(2011/10) Oct 2011

successful for no 1 doesn't mean successful for no 2. mine boy is very good at sucking when he just born but no 2 is a girl don't know how to suck.

vivi, so your boy is 5yrs old now? in K2? how old is your 2nd one

winnie,

my girl lousy at sucking lor! so tiring latching her last time! her sucking is strong, but she got no endurance. think my milk flow also slower for her that time. so once she was introduced to bottle, she cannot suck well from the breast liao. will suck suck a bit then make noise 'complain'. will the milk flow be smoother/faster the 2nd time?? i really wanna succeed at bfing my #2 this time round.

vivi,

all the best to you in weaning your boy off! jia you ok?? can do it one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jasmine,

u tried buying from gmarket? saw a lot of maternity leggings and those taiwan/korean style loose dresses for sale. very tempted to buy. even when no longer pregnant still can wear with belt.

vivi, I also feel that if your doc said not advisable to bf, and moreover you're already feeling the contraction while bf, then better wean off your #2 ler.

StickyBB, my gynae is Dr Woo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Went to him for #1 and going to him again this round :D

Very nice, gentle and fatherly gynae :D He doesn't rush consults [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning ladies

starrymommy / kwxy > Yah... very happy when he said I can stop the pills. :p My husband was telling him that I have been puking more nowadays and guess what he said... He said puking is good. It means more HCG produced... I don't know if I should laugh or should scold him. :p

Breastfeeding: I'm now also in the dilemma. On one hand, I scared the baby will not have enough nutrients. On the other hand, I feel bad in stopping my son. Haha... Mother's woes...

winnie- my #1 is in K1 #2 just turned 8 mths

starry - ya trying hard [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lizy- ya lor.

starry, haha my girl also not very good at latching during the 1st 2 months. She would fall asleep whenever I latch her on a few seconds later. Woke her up, and then a few seconds later she fell asleep again. Thot she was done and put her back to bed but after a while she cried again. So in the end I express out the bm and let her drink from bottle. As she grew older, I notice she could suck better but by then I already got back to work. So during the day she drink ebm and at night I Bf her until the time she started teething. She kept biting me when latch on....

Didn't know breastfeeding can be so daunting from the pain and discomfort right up to weaning baby off it. Geez..so much to learn from u ladies.

now I'm just feeling sleepy and waiting for lunch time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/kao_sleep.gif]

lizy,

same for my girl. latch a bit will sleep. put her down less than 30mins hungry cry for milk liao. when she gets older doesn't wanna latch anymore 'cos too used to the milk bottles flow. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] thus my bfing career ended and i conceived #2. wahaha!

rabbit bb,

more things in store for you to learn. motherhood is not easy at all. but sooo rewarding when you see your little babe satisfied from milk produced by you and sleeping with a smile on his/her face. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ladies, thank you for your kind words [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Me and hubs are the type that take things as they come, whether good or bad.

My hubby was saying that if this baby is not fated for us, then we'll just work harder for another healthy one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

And if this baby has heart problems, then we'll work hard to save up for the best medical care [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

We are hardy ppl :D Don't worry :D

KWXY, irregular heartbeat as in got a missed beat. Which means you can hear bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop*pause*-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop*pause*-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop-bipop

Something like that. My family got history of heart problems, so we were mentally prepared & we spotted it before gynae mentioned it :D

Minidiary

Just notice my edd date is wrong. Mine is 23 Oct. Pls update for me. Thx so much!

Diarroea

Don't know is it bcos of Ytd tom yam n milk tis morning. I have been running to toilet 4 times. STomach and backside so painful.*sob sob*

starry, can't wait to experience motherhood albeit the tough journey!

1d1r, I like your positive attitude! Admirable! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jasmine, take care and don't drink anymore milk until you're better!

Good morning mummies!! Don't know what's wrong with me today. So tired that I'm not willing to wake up. I think must be gg to toilet too often in the middle of the night that disrupt my sleep [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Nothing to eat again...I'm not gg to eat instant noodle lah. I think I will cook porridge. Something light and not too heavy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Minidiary, can you change my Edd to 28th oct? Thanks many many!! Hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1dog1rabbit.... U hv got a mail [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I need to get some advise from mommies who have experience with confinement ladies.

I'll be moving back to my mom's place when the baby is delivered. I'm wondering if there is a need to engage in a CL? I've been reading the horror encounters with bad CLs in other threads and I'm worried that it might happen to me too.

Other than cooking confinement food and feeding the baby, are there other benefits of having a CL?

tabbyz, you can always ask your friends or family to recommend.

but if your mum can help you...then you can save in CL [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1d1r,

really admire you and your hubby's thinking towards this. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] believe that you will deliver a healthy and adorable baby!

tabbyz,

i have no exp with CLs. but like u, i moved back to mum's place during confinement and she did everything, except feeding baby, changing etc. if your mum can cope with the cooking and washing, and you are prepared to look after baby yourself (which is not that difficult/tough for 1 person), then can save up the CL money for something else. 'cos usually CL have their own mindsets (according to what some mummies shared with me) and may not be happy if your mum or another elder is ard to 'observe' them, make comments etc.. you have to be ready to face issues like CL giving your baby water, rocking baby to sleep, using traditional methods to soothe baby's colic etc.. some mummies don't like such things so all these gotta be voiced out beforehand. of course there are some really good CLs that will take care of not just the mummy and baby, but even help with some of the household chores. it depends on luck, really...

Tabbyz, ppl usually get CL cos they want the CL to help them look after at night so they can rest and sleep through the night.

I did confinement at my mum's place and that time, we took turns to wake up. Rotate between me, my hub & my mum. So it was not as tiring as we thought.

Also, we tried to feed my boy more milk nearer to bedtime so he won't wake up for milk in the middle of the night [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, I still feel that feeding should be done by mummy (breastfeed). CL at most help with bathing, cooking and night feeds...

kwxy, starry, 1d1r, thanks for all your advises!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I think I'll skip on the CL. I don't think I can tolerate nonsense from the CL because of my temper. Hahaha..

I guess the most important thing during confinement is for us to get back our health? So I believe confinement food should be very important? Guess I'll have to ask my mom if she knows anything about confinement food. She told me that she did her own confinement! If not, then probably I'll have to order from food caterers. Saw a few caterers who are offering confinement food packages. Although the prices are quite steep!

It's kind of frustrating to not know things and yet I can't ask my friends who have the experience because it's too early to tell them now!!

I'm so glad that I have you ladies to consult! Muacks! *blessed*

My mum told me she can help me in the day but at night hubby and i have to handle ourselves....my mum is a early bird...got to slp early...so next day she can wake up early to go market and cook or even clean up for me...well...she dun have to clean that much, coz i have a part time housekeeper.

still thinking hubby and i can cope at night a not...plus my mum said i cannot touch water...not even washing hands...i think thats disgusting! how not to??...got germs leh..

Tabbyz, important to eat nutritious food. In fact, my maid cooked my confinement food just by following recipes from a confinement food book I bought from Popular.

And what I did was nap when baby napped. So I had a lot of rest. Even if I was not sleepy, I just lie in bed to watch TV or check forum :D

KWXY, I survived on wet wipes. Plus my mum allowed me to bathe with herb water [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Re bf

For my case my boy juz self wean himself a few days back dunno y...previously he will search for my breast b4 he sleep after I bottle feed him think he does so for comfort.... Think it's the change in taste bah....

Re CL

For those not much family support think it's really good to have 1 but family support is sufficient dun think will need a CL bah....

KWXY, cannot even wash hands?! Omgosh.. I'm a clean freak! I guess I'll be relying on a lot of sanitizer wipes!

1d1r, maybe I'll get the recipe book for my mom too! At least I can choose what dishes I want to eat.. Can't do that if I get it from caterers.

tabbyz,

my mum bought a confinement cookbook from popular bookstore. not ex, only like $12-$13 like that and ingredients used are all readily available from wet markets, medical halls etc. caterers are indeed steep! for night feeding, if can, try to do it yourself instead of asking hubby or mum to be on permanent night shift for the entire month. if rotate like 1d1r is ok, but not permanently someone else. 'cos at the end of the confinement, when you want to feed baby at night, baby may have tendency to reject you 'cos not familiar with you at night. a couple of my friends had their CL or mum to feed baby at night and end up when CL left, or mum not taking over anymore, the baby didn't want to bf. wanna be bottle fed instead. 'cos already too used to the routine for weeks. but i guess all these you can figure out later. now too early to plan also. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kwxy,

there is this 'da feng cao' medicine bags that you can boil with water and use for shower and washing hands. it's to remove 'wind' in the body. touching water (especially unboiled) will cause 'wind' to entire. but not able to 100% avoid one lah... i broke a lot of confinement rules that time until my mum gave up on me. lol!

Tabbyz, the book I got is good. It states which dishes for which week of confinement cos certain foods must wait till 2 weeks after delivery then can eat (e.g. frog's leg).

Can't rmb the title offhand cos it's at my mum's place...

how to not wash hands??? so er xin lor! i still washed, but later rubbed some rice wine onto the hands to remove the 'wind'. aiyah... actually do to please my mum only lah. i didn't really care about all these traditional methods. but watch out for cold sweat, shivering and chills during confinement. if have any of these, then really please don't bathe, expose to too much wind or what. 'cos these symptoms indicate that your body is really very weak.

starry, haven't really consider who to work night shifts but thanks for sharing! To be honest, I'm not really looking forward to waking up in the middle of the night to BF! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Guess I'll follow 1d1r, let the bb have more milk before putting him to bed. Hehehe!

1d1r, sounds good! I hope it's in Mandarin because my mom cannot read English!!!

wow.. starry, thanks for sharing!!! the book got discount somemore!! I'll pop buy popular to buy this weekend.. Hehe.. A bit kiasu I know. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tabbyz,

hard to assume baby will drink more milk or not 'cos their stomach will only be like the size of a cherry at first! wanna drink more also cannot. i remember the first week i brought my girl home, i had to bf her every 1-2 hrs! quite siong, but i love and miss those moments of bonding with her.

don't worry about the book, its both in english and mandarin. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1d1r, good good.. I'll buy more than one recipe book so can have more varieties!

Look at us, not even pass 1st trimester and we're sharing confinement food recipes!! How I wish I can fast forward this pregnancy!

i also want to buy the book!! later MIL and mum will meet up for dinner...will go and buy later...hehe [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Starry & Tabbyz, actually how I got my boy to drink more milk:

His normal feeding time is every 2.5 hours.

From 7pm onwards, I start feeding him at 1.5hr intervals.

Then the last feed, I let him suckle for longer.

If heat up EBM, we will give ard 30ml more than usual.

And this method worked for me cos first 3 weeks, my boy only woke up once or twice per night.

After 3 weeks, he slept through the night already :D

And till today, he will still request for his heavy dose of milk before he sleeps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

starry, so cute! size of a cherry! Hehehehe! I hope my bb will drink more.. I like chubby babies! especially those with fat fat cheeks and "3 layered-fats"! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1d1r, omgosh.. 2.5hr intervals?! Ok, reality is slowly catching up on me.. Midnight feeds at 2.5hr intervals.. *faints*

1d1r,

the problem with my girl is she has always been a small drinker. so poor me gotta wake up more times a night! only from 2 mths plus onwards then she started sleeping thru out.

tabbyz, kwxy,

some of the soups, dishes can already start drinking now. but not those that are too heaty (will cause constipation to get worse) or with too many herbs. i really looooove the papaya fish soup! will nv tire of it lor. gonna ask my mum to make it for me often and use the ripe papaya for sweeter taste. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] fyi, use green papaya for increase in breastmilk.

tabbyz,

yah, cute hor! but troublesome when comes to feeding. heh heh!! you will know when the time comes. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] do note down 1d1r's method to get baby to drink more then you will have easier nights too. but if your baby like mine a small drinker, then too bad lah. hahhaha!!