(2011/10) Oct 2011

prenatal massage:

I've actually been using this massage lady from a Spa at a hotel since having #1 so this time round will be using back the same lady.After every session I really do feel good n relax...the only thing is abit pricey la....

gd morning all mummies.

jus now going to bus interchange frm hse by bus,was standing jus in front of the 4 yellow color priorty seats (each seating by a lady) with my big big baby bump they all immediately close their eyes like sleeping **haiz..**I actually really don't mind if they r not willing to giv up the seat to me,they can remain seating there,but they no need to pretending like sleeping mah..look very *fake* leh..guys is really more *hao xin*then lady

#1 Pray&Love

probably i 'hop' from 1 shop to another n missed out e playpen ba... manage to find century sq kiddy palace selling a playpen at $99 thou [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

maternity leave

i asked my HR with regards to e last 8 wks of ML as my fren told me tat she has her P.H credited back to her but then my HR says not for my co... so in a way if i clear all 16wks at a go then i'll have to luggi lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

helloooo mommies! happy thursday. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

all this talk about giving birth is giving me both the jitters and excitement. i had csect with GA last year and the wound kinda ached for the initial couple of days and when i started getting out of bed to walk. hope this time round the recovery will be quick and painless like luv!

luv,

what's the difference between spinal block and epidural? i'm opting for epidural this time round. did you get to hold your baby right after the cleaning up process? i was under GA before and didn't get to hold my babe till a few hours later. but by that time she was sound asleep already!

re: 40 hour labour

i think i watched that before. that woman was so stubborn! think if this were the case in singapore, the medical team would just knock her out and proceed to do emergency csect on her liao.

emilybaby,

tsk tsk.. these people are really heartless! next time just ask them if you can have the seat. i find taking bus more dangerous than taking the mrt. was on the bus along amk ave 5 earlier and the bus driver jammed brake due to the red light. wah piang... if i weren't seated, i think i would have fallen already 'cos i was carrying things on my hand. mrt still not too bad even when the train jerks.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5670945.jpg]

hello mtb any of u interested to get this from me? is brand new just received it :)

Guys also same lah. was on mrt & lady in priorty seat did not give me the seat. then a lady somewhere in the middle want to give me the seat. She signal to me & once she stand up, a man infront of her wanted to sit down while I was moving over. Then this lady said that the seat is for me. hah, the guys is not an old man ok.

Starry/Emilybaby,

I agreed with you, Amk bus driver thinks they are F1 racers, they like to jam break very hardly !!!

esp the 269 bus.. i alwys pray i get a seat so i won't jerk on the bus.

how does one overcome the fear of c-sect..(i trying to overcome this, in case touchwood i need to do that, cos no one can predict the future)

my greatest fear is blood,

Hi hi! Breaking the water bag didn't hurt for me either [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] after the epi, I shivered abit but no pain. Didn't feel the urge to push but just followed instructions to exert pressure in that direction lor. But I heard that can reduce dosage of epi nearer the end [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

good morning mummies!

gilera, my gynae glued my wound shut. i stopped hurting 1 week after delivery tho it hurts when i start to get down from the bed. thank goodness for painkillers.

re: maternity leave if i'm not wrong the Christmas, New Year and CNY holidays will not be included in the 16 weeks maternity. So that'd probably give us 4 extra days of leave. think i'll check with HR to confirm.

starry, spinal block is when the needle is inserted thru the spine and removed when numbness sets in. epi is when the needle is inserted throughout the op. epi is also $100 more ex than spinal. yes the nurses cleaned my #1 and brought him to me so small and wrapped up. we had a family photo taken too, bb, hb and me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

re: seats on MRT nowadays pple are so ungracious. 2 years ago it wasn't like this. looks like the courtesy campaign doesn't work [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

snuppy,

lol! i always take buses 70 and 43. some drivers are really like F1 drivers! very fast! it's good during non-peak hours when roads are smooth and no heavy traffic. but during morning peak hours the brakes can give me quite a headache. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

you won't see blood during csect lah. there will be a screen blocking your view on what's going on down there. i wouldn't wanna see also. wahahaa!! if worse comes to worst need to do csect then just focus on meeting your little baby within a few short minutes?? or you can opt for GA. total knock out and when you come to, baby is nice and clean already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

leeoh,

after epi were you able to sit up immediately after birth or still have to lie down a few hours? heard my gf telling me her gynae purposely reduced the epi to minimum level for her so that she will work harder to push baby out during the final minutes. 'cos totally no feeling for her!

luv >> regarding ML... i dun tink that HR will give extra days for public holiday that fall during maternity leave, if u take one whole block of 12 or 16wks. unless your HR is good enuff loh hehe.. cos i dun remember hearing the mummies in my company given extra days for the public holidays that fall within their block ML.

ok please explain more on epi - they insert the tube then can release dosage of the med into the tube to your spine.

is there a limit of dosage and if one has increased dosage compared to one whom had consistent dosage - any side effect/ difference?

Circumcision

Mommies having BOYS: will you all consider circumcision and how soon can it be done for BB.

heard might as well do immediately upon birth so they wont move / touch so much and it will recover same time when cord falls out.

at this era, is it still practised?

i remember someone wanted to get the MIM sling? just saw one mummy posting on the WTS thread...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5671227.html?1309400799

i also have one to let go. the other day clearing my wardrobe and realize it was stashed way below. still very new 'cos i preferred the pupsik pouch. going for $20 also but without DVD. let me know if anyone's keen! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

luv,

thanks for the explanation! eh.. which is better huh? meaning to say spinal is a one-off dosage? epi i know can top up as and when needed and particularly good for long labours. spinal isn't very common as i seldom hear ppl talk about it. but i read a bfing book which says that spinal may cause some users to have a bad "spinal headache", thus have to lie down for several hours. did you have that? and were you able to bf your baby immediately after the csect? sorry for my many qns! :p

Hi Hi

I thought maternity leaves if one dont clear the 16 weeks. Balances have to clear in block of week?

Is anyone concern that we work till deliver time, and water bag bust in office, wouldn't it be embrassing ?

ML:

I am planning to take one shot 4 mths and probably 2 weeks before the EDD in case the embrassment happen in office. :p

Confinement Lady:

Have anyone got any confinement lady or agency to recommend? I was so busy and to realised those recommended has been booked. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So desperate now.

Hi Candy Floss

I have book GPLS, thou online does not show much comment on them.

ML: Anyone whom is already a mother would like to share their experience about working till deliver?

Hi Genesis, is your pre-natal massage something like aroma massage. It's like normal massage but side ways?

Honestly I do not know what exactly is pre-natal massage so after i tried for the first time it's like normal massage from head to toe.

Dear Roxanne, I didnt ask if it's transferrable but good question. I can ask the boss later.

RE: Post-Natal

the boss told me that she would not be using herbs. Just oil and wrap. She says alot of modern moms cannot take the herb as it's too hot and cannot take the burning so they do not wrap to the optimum number of hours. Instead they removed just 2-3 hours so it's wasting of time.

She also mentioned that she would include 2 sessions of this traditional indonesian treatment that is suppose to clean the vaginal area, remove unpleasant smell or use it after menstruation period.

Winny, my prenatal massage is sleep sideway massage coz with our bigger tummy we can't sleep on our back. The massage lady juz use oil no aroma one

Hi starry, nope didn't sit up after. Just continued to lie on bed as they placed baby on me. and i cuddled him and checked out his features before they wheeled me back to room.

This time will ask if they can reduce the dosage nearer delivery.

I heard from a friend that during C section, she can feel the cutting, tugging and burning smell but no pain.

Just went for checkup yesterday, baby 760g. 50% for everything- weight , length... Mummy gained almost 8kg!

gilera, i didn't do circumcision for my #1 and not planning to do the same for #2. main reason is that the "didi" belongs to them and i let my boys decide if they want to do so when they are older.

starry, erm i also dunno which one is better. i was considering epi or spinal but the anaesthetist saw that i was shivering like mad in the room and decided to give me the spinal block. so my thinking is epi is much potent. i don't recall having headaches. but i did feel "ma-bok" ie lethargic for the next few hours. #1 was brought to me to bf within the next 2 hours. 1st try was difficult due to too weak and no experience. but managed on the 2nd or 3rd try [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

minidiary, no harm using lactacyd as i used it during confinement.

leeoh,

yes, heard from friends who went thru csect too that they could feel the whole process just minus the pain. i'm ok with it although it may gross out some women. anyway it only lasts for like 10-15 mins. i remember i was knocked out at 1pm on the dot for my csect and baby was out at 1.09pm. very fast! oh yah.. how much later then you were given baby to let him bf for the first time?

happymomo,

i worked till the MORNING i popped. was still emailing from home before leaving for the hospital. :p i liked this arrangement because i can fully max out my ML plus plan the way i clear AL plus take CCL well in advance. the couple of days before my scheduled c-sect, i requested to work from home (without taking AL) as my office is very far away. luckily boss is understanding also. 'cos some company even if say work from home will have to deduct AL.

luv,

didn't know that epi will also cause drowsiness le. thought only GA. the GA caused me to be super drowsy for 2 days! very bad... and was your baby drowsy too?

starry, ya the medicine given to me contains morphine so I think that's the one what makes us feel drowsy. U were drowsy for 2 days? That's kind of long. I rem reading newspapers, watching tv and looking fwd 2c bb after the initial 12 hours. Would suggest u 2 go for spinal/epi as recovery will b faster than GA. I dun think bb was drowsy as he latched pretty efficiently and showed no signs of sleeping.

Thanks Happymomo for the information. I just emailed them for more info.

ML: I am not so lucky. My co. not as flexible. If I work from home, it will be deduct of AL.

Epi: I trembled quite badly, vomitted and giddy. However, I guess would still take Epi cause I have low tolerance in pain.

luv,

huh! got morphine!? i didn't know that.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i only knew i was super duper drugged even on the 2nd day. when visitors came on day 2 afternoon, i was soooo sleepy that i fought hard to keep eyes open! very bad. everything was a blur to me. who took photo with me i also didn't know. when hubby showed me the pics, i was like, "did we really took this pic together??" totally no remembrance! wahahahaaa!!

candy floss,

if work place not too far away then try not to work from home. not worth it.. need to work yet AL gets deducted.

hazel,

yes, got diarrhoea before. quite mild, nothing serious. you having the runs now? if you are going like 2-3 times an hour then better see doc 'cos could food poisoning.

hazel

i got diahorrea once i drink enfamama milk.. aft tat it's ok.. agree wif starry if u having runs like quite frequent then better go c GP..

btw there's a talk next sat 9/7 at Mt E. Program as follows:

Programme

1.15pm: Registration & Pre-event Activities:

Cooking Demo

Baby Massage Demo

2.00pm: Getting Pregnant:

What Should I Do & When Do I Seek Help?

Dr Law Wei Seng, Obstetrician & Gynaecologist

2.30pm: Q&A

2.40pm: Pregnancy Journey:

Steps Towards a Happy & Healthy Pregnancy

Dr Kelly Loi, Obstetrician & Gynaecologist

3.10pm: Q&A

3.20pm: Tea Break

3.45pm: Beginning Parenthood:

Preparing for Birthing & Parenting

Ms Zara Chan, Assistant Director of Nursing

4.30pm: Maternity Tour

5.00pm: End

been having constipation - think today's clearance due to past days salads and toblerone.

now the area is burning. ergh

Gals.. just seen e GP. been having e runs like 7-8 times today till my legs jelly also. BUt GP say these few weeks alot of ppl having diahorrea also so maybe got infected by them.. hope will recover soon. but funny.. he didn't wanna give me charcoal pills, gave me lactobacillis to drink instead, say milder..

starry, ya morphine if I remembered what the anaesthetist said. But dun worry s the dosage was v v little, enough to feel not much pain.

Gilera > my mum also ask if I'm gg to circumcise my son. Then I feel too painful even for new born, likely not gg to go through.

Hapymomo>my #1 , i worked till I give birth, share my experience.

Tues 2am, I experienced some bleeding, called my gynae. He ask me to admit. After admit, nurse put me at observation bed, test bb heart beat etc. After 1.5hrs, I dun have any dilation,water bag not burst. So they discharged me.

Thurs I go back to work as usual. Feel got some pain, but I didn't know it was contraction.so tahan all the way back him.

Then pain got more and more intense, but I wish to be very confirmed before I admit. So I tahan until 3am. When I'm admitted, I'm already 4-5th dilated.

Btw my waterbag slowly leaked at home, was bit by bit, not a big gush of water though.

So

Is it impt to use feminine wash? I hv nvr used tat before all my life. Always use my usual bodywash only eg. Dove.

Is it ok? This kinda qns very paiseh to ask my male gynae leh

Karen

it's just for hygiene as they are ph balanced n I find they clean well esp now preggy down there always smells funky.