby in the day too. Yea, i hope hubby is ok to let go of the helper then, if there isnt a need after we move out.

Hi Roxanne, my colleague worked out the cost of infant care to be $300+ only, cause she put the money into the CDA account, so the other half is 'paid by government'. good idea about the camera though! didnt think of that. hmm ok.. i think have to 'zou yi bu kan yi bu'.. im just probably worrying too much in advance now.....

Roxanne

I suppose at this moment there isnt any abnormalities seen except e neck is slightly thicker than borderline at wk 18 (shld be below 6mm) but mine is 6.05mm during e detailed scan. The specialist says thick neck could be down's but my OSCAR blood test n gynae says im low risk for down's so i find it contridicting. The specialist provide me wif 3D scan n a CD wif the findings n pic of bb saying tat so far seems gd but to 'play safe' do amnio but i dont think i'll do amnio since no abnormalities is seen (keeping fingers crossed thou)

I have yet to consult my gynae as she's on leave this wk, but i'll be going for routine chk up next wk so i'll show her e letter by specialist.

Read up some post, a lady mentioned she went thru all e test n scan but cant detect anything but end up having a bb wif heart n kidney prob... so i was thinking how accurate r all this test.

jgladys, infant care so cheap ah? My neighbour said hers after subsidy still 800bucks and is at the neighbourhood void deck kind... if can find a good and cheap one, then maybe infant care is good but u will need to be bogged down by housework which can be a chore.. esp when the kid come out, must clean the house more often liao...

ya, the camera still can be viewed on computer or iphone.. But need to pay subscription fee... then, do u need to give ur auntie some money for taking care of baby?