(2011/10) Oct 2011

Candy, do you still need contact of confinement lady? My seamstress recommended her sis to me but since i already engaged one I didnt get her number. If you need I can get it for you but I've no feedbacks abt her. You can PM me if you need.

Gilera, do you also take the milk powder for mommies? My gynae gave me a few packets but I didnt drink them.

Mommies, are you going to pre-natal classes? Some frens say it's necessary while some say it's a waste of time. What do you think?

RE:post-Natal Massage

My sis-in-law recommended this malay lady Auntie Su. Anyone heard before. 2hrs for S$50. Quite reasonable.

I have some items to let go.

1. Desitin Creamy 4oz (Blue packaging) (Expiry Jun 2012) - $8.50

2. Desitin Creamy 2oz (Blue packaging) (Expiry Jun 2012) - $5.50

Please PM me if you are interested.

Hi mummies.....

TGIF.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'll gg down to the baby fair tml at expo, then mayb drop by at Robinson too to see any good deal... any other mummies gg?

been so busy at work!

yes indeed TGIF!!

din sleep well again last night only 6 hours cos my baby girl keeps waking me up with her kicking every morning. been getting more violent cos i think she is heavier now.

is the baby expo worth going? or itz similar to the motherhood one?

anyone bought bath tub already? what kind should we get and is baby bouncer necessary?

which baby detergents/bathing stuff is recommended? i'm getting a headache trying to decide all these.

This weekend expo can take a look since got bb fair, Robinson , gain city n car accessories for the guys.

Hospital would give bath tub right? Else just get one lor next time can use wash clothes?

I bought tollyjoy bb clothes detergent n bottle/ toys washing liquid. Latacyd for bathing. Should be enough for now.

U still can sleep 6 hrs v good. I wake every 2-3 hrs to pee!!!

RE: post natal massage Auntie Su

My sil says she finds her good la. She's back to her usual size after that. She engaged AUntie Su for both her pregnancy.

She also mentioned that you can let the auntie know if you are suffering from engorgement but she also says that engorgement is usually the first few days after giving birth so when u are having the massage, the engorgement shd be over.

Also, it's not packaged. You pay by the number of times u engage her. So if she feels u don't need anymore she will tell you.

She uses oil (no herb) to massage and also wrap la. You have to prepare mattress & 2 towels yourself.

RE: Baby Fair

I'm going tmr too. Wana see if there are any info i can find out abt cordlife.

RE: Bathtub

I'm thinking of getting the market one. Kekeke... the traditional red tub our moms used. My niece and nephew are using the same too.

Gilera/Winny,

I bought a baby bathtub at Ikea for $15.00

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5677139.jpg]

sorry this is the only pic i can find in office desktop.

Ikea also has those non-slip matt, but i didnt bother to buy cos afraid the matt will get soil and have to wash frquently.

IKEA also have nice bathtub.

mummycoccyx - bouncer is not really necessary & usually use it till bb know how to turn.

Gilera - hospital don't give bath tub lah.

Winny - can give the contact for Aunti Su.

Hospital giving Bathtub,

so far the ones i am aware is Mount Alvernia Hospital (my friend told me as she delivered there), but then once again it's better to call and ask them to check and verify.

but even if the hospital is giving, you have to bring it back on the day you discharge which may be a chore if you're not driving. Cab will be an alternative but then depends if they are kind & patient enough to help you with your stuff ..

hi mummies, TGIF~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: bathtub

Mt A gives away free bathtub. my girl is still using her very first tub till now. this tub is placed at my mom's place. for our own place, i bought one from kiddy palace. ard $30. quite expensive but it comes with something like a removable 'platform' which allows babies who cannot sit up yet to lie 45degrees in the tub. very useful as it is very safe and secure, caregiver can go hands-free while bathing baby. hubby and i really loved it! we were like smacking our head why never thought of buying earlier lor! then no need to keep holding onto her slippery body.

we didn't drive back home that time, but had fil to bring some stuff back for us. the rest we just place in cab. cab drivers who pick up passengers there are helpful. all will come out and help if it's required. the nursery nurse also helped carry my baby for me while we waited for the cab. she made sure everything was with us and baby safely handed back to us then went off. very nice! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: baby bouncer

i had one fisher price one but seems to be too hot for my girl. she doesn't quite like it. she preferred the cheapo netted bouncer. probably cooler bah. haha! actually not really a 'must buy' item. but it is useful for when baby is around 1mth+ to 2mths old and they show more interest in surroundings so bouncer allows them to sit up slightly to look at things around them. otherwise keep lying on mattress also quite boring.

winnie171175, have PM you.

RE:Bathtub

Mount A giving that's good. Then I dun have to buy liaoz.

Starry, what is caregiver? Can we just buy the platform? Sounds safer.

Hi Mummies..

I am at expo now.. Any1 knows which brand Playpen is gd?? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Winny

can i have auntie su contact too thanx!

Angie

i saw there's a advert playpen promo $79 u may wanna chk it out.

bathtub

i'll jus use mny guo da li bathtub - traditional red bathtub haha!!

Yup, Mt A will give free bath tub.... Winny, hv u gone for hospital tour? Better arrange to go for hospital so you'll know what the hospital will offer... I'm delivering in Mt A & will b gg hospital tour on 21Jul11.

hi bubblygeekypig, i've PM you the number.

ginn, do i have to make appt?

I think I'll opt for Mt A too. Mayb i shd take a look. My gynae can deliver at Mt A, Glen E or TMC.

re: bathtub

hehe i tink i shd b using the big red bathtub which was part of my dowry leh hehe..

i heard that baby high chair from ikea is a very good buy, can detach the legs one.. anyone thinks otherwise ?

bubbly

$50 for 2hrs is cheap but I don't think its easy taking 2hrs for massage when you hv a young baby waiting for you! My massage was 90min and I always made sure I bf baby JUST before ML comes by. Then after massage, wipe down, baby is more or less waking up already. 2hrs is really a luxury when it comes to newborn [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Winny,

yes u need to make appt. usually the hospital tour is at 2.30pm daily.... tonite i go back & check the number to make the appt. u get some freebize when u go for the hospital tour too..

winny,

caregiver means anyone who's caring for your baby. yourself, your mom, in-laws or nanny.. cannot just buy the platform. it comes together with tub and will only fit that tub.

bubblygeekypig, HS,

initially also used the red tub but a bit dangerous 'cos no support at all and baby is very slippery when wet and cannot sit up on his/her own. there was once i accidentally let her slip out of my grip and she ended up drinking a bit of water. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] this time round won't use it.

tamms,

2 hours of quiet for a newborn is really a luxury.. sooo hard to come by especially during the initial months.

HS

I have 2 highchairs, the Ikea white highchair is at my mom's place. At my house we have a convertible high chair. the chair and table are detachable so you can continue using it long after your kid doesn't sit in high chair anymore. Something like this $109 from Mothercare. but you only need to get it when baby is older than 6 months. When I started weaning at 6 months, I was feeding my girl in her rocker.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5677929.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5677946.jpg]

no rush, can wait till post christmas sale or after to buy this

Bubblygeekypig

Found a few $99 ones but like not v gd leh.. There wasn't much stuff at e bb fair, dun ve origin jamu also onli ve baby bellies, ani1 know whether it's gd? I tink e onli gd buy I'd e avert sterilizer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

starry... oooh i tot no matter wat kind of bath tub u use, u will have to hold on to bb one.. hehe maybe i suagu la dunno got newer kind of bathtub.. i was tinking if need to buy safety net to place in the bath tub, but scared the net cant fit the tub.. hehe.. so i bought anti slip mat instead...

tamms: this high chair looks good.. can check it out when i need the high chair..

HS

I bought a nice bear themed tub from mothercare, as well as a seat to put in the tub. In the end, turned out the tub was too narrow to fit the recliner seat, so no choice gave away the seat. if you want to use the seat, please don't make the same mistake I did, get a wide tub!

Yep happy with the convertible high chair [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So sian... supposed to visit my gynae today but gynae's business so wang today, got 3 delivery and 2 c-sect. Sigh... gotta wait till next week to see my baby

HS,

was also quite suagu... didn't know got such a good tub exist in the market till a gf recommended me! i'd say well worth the money. 'cos my arms started aching trying to hold on to her when she put on weight steadily and kept trying move, splash water and kick etc. in the tub. haha!

these are the only 2 pics i have of the tub right now.. first one showing her lounging quite happily against the 'platform' i can use both hands to bath her quickly and efficiently. second pic shows how big it is. by then i removed the 'platform' le 'cos she was able to sit up well by herself.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5678234.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5678235.jpg]

winny

my email add is [email protected]

thanx!

tamms

haha cos i saw $50 for 2 hrs real cheap haha! eh no time arh sad... cos initially was looking at origins jamu-e buddy package n tot it's quite ex but since Angie say dun have then probably i'll have to source online or book other.. havent decide yet..

starry

oh didnt noe red tub is dangerous leh.. cos MIL say use tat will do since i've got tat as my downry.. probably will buy anti-slip mat in tat case..

bubblygeekypig,

i last time also blur blur and was very very upset for a long time over the accident 'cos she went under water and choked a bit, but cried a lot. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] heartache.. didn't dare tell my mom till today! she sure scold me 'stupid hand stupid leg' lor. she's more steady in bathing my girl. maybe i was very new then?? anyway, now i always recommend my friends who are having thier first baby to please spend the $30 and buy a good tub with the platform thingy or get a bath net and the anti-slip mat. it does pay to be a bit more kiasu sometimes.

Ginn

It's $149 for e electric 1 plus warmer n $209 for e digital 1 plus warmer.. Can buy w/o warmer too tink it's $169 for e digital 1 but I gettin e warmer too..

So sad can't find gd playpen [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

starry

think i'll also be clumsy esp im those who is v afraid to carry babies!! i've never carry few mths old bb as they r v fragile then im afraid tat i'll be v rough!! btw ur gal is so sweet.. so cute [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angie

i was thinking of getting playpen at this fair.. if dun have then might have to kiddy palace alr..

bubblygeekypig, winter bluey,

thanks! those pics of her were taken ard 4mths ago. time flies... big girl now!

bubblygeekypig,

once you hold your little one in your arms for the very first time, you will very naturally get over the fear. the feeling is really very very good le. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: playpens

why not you girls try calling cheong choon to ask? cheapest playpen they have now should be the latido one at $119. includes free delivery if i'm not wrong.. my friend just called up last night to check.

starry

hopefully i wont get freak out by it haha!! cos im afraid of bb cries too dunno wat they wan...

oh ya i almost forgot abt cheong choon.. but first i've to decide on e model 1st..

E babiesbellies massage package quite cheap leh.. Cos I am gg for c-sec can onli go for the classic 1, 10 days onli $540.. But dunno gd anot [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bubblygeekypig, starry

I tink I saw e latido 1 at babyfair quite cheap onli $99 I tink wif mattress but theirs is standard height, cannot lower dw when bb grows bigger so I nvr buy.. Sianz gotta go luking ard again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Angie

oh im also looking for playpens wif adjustable height.. n hubby is rather particular abt its stability too.. btw i saw a shop in MS selling a playpen tat comes wif changing station + a fleece 'babysitter' but lying down position looks quite nice but i think needs to place in air con room cost abt <$300

anyone tried b4 babiesbellies?

angie,

$99 with mattress it's a very good deal! the playpens i've seen all got 2 levels le. did you check properly? i find it odd cannot lower down. really no point buying if that's the case.

what does the babiesbellies package include? usually whole massage session should be 75mins-90mins inclusive of application of jamu herbs and binding, then good ones will also come with hot stones massage for the breast area. some like origins jamu will throw 2 free sessions of baby massage as well.

saw babies bellies webbie e massage 75 mins @ $54 to $65 (Exclude Transport Charges) and hot press therapy 45 Mins @ $40 are 2 diff package compared to orgins jamu massage n hot stone compress is in a package @ 10 Days : $748.00..

remb someone in this forum mention tried b4 orgins jamu n says not bad.. will consider this too..

Bubblygeekypig

Me too!! Cos I am expecting a boy so I assume will b more hyper hehe.. Stability is definitely 1 of e criteria [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] my cousin got hers at e Robinson sales for $100+ w adjustable height.. not bad but didn't manage to see it at e Robinson sale jus now..

I am sooo tired from all the walking........