(2011/10) Oct 2011

1d 1r

oic.. i tot it's alr inclusive w/o u asking them to do it... btw did u went thru amnio b4? if yes, how's e process like, how u feel aft tat n any symptoms after e test suck as leakage of fluid, bloody discharge etc?

I din go for amnio. I don't believe in such tests cos we will keep the baby no matter what & I'm not willing to take the risk of miscarriage. I din even go for the basic down syndrome tests like OSCAR.

My mum went for amnio with my sis cos she was considered super high risk due to age. They only test for down syndrome unless you request for other tests which will add to the cost.

Bubblygeekypig, did u receive my reply thru email?

Huggsss, I know wat u mean. My result is still not out yet. I keep pressing my hubby to call the clinic. The clinic said most likely tmr and I just broke down and cried. It's really mixed emotions. One hand you want the result, the other hand you are really scared of the result. Is this your first or second preg? I cope by focussing on my 1st child, but the anxiety still crepes into you and I've had bad dreams about it. I'll be praying for us yeh.

1d 1r

aft i did e OSCAR n found abt e thick NT measurement i did ask if they r able to test for other chromosome defects but they say no...

yayoi

sorry i didnt chk my email these few days as im hm rather late n tired so too lazy to chk.. will chk over e wkend..

yayoi & huggsss

it's been an emotional turmoil recently too since e result of e oscar result n im confused abt e decision tat i've have to make n prev hb n fren has diff views wif me n im stress over it but i feel better tdy as hb told me he'll respect my decision no matter how diff it is..

i wish a healthy bb for all of us. gd luck all..

minidiary: my SIl is always on her laptop, and neglect her daughter when she is over .. and the reason why she is staying over, was that she cannot cope with her daughter at home ..

1dog1rabbit: a pity it is too early now, if not i would rather go into labor and be hospitalized =p

happymomo: my MIL is an easy-going lady, which is why i am still staying with her and do not mind staying with her in future .. i just cannot 'tahan' my SIL and hubby .. out of the many instances, i will just raise an episode that really makes my blood boil (even till now) .. we went for a few-day trip at Bintan with my in-laws .. on the 1st night, SIL and hubby paid for the dinner which amounted to SGD200+ .. hubby and me decided to pay 1/2 of the bill .. they LITERALLY threw the money back to us!!

piggy_jas: if my SIL is an easy-going lady; i seriously do not mind .. just that her attitude (#&()#&* ..

fantastar,

same here... haha always with her laptop in the room. when im out of my room, she don dare to come out.. when im inside my room, she will come out get water and food and faster runs back to room... haha like playing hide and seek [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi mommies, the clinic finally called. I tot they won't call since they close at 5pm. My CVS result is cleared! Baby's normal! But since it's only the expedited result, the full result will only be out in 1.5wks, but clinic say shld be alright. So relieved that I hugged my hubby and cried.

So bubblygeekypig and huggsss, be brave ok!

yayoi

congrats on your positive results!

bubblypig, huggss

don't worry too much and keep on praying for good results!

RE: SIL

wow, so many bad instances.. Guess I should be glad that my HB's side all guys!

Hi everyone!!!

I have been a silent reader for almost 2 months. haha. Finally, time to introduce myself. Been trying for BB since 7 years ago. Went for fertility check up and etc, but it just didnt happen. Friends around me started to announce their pregnancy one by one. Was very happy for them, but upset with myself. Alot of emotional ups and downs.

DH and I decided to give up the treatments and leave it to God. And thank God, I m now 12w3d pregnant. I m overjoyed.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tabbyz> Guy also have problem, like my BIL will eat the food I buy. and he never replenish, even if he does he will finish it before anyone gets to lay their fingers on it. Good thing he is getting married and moving out in a couple of months.

today I'm abit upset, cos I realized my bff is very negative about having kids. At least that is how i feel. she doesn't like kids even her own nephews and nieces and now that I'm pregnant, she gives me the negative vibes too. She cannot have kids herself due to her medical health. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

snuppy,

do consider reputable home nannies or infant care centres and register early. For infant care, do some research. Some ratio is 1:5, some 1:4.

If your budget is tight and cannot afford to give your parents too much allowances, do explain to them that when bb is out, you wuld have more committment and will give slightly lesser.

Enjoy your wkend!!!!

RabbitBB -> I pity your BIL's wife :p

Hmm... there are bound to be ppl who dun like kids... Esp if they cannot have kids, they choose to be -ve abt kids to spare themselves the emotional roller coaster of not being able to have one.

It's her defense mechanism to protect herself from falling in love with kids & wanting kids cos she knows that she can't have her own.

It's quite sad cos she's most likely battling her emotions now. She could be feeling jealous about your pregnancy.

Don't think too much about what she says. Having kids is a joy though there are sacrifices to be made. Just be a little more sensitive towards her. Only give info when she asks for it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1d1r> ^5 i pity her too! but she is blur blur type so i think they can connect well.

Ya, I try to not think so much but she is my bff so abit sianz. good thing still can find a group of to-be mommies here, at least we know what each other is going through, the saddest thing is amongst my cliche of close friends, none of them have any kids..

RabbitBB, I'm the only one amongst my friends with kiddo. They weren't even married when I had my boy! Some of them were not even dating!

But now, my boy's older and can interact (more like entertain) with them, they start to show more positive vibes. & they are more willing to hv meet ups at my place cos they wanna listen to him tell his stories.

& most of them are getting married this yr or next yr, so more or less start to ask questions abt raising kids, etc. So we started to become very close again (we sort of 'lost touch' when they were busy with career and I was busy with my boy).

Don't worry. After a while, things will change for the better [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] You'll be the one they turn to when they hv kids or are planning for kids [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fantastar, run & hide!!!

I totally understand how you feel cos my hubby's sister isn't nice either. But thankfully, I've not seen her since we got married & now that she's married, she's too busy dealing with her ILs to meddle in my business. :p

I agree on de sister in law dun c eye to eye.. Haha! For me is I go room since I stay master bedroom.

Frens dat always go out wif us aso no kids, sometimes feel Paiseh go out wif dem lyk dragging their time cos we muz go change diaper, make milk la.

I also told my sister dun find a bf with no sister and dun stay tgt. But too bad, my sis's bf got older sis aso. But heard she sae not too bad so still ok la.

1dog1rabbit: forunate you .. my SIL is married but still comes back to stay over .. juz 'coz she do not know how to handle her daughter =.=

Jasmine, I teach my sis not to be monster SIL too. hahaha! Thankfully, she's also close to my bro's gf. They go for mani/pedi together or help each other to do mani/pedi at home.

re:mil/sil

wahahaha,. now then i realise i m not the only one having big time prob with sil. hahaha

my sil also sucks to the max!

re: confinement/ babycare

based on past experiences.. i would really rather spend more $ engage confinement auntie ir send bb to infant care/nanny, whatever... as long as not asking my mil to help! sure got conflicts one... even own mother also will have conflicts. so this time round, i will be getting confinement auntie as well. Thereafter, i may continue to work from home with my maid helping out or i will send bb to infant care/nanny.

no way i will send bb to mil place!

yan: you are definitely not the only one ..

me planning to enrol baby into infant care, most likely learning vision .. although hubby wants my MIL to take care, i am still not sure whether is she willing or not .. plus, if my SIl is going to give birth and staying over (and the possibility that she will get my MIL to help her babysit), i rather send my baby to infant care and not tire my MIL ..

1d1r

Dats gd.. I also hope peace at home. Can get along with everyone and everything.

Anyone feels their leg "suan".. this week second time already.. now both leg "suan"..

Fantastar: u can start hunting for infant care and put urself under waiting list now. I called up one nearby my place recently. the in-charge told me that most mtb register themselves in the wait list long before the EDD. cos always full..

Jasmine: yes.. i also leg v suan. sometimes the aching v unbearable. I use medicated oil to apply on my legs! cos i dare not use any other oilment.

I in in my 12weeks only. But my tummy showing already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yan: planning to do so on coming mon .. I know the waiting list can be super long .. My tummy shows long ago; a large part are my fats =p

my tummy started showing just 2-3 days ago! suddenly so big. aiyo...i m only 12 weeks now.

baby is so tiny. must be my fats la!!

wahahahaha

super upset!! hubby was playing with SIL's daughter .. then he commented, "what if baby is not as close to me, as her (niece)?" FML!!

Yan

So Weird nor as if I walk alot or just exercise. But I didn't.. my #1 also Nv felt tis way.. I nv put anything, go sleep next day ok already

Aching feeling in legs could be due to mild cramps. Drink more water, take more calcium & potassium (from bananas).

My calf muscles will get weird aching feeling too. But will be better after hb massage.

Good Morning MTBs!

Love Saturday, get to sleep in.

Just a few questions, can we use face mask? and can we do "tui na"?

thanks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning to all sweeties..

Leg still "suan" hope ltr got energy go gai gai. HEhe..

Roxanne

Ohh really? Bb still small only wor.

1d1r

I shall drink more water.. Mil dun let me take any bananas in case I take the wrong type .

Babyinperth, no tuina unless the TCM doc specialises in pregnancy tuina.

Face mask just make sure no retinol (appears as different names too). I'm using organic products made from natural ingredients for now.

Jasmine, can eat the small bananas. No del monte. Anyway, after first tri already, can eat lah. :p

1d1r: Thanks! bought a lot of facial masks and was worried to use. will check it out.

How much is it to do a normal delivery in Singapore? $2-3k?

Babyinperth, price totally depends on a lot of factors.

1. Hospital you choose.

2. Type of room you choose.

3. Gynae you choose.

4. Whether you are Singaporean or not (got Medisave acct).

5. Epidural?

My first one was delivered in 2007 at TMC. Natural, non-assisted, epidural. I paid $1.5k cash after deducting Medisave. & I stayed in 2 bedder but was charged 4 bedder rate as my gynae gave free upgrade.

wow. so good got free upgrade. I dont think we have it here in Perth.

Do u have to pay the gynae management fee in singapore? My first visit to gynae is $250, subsequent visit is $80 and the visit on week 20 got to pay management fee of $2k plus. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] very xiong.

The prenatal care has different range of prices.

There are gynaes with packages that cover all prenatal visits, u/s scans & compulsory blood tests.

Cheapest I know is $550 for the whole pregnancy.

My gynae charges $800 but his waiting time is significantly lesser than the gynaes offering cheaper package.

But there are those that charge based on per visit ($100 - 200 per visit).

Morning mommies.

Its a gloomy Saturday, clinic called and said my blood test result came back and I am a alpha thalassemia carrier. Doesn't help that I had an argument with my hub last night and ended up with headache when I woke up and to hear this news early on a weekend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

RabbitBB, you did the DNA testing to confirm already? Cos mine is suspected case but no need to go for DNA testing cos my hubby is confirmed non-carrier.

1d1r> you mean DNA test on the fetal? no yet, I only did a blood test so clinic called me this morning regarding the result, the other time my hub didn't do the test with me cos he has a blood test done and I faxed the result to my gynae so he ordered for me to go and take first. Now the nurse say gynae refer me to the singapore thalassemia registry at kkh for further assessment. I think my hub will have to do the blood test again to confirm but from his blood test result, nothing was mentioned about him having this. so I'm not sure...HAIZ..so confused now.

RabbitBB, the clinic said CONFIRMED or SUSPECTED?

Cos it cannot be confirmed without the DNA testing done at STR.

The 'suspected' comes from the red blood cell count in the normal blood test. Mine also low, so very suspicious but it can be low for a variety of reasons too. Mine is most likely cos I'm mildy anemic.

Don't worry cos if only you have it and hubby doesn't at most bb will be a carrier like you only. Nothing major will happen.

1d1r> In my daze state, i heard the nurse told me I have hence gynae refer me to STR for further assessment. My hub have low platelet count, that should be a different thing I hope cos gynae did say that his low platelet will not be passed down. Now I have to wait for STR to call me on Monday or Tuesday.

that time u and ur hub did the blood test and they suspect only u have is it for your first pregnancy?

Blood test is a baseline .. Think you will have to go through a series of tests before they can affirm that you got thalasemia ..

Ignoring my hubby and throwing tantrum at him .. Cannot 'tahan' SIL .. Everyting she's over, she must wake others up (especially me, who is a light sleeper) with her super loud and high-pitches voice early in the morning .. Just want to catch another few more hours of sleep over the weekend, but looks like it is hard for these 2 weeks .. Now having a headache .. Bad start to my weekend!!

U mummies enjoy your weekend ahead ..

fantastar> ya means more blood drawing for me. bane of my life. boo.

So now u have to stay away from home to avoid ur SIL? that sucks, hope she go off sooner than plan. You take care too.

oh ur nick make me feel like drinking fanta grape now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]