(2011/10) Oct 2011

gilera,

not sure if it is like napisan?? i'll go back and take a pic tonight. cannot find it online. i bought from CK departmental store. think giant, shop 'n' save etc will have too.

re: rice wine

i bought mine from a home-based brewer/seller. very fragrant with soups and stir fries like chicken. delicious!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it's called 'hong zhao jiu' in mandarin.

angeline,

yeah it's normal. baby probably likes squeezing on the left side more than right. me too, felt my #1 more on the left than right side as she loved to lie on her right in breech position and 'crowd' the left corner. when she was born, her head kept turning to the right side too!

starrymommy,

i was wondering why always on the left side more. tks for the reply. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

angeline,

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] it's a comforting feeling isn't it? i mean feeling baby curled up there.

sometimes BB curl up or dunno whatever he doing inside - like a ball and on one area only so hard and abit pain. then have to soothen him to spread out....

any tips to handle maid first time?

colleague was saying to bluff them that got camera in house, they dun own a room etc...

how generous should we be to provide the daily products like shampoo, toothpaste as agent said all to be on their own expense, but first 6 months they pay off loan where got $

hi gilera, i put him on the bed cos' i thought it is safer - got buffer space even if he decided to roll out of the changing mat, and also not too high. Please make sure that your chest has sufficient space in case baby rolls around or struggles.

As for baby detergent, there was one I used which had alot of lather. My MIL said not too good cos' very difficult to wash them out. Anyway, baby's clothes not very dirty so no need such a strong detergent. I will ask my MIL what brand she is using now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Where can i buy rice wine? Does the supermarket sell? or must make?

Gilera,

Just treat maid with respect and for every instructions, maybe you can write down or make her write down on her note book..so she can refer... We cant expect them to hv our standards and must also understand where they are coming from..1st time maid sure blur blur and everything also don't know..must really teach from scratch. Don't be surprise some don't even how to use iron or rice cooker...Just don't everything also scold them...it will lower their morale and then they will give you shit work.

Observe your maid well and handle her based on your observations. Good luck..

starry > mine is consistently there not too sure issit Nevis of carrying my elder one or the baby's weight.

BB Kicking: mine kicks everywhere and sometimes can feel that his swiping either his hand or leg across my tummy coz my tummy will go like a 'wave' pattern.

BB Detergent: I use Pigeon brand those liquid type for my elder one so will follow the same as well.

Rice wine: my friend will be helping me to make the 'hong zhao jiu'. I had that during my first confinement and it really makes the food taste alot better. DOM I was being asked to drink like that a small half cup before slp and seriously it taste awful to me so throughout mt fine confinement I only managed to drink half bottle. But my nanny used one of the hard liquor (Gordon bleu - not too sure abt the spelling) and boil together with the soup for me to drink and it's just enough for 1 bowl.

Maid: me also getting a maid (first time) but I'll be at home with her, she will just be doing housework while I take care of the baby myself except when I need to shower then will need her help. Don't think I'll be letting the maid to slp with my boy, coz I'm a think too much mother dunno wat she'll do.. :p

Pofy > don't give urself too much stress and gave positive thinking. Baby will be fine, doctor also mentioned his growing. Baby will be strong, u will have to also.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

happy momo, I have it.. Am told to inject insulin..but I did not do it, am controling my sugar lvl by controlling my intake of food. Have balance meal, eat lots of veg, cut down on rice and sweet stuff..that including very sweet (High sugar content) fruits..like durian, grapes, etc.

So far, my level is maintained at borderline, but it did get any worse..

I do the above and also do self blood test before and after every meal to ensure my level dun go too high.

starrymommy,

yes. it's a very comforting feeling and amazing experience.

creamdonut,

maybe my baby likes to lie down on her right side as i feel more movements on the left side of my tummy and your baby likes to lie down on left side. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby kicks- left for boys, right for gals.. True??

GD- I also kena. Watch diet lor. Eat smaller meals but more frequency, less carbo but this #2 make me eat lots more starchy stuff..

I kena strep B.. now on antibiotics..

happymomo, there are 2 categories GD.. Mild one just need to watch diet, serious one need to inject insulin...

creamdonut, i see ur ABD and ABC and then starry's post, i laughed so loud.. think i too boliao

pofy, the last 8 weeks are subjected to boss one.. so bobian lor, hope ur boss will be reasonable

good morning mummies!

pofy, try n take good care of ur health esp now that u r in 3rd trimester. No stress! 1.4kg at 28 weeks is a gd weight. Mine's 1.1kg at 27 weeks. I think ur friends wanting to share the confinement food cost wif u is a v good idea. A mummy fren I noe whom uses natal essentials (nt sure is it neonatal essentials) for her #2 confinement gave gd reviews abt it.

Bb kicks: I feel the kicks r sooo strong whenever I'm lying on my back. But when I sleep on the side, the pubic area hurt bad... Getting a gd nite's sleep is getting difficult now. 

angeline, mine also kicks mostly on the left side until last night when I feel some movement on the right. I hope he's turning to head down position.

happymomo, yeah I kena the GD again. No insulin yet. Diet is mainly fibre, proteins, lots of fruits n veggies, soup n plenty of water. I still eat my daily half cup of white rice. Bfast n dinner r mostly prepared in office.

good thing the tan siok mei posts are gone. They r irritating...

GD

omg I got it too... so disappointed with the results, and the clinic called me when I was on holiday. Was a mood dampener for a day. Will be seeing a dietician these 2 days. Have to go out supermarketing later for whole grains. How much exercise to do? I didn't get GD during first preg so am surprised that I have it this time around.

Luv

its ok to eat fruit with GD? What kind of fruit to avoid besides the supersweet durians and grapes? Bananas ok?

creamdonut > mine is bb's clothing will be washed separately from us coz the detergent that is used for our clothing are stronger. As for those cloth diapers, last time I got the brand bum wear the sales girl told me that I can only use certain brands of washing powder such as Tops. Dynamo was not allowed, she says that it will affect the absorbency of the insert. So I wash separately again but subsequently find it too troublesome so I stopped using the cloth diaper.

Wish0upon0star > mine also boy but mostly kick right side..

luv > me same as you slp side, pubic area hurt badly, now turning from one side to another is very difficult and it's a very big action thing.

creamdonut, esther,

Thanks for the encouragement! I guess we all try our best to manage.

Roxanne,

I got StrepB right from the start. Doc say i am a carrier already. Whatever that means. I took 2 courses of antibiotics in fact during 2nd trim but it just won't go away. i didn't want to eat it but doc say Strep B can bring on premature labour so insist i eat. then during birth, i have to be put on antibiotic drips throughout the birht process. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Not happy about it as i worry pass to baby but for his safety, i will do anything. sigh

luv,

thanks. sorry but i think its natal essentials. hahaha. i got wrong infor. i will try to see as i don't want them to waste too much money. i don't expect anything actually so it might be cheaper if they just sponser my normal tingkat. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Good Morning Everyone,

Damn sian, nearly fainted in train again, so i quickly alighted to take a rest, dropped my bag on the floor. I believe some passerby stared at me again ..

anyone with low blood sugar/glucose? or become sensitive towards perfume smell/body odour/??

snippy > I got low blood count so will also tend to feel giddy easily, so Gynae gave me additional iron pills on top of my normal vitamins which already contains iron. Partly because I've got thalessmia.

As for sensitive to certain smells, some people will face this during pregnancy. I got a friend she had to change away the usual toothpaste to another brand coz she can't stand the smell and her husband can only use certain brand of shampoo and shower foam. So it's ok, after birth everything will be back to normal.

Esther,

Thanks, i hope everything will revert back to normal after birth..

my blood test was okay except for blood glucose can be improved..

morning i was bombard by lots of "smells".

this coming sat is my appt, think i should ask doctor to check me ..

Hello Royal, WishO, Roxanne, Luv & Tamms

Looks like I am not alone. I am ask to go down today to clinic too. Kinda of worry about having big babies or babies having problem in later life.

morning mummies, been a while since i posted here ..

re: GD

went for the test 2 weeks ago .. so far so good, never hear from the clinic or my gynae .. i presume i do not have it <praying>

officially in my 3rd trimester as of yesterday .. getting heavier with each day; sleep being interrupted by the urine sessions and the 'no matter how i sleep, it is not comfortable' positions; etc ..

started to worry about delivery, baby's weight, baby's position, etc .. think better stop worrying, if not baby becomes like me - a worrier ..

going for my 3d scan on next monday .. hopefully can see how baby looks like ..

snuppy, hope u are okie! u think by eating sweets help? got sugar and can cover smells...

pofy, 1d1r also told me strep B will have premature labour yesterday.. shit leh, my uterus problem already will cause premature... plus this one.. haiz.. i havent finish my antibiotics, i think today or tmr last round..

Me too fantastar... can't sleep at nite... plus bb very active... kick or stretch till tummy painful... zzzz

mummies! u all should go get samples from HUGGIES website. able to get all different kinds, the "little swimmers" one seems exciting to bring BB go swimming - unsure how many pcs they will give as samples. maybe only ONE?

somehow no other Singapore sites for Pampers, mamypoko, Goon, Drypers to get samples lei.

we shuold get samples for formula milk also????

where can we get a guide on how much milk BB consumes through out his initial months.

since BF cannot know exact amount (only through length of time)...

so when we express milk, will store in storage bags say 200ml bags but BB only drink 100ml then the other 100ml how to keep after defrost?

Thanks roxanne!

Didn't really realise pregnancy can be this complex. I am now at clinic for GD. Later going back office. Kinda of tired.

Gilera- no sample for <6m per MOH guidelines.

Milk intake- varies from bb to bb no need to stress out. If u latch on , can't even tell how much, but latch on intake likely more than bottle feed amount- got to find out along d way.. Bound to have some wastage.

SEriously, i'm also quite worried i tio "strep b or yeast infection" but previously i asked doctor abt my vaginal discharge.. but he said it's okay..

this saturday i must talk to him for at least 10 mins..!!!

any one wanna ask anything as well??

qns in mind:

raspberry leaf tea, when able to drink?

vaginal discharge - yellow/light green?

baby position is anterior or posterior?

my placenta was anterior since last check, need to ask him does it pose anything to the bb?

when we will know we are gg to deliver?

Gilera,

I ams till going facial, My beautician knows about my pregnancy and lift up the level of bed for me, so I am like in half lying position while she do my facial.

good afternoon mummies! me lunching in office with the good old bland food [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i suddenly feel v cold. that's weird. hope 2moro's visit to the diabetic doctor would clear me to drink chicken essence. i missed it!

tamms, the amt of exercise to do depends on your fitness level and/or what you had for your prev meal. Coll invited me to eat pizza, chicken drumlets & potato wedges since it's a treat frm boss. I ended up eating half a slice of pizza, 1 small drumstick without skin & didn't touch the wedges. Topped it off with lots of plain water and brisk walking for 30min in the evening.

You can and should eat more fruits as they are friendly for diabetics. The diabetic doctor recommends apples, honeydew, papaya, kiwi. I can't remember the whole list. Fruits not to be touched other than the ones you mentioned: durians, grapes include bananas, watermelons and mangoes. So basically the diabetic diet is quite strict.

pofy, ok so it's natal essentials then. I'm thinking of trying them out but kiasu me has already placed a deposit with new baby and I read in other forums the new baby food tends to be peranakan. I hope I can tahan the spicy food! :p Confinement tingkat starts at around $1.1k now and it's not that much cheaper than CL. But if your friends are super willing to treat, it's a real good blessing :D Or they may want to forgo the ang pow for the full month celebration and substitute it for your confinement if you are paiseh abt it. Just my 2 cents [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

snuppy, I'm also have fainting spells if I don't take bfast and multivits fast. Nowadays I try to cope with lots of feng you...

happymomo, yeah you are not alone. About 5% of all pregnant mummies will have this condition so it's quite common. Big babies may pose health problems in later life and we are also at risk of developing type 2 diabetes around 5-10 years from now. I guess it's best to “suffer” for just awhile and enjoy good health and slim figure later :) Hope you don't have to inject insulin.

gilera, I also love to lie on tummy. Bear with it for just a while longer and before you know it, you'd have delivered at full-term and miss your big tummy!

i am so sleepy at work now and i cannot control not to doze off a few times just now... thought munching will keep me awake but seems even more sleepy.

having hot tea now and keep touching cup to keep me alert. oh so tired!!!!!!!

for BB skin products , i bought Desitin nappy cream for diaper rash and Lactacyd for bathing and RU YI oil for massage after bath.

new born can use ru yi oil already? or after the cord drops?

most mummies dun use BB powder anymore, particles fly unless u use the nerw kodomo liquid powder.

pls advise if need body LOTION - and which brand reccomended?

Luv,

Why cant you take chicken essence?

I am ask to do the blood test from now on and it will be 2 days per week. 7 times a day. I bought the meter as well. Now will be like you food control. Problem with this pregnancy is i get very hungry many times a day. Dont know if I can survive it or not. Used to be I took half bowl of rice before I am pregnant. Now I took near two bowls per meals. If not, I get hungry in the late afternoon or after mid night.

Happymomo- white rice v high sugar - take white plus brown rice or oat or wholemeal bread. During mealtime I eat half bowl rice (I dont eat a lot of rice anyway) but more vege n other ingredients.

Morning to all.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

gilera > ru yi oil is able to use but just avoid the belly button area, even after if the cord drops.

As for body lotion, I used physiogel (cream) which was recommended by his PD.

I'm also using the desitin (blue) as for shower will be using sebamed.

Roxanne,

My gynae Dr Paul TSeng, he is proactive on natural birth one.. so i guess also natural birth.. unless touchwood... !!! but still i will ask him about this issue [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hehehe

Gilera,

shy to tell you that, everytime i visit him, my mind went blank and i will stare at him.. he got that "lau shuang:, gentlemen & trustworthy feel lei... so consultation alwys chop chop less than 10 mins one.. hahaha jia la hor!!!