(2011/10) Oct 2011

happygal_01, u r welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i can't rem his exact fee. his package excl hospital charges is about $2k. $1k is for U/S and consultation and internal blood/urine test. medicines, 1st-3rd tri screening not included. remaining $1k is for delivery charges.

i find that signing package is v worth it as i'd diabetes during my last preg and he'd to monitor me closely ie every 2 weeks instead of 1 month b4 i delivered.

whiteloverz / luvagape / benbenyiyi > thanks for the advice. Will try and see how it goes. Hopefully it will go off soon.

starrymommy > I have never had such problem before till now. I also very very puzzled. Not too sure if it's pregnancy related. Hormones changes? haha... I pump in office but at home, my boy will never let me off. He will insist. He is very very fierce.

Kwxy,

So happy for u..

I'm also excited. My 1st appt is on nxt thur.. Let's hope both of us have gd news to share with all the mommies here..

Hi mummies, tonight I’ll go for my 2nd appt, hope everything will be fine and hope able to hear my baby heartbeat this time :)

Wish me GOOD LUCK!

starrymommy > my boy now 1.5 years old. he is my #2. I never tell my gynae. If I were to ask him, he will definitely ask me to stop. I can understand the reason for not BF.

KWXY, happy to hear tat you can see the sac :) now then you will feel more relax le bah! So when will be your next appointment with yr gynae? By the time, you will be able to hear yr BB heartbeat le :)

Yan & Esther, Jia You! take gd care of yrself!

Mummycoccyx, thks thks for your info! I looking forward to see her 2 weeks later!

Just to share, there are gynaes who are pro-bf and will encourage to continue bf during pregnancy as long as the pregnancy is fine (no medical issues, no spotting). I read from other mummy forums that there are mummies who continue bf during 2nd and 3rd pregnancy with support from gynae!

hi mummies. thanks for the welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi miracle, yes, my #1 also with Dr Caroline. I liked her very much. Will spend time to talk to us and not rushed.

For mummies going to see their babies soon. All the best! It's a wonderful experience to see your baby for the first time. For those doing abdominal scan, better drink lots of water so that the bladder is full and the scan will be clearer. If not, just go for vaginal scan.

By the way, Dr Caroline arranged for my Oscar next appointment leh. Am I the first one to go thru"

1dog1rabbit > I personally would like to continue but not too sure how my body would react. Haha... I will tend to be a little paranoid. Plus now, the MS is making me losing appetite. But thinking that I'm full BF, I'm actually forcing the food down my throat.

KWXY, congrats... Nothing to worry... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Baby will stick to you... Rest more and dun move ard too much... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

prettymums,

in that case you've done a really good job to bf him that long! wish i could do the same for my little girl.

emily,

good luck! come back here report later. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kwxy,

the sac u saw, is there anything in there? gynae told me last night can't see anything apart from waterbag. i only saw this tiny black bean on the ultrasound scan pic.

Jasmine, yea I'm also first time mum and tend to get paranoid too. At the same time, I also don't really know what are the things I can't do. Hehehe..

leeoh, Oscar screening is usually performed on 11-13 weeks right? Still a month to go for me!

tabbyz, yes my Oscar appointment is on the 13week... i am at 7 weeks now.

By the way, Oscar is the test for down syndrome.

Oscar is an optional test. For my #1, we did not do it. Cos gynae did the neckfold measurement and saw high nasal bone, so told us low risk. We decided not to go ahead with the optional test.

This round, we'll do the same [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starrymommy > I hope I can BF him till 2. But looks like not possible. I do not wish to jeopardise #3 bcos of BF. I guess I will have to continue after #3 is born. That's what I did for my #1. I stopped her and continued again after my #2 born.

1dog1rabbit > Yah. On the multi vits liao. Now I'm like a "yao bao". Everyday take medicine.

Mummies, I only saw a water bag = sac...nothing inside yet...will have to go bk next week to scan again. Doc said too small, only 5 weeks plus...doc hope to see heartbeat next week...but I'm not too sure abt that.

One thing happy is that the sac is round round de...I asked doc will it go out of shape...I'm just afraid of blighted ovum...still everything too early to see.

FYI, my hcg is 534miu for 5 weeks. Actually doc hope to see more than 1000miu today. He refused to scan me coz he said won't see the sac, but I insisted. After searching high and low, finally found it after 2-3mins [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leeoh, my gynea intend to schedule the Oscar for me on my next visit.. but we choose not to take the test.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

emilybaby

all the best! update us here. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

KWXY

so it's good u insisted on the scan, at least get to see your bb sac. so happy right?

oscar: i didn't go for this test for my #1 too...

Hihi all mommies

I am a FTM and new to this forum, happy to find a place with so many moms to share advices/tots!

This is my #1 and EDD is 6 Oct 2011 based on the measurement i got from gynae on first appt - 14 Feb (abt 6w 4d). During then i calculated to be abt 5 weeks as my LMP is 5 Jan, DR say couldnt see anything with the scan on tummy and i was very scared!! Then changed to use v-scan, surprisingly then she found the sac, fetus and DR say the heartbeat is blinking :D

Was given duphaston 2x daily as DR say better to be KiaSu abit due to my previous case of MC (no heartbeat) 2yrs ago. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So far no MS except for sore breast (on and off sometimes) and feel like vomiting when vy hungry but not once did i vomitted anything out..

Now waiting for my 2nd appt next mon, really really hope everything is well and BB growing healthy so we can move on to 2nd tri.

Best wishes to all mommies, JIA YOU! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kwxy,

haha! we are opposite! i was the one who refused to scan and gynae insisted on doing it, even said sorry that it has to be internal scanning. anyway, glad to see it lah. 'cos dunno why gynae was very scared that it will be an ectopic pregnancy. maybe due to my spotting bah..

prettymums,

better continue after birth lah. don't jeopardize #3. just hope that your boy will accept this and willing to go cold turkey lor.

Hello all!

Wow, most of you have seen the doctor etc and done scans already! I'm really the last I think... my appointment is not till next Saturday!

Now hoping that my ILs will not suspect anything yet, because DH and I have decided to tell them only after gynae visit next Sat. DH is the only child and his parents are rather old already... don't want to have them all excited and expectant until we are quite sure bb is healthy...

And hohohohoho, I had my share of Old Chang Kee this morning and will be having Old Chang Kee again for breakfast tomorrow morning! No appetite for other food much!!!

KWXY: Glad to know things went on fine at the gynae! Continue to have faith and hope you can see bb and heartbeat next visit!

Starry: I hope you are better today. Did you manage to have a restful day at work?

morninghugs,

thanks for the concern. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] good day at work, nothing much to do really. just sat at desk most of the time. packed lunch back to office also. so quite relaxed. just hope for an uneventful trip home too.

I was tested positive last Sat. I was quite stunned actually as i had just given birth to my baby gal last July. Did not expect to get pregnant so fast and i was still breastfed her that time. Have no preparation at all.

Anyone has babies that are so close like me?

I'm feeling tired easily and maybe it's a long day for me since 9am and I'm with my mum sipping our drinks in the mall...later MIL will cooking my fav braised pork belly and she got the bao too!! Since tested positive until now, we do not have the chance to meet up and also I was feeling moody.

Hope I can eat a lot tonight!!

thanks starrymommy... just puzzled why not told that we have this option. but iwll go ahead anyway. next 2nd appt need take 3 tubes of blood for various testing..... scared!

u ladies are making me crave for old chang kee too! think I'll get a curry puff later after work! hehehe!

I'm surprised that OSCAR is not popular among the ladies here! I would want to do it to detect abnormalities in my bb! Can you share why you chose not to do it?

Just woke up.

Am I able to eat mcspicy from Macdonalds? Contains mayonnaise right? I feel like eating burger n fries! Hubby don't allow me to eat, ask me check with the mummies here safer!

Hi morninghugs

mine appt on next wed. 1 more week to go hopefully can c something cos should be 5 wks then and i have a big tummy cos lazy to do exercise. Have not tell anyone yet.

OSCAR involves this >>> "Nuchal translucency is a collection of fluid under the skin at the back of a baby's neck. It can be measured using ultrasound when your baby is between 11 and 13 weeks and 6 days old."

are they gonna poke my BB to extract fluid at week 12????

mayonnaise is a no-no due not fully cooked eggs as the ingredient.

concern is food poisoning but should not harm your BB

tabbyz,

first of all, it's quite expensive. is it $300+??

secondly, it's not 100% accurate. there have been cases of error where babies were tested to have high chance of having DS but when the mummy did the amnicentisis (small risk of miscarriage), baby was found to be normal.

thirdly, it's horrible for some to be waiting for the results which takes quite a number of days.

guess that's why bah... i also haven't decide whether to do oscar or not this time round. gotta discuss with hubby.

gilera,

won't poke lah. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ultrasound measure the thickness only. all these measurements are estimates.

gilera

no poking around, its just an ultrasound and the measurement is taken based on the image. Extraction is called amniocentesis which is performed only at 16 weeks if your baby is shown to have high risk of DS. It is optional.

tabbyz

oscar for me and hb are important, we want to know if baby is going to be healthy. We also made the decision of not keeping the fetus if after amnio, it is confirmed that baby will have DS. In my previous mtb forum, someone had a friend who was sibling to a ds brother. Her parents are elderly and she is the only other child. She was not able to cope with the responsibility of taking care of her 30 something year old ds brother. My mil also has a friend who is in a similar situation.

tabbyz

my reason was that hb and i tried for v long before we conceived #1, and no matter what, we'll keep the bb. so decided not to do the test. anyway, i've heard of friends who did the test, and went through a whole emotional rollercoaster ride because of not so favourable results, but in the end, bb was normal. so it's really up to individual couple to decide...

esther

i found this on the internet. http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Is_mayonnaise_safe_during_pregnancy

i think from the stores are fine, just the home made mayonnaise made from raw eggs are not safe for preggies. i remember i ate alot of mayonnaise for my #1, no problem.

winnie: I'm in my 7th going to 8th week already and by time I first see my gynae, i should be just hitting 9 weeks! Hahaha, super overdue I think! I just hope everything will be fine!

starry: good to hear that! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

weiyao, welcome and congrats! i think we have starry who's daughter is now 4 mths old and now discovered preggy again. As long there is no spotting nor health risk, it's ok to continue bf.

gilera, for my prev OSCAR, all i had was blood, urine and detailed ultrasound scan which was quite risk-free. no fluid was extracted at all.

the extract amniotic fluid procedure is called amniocentesis (maybe wrong spelling) that had its own set of risks due to 1% MC? as it's usually done when OSCAR results turns out not favourable.

esther, mayo is ok i guess. but personally it's now 1 of my banned foods as it causes me bloating.

morninghugs, are you taking folic pills on your own. one of the things that I want to go early so that I can get the pills. and bec I have done dental treatment during the pass week.